Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mike McCarthy leaves Connacht for Leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

I think it's a great signing for Leinster. Perfect age for a lock at the peak of his life cycle and he should hit the ground running. It's been a problem position for Leinster for years. Sad for Connacht but they can have Carr and Hagan back if they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

jacothelad wrote: »
    It would be a great opportunity for some young 2R at one of the other provinces or for Conn. to get a good IQ from the SH or a project type signing. Whoever gets the job - and I'm pretty sure it won't be Sean Holley - will have contacts. Pat Lam is a possibility.
    we do actually have some nice depth in connacht for second row, Kearney Browne, Qualter are all in the squad at the moment plus ultan dillane in the academy will be fighting for that spot plus anyone who connacht sign if they sign a replacement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭jacothelad

freyners wrote: »
    we do actually have some nice depth in connacht for second row, Kearney Browne, Qualter are all in the squad at the moment will be fighting for that spot plus anyone who connacht sign if they sign a replacement

Yes. I forgot about Qualter. He looks a great prospect. Our young guys need to play serious rugby. In SA or NZ or OZ they would be playing most weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Fishooks13 wrote: »
    Hines is a bit of a freak though!

Not really. McCarthy turned 31 two weeks ago. International rugby is littered with locks who have played some of their best rugby well into their thirties. Shaw, Hines, Nallet, Matfield, Sharpe etc. were all well into their thirties and playing top level stuff at international level. I'd equate 31 for a lock to being a 28 year old back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Gambas wrote: »
    And the IRFU most certainly can make international players go where they want (let's see where Mike Ross ends up).

Mike Ross told the IRFU he was going nowhere in his last round of contract negotiations and subsequently re-signed with Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

Quint2010 wrote: »
    I think it's a great signing for Leinster. Perfect age for a lock at the peak of his life cycle and he should hit the ground running. It's been a problem position for Leinster for years. Sad for Connacht but they can have Carr and Hagan back if they want.

Carr and Hagan going was a bad deal, the sort the IRFU should prevent from happening, because they weren't good enough for Leinster when they left and seeing them rot in Dublin because they got their heads turned really annoys Connacht people. McCarthy should be able to play his part for Leinster over the next few years, so fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

GerM wrote: »
    Mike Ross told the IRFU he was going nowhere in his last round of contract negotiations and subsequently re-signed with Leinster.

Has he definitely re-signed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

The word in Connacht is that the offers were not the same

Well that isn't what is being reported in the media. Do you have a link to where I could read this?
    And the IRFU most certainly can make international players go where they want (let's see where Mike Ross ends up).

They cannot force players to go where they want. Take the tinfoil hat off. (And if Mike Ross ends up in Munster it will be his decision).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Has he definitely re-signed?

I think he's referring to the last contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

My gut reaction (Leinster fan) to this is sadness that Connacht are losing him. But if they were in a position to match Leinster's offer financially, I suppose that's a promising sign.

But until Connacht start cultivating their own local players with an affinity to the region, this is bound to keep happening. No money or promise of success would tempt Rougerie away from Clermont, for example - he is obviously in the top drawer, but you could list countless lower profile examples or indeed examples from other sports (Totti at Roma, Gerrard at Liverpool, Buffon at Juve). (That and AR's mother would probably have him arrested.)

IRFU need to be pumping money into the development of the game in the West, competing with underage GAA and soccer and generating lifelong servants to the province where this would be less likely to happen. Otherwise any noise about more funds being allocated west is all just a smokescreen to mask Connacht's role as a Montessori for the big 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,540 ✭✭✭✭phog

Teferi wrote: »
    They cannot force players to go where they want.

If they were of the mind they could but it wouldn't be ideal for the player, province or IRFU.

On McCarthy moving it's great for himself and even better for Leinster, they could have done with him this year but Connacht are the real losers here. Not just losing a player of the quality of McCarthy but he was surely used in the development of players too and added to the profile within the province.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

GerM wrote: »
    Bit catty from Sears in his comments there. Nathan White and Mick Kearney are two guys that Leinster wanted but went west in the past two years and apparently Jordi Murphy will be making his way west this summer. That's ignoring the multiple players that were developed by other provincial systems that Connacht picked up. It's a pro game and, in an ideal world, all the sides would have indigenous players who spent their careers with their home province but that's not the case.

Nathan White was your back up tight head. He wasn't your #1 and wanted to play regular rugby. He was also offered a leadership role. He captained the team in his first game.

