Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dairygold contracts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭farmertipp

Farmer Ed wrote: »
    If you private message me I can send you a copy of the motions for the EGM. 1. is to shelve the contract and do the homework properly and 2. Is for independent milk testing. Maybe you can sign it and get it back? If you would like to play your part maybe you can even get a few names on it. We will all need to work together if we want to bring about change. It's our co op and we still own whats left of it. But if we do nothing, we could just end up with a big debt and our milk having to pay it all back!

I was in Mallow too and you are so right about North Korea!

Ya that meeting was run like being in north korea alright..plenty of reds there to knock anyone that tried to talk from dg point of view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭farmer lad

farmertipp wrote: »
    Ya that meeting was run like being in north korea alright..plenty of reds there to knock anyone that tried to talk from dg point of view
    As far as i remember dairygold had plenty meetings of their own to talk at:rolleyes:

farmer lad wrote: »
    As far as i remember dairygold had plenty meetings of their own to talk at:rolleyes:

60 meetings they said today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 markbryan

.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Pick and mix

My auld fella went to Mala today to do his bit for the coop. (His words not mine) I got roped in to do some research for him (the cows paid for your degree so its the least you can do) and had come across boards a few weeks back.
    Rang me at work on his way home to give me his report of the day. Here is his summation but I'd like another perspective as he's co op man thru and thru.
    **** of a day (weather!!)
    Big crowd
    Great expectation of a titanic battle
    Damp squib (could hear the disappointment in his voice)
    How come says I?
    Boys against men, junior b,s against senior you get my drift.
    The antis main man spoke and he gave the impression that he had drank from the cup of knowledge.
    Small fella jumps up straight away, bit of roaring and disappears as fast he came.
    Seems like he had jumped the gun and deprived the anti boys second man his minute of fame.
    Bit of over and back and next thing the boys second man gets the mike and gives us 10 minutes of Einsteins theory of relativity only 100 times more complicated.
    Could feel the air escaping from the antis balloon as he spoke.
    Obvious to all that the Senior boys had won the first game.

Quick turnaround and the ball is thrown in for second match.
    Guy proposing went a bit OTT making all kinds of accusations.
    Seems like he failed some test and he put it down to the co op targeting him.
    Fellas around me suggested that the failure might be more to do with him taking his eye off the ball with all this malarkey.

Senior boys response was sharp and clear. Over as quick as it started.

Did the duty, grabbed a sambo for the road and the long journey home.

What was the score said I? Didn't wait but its a matter of by how much says he.

Rang me later and with pride in his voice tells me his co op won all three votes by a distance. I got a sense of a few celebrationary pints to tonight!!!

As I said he's co op through and through so would like to get view from anyone else who was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

My auld fella went to Mala today to do his bit for the coop. (His words not mine) I got roped in to do some research for him (the cows paid for your degree so its the least you can do) and had come across boards a few weeks back.
    Rang me at work on his way home to give me his report of the day. Here is his summation but I'd like another perspective as he's co op man thru and thru.
    **** of a day (weather!!)
    Big crowd
    Great expectation of a titanic battle
    Damp squib (could hear the disappointment in his voice)
    How come says I?
    Boys against men, junior b,s against senior you get my drift.
    The antis main man spoke and he gave the impression that he had drank from the cup of knowledge.
    Small fella jumps up straight away, bit of roaring and disappears as fast he came.
    Seems like he had jumped the gun and deprived the anti boys second man his minute of fame.
    Bit of over and back and next thing the boys second man gets the mike and gives us 10 minutes of Einsteins theory of relativity only 100 times more complicated.
    Could feel the air escaping from the antis balloon as he spoke.
    Obvious to all that the Senior boys had won the first game.

Quick turnaround and the ball is thrown in for second match.
    Guy proposing went a bit OTT making all kinds of accusations.
    Seems like he failed some test and he put it down to the co op targeting him.
    Fellas around me suggested that the failure might be more to do with him taking his eye off the ball with all this malarkey.

