Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What jobs do GAA players have?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,141 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

What is your profession out of interest? I know a lot of places work on who you are rather than what you bring to the table but its particularly galling to see some GAA players walk into jobs which clearly require a specific qualification and basically give the two fingers to people who toe the party line. I will say though, banking isnt exactly a glamorous profession, im willing to bet i earn a lot more in my job than they ever do in their banking jobs, Im not sure where the ides of banking being a cushy number came from...

well arent you the great one, what with your made up stories and being better than the GAA boys getting handed the jobs in banking.

why you think people get jobs for who they know rather than their abilities is only attributed to GAA players I dont know. Its not even just an Irish thing, its a job thing. There are multiples of professions where not always the best candidate gets the job. Why you have such a low opinion because you feel GAA players are the only sector of people who benefit I dont know.

Or why it bothers you that Henry Shefflin is asked to do interviews also. He doesnt lord it around like he is a celeb. He is asked to do interviews as part of his amatuer sports team. The fact you went on and on about the Brogans being hurlers says enough about your opinion on GAA.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,407 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Here is a breakdown of some of the Kilkenny players' occupations (as of ~September 2012):

David Herity: primary teacher
    Paul Murphy: army
    JJ Delaney: sales representative
    Jackie Tyrrell: sales representative Glanbia
    Tommy Walsh: Bank of Ireland official
    Brian Hogan: medical representative
    Kieran Joyce: student, WIT
    Michael Fennelly: Ulster Bank
    Richie Hogan: student, University of Limerick
    Henry Shefflin: Bank of Ireland Finance
    TJ Reid: sales rep, Connolly’s Redmills
    Eoin Larkin: army
    Colin Fennelly: army
    Richie Power: sales rep Kinetica Sport
    Aidan Fogarty: electronics engineer
    Cillian Buckley: student, UCD.

So out of the 16 listed above, 5 are sales reps, 3 are in the army, 3 are students, 3 work in the bank and there is one engineer and one teacher. That's a fairly small variation in occupations.

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭68Murph68

Here is a breakdown of some of the Kilkenny players' occupations (as of ~September 2012):

David Herity: primary teacher
    Paul Murphy: army
    JJ Delaney: sales representative
    Jackie Tyrrell: sales representative Glanbia
    Tommy Walsh: Bank of Ireland official
    Brian Hogan: medical representative
    Kieran Joyce: student, WIT
    Michael Fennelly: Ulster Bank
    Richie Hogan: student, University of Limerick
    Henry Shefflin: Bank of Ireland Finance
    TJ Reid: sales rep, Connolly’s Redmills
    Eoin Larkin: army
    Colin Fennelly: army
    Richie Power: sales rep Kinetica Sport
    Aidan Fogarty: electronics engineer
    Cillian Buckley: student, UCD.

So out of the 16 listed above, 5 are sales reps, 3 are in the army, 3 are students, 3 work in the bank and there is one engineer and one teacher. That's a fairly small variation in occupations.

Any idea what the students are studying? For the most part student is related to age - what they are they studying could change things a bit.

I find army is a bit of strange one, in that in can be very area specific. Coming from Kerry I cant think of anyone who has been involved with the Kerry team at any level who had any connection with the army which reflects the fact that I can only think of one lad who joined the army.

I know of one club team that had a huge number of lads involved in various aspects of construction that has been completely decimated as a result of the recession.

The key thing for me is the vanishing of farmers from top level teams over the last 20/30 years. From a position where you had farmers making up a large percentage of top level teams to where they have pretty much almost completely vanished.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,407 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

68Murph68 wrote: »
    Any idea what the students are studying? For the most part student is related to age - what they are they studying could change things a bit.

I find army is a bit of strange one, in that in can be very area specific. Coming from Kerry I cant think of anyone who has been involved with the Kerry team at any level who had any connection with the army which reflects the fact that I can only think of one lad who joined the army.

I know of one club team that had a huge number of lads involved in various aspects of construction that has been completely decimated as a result of the recession.

The key thing for me is the vanishing of farmers from top level teams over the last 20/30 years. From a position where you had farmers making up a large percentage of top level teams to where they have pretty much almost completely vanished.

All I know is that Cillian Buckley is in 2nd year and he is specialising in Biomedical Engineering UCD. It's a very tough course and there are a lot of hours (lectures, labs and tutorials), so fair play to him for making the KK panel and studying that course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Tommy Doyle's nickname was Private Doyle because he was in the Army for a while.

And the Kerry teams occupation that I know off the top of my head are (from the Donegal game)

Brendan Kealy - Sales Rep
    Marc Ó Sé - Teacher
    Aidan O’Mahony - Garda
    Shane Enright - Teacher
    Tomás Ó Sé - Teacher
    Eoin Brosnan - Solicitor
    Killian Young - Bank of Ireland
    Anthony Maher - PhD Student
    Bryan Sheehan - Insurance broker
    Paul Galvin - Former Teacher
    Declan O’Sullivan - Sales Rep
    Donnchadh Walsh - Engineer
    James O’Donoghue - Dont know but possibly still a student
    Colm Cooper - AIB
    Kieran Donaghy - Ulster Bank

Darran O'Sullivan - Former bank official now a student
    Brian Maguire - Student
    Paddy Curtin - Blocklayer
    Johnny Buckley - possibly still a student
    Kieran O'Leary - Sales Rep I think

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Qwerty Dub

Dublin team v Mayo 2012

Cluxton - Teacher

Fitzsimons - Student
    O'Carroll - Student
    O'Sullivan - Student

McCarthy - Student
    Brennan - Teacher
    Nolan - Teacher

Fennell - DJ / Entrepreneur
    Bastick - Banking

Flynn - Student
    MacAuley - ???
    Cullen - Strength & Conditioning with Leinster

A.Brogan - Sales Rep
    B. Brogan - Accountant
    Connolly - ???

Subs:
    McMenamon - Sales Rep
    McMahon - Strength & Conditioning
    Kilkenny - Student

Can't remember who else came on. Don't know what O'Gara does.

Not a massive variation there either.

Everyone from 1 - 7 is a teacher or student.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 Sean O Hara

I'd bet many GAA players are probably the sons of farmers and would still work on the farm.

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭68Murph68

I'd bet many GAA players are probably the sons of farmers and would still work on the farm.

Yeah thats probably true all right. Its just you don't see farmer down on too many match programmes anymore compared to 20/30 years ago.

I suppose a big part of the fact is that 3rd level education has become much more common.
    Tommy Doyle's nickname was Private Doyle because he was in the Army for a while.

Feck it. Forgot this :o Still the point about Kerry lads in the army stands.

Now the Guards on the other hand:D

I think James O'Donoghue is still a student. Not 100% sure.

Someone mentioned Kieran O'Leary's job to me a while back but I cant remember. :o [Not some weird stalker I'm from Killarney and would know a few of the Crokes]
    All I know is that Cillian Buckley is in 2nd year and he is specialising in Biomedical Engineering UCD. It's a very tough course and there are a lot of hours (lectures, labs and tutorials), so fair play to him for making the KK panel and studying that course.

Yeah I've heard of a few lads who have had to put GAA on the back burner because of studies. Intensive courses like med or dentisry. There can be a huge variation in the level of dedication required by a student depending on what they are studying.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,586 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Qwerty Dub wrote: »
    Dublin team v Mayo 2012

Cluxton - Teacher

Fitzsimons - Student
    O'Carroll - Student
    O'Sullivan - Student

McCarthy - Student
    Brennan - Teacher
    Nolan - Teacher

Fennell - DJ / Entrepreneur
    Bastick - Banking

Flynn - Student
    MacAuley - ???
    Cullen - Strength & Conditioning with Leinster

A.Brogan - Sales Rep
    B. Brogan - Accountant
    Connolly - ???

