Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What jobs do GAA players have?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Not really meant to be a serious list - but I'm not sure it's as simple as being based on numbers of people doing common jobs like sales reps, bankers etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭ceegee

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    Not really meant to be a serious list - but I'm not sure it's as simple as being based on numbers of people doing common jobs like sales reps, bankers etc.

People who have to work late nights or weekends arent able to commit to intercounty GAA. Teachers can focus fully on gaa over the summer, reps/bankers will get the time off as their intercounty status adds value to their roles.

Artists/Filmmakers/Poets cant often commit to GAA as evenings and weekends are when companys most need waiting staff

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭68Murph68

Maybe the reason for the decline in farmers & other occupations, including those that are self employed often working long hours to build up their company business, is the amount of time needed for training involved in county panels.

I know some former Wexford players who were in the above situation, they could not devote enough time without impacting on their company future & business .The county board couldn't come up with a solution to help them continue to play county hurling.

With the amount of training involved, nowadays all year round, a 9-5 job is the only viable solution for inter county players

I think this is a huge part of it, especially at the top level.

Anyone I know who is working for themselves is pretty much on call 24/7 and a lot of people have jobs where its simply expected that overtime on short notice is a given.

DJs - Paul Galvin and Eamonn Fennell

Also Donal Dineen used to line out with Rathmore and was a handy enough footballer.

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

Cian Ward Accountant
    Brian Farrell Accountant
    Kevin Reilly Teacher
    Anthony Moyles Stockbroker
    Seamus Kenny Teacher??
    Big Joe GAA coach
    Jamie Queeney GAA coach
    Peadar Byrne Sales rep

• Registered Users Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭BnB

On the Farmers thing, I think it's less that Farmers aren't making teams or playing the sport but more to do with there are less young lads going into farming. I'm from a small rural club. Looking back at photos of teams from the 80s we would have had 10 or more farmers togged on any day. On our first team now we have only 1 full time farmer and 1 part timer. The sons of the lads from the 70s and 80s who are still around (including myself) are hurling but in most cases didn't take over the farm but have been to college etc and are working in all kinds of jobs.

On the teacher thing - It's only my own view but I actually think some lads who are big into their sport actually choose teaching as a career because the hours and holidays are just suited to someone who wants to give a lot of time to sport. Which is fair enough in a way. Being a high profile GAA player definatly does help to get a job. But to be fair to them, most of these lads go out and get involved in training teams etc in the school.

The Army thing I'd say is more of a Kilkenny thing than a GAA thing. I know you will always have the odd one here and there but to have three army men on a county team like that is very unusual.

On a slightly different aside, it's amazing how many former successful GAA players go on to be highly successful in their carers afterwards. I saw a great article a good few years ago about the Dublin team of the 70s (I wish I could find it again) . A massive percentage of them went on to be extremely successful afterwards. Not just landing a plum soft job but climbing to the tops of their professions. A good number became millionaires.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

BnB wrote: »

On a slightly different aside, it's amazing how many former successful GAA players go on to be highly successful in their carers afterwards. I saw a great article a good few years ago about the Dublin team of the 70s (I wish I could find it again) . A massive percentage of them went on to be extremely successful afterwards. Not just landing a plum soft job but climbing to the tops of their professions. A good number became millionaires.

A good number sadly become alcoholics too once their playing career is over.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

royaler83 wrote: »
    Cian Ward Accountant
    Brian Farrell Accountant
    Kevin Reilly Teacher
    Anthony Moyles Stockbroker
    Seamus Kenny Teacher??
    Big Joe GAA coach
    Jamie Queeney GAA coach
    Peadar Byrne Sales rep

Moyles works (or used to) work with Davy.

I heard a story about him once that culminated in him belittling someone elses opinion because their shoes and tie were cheaper than the ones Anthony was wearing at that time.

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

meriwether wrote: »

I heard a story about him once that culminated in him belittling someone elses opinion because their shoes and tie were cheaper than the ones Anthony was wearing at that time.