Senior boys response was sharp and clear. Over as quick as it started.

Did the duty, grabbed a sambo for the road and the long journey home.

What was the score said I? Didn't wait but its a matter of by how much says he.

Rang me later and with pride in his voice tells me his co op won all three votes by a distance. I got a sense of a few celebrationary pints to tonight!!!

As I said he's co op through and through so would like to get view from anyone else who was there.

Pretty much spot on, I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 goonyaboyya

I am an active average supplier to dairygold.i attended the meeting as a complete neutral and listened to both sides as best i could.
    I admit to having signed the msa contract begrudgingly at the last minute as the bonus money was badly needed due to worst spring in living memory with feed bills etc.i held out as long as poss cos i felt being penalised for peak production yet staying under quota on principle terribly unfair.
    I respect jim woulfe as a leader and it appears he has settled the ship over the last few years.
    However this all comes down to forecast of supply increase with dairygold saying one to one meetings suggesting over 60percent.
    On the ground this is not on the cards in time frame they suggest in any case.i can prove this by visiting my local mart and witnessing the price of month old freisan ai heifers calves due to milk in two years time post quota.120 to 160 max which half their value last year at least.i note the weather is having an impact on demand in fairness so i check local press and see a glut of maiden heifers .in other words over supply.
    Either everyone has enough or cant feed anymore.ie not enough land.
    Land sales may increase post quota with good prices and even some brave tillage farmers with grain prices unlikely to fall much might jump into milk but over 60 percent ,make up your own mind.
    The other vote for independant testing was even more important with dairygold playing a video of their lab employees in mallow.i am sure all doing their jobs fine.this video completely brushed over the real voting issue.i give an example of going to a mart and letting the buyers at the ring weight the cattle your selling rather then the mart.they may be honest but it would b human nature to abuse it.
    70 percent voted against this which is incredible.it seemed very unfair to prevent the speaker against who had a powerpoint presentation to use it even though he was still given time to make his points although the noise from the crowd at back who couldnt care less didnt help.
    Dairygold swayed the vote by saying 400000 per year would b extra cost.i am not in the know enough to deny this but i suppose a lot of farmers were happy with whats in place as it is. when as i found out later so many including myself have been getting tbc results for our milk all spring of only 5000.
    Strange to all was how none of the lads have ever seen their samples go below 9000 or 10000 before.all this when cows are in mostly!!!!!!
    Either everyone has increased their cleanliness in a trying and increasd workload spring or this is very suspicious test result which i wish i had resourses to expose.

I am an active average supplier to dairygold.i attended the meeting as a complete neutral and listened to both sides as best i could.
    I admit to having signed the msa contract begrudgingly at the last minute as the bonus money was badly needed due to worst spring in living memory with feed bills etc.i held out as long as poss cos i felt being penalised for peak production yet staying under quota on principle terribly unfair.
    I respect jim woulfe as a leader and it appears he has settled the ship over the last few years.
    However this all comes down to forecast of supply increase with dairygold saying one to one meetings suggesting over 60percent.
    On the ground this is not on the cards in time frame they suggest in any case.i can prove this by visiting my local mart and witnessing the price of month old freisan ai heifers calves due to milk in two years time post quota.120 to 160 max which half their value last year at least.i note the weather is having an impact on demand in fairness so i check local press and see a glut of maiden heifers .in other words over supply.
    Either everyone has enough or cant feed anymore.ie not enough land.
    Land sales may increase post quota with good prices and even some brave tillage farmers with grain prices unlikely to fall much might jump into milk but over 60 percent ,make up your own mind.
    The other vote for independant testing was even more important with dairygold playing a video of their lab employees in mallow.i am sure all doing their jobs fine.this video completely brushed over the real voting issue.i give an example of going to a mart and letting the buyers at the ring weight the cattle your selling rather then the mart.they may be honest but it would b human nature to abuse it.
    70 percent voted against this which is incredible.it seemed very unfair to prevent the speaker against who had a powerpoint presentation to use it even though he was still given time to make his points although the noise from the crowd at back who couldnt care less didnt help.
    Dairygold swayed the vote by saying 400000 per year would b extra cost.i am not in the know enough to deny this but i suppose a lot of farmers were happy with whats in place as it is. when as i found out later so many including myself have been getting tbc results for our milk all spring of only 5000.
    Strange to all was how none of the lads have ever seen their samples go below 9000 or 10000 before.all this when cows are in mostly!!!!!!
    Either everyone has increased their cleanliness in a trying and increasd workload spring or this is very suspicious test result which i wish i had resourses to expose.

