Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Duchess of Cambridge Hospital Prank nurse commits suicide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

What a horrible thing to hang over Kate's pregnancy...

It's a really mean spirited joke, and not half as clever as the DJs think.. The staff arent really afforded the luxury of being able to turn around and say "would ye f**k off, that's not the Queen", they would have to assume that the call is legitimate..

There are places that you should ring with prank calls... Government Quangos, Toy Stores, Hotels... But prank calling a sick pregnant woman in hospital... They should cop the f**k on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Spiritual wrote: »
    I think the media again are brewing the storm.

Creating, brewing and no doubt pontificating. The only constant in this whole situation is how incredibly poorly the media will come across, from all angles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,225 ✭✭✭Daith

listermint wrote: »

Mike Murphy was doing these types of skits years ago. If its your comedic taste or not the fact is its not bullying it was a little comedy skit to see if they could speak to someone. Its done everyday on radio.

Getting to speak to someone is not the same as getting someone to give out personal information in a hospital. I don't blame the DJs but it's not the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I agree, I really feel sorry for absolutely everyone involved here. The woman's family, her colleagues, the DJs, AND Kate, William and the rest of the royal family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Sunshineboo

Sky News made such a big deal over the prank which I'm sure didn't help! I suppose that's Sky news for you, over the top tabloid style news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

A great Stewart lee skit on the 'it was just a joke' brigade

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w0i0RXMvzMs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Just seen this on Facebook and thought another prank. Then seen it was posted by the London Evening Standard.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭skeg16

It's a really mean spirited joke, and not half as clever as the DJs think.. The staff arent really afforded the luxury of being able to turn around and say "would ye f**k off, that's not the Queen", they would have to assume that the call is legitimate..

There are places that you should ring with prank calls... Government Quangos, Toy Stores, Hotels... But prank calling a sick pregnant woman in hospital... They should cop the f**k on..

Ah here leave it out....it was a simple prank that has back fired (if you can call it back firing), think about it, if she didn't kill herself would there be as much drama about this as there is???? i think not!!!

I do agree with you that this will linger like a bad smell around the pregnancy but you cant blame the radio presenters

IMO there should be an inqurey to what sort of pressure the hospital management gave to the poor woman after the call....i would guess a huge factor in the suicide

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Sky News made such a big deal over the prank which I'm sure didn't help! I suppose that's Sky news for you, over the top tabloid style news.

Sky News = Fox News

Utter garbage :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Bloody media building up a fuss over nothing. The Royal family even acknowledged the prank and laughed it off, so tragic for the poor woman and her family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Creating, brewing and no doubt pontificating. The only constant in this whole situation is how incredibly poorly the media will come across, from all angles.

And go unchecked. I have always said that 24 hour News feeds are a dangerous thing.

The more I think about this I believe the woman may have been troubled before today. She had kids, this action of suicide because of a prank call seems inconceivable to a person in their full mental capacity. If it was an over-whelming incident then my God society needs to look very closely at itself. If a woman, who is being deemed as truly professional in her career feels suicide is her only option over an incident like this then my goodness someone other than the DJ's needs to answer some strong questions.

To me there was an underlying issue with this woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Very tragic indeed :(

Bloody media building up a fuss over nothing. The Royal family even acknowledged the prank and laughed it off, so tragic for the poor woman and her family.

The Royal Family isn't the family who's lost their wife, mother, daughter etc

They don't get to decide what's acceptable here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

Sky news reporter now saying it was the woman on the switchboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

errlloyd wrote: »
    This story highlights how ****ed up the world is, the press, the public and the palace made her feel terrible and she took her life. So sad.

You don't know that, that is pure speculation, how do you know she didn't have personal problems or other ****ed up things going on in her life?

Maybe it was the shopkeeper who gave her the wrong change earlier that morning.
    Maybe the taxi driver who didn't stop on the evening she was out last week.

Or maybe it was a woman with profound personal problems which built up over years until she became so depressed she decided to commit suicide.

No, must have been the DJ's. Let's go get a lynch mob together!

Great post! I really don't understand the hysterical reaction by some, noone on here knows anything at all about this woman except for she was the recipient of a prank call....but yet they will automatically assume she killed herself over this.

ncmc wrote: »
    The DM have changed the story again, apparently she was a nurse, but she was the one that put the call through, not the one that gave out the information.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2244608/Jacintha-Saldanha-Excellent-nurse-took-Kate-Middleton-prank-phone-dead-suspected-suicide.html

Very sad when she really wasn't the one who made the major blunder.

