Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prospective PhD student

Options
  • 08-12-2012 4:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 14

Hello,

I'm in fourth year now, studying Med Chem and I'm seriously considering a PhD.
    I am just wondering is it possible to fund yourself to do a PhD and if I say it to my lectures would they laugh at me :o

The only reason I say "to fund myself" is because knowing my luck I 'm not gonna get a scholarship
    and if I can do a 4yr PhD and pay 80K I think it's an investment I could make.

p.s I was a 1.1 grade average student from 1st-3rd yr, I don't know if I can do it again this year but I will not be getting anything less than 2.1..hopefully :)

Thank you

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 689 ✭✭✭avalon68

marshal777 wrote: »
    Hello,

I'm in fourth year now, studying Med Chem and I'm seriously considering a PhD.
    I am just wondering is it possible to fund yourself to do a PhD and if I say it to my lectures would they laugh at me :o

The only reason I say "to fund myself" is because knowing my luck I 'm not gonna get a scholarship
    and if I can do a 4yr PhD and pay 80K I think it's an investment I could make.

p.s I was a 1.1 grade average student from 1st-3rd yr, I don't know if I can do it again this year but I will not be getting anything less than 2.1..hopefully :)

Thank you