Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Fr Niall Molloy Case

• 21-11-2012 7:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭

Some are probably familiar with this. In 1985, Fr Molloy was murdered and left to die for six hours at the house of his friends at a party attended by a number of Fianna Fail politicians. The case at the time was judged by a judge who knew the accused.

There are a number of articles in the independent this week about it:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/detective-hits-out-at-denial-of-fr-niall-molloy-coverup-3297163.html
    But Mr O’Carroll, a former detective inspector, said: “The Molloy case is the only one that I can put my hand on my heart and say was a massive cover-up.

“The Phoenix Park (garda HQ) tried to silence me when I got vital evidence about the case and attempted to investigate it myself.

“Two superintendents came in and searched my office. I told them nobody would silence me. When I joined the guards, I swore an oath of office that I would do my work without fear, favour, malice or ill-will.

“The gardai have a mountain of evidence. It must be taken out of their hands immediately and the Government must set up a judicial inquiry into this horrendous case.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/dail-committee-suspended-over-questions-about-murdered-priest-fr-niall-molloy-3301764.html

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/calls-for-probe-into-sordid-coverup-of-fr-niall-molloys-death-3294625.html

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/priests-murder-is-states-biggest-ever-coverup-seanad-told-3295417.html
    THE Fr Niall Molloy murder case is the biggest cover-up in the history of the State, the Seanad was told.

Roscommon Labour Senator John Kelly demanded that his party and Fine Gael uphold their pre-election pledge to establish an independent inquiry into the priest's death.

"When something looks and smells like a rotten apple, it certainly is a rotten apple," he said.

"This man was left to die for up to six hours following a wedding in Clara.

"Fr Molloy's father was a senator in this House. I think we ought to give him justice.

"Prior to the general election, Fine Gael and Labour pledged to establish a Commission of Inquiry into his brutal murder and this must be honoured."

Sounds like something was up. Brian Lenihan senior was the 'household name' in attendance according to politics.ie, although there's no suggestion he was involved, but the event was attended by several Fianna Failers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Just going to say before this gets going, you can't accuse people of crimes here without proof. And I mean 100% proof positive that they are guilty. I know this is a forum for theories, but false accusations will get the site as a whole shut down and as such I'll be deleting any. I'm sorry to force you all into only being able to vaguely talk about it, but them's the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

This is one CT that looks 100% legit. Can anyone think of any other major Fianna Failure dynasties based in Clara?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭thiarfearr

This is a good summary of events from the independent:
    THE biggest cover-up in the history of the State. That is how the brutal murder of Fr Niall Molloy in 1985 was described in the Seanad last week. Those words, of Roscommon Labour senator John Kelly, were reiterated this week by veteran murder squad detective Gerry O'Carroll.

A two-year investigation by this newspaper into the priest's killing has exposed a litany of damning evidence and glaring inconsistencies which point to nothing less than a cover-up of staggering proportions, involving several institutions of the State and the Catholic Church.

Even now, almost three decades on, candles still burn for Fr Molloy in the Roscommon village of Castlecoote, where he is remembered as a devoted pastor to his people and a gentleman of the highest order.

A talented horseman, he was in the prime of his life when he was beaten to death in the Offaly mansion of his well-connected friends, Therese and Richard Flynn, shortly after a wedding party in their Clara home.

The priest had gone to the house requesting a large sum of money that was owed to him.

His battered body was left bleeding on the floor for up to six hours before help was called. By then, it was too late. But three of the country's leading pathologists are certain that his life could have been saved if somebody had phoned 999.

Instead, the local parish priest of Clara, Fr James Deignan, was called to the house. He subsequently said he did not know 999 was an emergency call, and had 'forgotten his glasses' so he could not read the phonebook to call a local doctor.

Shortly before dawn, he went to the local garda barracks and asked Sergeant Kevin Forde if the priest's death could be "kept quiet".

Sgt Forde said it could not, but despite the officer's best efforts on that summer's night, a veil of silence fell over the truth about the priest's murder and its shocking aftermath.

When the full facts are finally brought into the public domain, they will rock the foundations of the State.

After hearing the testimonies of dozens of individuals, this newspaper has uncovered a catalogue of shocking revelations.

