Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Best scam you ever heard of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭SJPK

Heard of one where a farmer brings a donkey to a show or fair and sells tickets for a raffle at the end of the day at €1 each, the winner wins the donkey, runners up maybe a tin of roses or something... Anyway when the winners have been chosen and the smaller prizes handed out, the humble oul farmer exchanges details with the winner of the donkey but says he'd feel a lot better if he brought the donkey home once more to 'say his goodbyes' or just 'collect some of his belongings' and that he will deliver the donkey to the persons house the next morning.

He turns up at the persons house only to tell them that the poor oul donkey passed away overnight! The farmer appears to be very upset and shook over the death, when really the animal hasn't died at all. Obviously the winner has great sympathy with the farmer and doesn't even want to accept the €1 refund from the raffle ticket that has been offered, so the farmer leaves safe in the knowledge that his donkey is alive and well at home.

Some of ye might be saying how is this a scam, but on the occasion i heard about this happening, he had sold over 1,000 tickets @ €1 each = at least €1,000 profit. Not bad for a day of having a bit of craic selling tickets, might have done it more than once aswell...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I was sitting outside a restaurant in Cartagena, SE Spain having a bit of hog. There's a lad wearing sunglasses, with a white stick working the road at a pedestrian crossing a few meters away.
    Cars would stop, he would feel his way along the car up to the drivers window. Most drivers rolled down the window and gave him a few bob. About 2 hours later he walks up to the waiter, has a few words, shakes hands, folds up the stick and hops on a scooter and blasts off down the road.

Kin priceless !

• Registered Users Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

Easy one.

50 pence irish coins were the same as UK sterling 50s in the 80s.

On the London under ground auto ticket vending machines if you loaded say 10 x irish 50s and then hit cancel the refund was in sterling :-)

The exchange rate was approx 75p so the gain was 25%

Sweet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

ColeTrain wrote: »
    That's a true story. The guys name was Peter Gibbons. He was never found guilty as his office caught fire and destroyed all the evidence.

Office Space
    UCDVet wrote: »
    * Start a charity, pay yourself six figures. Give the rest to charity.

* Claim to know about the afterlife. Market it.

* Learn some cold reading techniques and pretend to be a psychic.

* Become a hypno-anything. Charge to help people quit smoking, loose weight, feel better. Also sell tapes and mp3s online.

* Sell products that can't possible work. Magnets that cure cancer or some herbal crap to cure baldness.

* Collect money 'for your religion'

* Sell 'fake' autographed sports memorabilia on your website. Offer a 100% refund for any item that fails verification by an expert. 90% of customers won't pay for an expert to inspect it, if someone does, refund the money.

* Sell open source software on a website. Spam it all over the place. So long as you include the original source, you aren't breaking the law, and anyone stupid enough to pay for it isn't going to figure it out.

* Buy a receipt printer. Use it to create receipts that appear 100% authentic to use for whatever you can imagine. For example - most places will only exchange software/media for the same title. So you buy some new game, install it, then take it back saying there is something wrong with the disk and you want an exchange. They'll give you a new copy of the game - but they'll almost always give you a new receipt or draw/mark up your old one. Then you go home and recreate the original receipt. Now you return to the store (preferably a different branch of the same store) with the unopened game and the receipt. Then tell that store your Grandmother got it for you not realizing you already have it. Be sure to point out you haven't opened it. Now you get your money back or a store credit and you repeat.

* If you don't use wifi or if you have an extra (or just fancy) router - you can give out free wifi. Without encryption, if you live in the city, it won't be long before people start to connect and use it. Naturally, you'll be sniffing their traffic and collecting username/passwords, performing MITM attacks on HTTPS and logging all of it. It's insane how many people will connect to an open network and then think that as long as they see 'https://' they can do anything and be safe. They'll gladly say 'OKAY' to any certificate warnings that pop up and do online banking and everything else you can imagine - all on your network.

* Get a legit student-id when you aren't a student (so you can get student discounts). There are lots and lots of universities all over the world that are now offering online degrees. Many of them are also traditional universities. If you have a student's name and id number; you can fax in a request and include your picture and ask them to mail an ID to you. Granted, you need some information and some balls to do it; but it absolutely does work. The best part is - they charge the student's account that you are faking! I know the specifics of one university where this would work - but I'm sure lots of others are the same.

The downside is, you are sending in a picture of yourself for it to look real. Anyway, take your fake student id, print out a fake class schedule, and get yourself a 100% legit student travel card. Enjoy discounts on everything.

* Get a friend (who is in on the scam) who is going out of town and has his own place. While he's gone (perfect alibi), you 'break in', take pictures of the place, and list it on Daft.ie or some other website. List it at a reasonable, but low price to get lots of interest. With the rental market how it is, you'll have a lot of interest (assuming your in a city). People will show up with money in hand to secure the place. Anyway, people will say, 'We'll take it' and you'll say, 'Okay - sounds good. I'll just need your deposit...and you can move in anytime after Monday.' Then you take their money and write a rent-receipt, give them a copy of the lease to 'look over' and sign and say you'll be there on Monday (or whenever they want to move in) to sign the lease.

Naturally, you take their money. With any luck you'll get quite a few people paying deposits or parts of deposits and expecting to move in. All the information you give them is fake and when they come back to the house, your friend is there and says he knows nothing about anything. Gardia gets called and they conclude someone broke in, take a description, make a report, and you and your friend are off the hook. Avoid your buddy's house for a while after that. Split the money 25/75 in your favor. Don't repeat with the same guy though.

If you have serious balls, break into someone's house while they are away and do the same thing.

* Identity theft

* Get some really cheap knock-off merchandise - then make up a story how you are a delivery guy/warehouse guy and it a surplus showed up, but you'll be in a mess if they find out you signed for too many. Whatever. Let people think you are stealing it and selling it too them at a good price. (This sounds ridiculous, but it was very successful in the US (http://pdxkaraokeguy.hubpages.com/hub/I-Fell-Victim-to-the-White-Van-Speaker-Scam)). In fact, you are selling low quality junk to people who don't know any better but won't mind paying cash, in a hurry, because they think it's 'hot'.

Done much time?!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Heard of this scam years ago, Two lads walk into a pub and go to different ends of the bar, the first bloke orders a drink and pays with a 50, (he has previously ripped the end of the 50 note and gave it to the other guy) , the barman gives him a drink and his change. The next guy orders a drink too and pays with a fiver, when the barman hands him his drink and his change he starts giving out saying he gave him 50, he tells the barman to check his till and shows him the end of the ripped 50 making an excuse for ripping it saying he was picking something out of his teeth or something, the barman can obviously do nothing but give the man the change of the €50.

Not sure it would work nowadays but I'm sure back in the day when there wasnt as many cameras etc it would of been a nice little scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

There was another scam back in the recession-ridden 80's, where a few Irish lads living in London put an ad in all of the local Irish papers in Ireland.

"Wanted - 8,000 Skilled & Unskilled jobs required for Channel Tunnel project. Top rates paid. Please send a stamped addressed envelope with your contact details, experience, and please include a Birth Certificate."

These applications were to be sent to a PO box in London.

Thousands of people sent in applications for jobs which never existed. The organisers then sold on the Birth Certs for £100 each to people who could use the Birth Cert to claim the dole. I spoke to one lad who used multiple Birth Certs to claim dole in 13 different places across London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

dilallio wrote: »
    There was another scam back in the recession-ridden 80's, where a few Irish lads living in London put an ad in all of the local Irish papers in Ireland.

"Wanted - 8,000 Skilled & Unskilled jobs required for Channel Tunnel project. Top rates paid. Please send a stamped addressed envelope with your contact details, experience, and please include a Birth Certificate."

These applications were to be sent to a PO box in London.