I don't know which one it was and like I said noone has any way of knowing yet whether the prank call had anything at all to do with it, but I don't think the nurse made a bigger blunder than the receptionist, if you were a nurse in a hospital in the UK and the receptionist puts through a call saying the Queen is on the phone you would probably be very nervous, you're not going to ask for proof of identity, you would believe it was the Queen, the nurse did nothing wrong.

If it was in America and one of Obamas kids was in the hospital and a nurse got a call sent through from the reception saying it was President Obama the last thing you would do is start questioning him.

I'm just guessing but surely the Royal family had a private line to Kate's room or to her security team so surely it should have been up to the hospital to tell the receptionist that none of Kates family would be ringing up the reception, if they did do that and the receptionist didn't follow protocol then she was the one who made the bigger blunder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

The hospital is at fault IMO. Where's their protocol for dealing with the Royals?

Surely they know that the Queen won't be ringing directly - it will be her staff in Clarence House or wherever? And surely they have an established channel of communication in place?

I work in a financial company, and frankly if somebody called us saying he was head of whatever in Barclays or Citibank he'd be politely asked to give his number and told that someone further up the chain would call him back. We're trained to follow that standard protocol, and that way nobody junior ever gets into trouble.

They should have had a screening process in place for all calls - that's their corporate responsibility. We're talking about a hospital that the Royals use on an elective basis - it's not like the management of some small hospital in rural Northumberland suddenly having to deal with a royal or celebrity who got admitted because they fell ill while nearby.

As for the DJs, well they're the lowest form of pond scum, but that doesn't make them responsible for someone's suicide. Having said that though, we'd be better off without those types of bottom feeders - although in fairness, most of them do ring back and ask permission to use the prank on air, and in that case I can just about tolerate their activities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The thing is the prank call joke wasn't even that funny and I think most people on hearing the ''put on royal accents ''would have sussed it out .This poor girl unfortunately didn't and couldn't handle being in the eye of the media storm .Heart goes out her family and friends .

Dodge wrote: »
    The Royal Family isn't the family who's lost their wife, mother, daughter etc

They don't get to decide what's acceptable here

I'm not saying they decide what is or isn't acceptable. The woman presumably acted because she thought she had caused offence, even though Prince Charles laughed off the incident and the family made no complaint to the hospital. It's the media who build the cult around the royals and put them on a pedestal, They should have left the story alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

Ah in fairness your woman needed a nice holiday in the Republic at Sinn Fein training camp to get her head straight on those Royals.

I'm not saying they decide what is or isn't acceptable. The woman presumably acted because she thought she had caused offence, even though Prince Charles laughed off the incident and the family made no complaint to the hospital. It's the media who build the cult around the royals and put them on a pedestal, They should have left the story alone.

Agreed, but that doesn't mean the hospital didn't feel pressure from its own top brass. Remember this is as prestigious as you can get. Its simply not believable that everybody was willing to laugh it off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Fuck me are the hindsight brigade out in force today or what?

I for one would not like to live in a humourless world where every possible permutation of an action is plotted to ensure some fuckhead somewhere doesn't get self-righteously indignant.

The prank may have been in bad taste, granted. You know what fucking sickens me though? People pretending they're annoyed about the prank so they can exercise some faux sense of self-righteous indignation.

It's not so much that the self-righteous care about what it is they're getting self-righteous about as much as they care about appearing morally superior and smugly virtuous.

Getting self-righteous over people getting self-righteous. Nice one.

Prank calls should be recorded and afterward the person pranked should be asked for permission to use it. Theres no telling what can happen during a live call.

The station is already on probation for two previous abuses of their license.

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2012/12/07/tragedy-as-receptionist-who-connected-kate-middleton-prank-callers-commits-suicide.html?source=socialflow&account=thedailybeast&medium=twitter
    The station is already serving two five-year license probations after serious breaches of the Australian regulator's code.

The broadcaster was handed the first reprimand in 2009 after a 14-year-old girl was attached to a lie detector and then said live on air that she had been raped.

