Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Such a beautiful horizon

• 09-12-2012 10:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭

Hi, used to run a bit a few years ago. I ran a Dublin Marathon, a few half Mara's and a couple of 10k's. That was a while ago now though, and now I'm starting again, pretty much from scratch. That is, I started training about 14 weeks ago having agreed to run the Barcelona Mara with a couple of mates.

So now I've just completed week 4 of the Hal Higdon intermediate 1 plan. The reason I chose this plan is that it contains 2 x 20 mile training runs. That's the very minimum for me in terms of training. I've started to do my runs, particularly my long runs using heart rate zones. Having discovered a training pace calculator on line, I plugged in my Max and resting heart rates, 190 and 58 respectively. The 190 was achieved by sprinting up a steep hill mid way through a run, the resting was taken whilst watching Ben and Holly with my son in the bed one morning. The calculator calculated that I run my easy runs between 147 and 160.

This morning I ran 11 miles and tried to keep down the lower end of that band. I averaged 150 bpm and my pace was 10:26 mins per mile. I don't have a specific target time, just to complete it safely. A time around 4hrs 20 would beatmy one and only other Mara time. I would just like to rediscover some fitness and build a foundation safely.

Have some bad habits still that I would like to kick, all in good time and I have a few pounds to lose so onwards and upwards.

See you in Barrrrrthalona.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭calabi yau