Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IMRA Season 2013

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

Offhand it looks like a list of the early starters wasn't kept to distinguish them from the 7.30 starters. So, without people coming forward and declaring them as early starters many 7.30ers will be downgraded a bit :confused:

I think some of the early starters are taking the proverbial p***. It was the same last week on Tibradden. Some of those guys look young and capable. To be starting early is missing the point of what is a race.

I have to agree there. I was running from Maulin to Djouce, joined Martin going up djouce and we were only keeping pace or moving slight faster at what was a hard enough effort. Looked like a race within a race.

In fairness though, not many of them would have been sub the hour which was the cut off. I think this race is one that should be in mid summer withe the present course.

There are other choices available though: A route from The Glencree river to Maulin summit would be shorter but a lot steeper. A road crossing needed in the early stage of race but everyone would be over within a few mins, 450+ metres of a single steep climb, only the usual 5-6 early starters and less issues all around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Rogue Runner

Sad news from NIMRA
    On Thursday night at the Hill and Dale Race 5 – Moughanmore a runner took ill and very sadly, despite the best efforts of fellow competitors, passed away. All the Nimra family pass on our condolences to the runners family at this very sad time.

Sympathies to the runners family and friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

belcarra wrote: »
    This is much more straightforward during Parkruns. I'd ask Plodder or Peckham to give an insight but apart from people forgetting to give back tokens at the end of races it seems like a more efficient system than IMRA where there are often issues with finisher's numbers, positions, times, etc. Also, Malahide manage 500+ runners every week and so have no issues with large fields of runners.

QUOTE]

There's a certain amount of work involved with the parkrun system too - generally the volunteers doing the results and sorting the tokens are still in Avoca at 11.30 or 12. It's a great system, but it's not totally automatic and labour-free. like with IMRA, you're still relying heavily on the goodwill / efficiency of volunteers.

Sad news from NIMRA
    On Thursday night at the Hill and Dale Race 5 – Moughanmore a runner took ill and very sadly, despite the best efforts of fellow competitors, passed away. All the Nimra family pass on our condolences to the runners family at this very sad time.

Sympathies to the runners family and friends.

Didn't see this until after I'd posted my boring parkrun-computer point above; I wouldn't have ignored this and just barged in with the above if I had.

Really sorry to hear about the NIMRA runner and my sympathy to everyone involved.

I'll be in Malahide tomorrow looking for a low 20:xx time.
    I'll give you a shout if I see you alright!

Belcarra, were you at parkrun today? I saw someone who looked a bit like your race report pic & stared at him for a while. It may not have been you though ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

I was privileged to watch a brilliant downhill battle at Annagh today. It's a very steep final descent (for the first time the initial wall climb doubles as the route going down), and can only be run in two gears: breaks on and breaks off. Brian had a lead at the top gate, but was closely persued by Bernard, Jason, and Adrian, all four racing down and not letting up an inch. Their bright tops moved down the mountain, different routes being picked, and positions changed. I could hear their grunts and breaths from halfway, and the speed that they were moving was fast and fearless. No time to comprehend any danger, just one foot placement at a time, and an ever-increasing momentum down towards the finish line. Eleven seconds separated the four at the end, they were spent. Bernard prevailed in a thrilling finish, deservedly winning just ahead of Jason and Brian (with Adrian a second back again). A truely magnificent display of downhill running from the four of them.

Time for the annual downhill-only race debate? You could charge premium for spectators!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Who's doing the race tonight? Or is everybody resting for the Wicklow Way Relay/Solo?!

GoHard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭paulocon2

Who's doing the race tonight? Or is everybody resting for the Wicklow Way Relay/Solo?!

GoHard

I'm doing it, first race since Bray Head. Quite nervous as fitness is way behind what it was last year and I've done virtually no hill-running this year (living in flat South County Louth doesn't help!)

Will be using it as a means of getting fit and I'd say there will be more walking than running for me. I do remember that fantastic descent last year so looking forward to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

I'll be running tonight also. Don't think my volunteering for the Relay allows me to rest up before it!
    Never ran this route but after last week's run the magnitude of Djouce is still very fresh in my mind!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Hope to be there, work depending.

Will be taking it easy and running in cotton wool ahead of the relay. It has a great descent but the idea of hauling myself up Djouce twice in 7 days. Shudder.

Did we go anti-clockwise last year? I thought we went left at the boardwalk and came down the main slope of Djouce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Rogue Runner

This is one of my favourites. The decent is epic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

GoHard

Sure you're only doing what, 2 legs on Saturday ? With a break in between them and everything and you're talking about resting ?

edit: just saw the teams, you're doing 3, you can be forgiven for having such thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Sure you're only doing what, 2 legs on Saturday ? With a break in between them and everything and you're talking about resting ?

edit: just saw the teams, you're doing 3, you can be forgiven for having such thoughts.