Can you honestly tell me that Kearney would have been playing at December last year for Leinster? He did last year for Connacht against Leinster and made 19 tackles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

And in truth teams from France/England won't be able to entice a guy like McCarthy who wants to protect his international career, so you'll be putting these players in a position where the IRFU can dictate contract terms to them which isn't exactly fair on the players either.

There is only one professional rugby employer in Ireland. All contracts say IRFU on them so of course the IRFU can dictate contract terms to players. Players' other options if they dont like it is abroad like Buckley, ToL and iHumph etc.

This was probably an offer from Leinster of a new contract (out of their budget and ratified by the IRFU) and a counter offer from Connacht (out of their budget and also ratified by the IRFU). Now the question is, did the IRFU, other than ratifying the offers, have any other influence in this move? Was the player willing to stay in Connacht?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Here's something I've always wondered. How do transfers like this work in rugby. He had 1 year left on his contract. Does that simply get torn up now? Do Connacht get compensated for the poaching of 1 of their best players (again)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

McCarthy didn't have a year left on his contract. He was going to be out of contract in the summer.

Transfer fees do exist in rugby, I remember Toulon had to pay €40,000 to NZRU to get Rudi Wulf, Wulf had a year left on his contract. Because there's much less money in rugby than soccer, clubs don't have the money to pay transfer fees in general.

McCarthy didn't have a year left on his contract. He was going to be out of contract in the summer.

Transfer fees do exist in rugby, I remember Toulon had to pay €40,000 to NZRU to get Rudi Wulf, Wulf had a year left on his contract. Because there's much less money in rugby than soccer, clubs don't have the money to pay transfer fees in general.

Someone told me once that the most an Irish province had ever paid was Leinster when they signed Nacewa. Not sure how much that was. They're certainly not the massive figures that get thrown around in soccer.

Winters wrote: »
    There is only one professional rugby employer in Ireland. All contracts say IRFU on them so of course the IRFU can dictate contract terms to players. Players' other options if they dont like it is abroad like Buckley, ToL and iHumph etc.

There is ultimately one employer but there are offers being made out of provincial budgets which is where the competition is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭ssaye

Someone told me once that the most an Irish province had ever paid was Leinster when they signed Nacewa. Not sure how much that was. They're certainly not the massive figures that get thrown around in soccer.

Stan wright was on 350k-375K second only to BOD in final year + not sure what he signed for though.
    Rocky Elsom was quite big too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

You cant blame Mccarthy going as he is surely going to try and cement a place in the Irish setup. There is going to be a proper scrap for the 2nd row places over the next few years and I would imagine he is hoping he can be there through to the next world cup. His chances would not be as strong with the apparent anti-bias towards connacht as achieving a HEC place is always going to be perilous.
    I dont think its the lure of silverware that is going to draw him in as Leinsters run in the HEC will probably end this year and they have a bit of rebuilding to do so could be a barren couple of years for them. (If it was silverware he was after Ulster may be the best bet at the moment!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

evil_seed wrote: »
    Here's something I've always wondered. How do transfers like this work in rugby. He had 1 year left on his contract. Does that simply get torn up now? Do Connacht get compensated for the loss of 1 of their best players (again)?

His contract is up in June next year. His new contract will be from the same employer but will just have a different place of work and an increase no doubt.

Moving from the likes of Ireland to UK/France or in between clubs in the UK or France would be like moving companies in a normal job. When being bought out of contract, the buying club or moving player would either buy out the remaining cost of his contract or negotiate out of it.

Moving in between provinces in Ireland would be like moving office but within the same company. There would be internal budgets and changes in the contract etc. Not as complicated but lots of internal politics as we have seen.

Correct me if im wrong but I think Connacht does not have equal representation in the IRFU. One vote compared to two each for Ulster, Munster and Leinster.

Webbs wrote: »
    You cant blame Mccarthy going as he is surely going to try and cement a place in the Irish setup. There is going to be a proper scrap for the 2nd row places over the next few years and I would imagine he is hoping he can be there through to the next world cup. His chances would not be as strong with the apparent anti-bias towards connacht as achieving a HEC place is always going to be perilous.
    I dont think its the lure of silverware that is going to draw him in as Leinsters run in the HEC will probably end this year and they have a bit of rebuilding to do so could be a barren couple of years for them. (If it was silverware he was after Ulster may be the best bet at the moment!)