Thousands of people sent in applications for jobs which never existed. The organisers then sold on the Birth Certs for £100 each to people who could use the Birth Cert to claim the dole. I spoke to one lad who used multiple Birth Certs to claim dole in 13 different places across London.

his signing on day must have been hectic poor lamb

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Caveman1 wrote: »
    Heard of this scam years ago,
    similar was done in http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0070510/
    with "Happy birthday" written on the note

TBH would be really dodgy to be still holding on to part of the note

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

One I heard about a while back is websites that have sign-up email lists for betting tips. Basically every so often you get an email with a tip, which always wins, and after a while they will up-sell you to a premium rate in order to keep receiving the tips and for bets with better odds.

The genius behind this scam is the accuracy of the tips. When they are sending out the tips they will partition their emailing list in two, one group will get a tip going one way while the rest will get a tip going the other. The winning group will keep getting emails while the losers will be dropped. After a couple of iterations you should have a small group of people who have all gotten near 100% accurate tips and who can be up-sold to the premium service. They will drop from it after a couple of bad tips, so the key is to keep adding new people to the list.

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

Neil gaiman - American gods

It was actually Frank Abagnale who came up with the scam for collecting bank deposits in Airports. The movie 'Catch me if you can' is based on his life story.

Can't remember what part of the video but he talks about it here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGr9ETaqz6Y

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

Fianna Fail and Fine Gael convincing people they are not the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 ktm

Back in the 80's , when it was only the corpo collecting the bins in Dublin, the done thing was to tip them at christmas. I remember they used to knock at the door if you wernt already out with the few bob.

This particular year one of the lads knocked at the first door of his round " christmas tip misses" , the woman told him she already paid his mate earlier. your man was a bit confused but went on to the next door, the same reply, and that was the only reply he got that year, "already paid your mate".

Some cute hoor got up early and did the christmas tip rounds ahead of the lads, made a nice few bob too !! Rumor has it a few of the lads were counting on it as they had pissed their wages up against the wall and relied on the good ole Xmas bonus to do the shopping. Its fair to say they were actively seeking your man to have a "word" with him lol.

I believe it was around crumlin it happened, not sure. I dont think its a spoof, heard it along time ago, and could well believe it happened. It made me laugh anyway.

This one springs to mind too, the Yellow Sam betting scam from the 70's. One of the better scams Ive heard of. A once off big hit on the bookies.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yellow_Sam_betting_coup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

ktm wrote: »
    Back in the 80's , when it was only the corpo collecting the bins in Dublin, the done thing was to tip them at christmas. I remember they used to knock at the door if you wernt already out with the few bob.

This particular year one of the lads knocked at the first door of his round " christmas tip misses" , the woman told him she already paid his mate earlier. your man was a bit confused but went on to the next door, the same reply, and that was the only reply he got that year, "already paid your mate".

Some cute hoor got up early and did the christmas tip rounds ahead of the lads, made a nice few bob too !! Rumor has it a few of the lads were counting on it as they had pissed their wages up against the wall and relied on the good ole Xmas bonus to do the shopping. Its fair to say they were actively seeking your man to have a "word" with him lol.

I believe it was around crumlin it happened, not sure. I dont think its a spoof, heard it along time ago, and could well believe it happened. It made me laugh anyway.

With respect you would want to be stupid to hand over money to someone at the door. I remember tipping the binmen a six pack but the giveaway was the fact that the actual bin truck was there on the road!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

There's this thing called Religion

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    With respect you would want to be stupid to hand over money to someone at the door. I remember tipping the binmen a six pack but the giveaway was the fact that the actual bin truck was there on the road!

With respect it was the 80's where con jobs were not so well known and tipping cash was done by plenty of "stupid" people .

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭md23040

The National Lottery

A state sponsored gambling opportunity played mainly by people who can ill-afford it, with false hopes, who will never win thanks to its really really lousy odds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭dinjo99

Not sure if the following is an urban myth or not.