Legs 1, 3 and 6.

Leg 3 is great fun. I haven't recce'd the adjusted leg 6. Hopefully I'll be able to stay on course.
    Leg 1 might take the wind out of my sails! It will be hard to keep slow when others are racing off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭Enduro

3 legs.... lightweight ;) Some of us are doing 9 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭robbicosta

I'm volunteering tonight as doing the solo on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

If we're bragging about the legs we're doing, I'll probably cover about 15. Chasing the last 2 posters and their fellow competitors around the course. :D

Maybe even more if some of them decide to take a detour or three.

I see the results are up already - fair play to the gang tonight! Another great event!
    Glad I won't be seeing Djouce again for quite some time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

I see the results are up already - fair play to the gang tonight! Another great event!

What! No Djouce race next week :D
    Awful run for me. Legs had nothing from the start. Despite being short Annagh hill was still in the legs. Lovely route though and very well organised. I think the lap of the pitch is unnecessary though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Mothman

I was on manual results. The laptop operator tonight was fairly slick! There was very little amending to be done afterwards. As for the results posted I reckon there is just one runner that is wrong, that we all seem to miss during a mass sprint finish.
    One reason I didn't run tonight, also I don't like "epic" decents :)
    I am a late addition to the relay, doing leg 5, which I've done last 2 years. Really looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Mothman

I think the lap of the pitch is unnecessary though.
    As a spectator it was a great spectacle and then there was a road crossing, not every race you get one of them ;)

I'm not sure if it really served to thin out the field too much alright but overall I don't think it adversely affected the race all the same.

So- WWR in two days time. Anyone care to speculate of the likely winners? :)

FWIW- Rathfarnham and Raheny both have strong teams. Most would expect the winner to come from these two, although on paper its hard to pick a favourite between them. With there being no clear favourite I would think it less likely that complacency would creep in to either team.

However, if missed turns or dodgy logistics play their part (as they have so often over the history of this relay), there's a few teams poised to take advantage. Viv's "Mountain Swifts" are all well able to read a map, and their leg 7 runner will likely be at Aughavannagh from the dawn chorus this year. The team of "Get Mucked" AR runners could well finish very strongly. Mick's "After 8's" look stronger than they have ever done, and could well cause an upset (lots and lots of Boardsies on this team too, for anyone wondering who to be rootin', hootin' and tootin' for!). You could add a few others to this list of podium contenders.

Then there's the other teams, who will be aiming for anything from a top 10 place, to just getting around without the search parties being called out:) Should be a great day, and the fun back at Shillelagh is not to be missed!

Kurt Godel wrote: »
    So- WWR in two days time. Anyone care to speculate of the likely winners? :)

FWIW- Rathfarnham and Raheny both have strong teams. Most would expect the winner to come from these two, although on paper its hard to pick a favourite between them. With there being no clear favourite I would think it less likely that complacency would creep in to either team.

However, if missed turns or dodgy logistics play their part (as they have so often over the history of this relay), there's a few teams poised to take advantage. Viv's "Mountain Swifts" are all well able to read a map, and their leg 7 runner will likely be at Aughavannagh from the dawn chorus this year. The team of "Get Mucked" AR runners could well finish very strongly. Mick's "After 8's" look stronger than they have ever done, and could well cause an upset (lots and lots of Boardsies on this team too, for anyone wondering who to be rootin', hootin' and tootin' for!). You could add a few others to this list of podium contenders.

Then there's the other teams, who will be aiming for anything from a top 10 place, to just getting around without the search parties being called out:) Should be a great day, and the fun back at Shillelagh is not to be missed!

Have a closer look at the "Adventure Racers". Some familiar names. They will finish like a freight train. Tim O'Donoghue should put serious time into the entire field in leg 7. The question is how far will they be behind at this stage? They will lose time on the first few legs particularly to Raheny who start with arguably their 2 strongest runners. If they are within 10 minutes starting leg 7 id give them a chance. Raheny might be particularly vulnerable here (or not) depending on how Bernard Roe has recovered and trained from a recent excellent 2:31 marathon in Rotterdam. Rahenys last runner is good but Rathfarnham have Catherine Devitt who might be better prepared to hold a lead to the line. Id put it between these 3 with an outsider win less likely due to the strenght of these 3. One of Sloggers after 8s, TT Racers or Crusaders could nick a top 3.
    Top3: Rathfarnham, Adventure Racers, Raheny.

Legs a bit sore this morning but well worth it - what a fabulous race!

I actually think that the lap of the field helped string out the runners and there wasn't as much of a delay in getting through the 2 'pinch points' (section with a broken fence/bits of trees and the crossing of the fence).

