Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Door to door charities?

• 20-11-2012 11:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭

A crowd for Concern were around the estate earlier calling door to door. It was gone past 9pm on a weeknight?

I personally get so angry at this. And it's not the first time! Other charities have called to the door and one, excuse my french, asshole started on my dad one evening about "do you know how many blah blah blah" just because my dad said no? Like, is it not a bit aggressive? Considering this person was not invited to our home and he was on our property??

Anyone else feel the people representing the charities these days have gotten extremely aggressive?
    Putting themselves in your way on the main streets in town is one thing...but calling to your door?

It's a bit much in my opinion! Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Hang on, you answer your door when the bell rings?
    Even if no-one has text or rang ahead?
    Baha hahahahaha!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭CatEyed92

Sauve wrote: »
    Baha hahahahaha!!!

Shocking isn't it! :rolleyes: What kind of fossil am I ?! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭emo72

seems a recent phenomenon with younger people? not answering your door? it has its advantages. but my ma and da would always answer the door. have to say anyone coming to my door in the evening will not be answered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Super hoop

Tbh i just say **** off and close the door.works a treat.it may be rude,but it works

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

Super hoop wrote: »
    Tbh i just say **** off and close the door.works a treat.it may be rude,but it works
    no thanks is better
    you might have comeback if you keep telling everyone to **** off

I feel it's a complete invasion of privacy.. a step too far.

If anything, it turns you off giving to them completely - especially the aul punchline: "you can fill out your bank details here"

It's just not on! I often give to charity but the recent aggression of getting in peoples way on streets and inviting themselves onto your doorstep has turned me right off.

People have the right to say no. And have a right to relax in the evening in their own home without half wits on commission with a chip on their shoulder talk down to you! ON YOUR OWN DOORSTEP???!?

Ah, get ****ing real!

/rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭docmol

I open the door with a large cooking knife in my hand and eye them up and down while licking my lips. I'm always polite and ask them in and everything, they never do come in though....:D
    They never call back either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I open the door during the day because my kids are such gobsheens that nomatter how many times I tell them not to, they will still run and look out the window and start shouting "there's someone at the door".

If it were 9pm, I would probably answer incase it were someone in trouble, or the guards, or something like that - I wouldn't expect it to be sales people or charity people at that time.

Sometimes I'm downright rude to the people at the door, sometimes I politely but firmly tell them no once they begin their spiel.

It really pi$$es me off.

On the street, I would answer a homeless person looking for change, but I'd completely ignore sales/charity people and just walk past them making no eye contact.

If it were 9pm, I would probably answer incase it were someone in trouble, or the guards, or something like that - I wouldn't expect it to be sales people or charity people at that time.

Yeah exactly!!!
    I just think it's wrong on all levels! It feels like an invasion of privacy and you shouldn't feel intimidated in your own hallway.
    How are they getting away with it? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I answer the door then waggle my penis at them in a leering manner

• Registered Users Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Ziegfeldgirl27

I don't answer the door to anyone unless it's someone I am expecting. I hate people coming around selling raffle tickets and of course looking your bank details for some charity. I never agree to either, but my dad would on most occasions which annoys me.
    If I did get caught answering the door to any of these, I just tell them i am not interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I have a peep-hole on my apartment door. If I see someone I don't know on the other side, I just rasp "go away" as loudly as I can. They usually do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

M cebee wrote: »
    no thanks is better
    you might have comeback if you keep telling everyone to **** off

I just slam the door, I don't bother saying anything to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

No never answer the door unless they either ring or text outside or give the secret knock on the window that looks like it belongs next door :D...I live in the perfect apartment for avoiding the tv licence inspector...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

I was up until last year a supporter of charities. I gave to among others, Goal, St. Vincent de Paul and even at one point sponsored a child in Africa.

Never again. I have become totally cynical about charities. A week didn't go by but the charity I was sponsoring the child through were sending me glossy junk mail looking for more cash.

These charities are already state funded by tax payers money, while enjoying tax exempt status themselves.

