Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

English at TCD?

• 07-12-2012 5:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 27

I am a sixth year student, and am considering pursuing further education in English. Could anyone please tell me what they think of the course in TCD - past experiences, comments on lecturers, the campus, and the like.
    I would love to hear any stories/advice you have to help me decide which course to take. Thank you all very much.

I am reasonably distraught - I am totally torn between going to UCD or Trinity,
    is there anything that puts TCD far above UCD in your opinions?

Thanks.

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

'Reasonably distraught' - don't put that one in your English essays.

Both universities have different ways through which English can be approached. In Tinity you can take English through TSM, which would mean studying something else with it until 4th year, or as a single honours course. Either way, both are very intensive in terms of reading and definitely geared towards academic study of literature and literary theory, rather than composition.