2nd dryer will not be built in 2019 if it is not needed.so only half of extra cap will b in place for first few years..i think that is reasonable in fairness

the second drier on hold till 2019 is reasonable in fairness i agree ,gathering all the money now whether or not it will be built well that not as reasonable for who are not in a strong financial position as others.
    some rumours and i stress rumours and i dont know if true or false about dairygold undercutting boherbue contract milk going to rathmore to sway suppliers thinking of leaving dairygold cos of new rules are to say the least not very nice work and havent gone down well with boherbue suppliers
    and suppliers refused joining in northcork co op sounds suspicious with that co op processing dairygold milk and inevitable co op communications.

all i have typed may not be completely accurate but all to best of my knowledge.i take no offence at being corrected and to be honest i wish i had the convictions to do something about the injustices.but maybe thats the way bussiness goes,i am a farmer and i focus on minding my cows .
    at the end of the day even if dairygold had to over estimate forecast to raise extra cash cos banks are putting squeeze maybe there is no option to keep all going.the publicity of that coming out that would damage co op image

Jayses lads will ye let it go. Home from the big smoke last night and the auld fella has me trawling through this thing for any updates and I looking forward to meeting the buddies for a few scoops. Printed off all the updates and headed off, getting in just before last orders. On to a house party (thankfully the birds there were not interested in the Dairygold contract) and fell in to bed (my own, alone) at 4 to find the following on a piece of paper the old lad had left on my pillow so here goes.

Hope everything is ok with Farmer Ed. He seems to have fallen of the face of the earth after the SGM. Maybe he will re sign up as the Invisible Man.

As for Goonyaboa. I wonder if he's definition of "complete neutral" was from the Oxford English or the Pudsey Ryan dictionary. (He says all the over 40's will know who Pudsey Ryan is!!!)
    Does this sound like a "complete neutral" to you?.
    - signed MSA begrudgingly
    - penalizing peak is unfair
    - dont believe co op forecast figures
    - dont believe co op figures on cost of new lab
    - dont believe recent tbc results
    - believes they are putting squeeze on Boherbue and North Cork
    - believes co op fiddled figures on expansion get get the money to satisfy the banks who are about to ................................

There's a good book in it, maybe a film.

God help his cows if his business analysis skills are any indication of his skill at minding the cows.

According to the SGM speaker he had very low Tbc yet the co op gave him a high result and now goonyaboya says that fellas with high tbc's are getting low results.
    The only plausable answer must be that they have Robin Hood running the Dairygold lab, taking the high results from some and swapping them for low results from others. Goonyaboya!!!

Jayses lads will ye let it go. Home from the big smoke last night and the auld fella has me trawling through this thing for any updates and I looking forward to meeting the buddies for a few scoops. Printed off all the updates and headed off, getting in just before last orders. On to a house party (thankfully the birds there were not interested in the Dairygold contract) and fell in to bed (my own, alone) at 4 to find the following on a piece of paper the old lad had left on my pillow so here goes.

Hope everything is ok with Farmer Ed. He seems to have fallen of the face of the earth after the SGM. Maybe he will re sign up as the Invisible Man.