Senior Fianna Fail politicians were in the house on the evening of the priest's murder, one of them a well-known household name and close friend of the Flynns.

The original garda investigation was botched and shambolic.

Vital evidence was contaminated, bizarre statements were taken and given and key witnesses were never interviewed.

It has also been established that Fr Molloy was first attacked in the living room of the mansion, but his body was put in the Flynn's master bedroom. To this day, gardai have failed to identify blood found on the bannisters of the stairs.

In the immediate aftermath of the murder, two other suspicious deaths took place of people believed to have witnessed the murder and who told friends they could not bear to be around when the truth came out.

THANKS to the courageous work of murdered journalist Veronica Guerin, we also know that Justice Frank Roe corrupted the subsequent trial, hearing the case even though he knew the parties involved. After the killing, Richard Flynn was charged with manslaughter, but Roe directed the jury to acquit him after less than four hours. It is widely believed that another individual was responsible for the killing.

The State's files on the case have seen their share of drama too. The Offaly coroner's one was burnt in a mysterious fire and 'the General' Martin Cahill stole the garda file from the offices of the DPP. Among the more alarming allegations, revealed by Veronica Guerin and crime writer Paul Williams, are details of a garda deal done with Cahill and his associate John Traynor in return for the stolen file.

These claims cast a slur on every serving member of An Garda Siochana, not to mention the integrity of the criminal justice system; yet Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan has remained silent when questioned about them.

It is now more than two years since the Irish Independent presented most of its file to An Garda Siochana and Justice Minister Alan Shatter. At the time, he was in opposition but he made a pledge to the Molloy family that if he was in government an inquiry would be established in the interests of justice and the truth.

What the family and the public got was a garda examination whose pace has been shamefully slow and nothing less than mystifying on occasion.

It has left the Molloy family utterly disillusioned and many people in the midlands concerned that there is no urgency at all to take a violent killer off our streets or hold those responsible for the subsequent cover-up to account.

For almost two years, the Molloy family and this newspaper have been calling on Minister Shatter to uphold his promise and instigate an independent judicial inquiry to ensure that all of the disturbing allegations surrounding this case can be examined in a neutral forum.

The time is long overdue for him to grant this, not only because justice must be delivered for the family. But because the public that the minister serves have a right to know the truth, however shocking it will turn out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Torakx

Looks like somebody with the right connections to the gardai and courts.

I may have missed it, but is there any mention of motives?

Torakx wrote: »
    Looks like somebody with the right connections to the gardai and courts.

I may have missed it, but is there any mention of motives?

The priest was owed money, so that may have something to do with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Torakx

I was wondering if it was more like he knew something and had become a risk to someone powerfull.
    You know how the catholic church was with child abuse back then.

We can see in the Uk, cases where the police have neglected to chase down child molesters,even when children complain about abuse.
    Partly due to government law banning children from being able to report it.
    But before that law i think it was still the case.

Bit off topic so il just link a documentary i saw that was very informative,but not for kids i would say.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DOVMEg83Cx8

I would imagine, if that system is able to be setup for pedophiles in the uk national care/juvenile istitutions, government and police/courts, its likely it can and has been done here too.

But its a big step to take considering we havent much idea yet of the background story.

It's an angle I hadn't considered, but certainly possible given the history of abuse and cover ups in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Luca Brasi

thiarfearr wrote: »
    Some are probably familiar with this. In 1985, Fr Molloy was murdered and left to die for six hours at the house of his friends at a party attended by a number of Fianna Fail politicians. The case at the time was judged by a judge who knew the accused.

There are a number of articles in the independent this week about it:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/detective-hits-out-at-denial-of-fr-niall-molloy-coverup-3297163.html

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/dail-committee-suspended-over-questions-about-murdered-priest-fr-niall-molloy-3301764.html

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/calls-for-probe-into-sordid-coverup-of-fr-niall-molloys-death-3294625.html

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/priests-murder-is-states-biggest-ever-coverup-seanad-told-3295417.html

Sounds like something was up. Brian Lenihan senior was the 'household name' in attendance according to politics.ie, although there's no suggestion he was involved, but the event was attended by several Fianna Failers.

Where is the evidence of murder ? Manslaughter maybe but murder ?

