Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amber [RTE] [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

I wondered was the guy who stole Amber's phone the guy who was giving out the food in prison?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

had a walk around town there at lunchtime...amber stuck in my head...just seeing weirdos everywhere!!

I guess one of the morals of the story is we're all a little bit weird and you can't really protect your kids from everything.

(two morals)

Meanwhile, there's a bunch of people went down there to take a look, saw you wandering around, and thought "I bet it was him".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

I didn't mind the end, but it was so disjointed. When the mum's boyfriend suddenly appeared I actually stopped it and went back to see if I'd missed an episode. From then on I was just irritated!

I think that was meant to be a shorthand way of telling us she was starting to come to terms with Amber's probable death, and move on with life and look positively towards the future; as was her going out and getting a job. Meanwhile the father was obsessed with the past and couldn't accept that Amber was not coming back - summed up in his dismissal of the Eastern European woman and telling her life would have to get back to the way it was once Amber came home.
    But I agree, the whole thing was totally disjointed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

had a walk around town there at lunchtime...amber stuck in my head...just seeing weirdos everywhere!!()
    (two morals)

That's odd. I followed you the whole way around town, and I didnt see any weirdos.. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

Apparently the directors have hinted as to what happened her and I've heard more than one person say that she fell into a river and drowned.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,971 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Thoie wrote: »
    Meanwhile, there's a bunch of people went down there to take a look, saw you wandering around, and thought "I bet it was him".
    everyone was looking at everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Shine7

Thoie wrote: »

Or else people were looking for the writers to get them to tell us what bloody happened!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

that's 4 hours of my life I will never get back.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

My teachers always said you need a beginning, a middle and an END.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

The 2 main loose ends that drove me mad were-

1: How did yer man terence know about the 'daughters of the air' thing? He said someone in prison told him but who else could have known?

2: Why didn't the gardai follow up on the mangaboy24/ red haired lad? It wouldn't have been that hard for them to do

Also, the whole father rooting through porn on the deep web and finding some brothel full of yanks in slovenia was very unlikely and unnecessary.

I could have lived with her not being found if the story had been more credible and obvious loose ends had been tied up :(

• Registered Users Posts: 15,930 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Oh jeesus, a slightly older Madeleine mc Cann so!

Beat me up folks, I watched about ten minutes of it.

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

I'd like to start an online petition to have that road she walked up at the end renamed Amber's Way.
    Seems the least we could do.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

1: How did yer man terence know about the 'daughters of the air' thing? He said someone in prison told him but who else could have known?
    (

This. How did he know?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,048 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Looking forward to the finale of Amber tonight to see what happens her :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Eight Ball wrote: »
    Amazing what a bit of PR can do for a show. I don't believe for a second it was held up for two years before being showed here for "legal reasons" I actually think they where ashamed to put it out there. Terrible waste of the licence fee.

It wasn't legal reasons. It's quite obvious. RTE weren't making any money the past few years and thus couldn't afford to have amber on the books, seeing as it cost over 2 million. They waited until they'd sold it internationally, and then were able to have it on 2014's books. They made all their money back and more from selling to netflix, bbc, canada, sweden and a few other nordic places. They gave it a big push in Ireland because it had done so well.

I agree it was badly directed and written, but not to the extent other people are making it out to be. The characters we're quite well developed. We as the viewers were tricked into thinking we would find out the conclusion, much like parents in the event of a missing child are convinced they too will find closure, we see the parents lives being turned upside down.. we see them laugh and cry and try to explain it to their son.. be belittled by those around them... The father doesn't let go of the idea she will be found. The mother does, and she fades out of the story. We follow the father go to great lengths to find the daughter, truly ****ing his life up in the process. In the end it doesn't matter what happened to Amber. She's gone. There wasn't even a fade to black, she's just gone, and there's no closure for anyone who cares to know what happened to her (that's us as the viewers, and the parents.) All the red herrings reflect how the parents worlds fall a part with the disappearance of the girl. Nothing can be trusted and the world becomes a harsh place. The father thinking back about the man on the beach talking to amber momentarily, and then going back to photograph him just shows how he now doesn't trust the world anymore.

There's a lot more in-depth analysis to be done over what the story was really about.. But that's also not the point.

I didn't enjoy this piece. The characters were swedish. The story was lacking in a lot of detail, there were plot holes which ruined any suspension of disbelief. Some characters were terribly developed, acting wasn't good.

The cyclical narration suited the piece, despite getting to much flack here. It's both a reflection of how the parents would be thinking back over and over about the events that took place, and it allows us to see the effects of this tragedy on different people and from different perspectives.

