Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

whats the fastest car you have ever driven or been in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

Fastest car I've driven is an R34 Gtr nur spec v spec 2 . Think it was around 700bhp at the time , second was a single turbo supra , 672bhp , didn't drive that but was in at 190mph in 40mph zone. Frightening stuff if something went wrong .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭mayotom

Audi R8 310kmph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Ferrari 360 Modena

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Q_ueeny

Fastest I have ever driven myself is about 120mph in my 1.6vti Civic , got a bit ****ty after that and slowed down. Have been a passenger in it going off the clock at 147mph tho. Scary.

I have been a passenger drifting in Mondello at a track day last year in my friends m3. doing 120mph or so down the straight just under the bridge while being sideways! Scary but SOOOOO MUCH FUN!

I love drifting :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

That's some price you were offered :eek:

I won't be paying anywhere near that for mine, I reckon I'll end up with a '94.

Your man was mad as a brush. :D

If you're willing to put some work and cash in or know/are friends with a mechanic then you can get a decent 92/94 for short money. Two friends of mine have bought MR2s in the last couple of months, another is currently looking. The bf saw one last weekend with the looking friend that was going for 900, it needed some work but he said it was still a steal at that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

fastest car i was in was a nissan pulsar GTIR .. 160mph.
    fastest i've driven.... 200km/h in a SiR civic. once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

Odysseus wrote: »
    It would be a bike for me, I got 160mph out of my SV650
    Speedo must be way off to get that, more like 140mph I would think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Ferrari f40.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I did 270kph on the A9 in Germany on a Kawasaki ZZR1400. Got a bit noisy at that speed so slowed down. The Audi S5 I was racing left me behind though :(

sfwcork wrote: »
    why dont u sell it to whoops jaxxy. U know his desperate so u can fleese him.His a mod so his loaded

He's also a she :eek:
    irish-stew wrote: »
    Ferrari f40.

Nice. One of my favourite cars of all time. I preferred the F50 though.

My old boss used to have a DB9 and an F350. I got to touch them, but that was it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

Around 160mph in a modified MTM golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

One of these bad boys.:pac:

Pretty fuel efficient too, might buy one for taxiing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

wrote:
    whoopsadaisydoodles

He's also a she

what. a woman into cars

how u doing..u single

haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

130 Mph in a relatively pedestrian Opel Insignia. Didn't feel all that stable at that speed truth be told. Fastest car I was in was probably a BMW three series. But never went over the limit. I need to get out more. I think.

sfwcork wrote: »
    what. a woman into cars

how u doing..u single

haha

Flirting and sexism?
    You best be watching that charter ;)

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

He's also a she :eek:

Nice. One of my favourite cars of all time. I preferred the F50 though

My old boss used to have a DB9 and an F350. I got to touch them, but that was it :(

Blasphemy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭mahonykid

a r32 skyline gtr, the beast was close to 400 bhp. not my car though, unfortunatly it got wrote off a few hours after i drove it. She got patched up and sold on, its still out there in disguise ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I've sat in a McLaren F1. Wasn't moving sadly. :mad::( Lovely car and ohmigod you can feel where the money went in fit and finish. Smaller than you'd think too, but with a remarkable amount of luggage room. If I won euromillions I'd buy one and live in the bugger :D

I've driven a Lancia Delta integrale. Very nice. Escort and Sierra Cosworth another of the Rally type yokes(scoobies as well). E type Jag and a few others, even a 60's Lotus Cortina which was bloody lovely to drive. I've been lucky with fast cars, though no supercars as such. Well a ferrari 456(tho more a GT car) but I just pottered around in that hoping someone I knew might see me :D Oh and a Dino(not that fast in modern terms). My daily ride a Integra Type R is fast enough for me. :) For me top speed anyway wouldn't be as important as handling and the teggy is unreal for that.

I'd say the fastest car I've ever driven was a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 5. It was one of the special edition jobs and yer man had rallyed it up to feck with expensive and shiny race parts. It was crazy fast, snap your neck at takeoff fast. If you stepped on it, your legs would be flailing out the back window while you hung onto the wheel for dear life. :) Mad yoke.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

About 100mph in this baby :D (Then I nearly had a heart attack)

Volkswagon Scorroco Storm

(Its my hubbys car)

http://www.ikcc.ie/photos/forsale/scirocco/scirocco2.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

nice car.bit like a spceship though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭scullersky

Audi RS4, Unreaaall!!!! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Odysseus wrote: »
    It would be a bike for me, I got 160mph out of my SV650
    Simona1986 wrote: »
    Speedo must be way off to get that, more like 140mph I would think!