Ad appears in paper in USA about reveloutionary new fly killer that guarantees to kill all flies or your money back. Thousands of people send dollars and recieve package containing two wooden blocks labeled A and B and the following instructions.
    Place fly on Block A. Bring block B down sharply on to Block A....
    According to the story they made a fortune as an American court ruled that there was no false advertising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭SimonLynch

This was on the TV show Ed a few years back, apologies if it's elsewhere on t' thread.

You send out 200 letters, 100 saying x are going to win, 100 saying y are going to win (USA sports don't do draws), after the result you send 100 letters to the x people tellling them x are going to win and y are going to win, repeat until you're down to 25 people and tell them they have to pay for the winning bet, half of them win and half of them lose so you only have 13 angry people after you.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭W0bble5

I know a window cleaner who used to clean gutters along a row of shops. He'd clean out the gutters and sprinkle grass seed in them as he went. Back 3 or 4 weeks later to clean them again. He did this for years.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Happened in Wexford not too many years ago...
    When piped gas was first being introduced to smaller villages, the pikeys would come and offer to pipe them into the main gas pipes for 250 punts, thus giving free gas for 'life'.
    No gas, you didn't pay. Couldn't lose.

So they agree, transit van pulls in, they dig up the drive a bit, looking at a 'gas pipe map' procured from bord gais , lay the pipes, connect to a gas cooker , you see/hear the gas, see the flames, they flatten out the holes all delighted and you pay them.
    Away they go, a couple of days later thd gas stops working.

The pikeys have buried a mini Calor gas canister in your garden with a pipe running into the house.

:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

About 20 years ago a traveller would arrive at a particular scrap yard in Galway with his van full of scrap metal.

The van would be put up on the weigh bridge prior to entering and then on leaving. The differences between the two weight totals would be totted up and he would be paid accord to the difference.

Staff noticed that this particular guy would always turn up on a wet day.

One day security noticed water pi*sing out of the bottom of his van. They requested him to look inside and found a 40 gallon container of water draining away along with some scrap metal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

This thread just reminds me of an old "Alfred Hitchcock Presents" episode made in 1957. Its called 'Mail Order Prophet' - Its an interesting scam.

From imdb.com
    One day, Ronald Grimes receives a letter from a Mr. Christianai who says he can predict the future. The letter correctly predicts the outcome of an upcoming election. More letters follow and through gambling, Grimes acquires a large amount of money. A final letter from Christianai asks for a contribution. Grimes gives it quite willingly....

Skip to 21.30 to hear how the scam works :pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

About 20 years ago a traveller would arrive at a particular scrap yard in Galway with his van full of scrap metal.
    I've heard the version with kids in the back of the van

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

Happened in Wexford not too many years ago...
    When piped gas was first being introduced to smaller villages, the pikeys would come and offer to pipe them into the main gas pipes for 250 punts, thus giving free gas for 'life'.
    No gas, you didn't pay. Couldn't lose.

So they agree, transit van pulls in, they dig up the drive a bit, looking at a 'gas pipe map' procured from bord gais , lay the pipes, connect to a gas cooker , you see/hear the gas, see the flames, they flatten out the holes all delighted and you pay them.
    Away they go, a couple of days later thd gas stops working.

The pikeys have buried a mini Calor gas canister in your garden with a pipe running into the house.

:-)
    As a plumber I v heard this one a few times . Whats brilliant is you cant ring the police because you were getting illegal gas .Them lads . Pretend they are stupid when every brain cell they have is working on the next scam .

• Registered Users Posts: 742 ✭✭✭mayotom

There are so many Scams on the internet these days, but for €20 I can show you how to avoid then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I remember a fella who was selling "chipped" phones at £200 a pop. This was in the early 00's and he was flogging 5 year old bricks with a contract sim card in it. He would sign up for a contract phone, unlock the phone and sell it on. Then put the sim card in an old brick and sell it as a "chipped" phone with unlimited free calls and texts for life. You could call a few mates at his stall to test it and when you tried to check the balance there was no response so everyone assumed it was genuine. A few bought in and told friends about it. He must have sold 100 of them within a few weeks. He then cancelled all the contracts and paid off the fee, pocketing around £150 per phone.