Dodge wrote: »
    Agreed, but that doesn't mean the hospital didn't feel pressure from its own top brass. Remember this is as prestigious as you can get. Its simply not believable that everybody was willing to laugh it off

I agree I imagine they were furious at the incident and she took the brunt of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭ilikepears

Thrill wrote: »
    Prank calls should be recorded and afterward the person pranked should be asked for permission to use it. Theres no telling what can happen during a live call.

The station is already on probation for two previous abuses of their license.
    According to the dailymail it was pre-recorded and got given the go ahead by lawyers to be broadcast.
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2244608/Jacintha-Saldanha-Excellent-nurse-took-Kate-Middleton-hoax-phone-dead-suspected-suicide.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

I was never one to believe all those conspiracy theories about Diana, but I think we should keep an open mind here and not just blindly accept that this unfortunate nurse really ended her own life.:rolleyes:

That nagging suspicion that the Windsors are not the kind of people you want to fcuk with just won't go away.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Looks like the IT people over at 2dayFM have been called out of bed. They have pulled the vid and comments (over 2000) from their website and have stopped it being aired as an ad.

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    I was never one to believe all those conspiracy theories about Diana, but I think we should keep an open mind here and not just blindly accept that this unfortunate nurse really ended her own life.:rolleyes:

That nagging suspicion that the Windsors are not the kind of people you want to fcuk with just won't go away.:eek:

Surely, if that was the case (and I'd be quite sure it isn't) then their ire would be aimed towards somebody other than the poor switchboard operator?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

They're not responsible for her death - that's obviously a dumb way of looking at it, but a prank call to a hospital is just too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Thrill wrote: »
    Getting self-righteous over people getting self-righteous. Nice one.

Umm... no. I was making an observation.
    Prank calls should be recorded and afterward the person pranked should be asked for permission to use it.

The world as it should be has little bearing on the world as it is. Nobody should have taken photos of Diana as she was dying. 'Shoulds' don't amount ot a hill of shite in the real world.
    Theres no telling what can happen during a live call.

Yes and I'm sure if the poor nurse (RIP and condolences to friends/family) would have had a breakdown on the phone it would not have been broadcast. The prankers, unlike our hindsight brigade it seems, were not to know that what they did might contribute to the death of a person.

No I don't think the royals had a nurse killed for saying stuff about how a patient is doing a lot better (info in the public domain anyway) - and I think it's laughable to be that paranoid and silly - rolleyes symbol or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Oh Christ...

godeas16 wrote: »
    Ah in fairness your woman needed a nice holiday in the Republic at Sinn Fein training camp to get her head straight on those Royals.

Your post lacks intelligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Yeah....:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

Its those Royals that make my blood boil. They create such a self important and entitled bubble around themselves that an ordinary woman or ''commoner'' as they call it would feel it serious enough to take her own life for making a simple mistake like this. British society need to snap out of their silly Royal obsessed delusions and get rid of these impostors.

Your post lacks intelligence.

Oh I'm sorry would you rather it included a post doctoral research paper on aerospace engineerimg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Oh I'm sorry would you rather it included a post doctoral research paper on aerospace engineerimg?

Think he means that nobody has a clue what you are talking about. You could talk about areospace engineering, but people still wouldn't see the relevance to the nurse dying..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Really can't get my head around this, pretty stupid mistake, everyone makes them.

Worst point is the Royal Family have and will embarrass themselves ten times worse through their own stupidity over and over.

Such a shame. RIP

That, and whatever pressure her peers in work may have put on her. They are probably the ones who made her remember her mistake over and over again. Obviously I don't know if they did, or why she took her own life, but i'd say when all the sht was hitting the fan, her bosses must have been fuming.

Not blaming them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Oh ffs, it's not the royal family's fault!!

They probably were a major factor in the suicide I suspect. For the nurse to commit suicide, leaving kids and a husband behind, the royal family and or hospital must have made or threatened to make life very tough for her

Allyall wrote: »
    Think he means that nobody has a clue what you are talking about. You could talk about areospace engineering, but people still wouldn't see the relevance to the nurse dying..

What Allyall said.

I will discuss Aerospace engineering with you but I must warn you I know nothing about it.

This shouldn't be an issue as relevance doesn't seem to be particularly of interest to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

The ozzies love their pranks, they are usually over the top. Didn't hear this particular one tho.