Really struggled with the uphill resulting in more walking that I would have liked but the descent was pure enjoyment. I have struggled a wee bit to motivate myself to get out running this year but the 4km from trig-point to finish was a great reminder of what makes these IMRA races so enjoyable. Fitness well down on where it should be and I really felt it in the calves after crossing the stream on the way back down.

Has to be said that it's a beautiful run when conditions are like they were last night. Took a bit of time to take in the views on the early part of the descent and they were really stunning. Saw some guy huddled beside the rock at the summit taking photos, would love to see some of the shots he got!

That's 2 races done for me in the league so incentive now to do 5 of the remaining races to get a league position. Just need to find some hills to practice my uphill technique on - unfortunately, there are not too many hills in County Louth!

T runner wrote: »
    Have a closer look at the "Adventure Racers". Some familiar names. They will finish like a freight train. Tim O'Donoghue should put serious time into the entire field in leg 7. The question is how far will they be behind at this stage? They will lose time on the first few legs particularly to Raheny who start with arguably their 2 strongest runners. If they are within 10 minutes starting leg 7 id give them a chance. Raheny might be particularly vulnerable here (or not) depending on how Bernard Roe has recovered and trained from a recent excellent 2:31 marathon in Rotterdam. Rahenys last runner is good but Rathfarnham have Catherine Devitt who might be better prepared to hold a lead to the line. Id put it between these 3 with an outsider win less likely due to the strenght of these 3. One of Sloggers after 8s, TT Racers or Crusaders could nick a top 3.
    Top3: Rathfarnham, Adventure Racers, Raheny.

Raheny to set the pace over the first half, Rathfarnham to run consistently strong, and the AR's to finish fast; would set it up for a mighty grandstand finish.

The AR's have some talent all right, leg 7 should be faster of the day, and leg 8 finished Annagh like a speeding bullet. I'd agree with your picks for the top three, but can't decide on order!

paulocon2 wrote: »
    Legs a bit sore this morning but well worth it - what a fabulous race!

I actually think that the lap of the field helped string out the runners and there wasn't as much of a delay in getting through the 2 'pinch points' (section with a broken fence/bits of trees and the crossing of the fence).

Really struggled with the uphill resulting in more walking that I would have liked but the descent was pure enjoyment. I have struggled a wee bit to motivate myself to get out running this year but the 4km from trig-point to finish was a great reminder of what makes these IMRA races so enjoyable. Fitness well down on where it should be and I really felt it in the calves after crossing the stream on the way back down.

Has to be said that it's a beautiful run when conditions are like they were last night. Took a bit of time to take in the views on the early part of the descent and they were really stunning. Saw some guy huddled beside the rock at the summit taking photos, would love to see some of the shots he got!

That's 2 races done for me in the league so incentive now to do 5 of the remaining races to get a league position. Just need to find some hills to practice my uphill technique on - unfortunately, there are not too many hills in County Louth!

The Cooley mountains are big enough! There are some old routes on the IMRA site "slieve Foye" "black mountain". NIMRA run a flagstaff to Carlingford race in June. The run from Windy Gap to Carlingford over that range is as tough (and beautiful) as any run youll do. Im guessing youre south Louth though?

Correct! I'm based in South Louth so Carlingford is over 40 miles away. Struggling to get time to get up there for some training this year. I was more successful last year and got in a number of runs up Slieve Foye (including the IMRA race at the tail end of last years season). I have also done the run from Windy Gap to Carlingford on a few occassions and you're tight, it's very tough but really scenic.

No decent hills local to me so any training is on the flat resulting in the shock to the calf-muscles I experienced on the ascent last night!

Raheny to set the pace over the first half, Rathfarnham to run consistently strong, and the AR's to finish fast; would set it up for a mighty grandstand finish.

The AR's have some talent all right, leg 7 should be faster of the day, and leg 8 finished Annagh like a speeding bullet. I'd agree with your picks for the top three, but can't decide on order!

There is bias in my order TBH. Gut and head differ from heart. Raheny have a great chance. The adventure racers have to come from behind and that can be a disadvantage as you have to force things and errors can be made. The guy on leg 7 is seriously talented though. If a necessary time is dangled before him hell dig deeper and run it. He might go close to the record if conditions are good. I think he would have won Slieve Donard without a recce this year if he ran, and he needs to be at the front of the IMRA bus and head scalper of scalping party for next years race. That said there will be a few curses if he is aboard any vehicle heading towards Carrauntoohil this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Sloggers team are dark horses for a top 3 I reckon.

paulocon2 wrote: »
    Correct! I'm based in South Louth so Carlingford is over 40 miles away. Struggling to get time to get up there for some training this year. I was more successful last year and got in a number of runs up Slieve Foye (including the IMRA race at the tail end of last years season). I have also done the run from Windy Gap to Carlingford on a few occassions and you're tight, it's very tough but really scenic.