The salary levels of the organisations are astounding too.
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/kfgbidgbqlgb/rss2/

Another thing I object to is the charity porn ads on TV. Each trying to outdo the other with heart string pulling images, from starving children to dogs about to be put down. How much are they spending on advertising instead of the cause for which they are raising funds?

Now my charitable activity is more personal and more difficult. Giving my time and assistance directly to people rather than tossing a coin in a bucket to appease my conscience.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

The doorbell here isn't actually a doorbell, it's the button that releases the hounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

I don't give money to charity, I give my time. I volunteer with a charity that is soley run by volunteers and does really good work, nobody gets paid in the charity. It's done out of passion and out of a willingness to try make a difference to people. They don't use aggressive fundraising and are successful enough. They don't have big fat CEO salaries and expenses to cover or fancy D4 buildings to maintain like some charities.

Those salaries posted by safesurfer are ridiculous, these people need to examine the whole ethos of charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

No thanks,close door,job done.

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭burgermasters

CatEyed92 wrote: »
    A crowd for Concern were around the estate earlier calling door to door. It was gone past 9pm on a weeknight?

I personally get so angry at this. And it's not the first time! Other charities have called to the door and one, excuse my french, asshole started on my dad one evening about "do you know how many blah blah blah" just because my dad said no? Like, is it not a bit aggressive? Considering this person was not invited to our home and he was on our property??

Anyone else feel the people representing the charities these days have gotten extremely aggressive?
    Putting themselves in your way on the main streets in town is one thing...but calling to your door?

It's a bit much in my opinion! Thoughts?

I feel it's a complete invasion of privacy.. a step too far.

If anything, it turns you off giving to them completely - especially the aul punchline: "you can fill out your bank details here"

It's just not on! I often give to charity but the recent aggression of getting in peoples way on streets and inviting themselves onto your doorstep has turned me right off.

People have the right to say no. And have a right to relax in the evening in their own home without half wits on commission with a chip on their shoulder talk down to you! ON YOUR OWN DOORSTEP???!?

Ah, get ****ing real!

/rant
    Were not all half wits. I do it because i have a young family to provide for not to p+++ you off,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

How much out of every euro you collect do you get to keep?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

SafeSurfer wrote: »

How much out of every euro you collect do you get to keep?
    It doesn't work like that at all i get 60 euro per day and if i get three people a day i get an extra 35 for the day if the people i sign up are over 23 and employed. If i don't sign up any body i don't get paid at all for the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

They should only send hot people round.
    I'd gladly open the door then.
    They can judge by the car in the drive way whether it's likely to be a male or female opening the door and send then decide whether the hot guy or hot girl should do the house (if you're gay, well I don't know then!).
    Foolproof :)
    Still wouldn't sign up to whatever they're selling though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Lima Golf

I had a guy from the charity Gorta call to my door a few weeks ago. he was really pushy. His opener when I opened the door was "wow you have a really nice car, is that a coupe, god they don't come cheap..." This went on for about three minutes. It was like you can afford a nice car, now I'm going to show you images of starving babies and guilt you into donating.

Then I made the mistake of telling him I already donate money each week to cancer research and that I couldn't afford to donate to two charities. This was met by 5 minutes of trying to convince me to drop that direct debit with cancer research and donate to Gorta. At this point I've had more than enough and tell him I'm not interested and goodbye, clearly I'm angry and annoyed with him. Then he goes "Ill call back in a few hours and we can discuss it some more" I advised him not to.

I should have shut the door about 5 minutes earlier but I'm too fricken polite to people! I don't have the heart to be rude to someone directly to their face. It's much easier on the phone or through email!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

The charities are bad enough but the feckin esb/airtricity/bord gais 'we're 2 percent cheaper this week' really grind my gears

Were not all half wits. I do it because i have a young family to provide for not to p+++ you off,

They are half wits if they start to intimidate you on your doorstep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

I was offered a job with of those crowds, think it was 300 a week basic + commission

When I enquired about the commission, she sed most were on at least 600 a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I'm lucky that I'm in an apartment building, so I never get hassled. We used to get them from time to time when I lived at home, never wasted much time telling them politely to fúck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

I've no problem with chuggers on the street, did it myself for a while over ten years ago in London, but door to door fundraising is a step too far in my opinion.