But once I was in oz, heard one were they rang a mother to tell her that her daughter was in a serious car crash and that she should come straight to the hospital...then rang her back 10 minutes later to tell her it was a prank...backwards country

razorblunt wrote: »
    Worst point is the Royal Family have and will embarrass themselves ten times worse through their own stupidity over and over.

How is that the worst point?

I hate the Royal Family and the concept of a monarchy as much as anyone, but I don't understand how people are using this situation to bash the royals. Kate Middleton gets pregnant, falls ill, goes to hospital. Fair enough it was an expensive and exclusive one I'm sure, but that is beside the point.

The villains here are the media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Allyall wrote: »
    That, and whatever pressure her peers in work may have put on her. They are probably the ones who made her remember her mistake over and over again. Obviously I don't know if they did, or why she took her own life, but i'd say when all the sht was hitting the fan, her bosses must have been fuming.

Yeah. Nothing to do with all the constant media coverage and the thought that all of Sydney was listening to her mistake.

I see this "prank" in the same vein as "happy-slapping" or cyber bullying. It's not funny. It's designed not to get a laught but to hurt someone. Tricking someones medical condition out of a hospital is disgusting, no matter who they are.

The ozzies love their pranks, they are usually over the top. Didn't hear this particular one tho.

But once I was in oz, heard one were they rang a mother to tell her that her daughter was in a serious car crash and that she should come straight to the hospital...then rang her back 10 minutes later to tell her it was a prank...backwards country

One of the highest rated videos on youtube last week was a prank from Brazil that showed people in an elevator having the complete and utter cráp scared out of them, the same people that viewed and rated and shared and laughed etc.. at that video are probably the same that are attacking the 2dayfm website and FB page condoning the prank.
    "Down with this sort of thing.", "I'm disgusted." and "I never thought it was funny, you should be ashamed of yourselves."

Yet watching a couple of 20 stone females trapped in a lift, surviving a prank that should've killed them, is fair game..

I dunno at all at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

It is a pity that the daily mail cannot spell check their articles before publishing them.
    Abuse: DJ Mel Greig has deleted her Twotter account after she was bombarded with messages calling on her to quit

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2244608/Jacintha-Saldanha-Excellent-nurse-took-Kate-Middleton-hoax-phone-dead-suspected-suicide.html#ixzz2EOMFntjq
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

To all people driving the thread off-topic...

Diana died because the driver was drunk, this can happen.

William was reported as being pissed off - I'd be too, but I wouldn't call an assassin.

The Royal Circus is a media invention - blame them. Most English people I know are less obsessed with the royals than my Irish mates.

Nobody knows why the lady committed suicide (unless there's a note).

Prince William did not invade Ireland - Henry II did. He's long dead and not even related to the lad.

I'm not sure it's the royals themselves who cause all the sycophancy - those days are gone. Will and Kate seem like two reasonable people. It's more a section of British society that feels the need to be stupidly deferential to them. I really don't see the point of blame - is it that necessary to get a pound of flesh? But if I *had* to point the finger in a particular direction, it would be those who gave the poor girl such a horrible, intimidating time after making a ****ing mistake.
    That said, they hardly wanted to kill her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

This is unbelievable - in her forties, married with children and commits suicide over this, crazy stuff...

What Allyall said.

I will discuss Aerospace engineering with you but I must warn you I know nothing about it.

This shouldn't be an issue as relevance doesn't seem to be particularly of interest to you.

Why does she care? I'm a republican I don't believe in Monarchy nonsense, so your woman got a phone call. So? It wouldn't be bothering me or any other person with Republican political views. She shouldn't have let it bother her so much she took her own life? The media had a field day, why care? Laugh it off, she couldn't because of who it was.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    This is unbelievable - in her forties, married with children and commits suicide over this, crazy stuff...
    Yeh so it probably *wasn't* just over this. This was probably just the incident that finally tipped her over the edge.

Why does she care? I'm a republican I don't believe in Monarchy nonsense, so your woman got a phone call. So? It wouldn't be bothering me or any other person with Republican political views. She shouldn't have let it bother her so much she took her own life? The media had a field day, why care? Laugh it off, she couldn't because of who it was.

I am a Republican too but this course that you are taking is neither relevant or required on a thread like this.