Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FA CUP Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

demps ya beaut

great cross bale

• Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

If that last chance doesn't ram home a point to Levy nothing will.

Dempsey with a dinger of a header.

Levy says FU Mr Messiah :D

Dempsey with a dinger of a header.

Levy says FU Mr Messiah :D

Levy says FU to all Spurs fans making us suffer through all this disaster

great skill by bale & unlucky dembele

bae falls over & less mccormack in 1 on 1 but freidel stays big

how many late fouls can auistin get away without a yellow

& again huge foul on parker but "advantage" given instead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

Caulker has an absolute stinker .

I hope all the people here that keep calling for youth etc now realise that it's not the answer

Obika isn't up to it and showed that with his chance in the 90th minute

• Registered Users Posts: 7,734 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Parker is a downgrade on Sandro in the middle of the park. He takes too long on the ball and often picks the wrong option.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

F*ck off, you useless shower of overpaid.....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

KingdomYid wrote: »
    F*ck off, you useless shower of overpaid.....

Referees ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

That was awful s***e.striker situation is just a joke.

Referees ?

Cnuts

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

Gotta say, bar us not playing well the officials were fairly shocking, you'll have that though and it doesn't deter from the fact that we need a striker now, not the summer, now.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Here Precious

Jon obika..fcuk off..youth me bollix..striker required by Thursday..naughton and caulker aren't up to it either..hudd can fcuk off to Fulham ..all deadwood

Gotta say, bar us not playing well the officials were fairly shocking, you'll have that though and it doesn't deter from the fact that we need a striker now, not the summer, now.

Levy's way of doing business at the last minute has just cost us a chance at the cup and will ultimately cost us top 4, also Defoe must be injured as not having him on the bench is a shocking decision.

We take the piss out of Arsenal for not winning anything but when are we going to bloody win something significant???? This result is bloody shocking and so unprofessional.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Leinstersqspur

Shocking stuff, hats off to Leeds, they got stuck into us! Parker got kicked around by both Diouf and Brown and the ref let them away with it.

Striker situation is embarrassing, taking a big risk has back fired..

Defoe has a hip injury

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Bad day at the office lads. Not the end of the world. Leeds wanted it more, we had a bit of a howler and the officials weren't great. It happens ..... next.

Abusing Parker and the Kyles won't help that's for sure. I actually thought they all did okay today. Parker still needs a game or two to be on the pace. I also think Naughton has been very consistent this season . He's also played most of it outta position.

Learn from it, don't let it happen next league match and move on.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,910 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Said it would be a tough ground to visit, a game to forget for Caulker and Vertonghen. I've seen enough of Sigurdsson to know he's not going to turn it around. Leeds took there chances and deserved to go through.

Sugarlumps wrote: »
    Said it would be a tough ground to visit, a game to forget for Caulker and Vertonghen. I've seen enough of Sigurdsson to know he's not going to turn it around. Leeds took there chances and deserved to go through.

Yeah Sigurdsson is a shadow of the player who was banging them in for Swansea last season. How can a player lose form so dramatically, maybe Liverpool will be interested in buying him before Thursday night :P

KingdomYid wrote: »
    Yeah Sigurdsson is a shadow of the player who was banging them in for Swansea last season. How can a player lose form so dramatically, maybe Liverpool will be interested in buying him before Thursday night :P

He shone for Swansea , we are a much better team than them and he isn't good enough

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

Out of the cup in jan, gutted.
    Both centre halves were chronic,which was odd as both have been very good all season.
    Is Defoe injured ? If not why wasn't he on the bench, or was the manager making a point to mr levy, either way today really showed how we lack quality in the final 3rd

• Registered Users Posts: 9,713 ✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Didnt see any of it but we must have been terrible.

Tbh I took the result as a given and it looks like the players did too.

Not really that upset about going out. More concerned about the performance (or lack of).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

Didnt see any of it but we must have been terrible.