A firm but polite "no thanks" is all they get from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Lima Golf wrote: »
    I had a guy from the charity Gorta call to my door a few weeks ago.

Gorta is one of only a handful of charities that do not go door to door so I would be wary if I were you. Clearly a scammer trying to make money by claiming to be from a genuine charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I actually cancelled my direct debit to Concern over their door to door chuggers.

I signed up over a year ago just to help my mate reach his targets, but continued paying it, even when I left my job and had to go on the dole.

Few weeks ago, I was the only one in the house and a Concern lad called to the door. I explained that I was already signed up with them. He asked how much I was paying per month, I told him (only 11 euro, I'm too poor to give more than that :pac:), and he started telling me I should really be giving 25 euro a month so that they can claim tax back or something.

I said 'I'm on the dole, I can't afford more than that, I can barely afford what I give you as it is,' and he started telling me how even some homeless people donate more than that. :eek:

He wasn't aggressive in the slightest, but sarcasm and condescension aren't gonna make me give them more money. :mad: I told him 'I already told you I can't afford any more, so I'm sorry but that's it.' He then said 'But you can help with blah blah blah if you give more and we'll get taxes back.' I ended up closing the door in his face and cancelling my direct debit the next day.

If I'm being good enough to give you cnuts money every month when I can barely afford it, don't be a patronizing little príck just because I won't give you an extra 14 euro just so that your pay for the day gets higher!

Btw, Concern don't work on a purely commission basis. You start at 9 euro an hour. For each sign up you get, you get an extra 2 euro per hour for that day. So if you sign two people in one day, you get 13 euro an hour for that whole day.

Sorry, but why don't you bloody well donate, yourself?? You make a lot more than me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Sauve wrote: »
    Baha hahahahaha!!!

^ This. I don't answer the door unless I'm expecting someone. I also have a sign on the door saying 'no cold callers or religious groups'. Only chance of a peaceful life in your own home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I dunno about Concern now but about three years I think, I was going to do a door-to-door job. You'd get different things to sign up every so often. The time I was gonna take the job it wasn't Concern (I think) but another charity for the "starving poor kids" in Africa.
    And yes, we'd go around latest at about 8pm I think. We'd have to go around the same area 2-3 times to go back around to anyone that didn't answer the door.

Wanna know the great part? We'd sign people up for 15 per month. For every person we successfully signed up, we got paid 30 euro. So if you cancelled the direct debit after it was paid, you'd have paid 15 euro and we'd get given 30 euro.

I never took that job after the first day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

emo72 wrote: »
    seems a recent phenomenon with younger people? not answering your door? it has its advantages. but my ma and da would always answer the door. have to say anyone coming to my door in the evening will not be answered.

Young people don't like paying tv licences or listening politely to what Jehovahs Witnesses have to say before saying 'thanks but no thanks'.

Besides there's a fcuk load of scammers calling door-to-door, Saorview scammers, cheap tarmac driveway scammers, wallet inspector scammers...
    Thanks to the interweb, I haven't seen encyclopedia salesmen in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

Wow some of you are very sensitive.

I did a door to door job when I was in college, selling Phonewatch.

It's not a scam, anyone I sold to was getting a good deal and it was something they wanted.

I know it can be annoying but if you're not interested just say "No thanks" and close the door. Very simple.

I can't relate to people saying they never answer their door to anyone that hasn't called ahead... that seems very weird to me. Sounds hermit-like.

dRNk SAnTA wrote: »
    I know it can be annoying but if you're not interested just say "No thanks" and close the door. Very simple.

If only saying "No thanks" actually worked!
    I have been stopped on the street many times and said "no thanks I am not interested" only to be followed down the street and harassed.

Yes there are some nice people working for charities but they are few and far between.