Subs:
    McMenamon - Sales Rep
    McMahon - Strength & Conditioning
    Kilkenny - Student

Can't remember who else came on. Don't know what O'Gara does.

Not a massive variation there either.

Everyone from 1 - 7 is a teacher or student.

I'd be doubtful on your details, Cian O'Sullivan is a tax accountant with PwC for example not a student. Connolly is a qualified electrician now working in training and marketing for Philips.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Agreed, that's more to do with the fact that there is no Army barracks in Co Kerry, the nearest ones being in Cork and Limerick cities. Counties with large barracks in them are much more likely to have Army personnel playing for them due to their locations and the fact that a career in the Army can be a family thing and that they are large employers in their respective towns. You're much more likely to see lads in the Army playing for counties like Kildare, Cork, Donegal, Westmeath, Roscommon than you would be for counties like Kerry, Clare, Mayo etc.

copacetic wrote: »
    I'd be doubtful on your details, Cian O'Sullivan is a tax accountant with PwC for example not a student. Connolly is a qualified electrician now working in training and marketing for Philips.

Apologies, cian finished up in UCD in 2011 to become a trainee with PWC. I was going by an interview I read this year where he said that he suffers with his hamstrings as a result of spending hours sitting down in the UCD library studying.

The rest are all right are they?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,677 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

So if you studied your backside off for a HDip in Higher Education and went aroud looking for jobs, only to find out John from the local GAA team walked into a job with a hearty slap on the back into full time teaching and a cushy job for life, simply because of who he was, would you still say "Fair play to him?". I doubt it..

You realise that in order for him to be a teacher also, 'John from the GAA club' has to have his HDip too. I guarantee you the amount of jobs that are appointed because they 'know someone' in this country is the majority of them, so I see no difference in someone using his contacts to get a job, everyone's fighting for employment, so why not use what you've got?

The chip off your shoulder is beyond repair it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

So if you studied your backside off for a HDip in Higher Education and went aroud looking for jobs, only to find out John from the local GAA team walked into a job with a hearty slap on the back into full time teaching and a cushy job for life, simply because of who he was, would you still say "Fair play to him?". I doubt it..

research the teaching council there lad. At best these boys are doing part time and can never get permanent if unqualified as teachers. If they are qualified your argument is proven spurious.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,739 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

research the teaching council there lad. At best these boys are doing part time and can never get permanent if unqualified as teachers. If they are qualified your argument is proven spurious.

Thing is though they are not qualified as I said I can name at least four who walked in part time and are now full time-whether they are officially classed as permanent is moot,they are still blocking teaching posts for lots of qualified people and why? They are good with a hurley...

It's not the case in my industry where everyone gets hired based on who you know a few maybe but most are hired on their talent and experience. Gaa players definitely have it easier because they are looked after by cute hoor business men who want to use the name or principals and council heads who are big fans it all helps

Thing is though they are not qualified as I said I can name at least four who walked in part time and are now full time-whether they are officially classed as permanent is moot,they are still blocking teaching posts for lots of qualified people and why? They are good with a hurley...

It's not the case in my industry where everyone gets hired based on who you know a few maybe but most are hired on their talent and experience. Gaa players definitely have it easier because they are looked after by cute hoor business men who want to use the name or principals and council heads who are big fans it all helps

Bitter much?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,898 ✭✭✭amacca

what you are describing with regard to teachers simply does not happen anymore......no one gets a teaching position anymore without a teaching qualification..........there are rules (not just wishy washy guidelines) to prevent it happening.......bit of subbing unqualified, maybe

any gaa player getting a teaching job now has the qualifications or rules are being broken somewhere and they/principal etc are on shaky ground so you can rest easy about John the GAA player becoming a teacher simply because he has good hand eye co-ordination and a fair turn of pace and sure hes a grand lad altogether

boards of management/vecs have guidelines with regards to appointments also

to what level it happened in the past I'm not so sure....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

I left school in Trim a few years ago, but in 6th year who would I often see around the place doing sub work but Meath's big forward Shane O'Rourke. Shane O'Rourkes father, Colm O'Rourke is the head of St. Pats in Navan.