It was also interesting how they didn't make us get attached to Amber. We wanted to know what happened to amber only because of the affects her disappearance had on the world we saw pulled a part.

I want my 4 hours back. It should have been cut to two hours, cut out the coming and the going, and tighten up some loose ends, and get out the abomination that was her phone being thrown into a drain by a baby. That was the worst kind of ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭WayneScott

It wasn't legal reasons. It's quite obvious. RTE weren't making any money the past few years and thus couldn't afford to have amber on the books, seeing as it cost over 2 million. They waited until they'd sold it internationally, and then were able to have it on 2014's books. They made all their money back and more from selling to netflix, bbc, canada, sweden and a few other nordic places. They gave it a big push in Ireland because it had done so well.

I agree it was badly directed and written, but not to the extent other people are making it out to be. The characters we're quite well developed. We as the viewers were tricked into thinking we would find out the conclusion, much like parents in the event of a missing child are convinced they too will find closure, we see the parents lives being turned upside down.. we see them laugh and cry and try to explain it to their son.. be belittled by those around them... The father doesn't let go of the idea she will be found. The mother does, and she fades out of the story. We follow the father go to great lengths to find the daughter, truly ****ing his life up in the process. In the end it doesn't matter what happened to Amber. She's gone. There wasn't even a fade to black, she's just gone, and there's no closure for anyone who cares to know what happened to her (that's us as the viewers, and the parents.) All the red herrings reflect how the parents worlds fall a part with the disappearance of the girl. Nothing can be trusted and the world becomes a harsh place. The father thinking back about the man on the beach talking to amber momentarily, and then going back to photograph him just shows how he now doesn't trust the world anymore.

There's a lot more in-depth analysis to be done over what the story was really about.. But that's also not the point.

I didn't enjoy this piece. The characters were swedish. The story was lacking in a lot of detail, there were plot holes which ruined any suspension of disbelief. Some characters were terribly developed, acting wasn't good.

The cyclical narration suited the piece, despite getting to much flack here. It's both a reflection of how the parents would be thinking back over and over about the events that took place, and it allows us to see the effects of this tragedy on different people and from different perspectives.

It was also interesting how they didn't make us get attached to Amber. We wanted to know what happened to amber only because of the affects her disappearance had on the world we saw pulled a part.

I want my 4 hours back. It should have been cut to two hours, cut out the coming and the going, and tighten up some loose ends, and get out the abomination that was her phone being thrown into a drain by a baby. That was the worst kind of ****.
    i do not think so the father was dreadful and his business pal was as wooden as a tree

• Registered Users Posts: 759 ✭✭✭twowheelsgood

The chap that steals Amber's phone is the same one who is doing the food in prison. Even wearing the same hoodie! His "I thought we had no secrets" remark to Terence would suggest he shared something with him.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

The chap that steals Amber's phone is the same one who is doing the food in prison. Even wearing the same hoodie! His "I thought we had no secrets" remark to Terence would suggest he shared something with him.

I knew it was the same guy who took her phone but it didn't click that he might have actually looked at the contents of the phone before selling it to the Chinese guy.

Thanks, makes sense now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Choochtown

So, let me get this right ... A serial phone thief looks through the pictures of the phones that he steals, recognises that one of them belongs to a high-profile missing person, decides not to wipe the pictures but instead sell the phone on to Charlie who knows him to see and could go to the Guards with the evidence. Not only that but he subsequently gets arrested and when in prison boasts to other inmates that he had the phone and just to prove it tells them details that only someone who had close access to the missing person would know???!!

The ending didn't bother me. The massive plot holes and inconsistencies did.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

The non-ending of Amber and Man United's Penalty ShootOut Meltdown were a lethal cocktail, apparently. They combined to take Boards Offline.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=88624785&postcount=88
    Dav wrote: »
    Anyway, yes, the spike in activity around not only the soccer game, but also something on RTÉ called Amber caused some issues with the load balancers last night. The sys admins were really quick to get stuck in as always and so we were back to full speed in around 40 mins, so once again our thanks go out to them and our apologies go to their significant others who have thankfully not issued divorce proceedings after another late night.

Choochtown wrote: »
    So, let me get this right ... A serial phone thief looks through the pictures of the phones that he steals, recognises that one of them belongs to a high-profile missing person, decides not to wipe the pictures but instead sell the phone on to Charlie who knows him to see and could go to the Guards with the evidence. Not only that but he subsequently gets arrested and when in prison boasts to other inmates that he had the phone and just to prove it tells them details that only someone who had close access to the missing person would know???!!