Also, if someone asked if you were on commission would you tell them?

kingtut wrote: »

If only saying "No thanks" actually worked!
    I have been stopped on the street many times and said "no thanks I am not interested" only to be followed down the street and harassed.

Yes there are some nice people working for charities but they are few and far between.

Also, if someone asked if you were on commission would you tell them?
    No thanks should work for me as a door to door fundraiser people who are rude to me at the door can ruin my target for the full day because it makes me feel bad about myself. And as posted before i am just trying to provide for my young family and make a buck ye know? Some people need to realise this before running some poor guy from there door because you can directly cost them there job by this.

They are half wits if they start to intimidate you on your doorstep!
    That's fair enough if you think they do that to you but i myself am not like that to anybody and it makes me feel bad about myself when people feel the need to treat me bad at the door. As i said its a job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

No thanks should work for me as a door to door fundraiser people who are rude to me at the door can ruin my target for the full day because it makes me feel bad about myself. And as posted before i am just trying to provide for my young family and make a buck ye know? Some people need to realise this before running some poor guy from there door because you can directly cost them there job by this.

It's your job to sell not the potential customer's job. They have there own worries, your employment is not one of them.

I am always polite to people who come to my door however I expect them to leave when I say "No thank you I am not interested" and not to stand there and continue on with their sales pitch, causing me to repeat my lack of interest multiple times.

Politeness works both ways :(

A few weeks ago someone from Airtricity came to the door and my housemate answered the door, I over-heard the conversation which pretty much went like this.

Airtricity: "Hi I am from Airtricity, would you be interested in switching to us and saving money on your electric bill"
    Housemate: "This is a rented house and I don't own it so I would have to ask the others who live here"
    Airtricity: "Are they home now?"
    Housemate: "No"
    Airtricity: "Will they be home soon?"
    Housemate: "I don't know?"
    Airtricity: "Are you not interested in saving money?"
    Housemate: "Yes but my housemates are not here and I would need to discuss it with them"
    Airtricity: "Can you show me a bill?"
    Housemate: "Ummm *sounds reluctant* ok ...."
    Airtricity: "See your last bill was X, you can save X% by switching to us."
    Housemate: "Ok but still I need to talk to my housemates"
    Airtricity: "but you will save money. Don't you want to save money?"
    Housemate: "Yes but it is a rented house and I cannot decide by myself"
    Airtricity: "Ok well the offer is only for today, I just need a few details"
    Housemate: "I' need to talk to my housemates first"
    Airtricity: "All I need are a few details"
    Housemate: "If we are interested I'll give them to you at a later date"
    Airtricity: "but it will only take a few minutes, by giving details you are not committing to anything"
    Housemate: "Well I would still prefer not to give my details until i speak to my housemates"

....... This continued on for about 10/15 minutes until finally the airtricity guy left.

:mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

dRNk SAnTA wrote: »

I can't relate to people saying they never answer their door to anyone that hasn't called ahead... that seems very weird to me. Sounds hermit-like.
    Me neither! There's always someone calling here. Then again, I'm in the country, probably different than an apartment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Lima Golf

Gorta is one of only a handful of charities that do not go door to door so I would be wary if I were you. Clearly a scammer trying to make money by claiming to be from a genuine charity.

I had never even heard of Gorta until that guy came to my door. I told him I had never heard of it and he said "that's because we have never had to look for money off the public like this before. We were mainly government funded but that aid has been slashed so we've taken to the streets to look for donations". He had a Gorta ID card, a jacket with Gorta written on it and loads of Gorta leaflets so I think he was legit. He wasn't on his own either. I seen another of them at a neighbours house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Getting this more and more: "Hi, I'm collecting for such and such local outreach/homeless/drugs rehab etc. etc" Don't like being asked questions and go all vague and waving loads of photocopied bumph. Sorry but fup off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Threads like this always elicit a mixture of rage and amusement from me. I especially love the warped logic of the person who'll give change to a homeless person (not saying anything wrong with that) but not to a charity. Give a homeless person a euro, it won't last them very long, even if you are doing it every week it will have a minimal effect. Give 52 euro to a homeless charity every year and they can use it, (admitedly along with other donations from other people) to create programmes to assist homeless people make the transition back to having a home, to lobby the government on policy that impacts on homelessness, to provide emergency services to homeless people etc etc...but sure we couldn't be giving to a charity because they 'waste' money employing people who've gone to college to acquire the skills to help people with serious problems. Those people should give their time for free, no matter that they also need to live, buy groceries, pay rent/mortgage, possibly student loans!

