Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weather Channel Apes Boards.ie Weather Forum in Naming Blizzards.

• 12-12-2012 10:31pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭

This seems familiar....mainly because this is familiar. :D

http://www.usatoday.com/story/weather/nation/2012/10/02/snowstorm-blizzard-names-weather-channel/1606531/
    Several decades after hurricanes first got formal names, some blizzards in the USA this winter will get their own names, too.

The Weather Channel will assign the monikers, "the first time a national organization in North America will proactively name winter storms," the network reports.

Not how we do it on Boards, you nominate your own Blizzard name around here.

SEE HERE > http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=76497837&postcount=567

And which neatly reminded me to resurrect our Winter 2011/2012 Blizzard Naming Policy .

One Blizzard per Boardsie per naming tranche.

I am opening up the period from the 25th December 2012 to the 31st of January 2013 ( inclusive) for this series of self nominations. Pick a day in that range for your Blizzard.

Closing Date 17 December 2012 12z.

Rules.

1. Post your blizzard name and selected date here.
    2. One Name per day will be selected. If it Blizzards it will be named after you in perpetuity or longer if you wish.
    3. No naming of any Feb events allowed.
    4. Sponge Bob not allowed to name a Blizzard after himself.
    5. In the event that 2 posters self nominate for the same day final choice of the 'nicest' sounding Blizzard lies solely with Sponge Bob.
    6. Closing date 17 December, @ 12z
    7. Once you have been allocated 'your day' a change of mind window opens thereafter until the 31st of December in case you feel your Blizzard day sounds insufficiently epic.
    8. The Blizzard conditions MUST affect a minimum of 2 Met Éireann synoptic stations AND on YOUR date in order to fully
    activate the name. If it carries on after 0z the next days name will not be activated as the event was already in train at 0z.
    9. No PMs, you must post your entry in this thread.

And Good luck all. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

And what is it called???

• Registered Users Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

26/01/13

The Blizzard of Oz

• Registered Users Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

07/01/2013
    Cloud 999

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭H2UMrsRobinson

06/01/13

Snowphies White-out B-day Blizzard

(In honour of my daughters birthday)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

29/12/12 ;)

PistolPetes Piste :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

01/01/13, 1 euro on the vino?

For me it has to be - Blizterity

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭aurora 527

03/01/13

For me im going for snowbliterated!!!!:p

• Registered Users Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

13/1/13 - reserved. Name in morning when I'm awake.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

28/12/2012

A Blizzard for Sponge Bob

• Registered Users Posts: 7,807 ✭✭✭Calibos

vicwatson wrote: »
    26/01/13

The Blizzard of Oz

Ah FFS!! :mad:

Second bloody poster in the thread picks my birthday.

Ye think you're really clever with your 26th of January Australia Day and yer Blizzard of Oz don't ye!! :mad:

Spongebob would be a fool not to award it to me with my....

SuperCalifrigidlistic Blizzard moniker

All joking aside, Well played my friend. Very clever name and date, very clever indeed. Works on multiple levels.

I can say nothing for now Calibos , someone else could come up with a right beauty for the same date as the pair of yiz by the 17th.

Tug on heartstrings noted for the record. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,513 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

11 Jan -- No MT Promise

• Registered Users Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

14/01/2013

Snowpocalypse.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,807 ✭✭✭Calibos

13/12/12

Snowpocalypse Now

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭Defcol

13 Jan - World Of Snowcraft

• Registered Users Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

In honour of little guys birthday, 29 Dec - Alex's Abominable Snowfall.

Edit - Just realised I am stealing a mods date! Say the 30th so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Redsunset

January 8th

232580.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭TURRICAN

5/1/13
    The Wished Storm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Not

31 Jan 2013

Two snowflakes..! ha.. ha.. ha.. ha....
    (waiting in eager anticipation of a third....... )

(still waiting....)

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭weathermaiden

I want to reserve 29 Jan 2013.... name TBA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

The great sleet/snow on the hills, rain at lower levels blizzard of 2012.

no seriously on the remote off chance it occurs..

23rd Dec The James's Day Blizzard of 2012.

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭aboyro

17-1-2013

This blizzard will be called "Premature Ablation":)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,849 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

21-01-13

"Thundersnow buddies for life"

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fr wishy washy

1.2.13 knckerbockerglory

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

16-1-13

Snowpocalypse III: Thunderblizzard

• Registered Users Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

18/01/13

stoirm sneachta

Last 24 hours to name your blizzard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Not

Wait, wait, wait....!! the crystal ball has detected a third snowflake on 31 Jan 2013 !

Oh wait, there's more.. !

much more....
    holy cr&p!!! it's off the scale:eek::eek::eek: !!!

We have a proper blizzard ! :)

Therefore I wish to christen this off the scale blizzard as
    Snowmania 2013 - the rise of the snow bunnies !!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭BEASTERLY

19-01-2013

Beasterly's Easterly!