As for Goonyaboa. I wonder if he's definition of "complete neutral" was from the Oxford English or the Pudsey Ryan dictionary. (He says all the over 40's will know who Pudsey Ryan is!!!)
    Does this sound like a "complete neutral" to you?.
    - signed MSA begrudgingly
    - penalizing peak is unfair
    - dont believe co op forecast figures
    - dont believe co op figures on cost of new lab
    - dont believe recent tbc results
    - believes they are putting squeeze on Boherbue and North Cork
    - believes co op fiddled figures on expansion get get the money to satisfy the banks who are about to ................................

There's a good book in it, maybe a film.

God help his cows if his business analysis skills are any indication of his skill at minding the cows.

According to the SGM speaker he had very low Tbc yet the co op gave him a high result and now goonyaboya says that fellas with high tbc's are getting low results.
    The only plausable answer must be that they have Robin Hood running the Dairygold lab, taking the high results from some and swapping them for low results from others. Goonyaboya!!!

Poor auld farmer ned has giving up the ghost id ssy

Well pick n mix i dont know where to start!
    I dont know how to show i actually do support dairygold in general.i suppose my two posts so far were done after the meeting when i was in a negative mindset.
    They deserve credit for taking the first steps of all co op to address post quota situation and inevitable increase in production.while others stood back to see what happens.
    Management deserve credit for repairing damage done from previous mistakes.
    I believe they are doing fantastic work in china etc on getting fresh markets
    They have forged important links with danone thru pushing higher quality milk for their products.
    I am actually very happy if this issue of quota didnt arise

To try to defend myself
    I signed msa cos there does need to be preperation otherwise chaos would happen have no doubt.the first drier is absolutly needed as we cant cope with up to 6percent of milk at peak as is.the second drier may be filled some time in the distant future maybe 20 years but not seven years and as i said taking moneys now is harsh.
    Peak penalty is unfair if under quota.just look at glanbia as they take 2012 quota owned into account before their over 15percent peak supply kicks in not as dairygold 14 percent.
    Dairygold forecast figures from one to ones dont add up to any farmers i have met is all i can say .even look at quotes fom farmers on friday examiner
    I dont have any doubts lab forecast are correct.how do i know.the issue is independant testing is fairer and not open to abuse.
    I stand over tbc results being unusually low but i cant explain that .i gave valid reasons for my suspicion earlier.
    Sgm speaker if u were listening with a neutral ear mentioned his scc being at 480 and when tested indepenantly was under 400.
    Squeeze other co op cant be that much of a stretch for u.maybe i am not the naive one.

I do believe the vote is the vote and it will stand.i posted what i thought were unfairnesses .it will affect our future or at least active suppliers not people in the big smoke!
    I suggest ur anger towards me and what i have posted is down to u being out till 4am last nite at a house party and ur possible weariness.
    Unfortunately me and many more like me if u saw the news last nite are weary for different reasons this spring and r most certainly not in the mood for house partys such like youself.

Well where will I start!!!

Everything I have posted is from my old lad who is a milk supplier and was at the SGM. If you attention to the detail of the contract, the peak program and the debate at the SGM was anything like that which you gave to my last post then tis no wonder your all over the shop. Have just checked again with himself and he confirms the following.
    Last Post was transcribed 100% accurately from what he left on my bed. He confirms that he wrote it at about 9.30pm and before he had his usual night cap therefore in his full senses.
    He swears the guy at the SGM said TBC (didn't hear the number) and said it passed a test done by the man from the department. ( not sure why the man from the department would be testing it)
    He tells me he has a peak base of 16%, something to do with the fact that he gets the cows out in April in a good year and May in a bad one. (He tried to explain to me but to be honest I don't understand it)
    He showed me his notes from the one to one and it shows money being deducted over 7 years so he's at a loss at your point about taking all the money now.
    The number of suppliers quoted on the paper is hardly representative of a base of 3,000 suppliers.
    Anger is what was appearing in these posts over the past few weeks and as you know anger is not a strategy.
    We are all suffering because of the weather but I can confirm that Dairygold didn't put the squeeze on the man above, so you can look for another fall guy for that one.