Still works there. Have heard he's fond of himself alright. He has a GAA gig on newstalk in the summer too, decent analyst

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

meriwether wrote: »

What a f*ckin spanner. Celtic Tiger alert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭carrig2

Thing is though they are not qualified as I said I can name at least four who walked in part time and are now full time-whether they are officially classed as permanent is moot,they are still blocking teaching posts for lots of qualified people and why? They are good with a hurley...

It's not the case in my industry where everyone gets hired based on who you know a few maybe but most are hired on their talent and experience. Gaa players definitely have it easier because they are looked after by cute hoor business men who want to use the name or principals and council heads who are big fans it all helps

Like the other respondents pointed out, nobody can be given a job in teaching now without a qualification. A Board of Management would never allow it, the Teaching Council would never allow it and the Department of education would never allow it. Do you really think that a principal of a school would hire an unqualified teacher who is a hurler ahead of a qualified teacher? Get Real!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Peanut Butter Jelly

Peadar Gardiner is a teacher in my school.
    He does Business, Geography and Computers as far as I know

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭neiphin

keane2097 wrote: »
    100% of the Tree Surgeons I've ever met have been Intercounty footballers if that helps.
    you mustn't have met many
    i work with a lot of these guys, all ive met is two former roscommon underage players, a guy that had a run with offaly underage ( think it was offaly) and a guy that played u20's rugby for scotland

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭neiphin

keane2097 wrote: »
    100% of the Tree Surgeons I've ever met have been Intercounty footballers if that helps.
    a lot of them are eastern european and strangly enough english

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭lala88

68Murph68 wrote: »
    Any idea what the students are studying? For the most part student is related to age - what they are they studying could change things a bit.

I find army is a bit of strange one, in that in can be very area specific. Coming from Kerry I cant think of anyone who has been involved with the Kerry team at any level who had any connection with the army which reflects the fact that I can only think of one lad who joined the army.

I know of one club team that had a huge number of lads involved in various aspects of construction that has been completely decimated as a result of the recession.

The key thing for me is the vanishing of farmers from top level teams over the last 20/30 years. From a position where you had farmers making up a large percentage of top level teams to where they have pretty much almost completely vanished.

Tommy Doyle All Ireland winning captain in 86 was in the army.

• Site Banned Posts: 11 P0rn0King

Greg Jacob=Pornstar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Fianna Fowl

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    What a f*ckin spanner. Celtic Tiger alert.

You conclude a highly successful amateur player who also happens to be highly successful in his career is a spanner based on what what one anonymous lad told another anonymous lad who it turn decided to post it up here?

My father who is a carpenter and used to tell be when I was 6 that he helped Santa make the wooden toys I received at Christmas. Thankfully in the early 80's I did not have access to the Internet, as I might be a little embarrassed posting what i was told as a 6 year old. 

• Registered Users Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

P0rn0King wrote: »
    Greg Jacob=Pornstar

Relevant username, is that you Greg?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

P0rn0King wrote: »
    Greg Jacob=Pornstar
    Welcome to 5 days ago kid.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 YMCA

Here is a breakdown of some of the Kilkenny players' occupations (as of ~September 2012):

David Herity: primary teacher
    Paul Murphy: army
    JJ Delaney: sales representative
    Jackie Tyrrell: sales representative Glanbia
    Tommy Walsh: Bank of Ireland official
    Brian Hogan: medical representative
    Kieran Joyce: student, WIT
    Michael Fennelly: Ulster Bank
    Richie Hogan: student, University of Limerick
    Henry Shefflin: Bank of Ireland Finance
    TJ Reid: sales rep, Connolly’s Redmills
    Eoin Larkin: army
    Colin Fennelly: army
    Richie Power: sales rep Kinetica Sport
    Aidan Fogarty: electronics engineer
    Cillian Buckley: student, UCD.

So out of the 16 listed above, 5 are sales reps, 3 are in the army, 3 are students, 3 work in the bank and there is one engineer and one teacher. That's a fairly small variation in occupations.

Richie Hogan and Richie Power are also Qualified primary school teachers.