Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eminem - Slane 2013 - All discussion ***No ticket sales/swaps permitted***

• Registered Users Posts: 6,474 ✭✭✭dobman88

With the rain, I am torn between my full culchie attire of wellies, rain jackets and rain pants or just think f*ck it and do tracksuit pants and hoody with sneakers. Will get destroyed either way but who cares!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭bennyl10

dobman88 wrote: »
    With the rain, I am torn between my full culchie attire of wellies, rain jackets and rain pants or just think f*ck it and do tracksuit pants and hoody with sneakers. Will get destroyed either way but who cares!!

Trying to dig out the wellies as we speak.. runners in the bag for sunday anyway :/ stupid camping packing!

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Trying to dig out the wellies as we speak.. runners in the bag for sunday anyway :/ stupid camping packing!

Yeah im glad we got a very cheap hotel in Dublin. €277 for 6 of us, for 2 nights!! Actually cant wait now, after watching 8 mile today, got goosebumps and shivers all over but that may have been the bronchitis :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭aka accounts 2010

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Torrential rain in Navan today. Going to be a muckbath in Slane on Saturday. Delighted for all the scumbag fans of Eminem. Knowwhatamsayin'?

Good to see the lonely negative troll is back. If I remember correctly, this is your post from 14/06/2013, the day before the Bon Jovi gig (Ref Bon Jovi thread)

"Raining hard in Navan at the moment.
    Enjoy the muck bath at Slane tomorrow. Anyone who likes Bon Jovi deserves it"

Obviously you want nobody to head out
    and enjoy themselves no matter what the gig so maybe we should all call around to your place Saturday night and see what excitement you can create for
    us all.

Could we please get an indication of your musical preference? It's difficult to
    tell as you clearly class Bon Jovi as rubbish while referring to fans of
    Eminem in a slanderous manner!!

I struggle to see why you would simply go onto a thread to state the fact that you hope people have a miserable time.

Regards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭xXxkorixXx

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Torrential rain in Navan today. Going to be a muckbath in Slane on Saturday. Delighted for all the scumbag fans of Eminem. Knowwhatamsayin'?

Scuse me were not all scumbags some of us are jus normal people with flat dub accents. lol :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

I hope the weathers good on saturday and I found people to go with selling the ticket to someone so it's good.
    Would it be crazy to wear rain gear as in the trousers if it's going to be raining in slane?(already have them)
    I need to go out and buy wellies tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭DsJewel

Can't believe it's only 2 days away. Always wanted to see him live & I reckon this will probably be my only chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

I struggle to see why you would simply go onto a thread to state the fact that you hope people have a miserable time.

Regards.

fairly obvious that it's because they're miserable gits!

I can't fuppin wait for this, just got my ticket yesterday and my tummy is flipping with excitement! he was the soundtrack of my teens so I'm really hoping to hear the oldies, I'll lose me sh1t altogether! :D
    haven't been to slane in ten years, looking forward to the walk to drunkeness from the bus!
    will miss most of the supports because I'm working, don't know them though so all good :)

Anyone sure of what time the licence is to for Slane?
    10 or Half ten? :)

Anyone sure of what time the licence is to for Slane?
    10 or Half ten? :)

First time I have seen you ask a question benny, your usually answering them :pac:

But no, I don't know the licencing time

dobman88 wrote: »
    First time I have seen you ask a question benny, your usually answering them :pac:

But no, I don't know the licencing time

Haha :p feels weird being on the other side :p

I ask just because i thought 8 seemed a bit early, but bon jovi was on at half 7.. 10 is a very early time to be heading home :p

2 days :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,700 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Good to see the lonely negative troll is back. If I remember correctly, this is your post from 14/06/2013, the day before the Bon Jovi gig (Ref Bon Jovi thread)

"Raining hard in Navan at the moment.
    Enjoy the muck bath at Slane tomorrow. Anyone who likes Bon Jovi deserves it"

Obviously you want nobody to head out
    and enjoy themselves no matter what the gig so maybe we should all call around to your place Saturday night and see what excitement you can create for
    us all.

Could we please get an indication of your musical preference? It's difficult to
    tell as you clearly class Bon Jovi as rubbish while referring to fans of
    Eminem in a slanderous manner!!

Regards.

Well I dislike both Eminem and Bon Jovi intensely, and you must love both if you were tracking my postings. I'm a huge Daniel O'Donnell and TR Dallas fan if you ask. Thought that tthey would be coming to Slane so I am disappointed

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭brianw1

Hey everyone,
    I just wanted to ask if you guys are going to risk sneaking alcohol in? I heard the security is upped this year, and this is my first major concert. Was planning on having a few drinks on the bus up with a couple of mates, then try sneak in a flagon or something, it's a long day.
    Is it worth the risk? What's the worst that could happen if it's found?

brianw1 wrote: »
    Hey everyone,
    I just wanted to ask if you guys are going to risk sneaking alcohol in? I heard the security is upped this year, and this is my first major concert. Was planning on having a few drinks on the bus up with a couple of mates, then try sneak in a flagon or something, it's a long day.
    Is it worth the risk? What's the worst that could happen if it's found?

Drink away on the bus, but dont be obviously drunk when arriving..
    I wouldnt risk it, but each to their own.. confiscate it & refuse entry..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

Refusal of entry.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Not that i'm advising it but surely its a case of walking away and going to a different entry point 5 mins later. There's no way a steward has the power to legally confiscate your ticket prior to entry. I could be wrong but 1/5 people at least will try sneak in drink, and there won't be 15,000 ticket confiscations

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Not that i'm advising it but surely its a case of walking away and going to a different entry point 5 mins later. There's no way a steward has the power to legally confiscate your ticket prior to entry. I could be wrong but 1/5 people at least will try sneak in drink, and there won't be 15,000 ticket confiscations

I work as a steward in Thomond, and yes it is well within a stewards power to confiscate a ticket if the patron is found to have broken the conditions of entry. When y9ou buy them you enter a contract saying you will abide by rules, you bring alcohol in & get caught bye bye mr ticket.

You might not get caught, which is fine, but if you do..:rolleyes:

We do it for about 100 people per H.Cup match.

Opened with his new track tonight.

I work as a steward in Thomond, and yes it is well within a stewards power to confiscate a ticket if the patron is found to have broken the conditions of entry. When y9ou buy them you enter a contract saying you will abide by rules, you bring alcohol in & get caught bye bye mr ticket.

Fair enough. Where does the search happen? Is it before or after they scan your ticket? Are you a steward for matches mainly or concerts?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Getting more and more excited.

Decided to try and get pit passes. So, I know ye've already said that you can turn up at 1pm at get them and there's no queuing allowed beforehand. Could we head in at about 12 and pitch ourselves somewhere nearby and see when they start letting people in? I just can't believe that everybody wouldn't be doing the same thing (especially by the sound of this thread.)

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭brianw1

Oh right, didn't know there was more than one entry

Fair enough. Where does the search happen? Is it before or after they scan your ticket? Are you a steward for matches mainly or concerts?

I've done both(but like we've only had one concert this year) for the soccer and rugby it's before they enter. But for Bruce this year it was after.

When it's before if we find anything, the ticket is simply confiscated along with the drink.
    But when ti;s after, you're ticket is scanned, then you get searched, and if anything is found at that stage, yes you get to keep your ticket, but you''re escorted form the ground and the ticket can't be re-scanned.

By all means, chance the naggin, but i don't know is it worth it..

Getting more and more excited.

Decided to try and get pit passes. So, I know ye've already said that you can turn up at 1pm at get them and there's no queuing allowed beforehand. Could we head in at about 12 and pitch ourselves somewhere nearby and see when they start letting people in? I just can't believe that everybody wouldn't be doing the same thing (especially by the sound of this thread.)

guards will clear ye, and with 3 entrances they'll move you away..

turn up at one and you'll get one no bother.. the buses from dublin don't leave til 12 at earliest, so they wont reach slane until 1 anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

What would happen if you drank before going in?

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

I was at the bon jovi gig so I don't know what it will be like this time around.
    But you were searched before you went in BUT the bridge was full of security guards so if they see you with drink they might kick you out :(

I say just drink before you go in and don't take the risk..

What would happen if you drank before going in?

Once you weren't obviously drunk, slurring your words or walking up to the steward/guards with a bottle/can(which is illegal in itself) you were fine..

We/They dont really mind what you do before hand, once you're not completely gone. Like I'm having a can or two before heading down to the castle..

Once your inside like there will be bars don't forget this.. Just have ID on you.

Not sure why no-one has posted this here yet :)
    Site map showing entrances car parks and bars.. For those staying in Slane farm & Hostel, ti is located at car park 3

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/523896_506877086066254_595621924_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭DsJewel

Not sure if pic will load cos im on my phone but saw this pic on fb of the grounds

I've done both(but like we've only had one concert this year) for the soccer and rugby it's before they enter. But for Bruce this year it was after.

When it's before if we find anything, the ticket is simply confiscated along with the drink.
    But when ti;s after, you're ticket is scanned, then you get searched, and if anything is found at that stage, yes you get to keep your ticket, but you''re escorted form the ground and the ticket can't be re-scanned.

By all means, chance the naggin, but i don't know is it worth it..

I can certainly see how you can be thrown out if the search after scan, but before I cant see how. You can just say 'I don't have a ticket', it's not as if they can stick their hands down your pockets, or anywhere else more imaginative you might put your ticket for safe keeping. Walk away and go somewhere else. I'm 95% certain there will be a common sense approach of the drink being confiscated but the person being free to walk in, provided they're polite and not paralytic. These events always attract bad publicity, there's no point organisers creating it when its not necessary. Drugs are a different story because the media would have a field day. Again, i'm not advising it and wont be sneaking anything in myself

this is true, and perhaps the stewards will allow this happen, i was just speaking form experience :)
    We tend to ask can we see the ticket first(we say to ensure you're entering the right area) and thats how we can confiscate before the scan.

At an event like this it would be virtually impossible.

Hopefully they wont be too strict though, we shall see on Saturday.