And please don't get me wrong, I don't think that people working for charities should have massive incomes but I think that this notion that charities can operate with no paid staff is daft. We want our charities to be accountable, to keep good records of where the money goes, who they've helped, maybe conduct some research into how we can do things better, help more people or nip issues in the bud so that more serious interventions are not needed further down the road and you can't do that sort of thing without a dedicated staff.

And as for the door-to-door guys, not my favourite either, no matter if they are from a charity or selling me something, but being rude to them is not necessary. A firm, no thanks I am not interested and closing the door, or walking on if talking about on-street guys is all that is needed. You get on with your day, they get on with theirs and their job. And like another person said, there are certain time limits e.g. no calling after 9 so if someone does call outside those hours, ring the charity to complain - they will appricate the feedback.

Rant over, thanks for reading :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭blue note

My father does this and I've taken it up too when possible.

If one calls to the door and you also have tickets to sell for something, say that's great I'd love to support your cause and then come back with your tickets too and ask what they'd like to donate.

I cannot stress how funny it is to see the shock on their faces!

blue note wrote: »
    My father does this and I've taken it up too when possible.

If one calls to the door and you also have tickets to sell for something, say that's great I'd love to support your cause and then come back with your tickets too and ask what they'd like to donate.

I cannot stress how funny it is to see the shock on their faces!

Best idea ever !!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

A few weeks ago someone from Airtricity came to the door and my housemate answered the door, I over-heard the conversation which pretty much went like this.

Airtricity: "Hi I am from Airtricity, would you be interested in switching to us and saving money on your electric bill"
    Housemate: "This is a rented house and I don't own it so I would have to ask the others who live here"
    Airtricity: "Are they home now?"
    Housemate: "No"
    Airtricity: "Will they be home soon?"
    Housemate: "I don't know?"
    Airtricity: "Are you not interested in saving money?"
    Housemate: "Yes but my housemates are not here and I would need to discuss it with them"
    Airtricity: "Can you show me a bill?"
    Housemate: "Ummm *sounds reluctant* ok ...."
    Airtricity: "See your last bill was X, you can save X% by switching to us."
    Housemate: "Ok but still I need to talk to my housemates"
    Airtricity: "but you will save money. Don't you want to save money?"
    Housemate: "Yes but it is a rented house and I cannot decide by myself"
    Airtricity: "Ok well the offer is only for today, I just need a few details"
    Housemate: "I' need to talk to my housemates first"
    Airtricity: "All I need are a few details"
    Housemate: "If we are interested I'll give them to you at a later date"
    Airtricity: "but it will only take a few minutes, by giving details you are not committing to anything"
    Housemate: "Well I would still prefer not to give my details until i speak to my housemates"

....... This continued on for about 10/15 minutes until finally the airtricity guy left.

:mad::mad:

Your housemate is an example of someone who is not able to be firm. After the first "I would need to discuss with my housemates" just say "thanks, I may be in touch, goodbye". Some people are just incapable of doing this it seems. :pac:

Malari wrote: »
    Your housemate is an example of someone who is not able to be firm. After the first "I would need to discuss with my housemates" just say "thanks, I may be in touch, goodbye". Some people are just incapable of doing this it seems. :pac:

That is a fair point however in addition to that the airtricity guy should have respected what my housemate said and not asked the same thing over and over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

That is a fair point however in addition to that the airtricity guy should have respected what my housemate said and not asked the same thing over and over again.

He's not gonna make a sale that way. He was just using classic sales lines. Your housemate was giving him an "in". Yeah, it's pushy and annoying but they are trained not to just accept it when someone says no.