Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Joey Barton and his accent

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Oh my god :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

France. He got it from France.

He's speaking in a French accent to French people to make himself more easily understood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

He is, how you say, doing a shteve mchlaren.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

In Carrefour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

what a legend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭asdfgh86

He's speaking in a French accent to French people to make himself more easily understood.

If a tourist asked for directions to O'Connell Street in french while using a stereotypical Dublin accent would you not think that was strange?

By all means speak slowly but the Allo Allo impression is a bit much:pac:

Having lived in France myself for a lot longer than Joey is I think and know that is rubbish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

ricero wrote: »
    what a legend :D
    Don't mean to be a grammar nazi but you seem to have spelt bell wrong. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

JPA wrote: »
    He is, how you say, doing a shteve mchlaren.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I actually think that it worse than steve mcclaren fckin hell hahahahah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRkXSmj8mh4S6GPt2BWiv5KkcKm5gYjOVDZKQt5IPjDHOSxpZEW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Jooey Le Bartonne

Barton refused to comment on his way home from training.

wZdRn.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Meh that's nothing, you should hear me trying to do a Limerick accent.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

I am christening this new language Bartonese... @piersmorgan

In my defence, it is very difficult to do a press conference in Scouse for a room full of French journalists. The alternative is to speak like a 'Allo Allo!' character which is choose. Its simply a case of you had to be there. #youstupidwomen!

I love this guy.

Fair play for takin the piss out of himself, there was nothing much else he could do though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

LOL at Barton trying to save himself from ridicule. His scouse accent isnt that strong at all where he had to change it. ****ed up and now trying to be comical. Nice try Joey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

He's lived there for a few months surely he could throw out a bit of french! Man is a legend though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,720 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

have QPR won a game since he left ?

just saying !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,591 ✭✭✭patmac

Just as well he didn't transfer to a German club with that moustache.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

thebaz wrote: »
    have QPR won a game since he left ?

just saying !

If by "a game" you mean, "a little less derision", then yes. Yes they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Has Barton been injured? Most sites say he's only made one appearance for Marseille.

Serving a 12 game suspension

His domestic ban that he received in England carried over to France. He was suspended up until recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Oh right, thought the whole point of loaning him to a French team was to avoid that.

The whole point of loaning him to a French team was to get him as far away from the country as possible :p

Joey+Barton's+odd+French+accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,802 ✭✭✭✭kippy

It's not even a good French accent. Sounds more South African.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Marseille apparently didn't realise they wouldn't me able to play him for 12 games when they signed him up. Ridiculous, but par for the course for OM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Cannot listen until the end. Too cringey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Fair play to him,I thought it was deadly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

God, I nearly died from cringing:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Reminds me of those lads who try to speak German by saying 'Vott iss your NAME?' like a POW camp guard. Seriously, he ain't the brightest button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Probably went to France thinking, "I'll show them how smart I am and learn to speak French", whereupon he realised that learning a language is actually quite difficult and thought, "screw it I'll just speak English in a French accent"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

What an idiot of a man!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭Luap

His accent sounds of le bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

He should start all his interviews with "listen carefully, I shall only say zis once....".

chughes wrote: »
    He should start all his interviews with "listen carefully, I shall only say zis once....".
    His first tweet today was "Good Moaning"