Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pro12: Munster vs Scarlets, 25 Nov 5:15pm; TG4/S4C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Another scrum penalty, bring Archer back! :eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

6-3 down, scrum costing us the game. :(

Horan and Varley on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

The wind is brutal. Keatleys restart really held up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Muck, absolute muck.

So so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭goreyguy

shambolic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Disaster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

Oh Christ on the cross

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

feck

And a Jones mistake costs us :( Definite try.

We're fcuked now. Stupid mistake, and just after a decent scrum too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,710 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Archer is the worst prop in Ireland. It's a disgrace how he gets anywhere near the Munster or Irish squads.

Horror show from Jones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Quick synopsis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

duckysauce wrote: »
    Noddy iswas having a great game

:(

What the hell were Munster doing trying a move like that? Crazy...

You can't be too hard on Jones for not securing the ball...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

condition are really ****e..made trhe game a lottery

not the time/conditions to be chasing the game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Wouldn't be too harsh on Jones, the ball is like a bar of soap.

Clegg wrote: »
    Archer is the worst prop in Ireland. It's a disgrace how he gets anywhere near the Munster or Irish squads.

Horror show from Jones.

The scrum has been worse since Archer went off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

The scrum has been worse since Archer went off!

Does it have anything to do with Samson Lee coming on? He's highly rated in Wales but I don't know how long there was between him coming on and Archer going off

Clegg wrote: »

Horror show from Jones.

Tbf today it obviously wasn't all Archer's fault, scrum was just as bad when he went off...only looked better when Horan and Varley came on.

And I do feel sympathy for Jones, he's been brilliant...and the conditions are unpredictable.

Nice to see JJ get a runout at least. Shocking game, conditions saw to that.

Scarlets have played the right style of game for the conditions and taken their chances

Reckon would have been smarter for Scarlets to go for the corner there, play in the Munster end of the pitch and run down the clock. Goal kicking in this condition is really tough.

Good kick if he gets it

Fair play JJ, that was one difficult kick!

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭TheJims

Overall, dirty as a bag of carrots.. Lbp better then nothing, terrible night all round

Bad loss but I was actually reasonably pleased with what I saw. Overall it wasn't great, but most of that was down to the conditions... while it was horrible to lose, especially with such a fluky try, I thought some of the individual performances were good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Sorry but you have to be critical of Jones in that play. Considering the conditions he should have just booted the ball into touch-or even dead.The conditions were awful but Munster were shockingly poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Given that Sexton is Ireland's No.1. outhalf he starts while ROG warms the bench, so why in God's name does Williams start ahead of Stringer? He is 26 and not the answer for Munster at No.9. Why bring Stringer on at all when the game is lost?

We get it at this stage, you don't rate Williams, you've posted the same thing repeatedly this season. I actually think Williams was much improved tonight, until the conditions ruined the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Stringer is a shadow of the player he once was, and while better than Williams, it makes a lot of sense given he'll likely be gone at the end of the year, whereas Williams will be number two to Murray.

Stringer does bench in the HEC too.

I often wonder do people actually watch Stringer anymore though.
    He literally only offers a speedy pass, and even that's on the wane.
    While Williams is poor, at least he offers some sort of breaking threat. Stringer, like ROG just isn't cut out for pro rugby anymore.

We get it at this stage, you don't rate Williams, you've posted the same thing repeatedly this season. I actually think Williams was much improved tonight, until the conditions ruined the game.

Sorry but we all have our Bête Noire - you haven't exactly been kind about ROG this season. I want to watch Munster win games and I can't see why players like Williams are starting - call me thick but that's where I'm coming from.

There has been absolutely nothing to be kind about.

Agree with you on Williams though, bit of a mystery that he's getting games, really poor player imo.

But I've explained above the reasoning behind it, it's pretty obvious.

Plus the fact that Stringer, as an 80 minute 9, isn't as far ahead of Williams as you might think.

Fair enough, but think of it this way: We are stuck with Williams for two seasons, Stringer will almost certainly retire/be released come the end of the season. Stringer may well be a better bench option for the HEC, but we may as well try to develop Williams in these Rabo games. Now I don't think Williams will come good but I see why he's starting in these.

We'll have to agree to differ but I see your point of view. Jeez, if it wasn't for the AB's impending humilation of England I think I'd take up supporting soccer. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Hype710

Is there an NIQ slot open next year for a scrum half? I think Munster should look to bringing in someone better, not just for when Murray is away but to offer another good option off the bench, like Boss and Reddan at Leinster.

• Hype710 wrote: »
    Is there an NIQ slot open next year for a scrum half? I think Munster should look to bringing in someone better, not just for when Murray is away but to offer another good option off the bench, like Boss and Reddan at Leinster.

no.

Pienaar at Ulster.

Hype710 wrote: »

There may be a slot open next year, but no quality NIQ SH will come because he'll be behind Murray. There's also the issue of the IRFU dictats on one position for the three provinces (Ulster have signed up Pienaar).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Hype710

Well then Munster should look to Cooney and McGrath at Leinster. Boss and Reddan are signed on next season and the pecking order doesn't look like changing, especially as Reddan and Cooney are quite similar so Boss will always be in the 23. I think both Cooney and McGrath are better options than Williams even now, and of course have big potential. Of course they may not want to go and may wish to bide their time and wait for Reddan and Boss to retire, but no. 2 at Munster would be great for the player (whichever one), Munster and ultimately, Ireland. Even if it was only a year or two year deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Glass Prison 1214

You should think about Cillian Willis, unspectacular but solid and definitely playing his best rugby at the moment. No doubt that he would be better then stringer and Williams.

He'd become the first player to play for all four provinces!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Glass Prison 1214

He'd become the first player to play for all four provinces!

I was wondering if anyone had already played for all four. Ha thanks for clearing that up. You would be able to get a decent few years out of him aswell, hes only 27.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Very solid. Irish. Ideal second string player.

Did a grand job for Leinster last year when boss and redden were away.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Horrible head charge by ball on Niall Ronan, probably be cited. Collisions like that happen when the ball is being contested, but in this instance the charge was no where near as a contest for the ball.

The only thing he did wrong was fail to engage. Could be a ban but I wouldn't be hugely surprised if it wasn't. It was unlucky more than malicious.

Don't think Ronan considers it unlucky. Ronan himself is blessed he didn't raise his face at that instance.

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Don't think Ronan considers it unlucky. Ronan himself is blessed he didn't raise his face at that instance.

So what are you saying, it was intentional?

Intent or not I would not like to suggest, but it was dangerous and malicious.

We will see what will come of it. I think that's the kind of hit that should be sanctioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

Any other Munster fans beginning to question Penney ?