Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Exclusively pumping?

• 10-12-2012 7:27am
    Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭

Hello!
    I just wanted to know if anyone here is exclusively pumping? I'd like to hear your stories as I've been doing it for almost three months now, it sure is tough going.
    Also, how much breast milk does you baby take per feed from the bottle?
    :)

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

I did it for 3 weeks in 2010, I hated every minute of it. It really got me down. I am in awe of you keep going for this long. I think it is way harder than breastfeeding. You do double work for each feed. And you have to clean bottles!

At 3 months old on my second I was pumping about 3.5 oz in 20mins, both boobs and he would take that and then have another feed 2 hrs later. (I didnt start solid food until he was 6 and a half months).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Squiggler

Is there any reason why you're not breastfeeding? As already said, bf is so much easier.

My sister-in-law pumped exclusively for the first 3 months of her little guy's life as he was premature and it was the only way to get him breast milk in the hospital (not here in Ireland) - she found it very rough going. Once he was home she switched to bf and found it so much easier.

Fair play to you though, I've expressed twice in the last 3 months, and while I had no problem filling a bottle the sterilising and washing and faffing about would drive me crazy if I had to do it all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq