Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rope in LIDL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

ArtyM wrote: »
    Thank OP, thats just what I was looking for.
    On an entirely unrelated matter.....
    Do Lidl sell chloroform and shovels?

Yes they do.:D

13 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭madhatter76

This thread is insensitive, almost offensive, definitely politically incorrect and absolutely hilarious. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Boards.ie needs to buy a coil of this rope.

The baling twine on the gate that keeps the AH cattle in their field has broken and they've escaped out into BA.

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭siber

I wonder is it as good as this rope?

Boards.ie needs to buy a coil of this rope.

The baling twine on the gate that keeps the AH cattle in their field has broken and they've escaped out into BA.

I spend more time here in BA than over in AH.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭CH3OH

paddy147 wrote: »

That is indeed a tragedy!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Access

I don't believe you... any pictures to prove that paddy? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Pics or GTFO :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Where's the damn bargain ? :confused::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,408 ✭✭✭✭muffler

20 metres of Good quality rope, just in time for christmas - only €4.99

http://www.lidl.ie/cps/rde/xchg/lidl_ri_ie/hs.xsl/index_27101.htm
    Can you get it gift wrapped?

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭Aciiiiiiiiiiid

muffler wrote: »
    Not in LIDL but most shopping centres offer this service around Christmas time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Not in LIDL but most shopping centres offer this service around Christmas time.

Could you imagine the look on their faces when you walk in with 20m of rope and ask for it to be gift wrapped.

"eh, its for the wife"

CH3OH wrote: »
    That is indeed a tragedy!;)

Ah well when you are me then the BA thread is the best place to be.:D

Bargains galore to be had,and a good few of them posted by myself too (with pictures to suit the fussy ones).;):pac::D

Hogzy wrote: »
    Could you imagine the look on their faces when you walk in with 20m of rope and ask for it to be gift wrapped.

"eh, its for the wife"

Ann Summers will sort you out there.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭dowtchaboy

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Take a walk around any harbour in the country and you'll see the rope that lidl did about 3 years ago is used to secure a lot of boats, including some very expensive boats. It really was great quality stuff last time and it floats which is a benefit for marine usage.

People who use floating rope should be strung up with it. I've seen too many propellers found by the bloody things. Ropes should sink, like God Neptune intended.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 ImSanta

FFS lads..this thread has become rather strung out now.

IMO its getting a bit ropey now

Tea?

Now.

In before the knot!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Does anyone know if this rope will work with my existing Saorview and FTA setup or will I have to get something else?
    The trick to using it as an antenna is to keep it wet ;)

http://www.alangm7.plus.com/PersonalSite/MainPages/wetString.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Did it or did it knot work? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

The trick to using it as an antenna is to keep it wet ;)

http://www.alangm7.plus.com/PersonalSite/MainPages/wetString.htm
    There is a problem here. Only 13.1 metres required. What to do with the remaining 6.9metres.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭MrAbc

Dear Kids,
    Santa knows you were really good all year and he'd love to bring a shiny new PS3 Slim but unfortunately your Mom & Dad are broke, slowly turning to drink and nearly suicidal from listening to Joe Duffy... But Happy Christmas!! ...your presents are under the tree.
    Santa said have fun loosing a few calories, be careful of friction-burns and don't use them on the cat.

PS If you get bored with your presents, leave them back under the tree at night. Your Mommy told Santa she always wanted to try Isome games with him.
    TBH kids, Santa probably looked a bit worried -- although he's encouraged that Life doesn't totally suck ass!! But Santa said you kids gotta go to bed early again and not worry about any funny noises ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭SeamusFX

A piece of Lidl's rope walks into a pub and asks for a pint. The barman says: "sorry, we don't serve rope". The rope leaves dejected and then cuts it's ends and ties itself into a knot and returns to the pub and asks for a pint. The barman says: "aren't you that piece of rope I just kicked out?" And the rope replies, "No, I'm a frayed knot"!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,842 ✭✭✭s8n

thread gone slightly off topic - Rope it back in lads !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

muffler wrote: »

A tip for anyone else looking for it gift wrapped: Buy 2 ropes, and use the spare one to wrap it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

johnayo wrote: »
    There is a problem here. Only 13.1 metres required. What to do with the remaining 6.9metres.:rolleyes:
    Use them on the other bands

*wonders if anyone has ever crocheted a parabolic dish*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

Got a roll. !!!

Does anyone know where I can buy accessories for my rope.

I want to pimp it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭Paddy_man

brokenarms wrote: »
    Got a roll. !!!

Does anyone know where I can buy accessories for my rope.

I want to pimp it.

Just wondering if this thread will get the reCORD for the most rope puns, or will it be TIED with it..

Impress your friends with your new rope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,945 ✭✭✭Bigus

paddyp wrote: »
    While I don't know about their polypropylene rope a family friend in cork used some of their 8mm 200kg cord on his boat and it self destructed in less than 6 months no UV resistance whatsoever.

Yeah but it lasts forever if you just use it in the dark.

Bigus wrote: »
    Yeah but it lasts forever if you just use it in the dark.

Ye could also smear it with factor 50. Every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

brokenarms wrote: »
    Ye could also smear it with factor 50. Every day.

Better off getting the water based sensitive one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

I'm at the top of the queue at my local Lidl for this bargain of the century, bizarrely, about 20 people have now joined since this news was released on Boards.ie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Did it or did it knot work? :D

I'm a frayed knot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

All done!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,842 ✭✭✭s8n

All done!!!

??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭sunny2004

Money for old rope,

But seriously, its only 1cm in thickness ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭loremolis

sunny2004 wrote: »
    Money for old rope,

It's not the thickness, it's the length that counts.

Sweet jesus... next rope pun... and the bunny dies! :D

ms+crab+gun+and+bunny.jpg

relax they're just stringing you along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,086 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

This thread rope unravelled quickly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Thread soundtrack provided by the Foo Fighters.

I got 20 meters of rope in my local Lidl for 50 cents today....in the clearence item section.

Handy for the tarpaulin covers and covering over the briquettes and all the logs and felled trees..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,086 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I got 20 meters of rope in my local Lidl for 50 cents today....in the clearence item section.

How did you know he needed some rope?

Paddy147 wrote:
    I got 20 meters of rope in my local Lidl for 50 cents today....

8278296513_123ff88665_b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Great another impulse buy I was roped into :mad:

Handy for the tarpaulin covers and covering over the briquettes and all the logs and felled trees..

Paddy,either that coil of rope is tiny,or your hands are feckin HUGE!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Cocoon

I store the briquettes out in the open, should they be covered up from the rain?

Paddy,either that coil of rope is tiny,or your hands are feckin HUGE!:D

20 meters of 4mm rope...which is what you usually get with tarpaulin kits in the diy stores and builders providers.

Cocoon wrote: »
    I store the briquettes out in the open, should they be covered up from the rain?

I just cover them over,as I do with the logs and cut up tree trunks.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Botched_Job

sunny2004 wrote: »
    Money for old rope,

quit twineing! I think it's a great deal...and no strings attached ;)