Again to put it as simply as I can, I'm putting these posts up as a favour to my old lad who has milked cows on mediocre land for the last forty years.

Ps ill post in advance of the next house party as I get a sence that your angry tone in the last post was a little bit of the yellow monster coming out in you.

Having read thru pick n mix posts i noticed how he is critical of all i post yet even though this is my 4th post i have stated numberous more positives about dairygold then him.
    Seeing as though i could hear sgm speaker clearly u can take my word or just agree to disagree.
    He mentioned reason for his suspicion was he individually tested all cows and removed high ones from supply only to get no change so to ease his mind he sent samples to dept lab who would be neutral .
    When i say taking all finance now what is meant is taking it now over 7 years for the full amount needed to build 2driers rather then just the first drier .maybe it would have been possible to take half the amount per litre for 3 or 4 years build the first drier fill it and then start process for 2nd one thus only taking the money when its absolutly needed.

The quotes in examiner simply show i am not alone in my views.
    In the case of peak production, if your dad is 16percent or over and running a profitable bussiness which he probably is to stay in it for 40 years or more he will find the penalties very harsh especially this year.
    Over 14 percent 5cent a litre,over 15 its 7.5 ,and for you dad when he goes over 16percent it will cost him 10 cent a litre .that comes into effect in may and june your dads most profitable months
    This penalises good farming let me explain
    The best time for a cow to calf is 6 weeks before peak grass supply which normally in this country is end april to may.the cow hits her supply peak for her calf at 6 weeks.grass is the cheapest best qualty feed and ireland has an edge over most other countries.calving cows too early to aim for february bonus is unprofiable depending on how dry your ground is.
    Unprofitable because she will need extra supplementation which is costly,exta risk of mastitis due to being housed and in my opinion the biggest expense the risk of coming into heat again while on concrete and dangers for her that can bring with permanent injury breaking hips or tearing stiphl.
    Dairygold are definitely stacking bonuses in favour of their suppliers with better land.also as i said desregarding owned quota when adapting peak penalties is unfair .even glanbia didnt go there

Seeing as my plea for a stop to all this unproductive drivel has fallen on deaf years I'm again forced to defend MOL.
    He choose option B from the DG peak management scheme therefore has a base of 16% on his original volume. It is only over this level that he will suffer a penalty. On a quota of 300,000 litres he has a base of 48,000litres. He won't go over this between now and 2015 so he's not concerned. If he goes to 50,000 l it will cost him about €200. June won't be a problem.
    After 2015 he hopes to expand to 400,000 litres and will have a peak base of over 60,000 litres. With the 10% allowed by DG he can go to just over 66,000 litres. He thinks this is very fair. He recollects seeing a comparison in the Journal over a year ago where the reporter said the Glanbia scheme was very severe on Farmers while Dairygolds was not. Not sure when it was published but you might get it online.
    As regards the money, if he doesnt expand to 400,000 litres my old lads contributions will be much lower. If this is the same for all farmers does that suggest that much less money will be collected if the expansion is less than expected?
    As regards you being able to hear the speaker clearly he reckons you must have been VERY CLOSE to HIM?????