No decent hills local to me so any training is on the flat resulting in the shock to the calf-muscles I experienced on the ascent last night!

High mileage with some long continous runs at fast paces makes legs very strong..(and body v light). The threadmill can be a friend. 12-15' gradient: 2 min reps at hard effort, rest for 1 min. Start with 5-6 and work up. Also an uphill continous tempo run of 20-40 minutes.

Some pics here: https://www.imra.ie/events/photos/id/1036

Super race. The downhill is a pure thrill. Had a decent race myself. Tough climb but the short section that skirts Djouce allows for a bit of a recovery for the final uphill slog before flying down for the next 4km.

Well, I say flying:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Ar Strae

One of Sloggers after 8s, TT Racers or Crusaders could nick a top 3.

Keep an eye on TT Racers. They'll be gunning for a position!

Ro

I haven't studied the field in detail but I'd venture its Raheny & Rathfarnham for 1 and 2, all going well for them. But as we know all does not always go well.

The way I see it we were 2nd last year due to good luck but we are stronger this year so you never know. I think the AR team had a couple of last minute alternations so not sure if they will line out as listed. Not sure though if that necessarily weakens them.

If Tom runs well and if Tim runs well we could see leg times for 5 and 7 under threat for our respective teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭mithril

I will be there on Saturday, but not too early, and not too competitive either. This, and the WW Ultra, are the two highlights of the Imra season to me. I have done a few marathons and Ultra races around world at this stage, but I think these will be the ones I look back first on once I grow too old to continue with running at any level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Good luck to everybody running tomorrow, especially those running the entire route. Ran 6 miles out and back from Marley this morning, t'was flippin cold up there, hard to see where I was stepping with the bitting wind bring tears to my eyes!
    I'll be thinking of ye when I wake during the night from my warm comfortable bed!

Off to shop for supplies for the solo race. Then more peering at spreadsheets of estimated arrival times to see where 15 minutes sleep will be fit in!

This time tomorrow we will be in the thick of it.

jeffontour wrote: »
    Off to shop for supplies for the solo race. Then more peering at spreadsheets of estimated arrival times to see where 15 minutes sleep will be fit in!

This time tomorrow we will be in the thick of it.

It takes a lunatic to want to run the whole thing in a day, but a special type of lunatic to help, facilitate, and encourage, that sort of behaviour. Best of luck Jeff and runners, may all winds be in your favour!:D

Enduro hogging all the limelight on Morning Ireland talking about tonight/tomorrow's race.

http://www.rte.ie/news/player/morning-ireland/

1:41:50 in.

Go mothman on rte1 now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭sideswipe

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Enduro hogging all the limelight on Morning Ireland talking about tonight/tomorrow's race.

http://www.rte.ie/news/player/morning-ireland/

1:41:50 in.

Interviewer was pretty flabbergasted about the 24 hr race, just as well Enduro never mentioned running around in circles for 72 hr in the states- his head would have exploded!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Looking forward to my first IMRA experience tomorrow - thoroughly enjoyed the recce of my leg so no doubt should enjoy tomorrow. Hopefully catch up with a few of you throughout the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Best of luck to everyone tomorrow, should be a cracking day for it.

I am tweeting updates as I can, @jeffjfitzsimons and posting to the IMRA facebook group. All through Crone in good spirits.

Enduro has built a ten minute lead or so as he approaches Oldbridge.

Raheny 1st after leg 1
    2nd ??
    3rd After 8's (Boards team)

Boardsies on the After 8's:
    Leg 2: Pronator
    Leg 6: Nerraw
    Leg 7: Krusty
    Leg 8: ASIMONOV

"Raheny 1st by a good gap"

After 8's now up to 2nd place- great run by Pronator!

After 8s just started leg 5, 5 mins behind 3rd place. Lots of fun to come, they are loaded on these legs ;)

Onto leg 7:

1: Raheny
    2: Rathfarnham
    3: The Adventure Racers
    4: After 8's

From Jeff on FB:
    "Eoin Keith New record, 1st winner of the Wicklow Way Race and all round smiley guy! 12 hours, 25 minutes and 7 seconds."

Awesome running, well done Enduro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

From Jeff on FB:
    "Eoin Keith New record, 1st winner of the Wicklow Way Race and all round smiley guy! 12 hours, 25 minutes and 7 seconds."

Awesome running, well done Enduro!

Fantastic stuff! Congrats Enduro!

Researching the Wicklow Way this morning has me really wanting to give this mountain running a go on some weekend over the next few weeks.

Can't wait. Looks excellent!

Lets hope the After 8's can finish strong, two speedsters in there to bring it home!