Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amber [RTE] [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Turlough looks confused.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Turlough looks confused.

Join the que........:D

Daddy - Colombo
    Guards - Dopey...........yeah....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Be funny if a mirror fell from the roof and killed Turlough again.. a real Cohen Brothers / Fair City finish..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Where'd that 'chief of staff' get that accent?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Sorry who is Turlough?

Russian Bride gets the brush off......

Seems like Amber has a political conscience. She's joining the protests in The Ukraine.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,653 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

That voice sounded Irish alright.

Didn't sound like Amber though.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Turlough looks confused.

He should look at the camera and say "Have you any ideas?"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,653 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

That's a man who knows his way around the airport :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

I hope that was terminal 2!

This program is like a maze with no exit......

Turlough trying to get off with female Garda.....

They dont need to put up the caption of the days.. I have the number scraped on the wall with my nails..

• Registered Users Posts: 826 ✭✭✭edelweis

the polt strickens

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

''Gardai are not going to allow you to leave''. ...

Are we living in North Korea

Surely that's a decision for a judge

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭ChewyLewy

It's Declan !!

Turlough trying to get off with female Garda.....

God loves a trier!!....:D

Em, this is nearly over.............:eek:

I reckon Jenny and that red haired clown have Amber held hostage..

1966 wrote: »
    Sorry who is Turlough?

00041881-545.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

The vast majority of people who watched the show have been sucked in by RTE’s marketing of the show and missed out on the writer’s intent. The writer has said in an interview that the story was inspired by the disappearance of a friend. The friend had been spotted on CCTV near a pier but his body was never found to this day. He didn’t really elaborate on that but it seems that it was thought to be a suicide and it was very unexpected.
    He wrote the show in the immediate aftermath of the incident. He also talked about the fallout the incident had on those closest to his friend. RTE has marketed the show as a whodunit/Where’s Amber story which I believe is contrary to the writer’s motives as he is trying to examine the effects of a disappearance which has no resolution on a family and others e.g. suicide, deportation, madness, romance, despair, acceptance etc.
    The show charts the development of the characters from a number of perspectives with the most prominent role given to the father followed by the mother, followed by the son and then you have Charlie, the prisoner, the journalist etc. The camera angles used to film are sometimes shot from a first person perspective and some scenes are repeated from different angles (at first I thought this was just filler) which drives home this point. The layered form adds to the theme as the audience are given the chance to examine the character’s development as time passes.
    Interestingly, Amber’s disappearance is purposely filmed from a long distance to emphasise the lack of connect between her and the audience; when she meets the Goth guy we can’t properly hear what she says for example and we never learn anything about the Goth as no character provides his name. There are many hints that it she may have committed suicide. Her family are very unstable. We see her mother likes to party in the first few scenes. Her father is a philanderer and egotistical. She has a fascination with mermaids and the daughters of the air. There are various underwater shots and also her bedroom is underwater. However, there is also plenty of evidence that she did not commit suicide. She only got off at that stop because she missed the earlier stop etc. Now, this may seem like a contradiction but it fits perfectly with the theme again. No one knows what has happened to Amber (we as an audience have the story pieced together by the evidence found) therefore there are a multitude of possibilities and we never get a first person perspective from her like we do the other characters. The shaggy dog storylines with Charlie and the prisoner are vital to the examination of the fallout of the disappearance.
    The show has not been about what happened Amber, it has been about the fallout as a result of the disappearance e.g. Dad becomes a “hero” by saving girl but is not allowed see his son, detective gets promotion, mother finds new man, manga boy and Amber’s friend meet etc. The audience are left unsatisfied similar to the family in real life which I believe was a brave move as the writer decided not to pack the show in a nice little package and put a bow on top. People expected a nice, simple whodunit (even though there are already plenty of these types of boring, conventional shows on TV already) but there was a lot more than meets the eye to the show in terms of its form and content.

White van :eek:

Dem peedeefiles are always in a white van

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭IrishStuff09

That's all folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 AUNT NELLIE

"SHAMBER".......................................

• Registered Users Posts: 18,599 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

The last 2 minutes have been the most tense of the 4 nights-what the fúck?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

At least it didn't fade to black

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭Sarah Bear

What a load of b*llicks

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Affs... So who took her? What happened? Is she home or not? Is that it?

Why did I even bother?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Aliens...... had to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,179 ✭✭✭dee_mc

Can't believe I missed Grey's Anatomy for that crock of shite