Surely if teaching positions were doled out to GAA players based on their links as much as some claim, he would easily have gotten a job at his own father's school rather than having to come to Trim?

Or is the poster who gave this accusation just looking for any vague stick to try beat the GAA with? The same kind who still reference 'the ban' which was repealed over 40 years ago and give totally exaggerated stories of how miserable their childhood was because of the GAA, making it sound like as a child their teacher had everyone who didnt play hurling lined up and shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Occupations we never see

Artist
    Graphic designer
    Writer
    Poet
    Musician
    Film-maker
    Photographer
    Museum curator
    Archivist
    Technical writer
    Librarian
    Artisan food producer / seller

Another thing I find curious is the political stance. A number of GAA players go into politics afterwards. Why do they always veer towards the right i.e. FF / FG?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    Occupations we never see

Artist
    Graphic designer
    Writer
    Poet
    Musician
    Film-maker
    Photographer
    Museum curator
    Archivist
    Technical writer
    Librarian

Another thing I find curious is the political stance. A number of GAA players go into politics afterwards. Why do they always veer towards the right i.e. FF / FG?

What about Paul Galvin as a fashion designer/writer?

I'm not sure if I've seen politician mentioned already in this thread. The high-profile that the GAA can lend has landed manys a player in Leinster House!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

Occupations we never see
    Writer
    Isnt Lar a writer now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

but there remains a lot of GAA teachers around, but whats very unfair is a lot of them walk straight into the job with no qualifications, starting with a few hours cash in hand until eventually they are staff, and all because they were handy with a hurley when they were in school (a lot go back to their own school) and with a slap on the back they are given a job while the person who slaved away with their HDip is refused a position because the local GAA head is teaching religion from a book.

back that up with evidence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Not in the last ten years they aren't, cos they all need to be ratified by the teaching council.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭purplepanda

Maybe the reason for the decline in farmers & other occupations, including those that are self employed often working long hours to build up their company business, is the amount of time needed for training involved in county panels.

I know some former Wexford players who were in the above situation, they could not devote enough time without impacting on their company future & business .The county board couldn't come up with a solution to help them continue to play county hurling.

With the amount of training involved, nowadays all year round, a 9-5 job is the only viable solution for inter county players

Occupations we never see

Artist
    Graphic designer
    Writer
    Poet
    Musician
    Film-maker
    Photographer
    Museum curator
    Archivist
    Technical writer
    Librarian

Used be because of a better chance of "getting in" as they say....

Didn't Graham Geraghty run for FG without knowing the first thing about politics?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

100% of the Tree Surgeons I've ever met have been Intercounty footballers if that helps.

Occupations we never see

Artist
    Graphic designer
    Writer
    Poet
    Musician
    Film-maker
    Photographer
    Museum curator
    Archivist
    Technical writer
    Librarian

By the way, Pat Comer is a film maker, former Galway goalkeeper.

And Charlie Nelligan is a baker and has a pretty succesful cake shop in Tralee so that is artisan foods off the list.

Foster & Allen played in the middle of the field together for an All Ireland final so that is musicians out.

Garry McMahon was a poet, writer and singer so that is three more to get rid of.

Greg Jacob is into the film making as well now that I think of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭rockonollie

Kilkenney team is a good mix of salemen, bankers, teacher and farmers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Occupations we never see

Artist
    Graphic designer
    Writer
    Poet
    Musician
    Film-maker
    Photographer
    Museum curator
    Archivist
    Technical writer
    Librarian

To be fair if you picked 30 lads at random off the street how many would have those jobs anyway?

There are thousands of teachers, bankers, sales reps etc. around the country, very very few professional poets and film makers. The chances of finding a male professional film maker/photographer who also plays top level intercounty hurling or football are totally miniscule.