Luca Brasi wrote: »
    Where is the evidence of murder ? Manslaughter maybe but murder ?

Well there is no evidence because the original investigation wasn't done properly, hence the conspiracy.
    The independent seem fairly confident in calling it murder, and there appear to be a few hints dropped both in the media and on the internet that people in the media know more than is in the public domain, which they either can't or won't say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

This is one CT that looks 100% legit. Can anyone think of any other major Fianna Failure dynasties based in Clara?

Why are you calling it a CT?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Because it is one?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

You don't need satanic symbolism and false flag predictions for it to be a conspiracy.

This one's great. It's about the alleged murder of a popular member of the clergy, allegedly witnessed by members of the country's top political party, who were allegedly protected by members of our state's police force and allegedly let off by a member the judiciary with links to the alleged killer.

What more could you want?

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Katie_05

Might be worth checking out <snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

well now, i'm not sure where I first heard this but there was a rumor that the priest was nabbed 'in flagrante delicito' with the new bride.

would make sense, that's a fair scandal for holy catholic ireland, and a bit more plausible than an argument over monies owed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

^^^

Complete and utter bullsh1t and don't you think it's bad enough that Fr Molloy's family have lost him without reading bullsh1t like this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

a theory is a theory, it was something I heard a few times in the past when this case was discussed,

it seems like a plausible theory to me, especially given the actions of the judge in the case.

the argument over money always struck me as an oddity, surely there were enough silver tongued sleeveens present that evening to diffuse any such argument, but a scuffle in the heat of passion is a different scenario

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,711 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Looks like the cover up here rumbles on. Back in July the Dept of Justice said an internal report on the case would be ready by the end of the summer. Now its revealed in a question answered by Francis Fitzgerald that the report hasn't even begun and that no definite time frame is set for it.
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2014/10/13/no-justice-yet/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭jordata

More on this 30 year old case today:

http://www.thejournal.ie/fr-molloy-review-2023430-Mar2015/

"Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald says she understands that the decision will be a disappointment to Fr Molloy’s family.
    She adds, however, that the report sheds some extra light on events but does not back up concerns about the investigation."

No convictions, no answers for the family and no further inquiry warranted??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

jordata wrote: »
    More on this 30 year old case today:

http://www.thejournal.ie/fr-molloy-review-2023430-Mar2015/

"Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald says she understands that the decision will be a disappointment to Fr Molloy’s family.
    She adds, however, that the report sheds some extra light on events but does not back up concerns about the investigation."

No convictions, no answers for the family and no further inquiry warranted??

Why didn't the guards investigate why the wife of the accused, and subsequently tried man, tried to falsely claim against the priests insurance policy ?

Why didn't anyone investigate why the judge, who was a personal friend of the accused, recuse himself from the case ?

Why as did he allocate the case to himself in the first place ?

The case stinks to high hell and people know who really killed the priest.

Last weekend we had some out congratulating themselves how well our Gardaí were doing because of the work done by Gardaí on the Dwyer case.
    And for added affect they threw in how they won the Bailey case.

They negelected to mention they won it really on a technicality on the statue of limitations and they still have never found the killer of Sophie Toscon du Plantier.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

After hearing of the sterling work of Garda James O'Donoghue
    from Roundwood in the Graham Dwyer case, I feel totally dismayed at this latest news re Fr. Niall Molloy. When will his family ever get justice??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

Another few years, another article

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/views/analysis/why-was-a-priest-killed-in-a-couples-bedroom-at-an-unholy-hour-855138.html

It outlines how completely toothless GSOC is.

Maybe that's the way the establishment wants it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

dense wrote: »
    Another few years, another article

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/views/analysis/why-was-a-priest-killed-in-a-couples-bedroom-at-an-unholy-hour-855138.html

It outlines how completely toothless GSOC is.

Maybe that's the way the establishment wants it.

Wow.. ...!

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

greenspurs wrote: »
    Wow.. ...!

Any analysis will tell you GSOC is not fit for purpose.

Only certain people have the power to change that but changes are not being made.

Not being able to interview retired gardai in inquiries about lost evidence is just one way it is prevented from properly being able to investigate alleged complaints

https://amp.independent.ie/irish-news/senior-gsoc-director-says-agency-is-not-fit-for-purpose-30272454.html