The ending didn't bother me. The massive plot holes and inconsistencies did.
    It was Charlie who realized that the phone belonged to Amber. It had credit on it (which he used) which is why he had it in his hand and was fiddling with it. And in his fiddling he found the video.

I don't know if we are to believe that the thief independently examined the phone (he might have, he would have eyeballed Amber when he took her phone and might have recognized her from a "Missing" flyer in the days after).

Or if Charlie went back to the thief in his civic duty endeavors. Can't recall a scene that suggested the latter?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Choochtown

It was Charlie who realized that the phone belonged to Amber. It had credit on it (which he used) which is why he had it in his hand and was fiddling with it. And in his fiddling he found the video.

I don't know if we are to believe that the thief independently examined the phone (he might have, he would have eyeballed Amber when he took her phone and might have recognized her from a "Missing" flyer in the days after).

Or if Charlie went back to the thief in his civic duty endeavors. Can't recall a scene that suggested the latter?

So it's very unlikely the thief would have told anyone about "the daughters of the air".
    Unlikely that he would examine the phone, extremely unlikely that he would then sell it without wiping the pictures and totally far-fetched that he would link himself to a missing teenage girl especially whilst in prison.

Which brings us back to the original question. How did yer man know about ...

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Konor Halpin

Amber was Gimmicky and unconvincing. Another let down from an RTE thriller following the debacle that was the ending in The Fall.
    Cheated by another ludicrous ending and no great thriller aspect to this mess and when a writer is appearing on a radio show explaining the ending, it's like a comedian trying to explain a joke. You've lost the plot.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

WayneScott wrote: »
    i do not think so the father was dreadful and his business pal was as wooden as a tree

I think the father was quite well developed actually. You see him not really giving a **** at the start (liner, not start of the jumping around story), then moving onto going mad, and you start to see the world through his eyes (and ears) as you hear amber, despite her not being there, and start thinking that maybe the man on the beach was involved. We see the man on the beach through the fathers eyes, yet we see the father beat up the chinese phone man from an external view, and see the how ridiculous him beating up the man is, because we see the chinese man is actually quite innocent.

Not standing up for the wooden acting. The father too. But we do get quite a large insight into the fathers thought process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Okay, on behalf of all of the people here who were unhappy with the ending last nite, I've had a serious sit down meeting with the writers... As a result of my protests, they have offered a concession.... They are going to re-film the ending, and they've given me a choice of two endings... Can we set up a poll for this..... The choices are

A) AMBER LEAVES ON A SPACESHIP
    6w3EHN.jpg

B) AMBER CONTINUES WALKING TIL SHE MEETS THE YELLOW BRICK ROAD
    5K9iC7.jpg

YOU DECIDE...

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭teddyhead

we see the father beat up the chinese phone man from an external view, and see the how ridiculous him beating up the man is, because we see the chinese man is actually quite innocent.

Well thats debatable. He did come into the office for some weird , nefarious purpose. Maybe he was 'innocent' but he was certainly a stupid ,illogical idiot of a character and quite unbelievable. We are meant to believe he was more afraid of possible deportation than being implicated in child abduction/murder?
    Why , having gotten rid of the incriminating phone,albeit in a silly way , would he seek to reinvolve himself in the situation ?
    What on earth was he trying to achieve by going into the Dads office to find a phone which he had no reason to assume was still in the office?

• Registered Users Posts: 19 basemann

The only reason Ben was stopped flying to Ukraine was the budget to film it.

Choochtown wrote: »
    So it's very unlikely the thief would have told anyone about "the daughters of the air".
    Unlikely that he would examine the phone, extremely unlikely that he would then sell it without wiping the pictures and totally far-fetched that he would link himself to a missing teenage girl especially whilst in prison.

Which brings us back to the original question. How did yer man know about ...
    TBH, I don’t think that kind of detail matters too much. I think you could poke similar holes in pretty much any drama if you look hard enough.

It seems clear to me that the thief did know about the video and was the one who told Terence, far-fetched or not. And criminals bragging does not seem too far-fetched to me (he did seem concerned as to what Terence might be up to so perhaps he regretted telling him)

How did the thief come to know? Well, as I said, my best guess is that Charlie went back to him and showed him, perhaps in an attempt to glean some information about Amber? None of this was depicted I don’t think, but I really don’t see any problem in believing that it might have happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭RockDesk

Just thought I'd post here that I heard the interview with the writer. He says that Amber was murdered and is now "in the water" . No character or person in the programme killed her, it was someone else . Which I'm glad about because when I saw the clichéd man in a white van at the end, that really annoyed me!

• Registered Users Posts: 41 stringofmisery

The man in the white van took the proverbial biscuit for lazy patronising scriptwriting!it made me so mad also!