Mm thought that too, my gsxr6 will do 162 and that has 30-40 bhp more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

It's odd to think that the speed limit on a road is 120kph max, but 50 feet up the speed limit is 463kph. 9950ft further up and the max speed is (theoretically) infinite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Me ma's micra, went about 40mph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Fastest car I've ever driven - Ferrari 360 Spider, unbelievable experience I'll never forget.

Fastest car I've ever been in - Nissan Skyline R33 GTR, heavily modified, hit 275km/h (~170mph/h) on the M50 in the middle of a Sunday afternoon. Great day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

McLaren F1. Used to work in marketing for car magazines (a loooong time ago) and we were all taken out to do laps of Peterborough when they had the F1 to test. Middle of winter, dark and wet, and the police turned a blind eye (as the journalists took them for a drive first!)

Fastest I've driven; Aerial Atom on a track day - thought my spine had melted.

Fastest I've owned; E46 BMW M3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,709 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Fastest I've driven, a bog standard 911/996 C2 on a completed but unopened stretch of Irish motorway at 245 kph or so

Scariest I've driven, a fully loaded LWB Transit 130bhp on an Autobahn, downhill at 165kph

Fastest Ive been a passenger was a spin around Kirkistown in a BTCC Seat Toledo in 2005 or so, overall not any faster than the 996, just mind bending acceleration and abuse on the body.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

What's an F350? :pac:

smash wrote: »
    What's an F350? :pac:

Fcuk knows!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Fastest car 530d bmw, 145 mph had to come off the throttle

Fastest bike GSXR 1100 over 180 mph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Fastest car I've owned- A poxy Citroen C3 (Still my first car)

Fastest I've driven- The fathers Mitsubishi Galant Turbo. Wicked car, pity the gear box went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Porsche GT4 on a track day in Birmingham. Had it at 240kmph for about 3 seconds and had to brake for a bend. Also drive Lamborghini Murcialago and an Audi R8 that day too but didn't get the same top speed from either as it started to rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Merc 500SL.

I was driving taxi at the time and this drunk guy asks if I could drive him home in his car saving him to collect the yoke tomorrow. He says he pays for the fare back to my taxi.

Grand I say and to my delight we walk out of the pub and he leads me to his 500SL. We took off and after 2 minutes he gives me a slight cough. We were doing 90 in town but it genuinely felt like 30.

Unbelievable machine altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

I have zero interest in cars, so fastest I've ever owned is just my Renault Clio. It's not very fast.

I have driven a Lotus 69 on the track, but at very slow speeds. I suppose it's probably the fastest car I've driven, but I didn't drive it fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

Never bothered with cars, but fastest on a bike was (indicated) 300kph. I was shaking like a leaf afterward, but what a rush!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

150kph once.

I do 95% of my driving to and from work and there ain't a hope in hell I will ever speed going to work. Balls to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭chrismon

Porsch 911 Turbo.
    That was fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

PEUGEOT 205 GTI 1.9 = 120MPH (193Km/h).

A few years ago now . . . . :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

155mph in a BMW 750i on the autobahn. Their speed is limited to that, we got passed out by a guy in a Lamborghini Murcielago though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

Drove one of these on a track in Nottingham. Much faster than I expected.

How do you type text where the link is put in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

There are some serious tall tales in this thread :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Fastest I've been in would be an E60 M5 around Rockingham Speedway. I was there for the product training with BMW & we were allowed a few laps with a professional driver at the helm. Serious driving for a serious car.

Fastest car I drove, hmm, either a Maserati 3200 Coupe, a BMW M6, or even a BMW Z8...they're all pretty quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭golondrinas

Friend did london to malaga in 16 hrs with a slab of red bull on the passenger seat. audi RS 6. Best thing I remember about it was the vented brakes, brill stopping power from say 250 or so!!

Had it robbeb in Marbella. Guardia said it was probably for sale in Vilnius a few weeks later. Serious robbing of prestige cars at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

DB 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »
    There are some serious tall tales in this thread :D

Not from me, my trip cost me €210 for the rental and €65 in fuel. Still, cheaper than actually buying one :p

For those interested you need be over 25 and have a full license 5 years before you can rent an M car off BMW-Welt. There's a deposit of €750 too, they're pretty rigorous on the pre/post-rental damage inspection too, right down to any kerbing on the wheels. Turn off the traction control and you lose your deposit, but they'll let you press the button to turn on the 560 BHP. I wheel-spun it out of the building :pac:

Next time I'm going for the M6 and I'm heading for the Alps *drools*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 coxyboy

DB 9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

A hire car. Doesn't matter which one, as long as it's a rental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭lil'bug

we got our old 1965 beetle up to 70 once :), it wasn't the fastest I've ever been but it was one of the most memorable :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I got a 3L supercharged Jag .:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭sarah88

Fastest car i'v ever driven is an Evo 5, what a beast!!