Dont agree, Leinster could qualify as best runners up or possibly win AMLIN or League THIS season. Still a big squad and with only having to finish top 4 in league, always a chance every season of being there or there abouts. I agree Ulster are the form team. Can they get the winning mentality at key games? only time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

As a Leinster fan I'm not overly thrilled by this. Sure he's a fantastic player, but it seems very much a case that he only came onto the radar after the SA game, when infact he's been playing well for a few seasons now - something seems a little underhanded to me. I also would prefer a NIQ lock with a fair few international caps to his name. If he's to replace Cullen then I'd personally prefer a niggily type lock that can get under the skin of the opposition, ala Ryan. McCarthy strikes me as a 5.5 that'll tackle all day and clear out but doesn't strike me as a niggily player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭evil_seed

I stand corrected. I was sure he had 1 year left

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Fishooks13

Webbs wrote: »

Absolute nonsense, Leinster have one of the best acadamies in Europe and have the players to be at the top of European rugby for the forseeable future. Bar Clermont or Toulouse I can't think of a better club for him to go to if winning something was on his to do list

.ak wrote: »
    As a Leinster fan I'm not overly thrilled by this. Sure he's a fantastic player, but it seems very much a case that he only came onto the radar after the SA game
    Surely he came onto our radar a couple of seasons ago when we first tried to sign him?
    If he's to replace Cullen then I'd personally prefer a niggily type lock that can get under the skin of the opposition, ala Ryan. McCarthy strikes me as a 5.5 that'll tackle all day and clear out but doesn't strike me as a niggily player.
    I'm not sure about this. He often seems to be getting in trouble and I'm sure remember him getting sin binned a couple of times last season, one of those was for striking in the H Cup wasn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

As a Leinster fan I'm not overly thrilled by this. Sure he's a fantastic player, but it seems very much a case that he only came onto the radar after the SA game, when infact he's been playing well for a few seasons now - something seems a little underhanded to me.

Weren't Leinster sniffing around him a few years ago?

• Subscribers Posts: 16,714 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

As a Leinster fan I'm not overly thrilled by this. Sure he's a fantastic player, but it seems very much a case that he only came onto the radar after the SA game, when infact he's been playing well for a few seasons now - something seems a little underhanded to me. I also would prefer a NIQ lock with a fair few international caps to his name. If he's to replace Cullen then I'd personally prefer a niggily type lock that can get under the skin of the opposition, ala Ryan. McCarthy strikes me as a 5.5 that'll tackle all day and clear out but doesn't strike me as a niggily player.

That's crazy, we have been interested in him for a long time. Connacht let his contract run right down and he is 31, he wanted to finish off his career with a better chance of winning things and appearing for Ireland so the other provinces were his only option. It would be totally unfair to limit him to staying at Connacht or else going abroad and giving up on Ireland chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

McCarthy is well able to get involved - he was sent off for headbutting Rocky Elsom a few years ago after Cullen elbowed Keatley in the face off the ball. He's no shrinking violet, maybe not the dirty player Cullen can be but well able to get in the opposition's faces. IMO Cullen has been a fading force for 2 years now, and has been pretty cr@p for the last year; McCarthy will be a big addition for Leinster and big improvement on what's currently there.

Very sad to see him leave, very disappointed in the system that we couldn't hold onto him, but wish him the best of luck. Hope he wins a couple of HECs with Leinster

Zzippy wrote: »
    McCarthy is well able to get involved - he was sent off for headbutting Rocky Elsom a few years ago after Cullen elbowed Keatley in the face off the ball. He's no shrinking violet, maybe not the dirty player Cullen can be but well able to get in the opposition's faces. IMO Cullen has been a fading force for 2 years now, and has been pretty cr@p for the last year; McCarthy will be a big addition for Leinster and big miprovement on what's currently there.

Very sad to see him leave, very disappointed in the system that we couldn't hold onto him, but wish him the best of luck. Hope he wins a couple of HECs with Leinster

Few yellow cards, but excellent in scrum, lineout, leadership and handling the referee as captain NOT cr@p for me. Leinster's most successful 2nd. Sad to see him go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Yes, sorry forgot that he denied us previously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,226 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

ssaye wrote: »
    Dont agree, Leinster could qualify as best runners up or possibly win AMLIN or League THIS season. Still a big squad and with only having to finish top 4 in league, always a chance every season of being there or there abouts. I agree Ulster are the form team. Can they get the winning mentality at key games? only time will tell.

Flaming heck, I completely forgot about the high chance of Leinster ending up in the Amlin. Is that contractual or could they tell ERC they were forfeiting entry? I'd rather they bowed out than ended up in that tin-pot thing although funnily enough the final is in the RDS. If the H-Cup is a bust then it should be hell for leather for the league with no second rate obligations.

On the McCarthy thing as a long term Leinster supporter I think its hugely regrettable both for Leinster and Connacht and for the player himself. I have a huge respect and sympathy for Connachts position being raped of all their best players on a regular basis and still managing to come up with ever improving results. I understand the difference with McCarthy being out of contract but I think they are building up an unprecedented head of steam in Galway and look forward to some good seasons ahead, so long as they are given their due regard by IRFU and given a free hand and fair resources. There are no development provinces in the Heineken Cup. McCarthy could have been a leader of something special.

As for Leinster, they need to completely reassess the locks they have on the books, presumably Browne will depart and maybe Flanagan will go to Connacht but at this stage Cullen is starting to fade. Bringing in McCarthy at 31 is only a stop gap and not a very strategic one at that. For the player himself I understand the good season he is having, but at his age that could be snuffed out with any sort of injury, I think a few pension years in the sunshine of the South of France would have been just the job,.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Fishooks13

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Flaming heck, I completely forgot about the high chance of Leinster ending up in the Amlin. Is that contractual or could they tell ERC they were forfeiting entry? I'd rather they bowed out than ended up in that tin-pot thing although funnily enough the final is in the RDS. If the H-Cup is a bust then it should be hell for leather for the league with no second rate obligations.

On the McCarthy thing as a long term Leinster supporter I think its hugely regrettable both for Leinster and Connacht and for the player himself. I have a huge respect and sympathy for Connachts position being raped of all their best players on a regular basis and still managing to come up with ever improving results. I understand the difference with McCarthy being out of contract but I think they are building up an unprecedented head of steam in Galway and look forward to some good seasons ahead, so long as they are given their due regard by IRFU and given a free hand and fair resources. There are no development provinces in the Heineken Cup. McCarthy could have been a leader of something special.

As for Leinster, they need to completely reassess the locks they have on the books, presumably Browne will depart and maybe Flanagan will go to Connacht but at this stage Cullen is starting to fade. Bringing in McCarthy at 31 is only a stop gap and not a very strategic one at that. For the player himself I understand the good season he is having, but at his age that could be snuffed out with any sort of injury, I think a few pension years in the sunshine of the South of France would have been just the job,.

Completely undermines the structure of both tournaments. It won't happen and nor should it

It isn't a good season, he's been consistent for about two and a half years. I have no hesitation in saying him and Swift are the best implementers of the choke tackle in rugby. People like to think it was an innovative new idea by Les Kiss, but the two of them were at it for ages.

I wouldn't call a 3 year contract a stop gap. You would be amazed what can appear on your plate in 6 months never mind 3 years. Robbie Henshaw a prime example. Also I would be surprised not to see McCarthy still playing past 35, Swift is still doing an amazing job at 35 and Leinster fans hardly need reminding about fantastic locks in their very late 30's ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Winning the Amlin would earn Ireland another place in the HEC next year for Connacht - more top-level experience to develop our players so ye can cherry pick the best again ;)

Trophies are trophies. There will be a day, hopefully not too soon in the future, where Leinster won't be competing for a trophy or have a trophy drought such is the rollercoaster that is rugby. Take them all while you can because there might not be any in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭RoundBox11

Unfortunate news for Connacht fans. However, as a poster on the main article stated, neither McCarthy, Cronin, Hagan or Carr were initialy developed by Connacht. They all served there time there, put up with the losses and gave the province everything. So i don't think there should be an attitude of "he's deserting us".

I don't blame McCarthy or any of the others for what they did tbh. There's only so many losses a player can take before they decide they want more. McCarthy has given as much as any player to Connacht over the past 5 seasons. Now that he's recognised as one of the best locks in the country it's only natural that he wants to add to his dusty trophy cabinet.

I look forward to seeing himself and Toner partner up in the second row next season! Best of luck to the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,226 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Zzippy wrote: »
    Winning the Amlin would earn Ireland another place in the HEC next year for Connacht - more top-level experience to develop our players so ye can cherry pick the best again ;)

Ah yeah, youre all correct of course, Leinster should commit fully to whatever comes their way, it would just be quite the come down. Regardless, I think the men in white will be winning the big enchilada to qualify Connacht once again! What happens if Ireland holds the two trophies, do St Mary''s get into the Amlin ;)

Good question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

ssaye wrote: »
    Good question

place goes to the hghest rank team not to qualify i think

RoundBox11 wrote: »
    Unfortunate news for Connacht fans. However, as a poster on the main article stated, neither McCarthy, Cronin, Hagan or Carr were initialy developed by Connacht. They all served there time there, put up with the losses and gave the province everything. So i don't think there should be an attitude of "he's deserting us".

I think one of the lines that has to change has to be "serving time". McCarthy didn't serve time, he played for his province. I think if you were to ask McCarthy where home is in Ireland it would be out west. He's close to his family in Mayo apparently. You can see how much heart he has when he plays for Connacht. He is to Connacht fans a local lad.

I don't think there is any begrudging of McCarthy he's 31 with no trophies and he's joining the European champions. No-brainer. I've only noticed one or two people saying he's deserting us. You only need to check the Connacht facebook to see the reaction of fans is nothing but well wishes.

I think a massive fear of Connacht fans is that, Leinster could come calling for our homegrowns like Henshaw and Griffin. Then there could be serious issues.

I know it's controversial lads, but if a qualification system is introduced to the Pro 12 it is only going to suit Connacht who can keep taking advantage of the Welsh player exodus. Because to be fair catching the other 3 provinces and gaining qualification is tough. It is 3 of the top 8 teams based on last years HC. I'm still not in favour of it because I want a proper European cup with Italian and Scottish representation but it could end up favoring Irish rugby in a certain way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,659 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Tom sears connacht rugby CEO says that leinster have been targeting connacht players the last few seasons.

That says it all really. Find your own players Leinster rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Disappointed with the comments from Sears, several important players have come from Leinster to Connacht, as well as H Cup rugby. One of the better posters on LF says there are 9 former Leinster or Leinster U20 players in the Connacht squad.

Although I sympathise with the situation, it's not like there has been nothing coming the other way.

irishgeo wrote: »
    That says it all really. Find your own players Leinster rugby.

Where did Fionn and Jamie come from.

We found them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,864 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Don't think any Connacht fans blame Macca. He's given great service to Connacht and by all accounts was very happy in Galway. Maybe he sees this as his last chance to potentially win some silverware.

Still leaves a bad taste in the mouth though. A Connacht player finally breaks into the Ireland team and he's literally gone to another province a few weeks later. Unfortunate timing and coincidence maybe but it sends out a bad message

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭blackhound

I'm gutted to hear this as a Connacht fan, it's extremely frustrating to say the least.

Moving to Leinster is undoubtedly the best option for Macca on a personal level more opportunity to play at the highest level consistently and the chance to win some medals and I for one wish him all the best. He never gave less than 100% for us as and Connachts loss is undoubtedly Leinsters gain.

The one point I would make is: is this the best option for Irish rugby though. We can all see the depth in talent in Munsters locks I would argue that a player like Nagle moving to Leinster would be a better move for the national team. In connacht Macca was undoubtedly first choice and clearly Swift doesn't have many seasons left in him which was going to to give a massive opportunity for Kearney and Browne to stake a claim. In Ulster we have Dan Touhy going strong obviously Muller is first choice (before injury) Henderson looks a great prospect and McComb and Stevenson are decent players. Leinster have Cullen who is nearing retirement, Toner who has yet to reach his full potential imo and Browne is an effective enforcer, Denton who is young and also IQ with Roux a project player.

I don't begrudge McCarthy leaving but I really don't think this is the best option for Irish rugby as a whole but merely for Leinster, I think if we really want Ireland to threaten on an international stage we need four provinces operating to the best of their ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,659 ✭✭✭irishgeo

its_phil wrote: »

Where did Fionn and Jamie come from.

We found them.

You must have let them go at much stage thinking they were not good enough.

Tox56 wrote: »
    Disappointed with the comments from Sears, several important players have come from Leinster to Connacht, as well as H Cup rugby. One of the better posters on LF says there are 9 former Leinster or Leinster U20 players in the Connacht squad.

Matt Healy,- Picked up from Lansdowne at AIL
    Kyle Tonetti,- Sale
    Dave McSharry,- Dropped from Leinster because of injury IIRC?
    Paul O'Donohoe,- Completely out of the picture.
    Dave Moore, - Harlequins
    Mick Kearney, - Offered senior rugby so he came.
    Dave Gannon, - Out of contract at Exeter
    Jason Harris-Wright- came from Bristol

Some may well have Leinster past's but the most didn't seem to have futures. With only two coming directly from Leinster.

You must have let McCarthy go because you think he isn't good enough then! (Or maybe there are other reasons for players to leave a team?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,864 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Tox56 wrote: »

Although I sympathise with the situation, it's not like there has been nothing coming the other way.

Most of those were surplus to requirements at Leinster. Others may be from Leinster but they actually came via different clubs usually in England. I believe a couple came from Quins. McSharry I believe wasn't offered an academy contract at Leinster due to nagging injuries so Connacht offered him one.

First off I'm a Connacht fan.

So what they are from Leinster, why wouldn't they want to play for their home province?