Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Using a dog run for the first time

• 19-11-2012 4:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭

One of my setters has recently taken up fence climbing as a hobby, which is a huge problem as she's deaf. She managed to get out three times and luckily my neighbours caught her and took her in each time.

Both dogs are now in a run during the day when I'm not there. I've never used a run before and they're not used to being confined, so I'm looking for feedback on my set up and some ideas on how to keep them happy.

I was lucky to already have a pre-built "run" - it was my patio vegetable garden until last week and was originally built to keep them out! This is what it looks like - the photo is old and the shed has been replaced by a much smaller one, and all the pots and vegetable beds have been removed. I've also moved their kennels in there:

29diz3d.jpg

Does this set up seem ok? It's about 30ft x 10ft, mainly paved, and there's a small 10ft x 3ft gravel area which they can use as a toilet area. I've put chicken wire running out from the top of the fences to stop her climbing over. It's well sheltered from the wind and is probably the sunniest part of the garden (hence why I chose it for my veg! :rolleyes: ).

I'm also looking for suggestions for toys to keep them occupied when I'm at work. This morning I left them with a stuffed kong and a stag bar each. Any other toys that are safe to leave out all day and would help to keep them occupied?