in fairness your example of your dad is very close to my own .i supply the same volume at present as him at with my peak base at just under 15 percent.i also signed up to plan b peak management.
    i bought quota at reduced rate over last few years being under 35.during the three years taken as reference for peak i was building stock up gradually.problem is i have stock to fill full quota now but my peak base doesn't reflect the quota i own.
    my arguement with it is that even though i didnt fill all my quota i bought ever before i bought it someone else was filling it with dairygold,which had capacity for it.in one to ones it worked out if may 2013 was the same as may 2012 i would have a 250euro penalty. in 2012 i had cows out early march which is 3 weeks earlier then usual.so i'm figuring that this coming peak months percentage will be even higher with late turnout.
    even if peak penalty is probably needed when quota goes to keep control it shouldnt be enforced till 2015 .sure what changed in 2013 since last year and the year before that.in theory i expect to pay at least 250 this may and again next may 2014 even if still be under quota both years.
    a 500 to 600 euro charge for what!
    i wont be expanding any time soon so between shares and peak penalty and redemption fund even though it comes back eventually it all adds up .
    found farmers journal article and have to admit didnt realise that glanbia have peak penalty at 16percent with a 20percent penalty on months milk !!owwwch

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭Farmer Ed

Well where will I start!!!

Everything I have posted is from my old lad who is a milk supplier and was at the SGM. If you attention to the detail of the contract, the peak program and the debate at the SGM was anything like that which you gave to my last post then tis no wonder your all over the shop. Have just checked again with himself and he confirms the following.
    Last Post was transcribed 100% accurately from what he left on my bed. He confirms that he wrote it at about 9.30pm and before he had his usual night cap therefore in his full senses.
    He swears the guy at the SGM said TBC (didn't hear the number) and said it passed a test done by the man from the department. ( not sure why the man from the department would be testing it)
    He tells me he has a peak base of 16%, something to do with the fact that he gets the cows out in April in a good year and May in a bad one. (He tried to explain to me but to be honest I don't understand it)
    He showed me his notes from the one to one and it shows money being deducted over 7 years so he's at a loss at your point about taking all the money now.
    The number of suppliers quoted on the paper is hardly representative of a base of 3,000 suppliers.
    Anger is what was appearing in these posts over the past few weeks and as you know anger is not a strategy.
    We are all suffering because of the weather but I can confirm that Dairygold didn't put the squeeze on the man above, so you can look for another fall guy for that one.

Again to put it as simply as I can, I'm putting these posts up as a favour to my old lad who has milked cows on mediocre land for the last forty years.

Ps ill post in advance of the next house party as I get a sence that your angry tone in the last post was a little bit of the yellow monster coming out in you.

The figure he got from Dairygold for TBC was 480. That would suggest it must have been pure muck! He also does a bit of milk for a farmers market and the department had tested the same milk and didn't find find anything wrong with it. Same guy milks with a rebot so should have records of everything and if something was wrong is should set of an alarm on the robot.The 480 result came less that 48 hours after he allowed his email address to be used calling for an SGM. My question is if he was telling lies. Why dont Dairygold sue him or something? Or for that matter if the web site www.dmssg.com is in anyway untrue. Why are they not taking legal action to have it taken down? Could it be because it might in fact be true, and as of yet it is not an offence to speak the truth in this country?

Farmer Ed wrote: »
    The figure he got from Dairygold for TBC was 480. That would suggest it must have been pure muck! He also does a bit of milk for a farmers market and the department had tested the same milk and didn't find find anything wrong with it. Same guy milks with a rebot so should have records of everything and if something was wrong is should set of an alarm on the robot.The 480 result came less that 48 hours after he allowed his email address to be used calling for an SGM. My question is if he was telling lies. Why dont Dairygold sue him or something? Or for that matter if the web site www.dmssg.com is in anyway untrue. Why are they not taking legal action to have it taken down? Could it be because it might in fact be true, and as of yet it is not an offence to speak the truth in this country?

Ed it is because people dont believe the conspiricy theories and were fed up of getting childish txts from dssmg group like fool me twice etc that ye did not get support. Now your supporters will hsve to sign to get bonus for last year.ye let them down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

[MOD]

Time to draw a veil over this one.

This thread has descended into vitriol, personal jibes and petty point scoring, none of which is acceptable.

You can say this stuff to each other face-to-face all you like, but you can't do it here.

Thread closed.

[/MOD]