Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Staying Motivated With Slow Progress & Injury Worries

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Laois_Man wrote: »

So I'll try to find a new pair of the same runners and hope they do the job and try this session again in the middle of next week. At the end of the program, dare I dream of taking the "Slow progress" part out of the title of this thread :eek:
    and you'll have to get rid of the 'Injury Worries' bit too:D You'll need a new log title! Going great there Laois-Man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Laois_Man wrote: »
    My brand new sparkling Garmin 220 arrived yesterday. I was like a child on Christmas morning with it.....couldn't wait to get out running with it :D. But, the run didn't go to plan :(.....

Last year, I must have spent a small fortune on runners. I found it hard to get a pair that I was happy with. Until one day, several months ago, I finally hit on a pair that I was happy with. Fast forward to now where said runners are more than overdue a funeral. They started to hurt my feet in the last few runs and it has all come to a pinnacle now coz my 6x1 mile session has been ruined because of them - the sole of my right foot has a huge blister - all because I have been delaying the inevitable goodbyes to my runners for fear that I'll struggle with new one's again. But alas, it is time to say goodbye and I will wave sorrowfully at the bin collection lorry tomorrow.

As for that ruined session. The plan as I said was the 6x1 mile at 10K pace (7:43). I only ended up completing 4x1 miles with very slow recovery jogs lasting just under 3:45 at around 12:45 pace in between.

I knew early on trouble might be brewing and it gradually got worse - to the point where I had to give up after the 4th rep and even jogging home very slowly (1 mile at 14:20 pace) was quite painful.

Splits: 7:55, 7:45, 7:55, 8:17
    - So I never even hit the 7:43 target and with that last rep and the pain I was in, I had to call it a day. But jeez, all 4 of those miles felt very long

Totaled 7 miles overall.

Still, it's an 8 week plan and the target 10K is still 9.5 weeks away so it'll be grand. And it's only a blister - even though it's a bad one, I should be OK to run again by Friday. In the meantime, the wife bought a new exercise bike last weekend and I think I'll have a good go on that tonight (the bike that is, not the wife ;))

So I'll try to find a new pair of the same runners and hope they do the job and try this session again in the middle of next week. At the end of the program, dare I dream of taking the "Slow progress" part out of the title of this thread :eek:

I also got a heart screening done last Friday - a proper one with a 12 lead electrocardiogram - Something I think we all should do once a year. Fit as a fiddle I am - and a resting hear rate of 42 BPM. :D

Laoisman- If you are targeting 7:43 don't run your reps there….run your reps at your current 10k pace- not surprised you'd blow up in that session as you're running right at a target time. If you run within yourself and hit the reps at current 10k pace you'll see the fitness really improve!

6x1mile at 7:59 would have been a really good session for ya I reckon but you might have blown yourself up w/ that 7:45 on the second rep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

drquirky wrote: »
    Laoisman- If you are targeting 7:43 don't run your reps there….run your reps at your current 10k pace- not surprised you'd blow up in that session as you're running right at a target time. If you run within yourself and hit the reps at current 10k pace you'll see the fitness really improve!

6x1mile at 7:59 would have been a really good session for ya I reckon but you might have blown yourself up w/ that 7:45 on the second rep.

I don't think it's fair to say I blew up when the issue was a foot blister which began to be a problem even in the warm up. I think without it, I'd have managed the target OK.

Also the particular McMillan plan I am intending to do, specifically instructs you to run the reps at goal 10K pace. I don't think coming down to 47:59 from 49:40 is too outlandish as a target. Not backing out now. Not until I get a fair chance to do the first session on it at least. :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,295 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Good work on the 10K workouts. I was thinking about doing the same plan prior to starting a marathon plan. They look tough but the trick may be to set an achievable target pace.

Maybe step back the target time to 7:50 m/m if the 7:43 is causing too much difficulty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

adrian522 wrote: »
    Good work on the 10K workouts. I was thinking about doing the same plan prior to starting a marathon plan. They look tough but the trick may be to set an achievable target pace.

Maybe step back the target time to 7:50 m/m if the 7:43 is causing too much difficulty?

Yeah once I try the first session next week, I'll deffo consider stepping back the target if 7:43 is proving to be too big a step. That pace certainly wasn't too much in 6x1K reps I did a week or two ago. It'll be interesting to see how I manage it as a 6x1 mile session in comparison....without a painful blister. :)

It doesn't help that athletics facilities around my way are absolute crap. I'm like a little knacker goin around trying out different places looking for a running home I like to do these reps :D