There was another fella selling TVs with a breezeblock inside - took a serious idiot to but a TV at a market.

I remember a cheap petrol place on a hill... they claimed that the pump was on the blink and they would charge a fiver per quarter tank. Most people go to the border when nearly empty to fill up so they would hand over 20 quid because a full tank was around £30 then so the few litre difference didn't matter.
    When you got a few mile down the road the needle would drop because you weren't on a hill any more!

This one isn't real, but from Only Fools and Horses: Grandad was sacked from a security job at a factory. He thought one employee was on the take and searched his suitcase everyday as he left but it was always empty. Turned out he was stealing the suitcases.

I had someone try the change scam on me... basically they come into a shop and ask for money to be broken into smaller notes and keep changing their mind. I have seen CCTV videos since and still cant spot it. At the time I knew something was up and grabbed all the money and took the till to the office to check ho much was there. I gave her back the difference and told her to fúck off. That same week 10 other stores were hit.

The other big online one is that someone buys something from you and sends you too much money and asks you to pass that money onto someone in your country. They then reverse the first transaction leaving you out the money you passed on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Crate of 20 Heineken. They're not long going at all!

On my last one after the evening and after picking up the pace I'm still not drunk.. enough!!

1ZRed wrote: »
    Crate of 20 Heineken. They're not long going at all!

On my last one after the evening and after picking up the pace I'm still not drunk.. enough!!

What percent and volume? There's the real scam!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

What percent and volume? There's the real scam!

4.3% is all :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

A scam a few years ago happened in longford,some fella was opening up a new state of the art gym,got loads and loads of people to sign up and then just left with the money,all the equipment they had seen when viewing the gym was gone aswell,cant get the story up as i am on the phone but it was in all the papers at the time,think he made over 20 something grand,and never caught!

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭md23040

There's a company doing beading insulation, drilling loads of holes etc into external cavity walls and then pretending to pump the expensive enough beading.

They got caught on by one client who did a before and after geo-thermal camera survey that showed no change.

In the main, handy €2,000+ as people can't see through walls....

• Registered Users Posts: 345 ✭✭DAZP93

Theres two english websites pretending to book the Irish Theory Test at a cost of between €58-€68.

They come up on google as the first websites as they come up as "Ads related to theory test" (people presume these are official), however this could not be further from the truth.

They opperate is by taking the cash from the unsuspecting candidate, taking all the details the candidate enters into their own website and then simply going to Theorytest.ie and paying €45 and re-enter all the details initially given by the candidate. The theory test crowd send an email to the unnoficial crowd and they then simply forward this to the candidate. Job done..20 Quid Profit..Bloody Brilliant Idea IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I was packing my groceries into my car boot in Lidl car park last week when these 3 gorgeous looking Eastern European Women come up and ask if I could give them a lift across town as there were no taxis available. One got in the passenger seat and the other two as soon as they got in the back seat started kissing and groping each other. After a few minutes they all jump out and only then I realised, the one in the front had stolen my wallet.

So just be careful lads, I got caught out last Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday with this scam.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

1. Two people enter a supermarket and each fill their trollies wit identical items.
    2. Person 1 goes and pays for their items at the till / checkout
    3. Person 2 (with identically-filled trolly) roams the shop for a while while person 1 pays for their goods
    4. Person 1 gives receipt to child who roams back into shop (usually unnoticed)
    5. Child gives receipt to person 2
    6. Person 2 roams out of shop with un-paid items
    7. If person 2 is questioned, they simply show receipt.
    8. 2 loads of shopping for the price of one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

Plazaman wrote: »
    I was packing my groceries into my car boot in Lidl car park last week when these 3 gorgeous looking Eastern European Women come up and ask if I could give them a lift across town as there were no taxis available. One got in the passenger seat and the other two as soon as they got in the back seat started kissing and groping each other. After a few minutes they all jump out and only then I realised, the one in the front had stolen my wallet.

So just be careful lads, I got caught out last Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday with this scam.