Tbh I took the result as a given and it looks like the players did too.

Not really that upset about going out. More concerned about the performance (or lack of).
    Not upset about going out......wish I was so relaxed about it, after the league this should have been our priority, I'm raging

• Registered Users Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Anyone read Michael Cox? Provides excellent in depth analysis of the games he watches. He's the man behind Zonal Marking but seems to have been poached by the Guardian.

Anyway, here's his piece today:
    From the opening minute, Leeds' defensive work in the opposition half hinted at an upset. The game was just 30 seconds old when Rodolph Austin closed down Scott Parker, forced him into a mistake, and the home side gained possession high up the pitch to an approving roar from across Elland Road – that set the tempo for a fierce, aggressive and tactically brave performance.

Leeds' pressing was energetic, but also impressively consistent throughout the game. Unlike his opposite number, Neil Warnock isn't a modern, suave strategist with buzzwords and detailed instructions for individuals – his final pre-match words probably involved encouraging his charges to "make a nuisance of themselves" when Spurs had possession, although with both Michael Brown and El-Hadji Diouf in his starting XI, such direction was probably unnecessary. Still, that duo were not merely wind-up merchants – Brown's ability to prevent Parker distributing the ball positively was key in slowing Spurs' attacks, and Diouf was very disciplined positionally, dropping off the front and occupying Tom Huddlestone, while Ross McCormack made constant lateral runs to close down Steven Caulker and Jan Vertonghen.

But Leeds' commitment in the opposition half led to a lack of security when Tottenham worked the ball forward. There was space in between the lines, occasionally exploited by Aaron Lennon or Gareth Bale when they drifted inside, but surprisingly not by Gylfi Sigurdsson, who had another quiet game, failing to link midfield and attack. There was also too much space in behind the defence – Clint Dempsey got into a couple of promising positions from simple balls over the Leeds back four, although failed to make the most of these opportunities.

In stark contrast, Leeds ruthlessly exploited the space in behind the Tottenham defence. Their best chances – and both goals – came when they attacked directly. Diouf switched expertly from being an extra midfielder to a useful attacking option, providing the assist for Luke Varney's opener with a clever volleyed flick, and lofting the ball over the defence in the second half for McCormack's composed finish.

Tottenham's defective offside trap was clearly a contributing factor – Caulker and Vertonghen were surprisingly troubled by simple runs from McCormack – but the reality was that Spurs' entire spine performed poorly. Dempsey is not a natural No9 – he found himself on the scoresheet thanks to a fine header, but that was his sixth attempt at goal, and possibly the most difficult chance of the lot. The midfield zone, too, was out-of-sorts – Parker still looks extremely rusty, while Tom Huddlestone can distribute the ball delightfully but, against constant pressing, lacks either a burst of pace or dribbling ability to skip past opponents.

That obvious weakness made it surprising André Villas-Boas did not introduce Mousa Dembélé at half-time, and waited until Spurs had conceded a second. Kyle Walker came on for Kyle Naughton and pushed Varney back, while youngster Jon Obika replaced Sigurdsson, allowing Dempsey to move deeper. Obika provided pace in behind, and had a golden chance to equalise, from a long Benoît Assou-Ekotto ball over the defence, but it was no better an opportunity than McCormack's one-on-one with Brad Friedel at the other end, following Assou-Ekotto's stumbled attempt to cope with yet another ball over the top.

Parker and Brown had a squabble at the final whistle, following a typically unnecessary lunge from the Leeds midfielder in stoppage time – but it was fitting that Parker's struggles bookended the game. Even Parker, the all-action, scrappy midfielder that would run through a brick wall for his side was rattled, flustered and unable to cope with Leeds' determined midfield pressure.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,713 ✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Dont get me wrong. Im fed up with trophyless season after season but I dont think we have the squad to compete in the league, the EL and the FA cup.

As long as our league form is not effected by this I think we shud draw a line in the sand and move on.