And to top it off I bet your running out of empty wallets too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

1. Two people enter a supermarket and each fill their trollies wit identical items.
    3. Person 2 (with identically-filled trolly) roams the shop for a while while person 1 pays for their goods

Sas this before, guy just walked over to Cashier 'Name' and asked if this person purchased the shopping

In Ireland they would let them walk and apologise, you can't be held for shoplifting and defamation of character is a minefield... they would be counting the $$$ while you check the CCTV to see what happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭gjc

http://irishtaxi.org/forum/index.php?topic=6974.0

jesus where do these guys learn this stuff...???? ffs a phantom dog..... my education was seriously lacking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

A lot of co-ordination required. I think security might twig if trolley 2 person was packing stuff into bags in the aisles rather than at/after checkout or leaving the shop via any point other than thru the tills. If the people working the tills are sharp enough, they would be wondering why a fully packed trolley is just breezing on thru.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭rcdk1

Could be an urban myth but......
    Large quantities of copper cable were going missing from an Eircom depot so they put in cameras covering the fence but to no avail. Then they put a security guard on the gate but again the cable was going missing. Eventually they put in cameras facing inwards....

The thieves were using a large diameter storm drain with manholes either side of the fence to get into the compound, unravel a reel of cable, draw the cable out through the drain and coil the cable onto a spare reel outside the fence. To add insult to injury, they were using Eircom's own pulling equipment (rollers etc) to steal the cable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

In Ireland they would let them walk and apologise, you can't be held for shoplifting and defamation of character is a minefield... they would be counting the $$$ while you check the CCTV to see what happened.

I've seen it happen before in Dunnes in Mahon Point.

The security guard didn't hold the person, they held the trolley.

Its a bit of a dead giveaway when nothing is packed in bags.

And someone packing stuff outside the packing area is pretty easy to spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

gjc wrote: »
    http://irishtaxi.***/forum/index.php?topic=6974.0

jesus where do these guys learn this stuff...???? ffs a phantom dog..... my education was seriously lacking

That link just crashed my computer!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

I've seen it happen before in Dunnes in Mahon Point.

The security guard didn't hold the person, they held the trolley.

Its a bit of a dead giveaway when nothing is packed in bags.

And someone packing stuff outside the packing area is pretty easy to spot.

Yes, who walks out with a whole load of loose stuff unbagged in their trolley?
    Security aren't fools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

Security aren't fools.

two couples in Liverpool used to do it regularly until they got arrested. it was in the UK news about ten years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭CorsetIsTight

A man I worked with swore that this was true:

A group of friends go into a pub, order a round including one for their friend Michael who is outside paying the taxi. They ask the landlord to change the TV channel to the Lotto as they've all bought tickets.

The Lotto draw comes on and they all check their tickets. No winners...commiserations all round.

Then Michael comes in, gets his drink and they give him the Lotto numbers so they can check his ticket. WINNER...!

The lads go mental. Congratulations pour in from all corners of the pub. They order drinks for everyone. Michael is shaking and doesn't know what to do with the ticket as he's terrified he'll lose it. Everyone agrees that the best thing would be for him to sign the back and give it to the landlord to put in the pub safe overnight. The landlord agrees to run a tab for the night, happy that he has the ticket as security.

The night wears on with the new millionaire buying champagne for everyone. Drinks are on Michael for the rest of the night, and everyone goes home happy, with the lads making arrangements with the landlord to collect the ticket from him in the morning.

Of course, when morning rolls around the lads never turn up. The landlord opens the safe and checks the ticket. He checks the numbers and sure enough they're the winning numbers for last night's draw.

But the ticket is for the next draw.

Michael had actually been waiting in the shop next door and had bought the ticket with that night's winning numbers, which one of the lads had texted him once they'd seen the draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Security aren't fools.

I often do? I just chuck everything into the boot and then put it into a bag when I Return home and bring it inside.... usually do this when I decide to shopping on the spur of the moment and don't have bags on me

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

religion

He said it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Boards.ie Subscriber Deal