Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Six months in jail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

corktina wrote: »
    just for my own sake and I don't care if no one reads it...he has been jailed for refusing to do what the Court told him to do...Comtempt of Court is what I would call it. What the Court Order was for is irrelevant.
    Mess with the Law and it can and will bite you.

It's an arbitrary bite and bites some more than others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I have as little sympathy for him as I did for Quinn. You can't give two fingers to a judge and expect them to ignore it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

There's an old country saying that applies here I think.

"Windys is windys is windys. Sure if it's not a windy it's a wall, wha?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

summerskin wrote: »
    No, he has ignored numerous court orders to remove the windows which he never got planning permission for. He's had three years to comply but refuses.

THEY ARE WINDOWS! It shouldn't have gone to court in the first place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

I doubt if anybody is unaware of the facts , However a fact you seem to be unaware of is that in this country politicians and bankers brought it to the edge of penury and have not seen the inside of a courtroom or never will .Its hard to respect a judicial or political system that is so obviously unbalanced or /and corrupt.
    Three bankers from Anglo currently on bail awaiting trial.
    One politican jailed for tax offences.
    One lobbyist jailed for corruption.
    So far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭K_user

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    I think this is hilarious. The council is responsible for a man being jailed for a small planning indiscretion in his home. Councils all over the country, zoned thousands of acres of unnecessary land, often in unsuitable places like flood plains, to feed their own greed for development levies. Many councils acted corruptly. Councils failed in their responsibilities to citizens to ensure pyrite was not used in buildings, to enforce fire regulations etc and in many cases they even failed to collect the development charges they levied, with about €350 million outstanding in Dublin alone.

Nobody in the councils have faced any jail time, loss of employment or even loss of pay for this negligence. But the council oversee the jailing of a man for installing dormer instead of velux windows.

Councils truly are the most useless part of state apparatus.
    Well said!

just for my own sake and I don't care if no one reads it...he has been jailed for refusing to do what the Court told him to do...Comtempt of Court is what I would call it. What the Court Order was for is irrelevant.
    Mess with the Law and it can and will bite you.
    Seán Quinn was sentenced to nine weeks for contempt of court. Millions stored abroad, very questionable business practices and debts that most cities couldn't afford to pay back.

But a man that put up a couple of dormer windows, he gets six months...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Flier

It wouldn't have ended up in court if he had complied with his planning permission, or failing that, removed the windows any one of the times the council asked him to. He brought this on himself.
    And remember - the time and money that the council have had to spend on this man's windows is coming out of OUR pockets. As will the cost of keeping him in jail. Money that I would rather see spent on schools and hospitals etc.
    All because some plonker things he had the right to ignore regulations that the rest of us have to follow.

K_user wrote: »
    Seán Quinn was sentenced to nine weeks for contempt of court. Millions stored abroad, very questionable business practices and debts that most cities couldn't afford to pay back.

But a man that put up a couple of dormer windows, he gets six months...
    Sean Quinn was jailed for ignoring a judges order. Same for this fella.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

Lets look at this.

you do the crime you do the time ...... IRISH style

garlic vat scams ..... 6 years

500 child porn images having sex ..... 2 year suspended

bertie ahern level of corruption .... nothing

broad daylight attempted rape and kidnapping .... 4 months

30 burglaries play drug card very sorry .... 1 year bond

driving the wrong way down a motorway pissed

Q. are you a TD
    A. yes, no jail a small ban

Q. are you a scumbag from a rough area
    A. yes, 2 years Jail

A nice list of hogans finest rulings.

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/07/31/handed-down-by-his-honour-judge-desmond-hogan/

• Lawyer: "Now sir, I'm sure you are an intelligent and honest man--"
    • Witness: "Thank you. If I weren't under oath, I'd return the compliment."

• Lawyer: "Officer, what led you to believe the defendant was under the influence?"
    • Witness: "Because he was argumentary, and he couldn't pronunciate his words."

MagicSean wrote: »
    Sean Quinn was jailed for ignoring a judges order. Same for this fella.
    6 months, nine weeks, the Judge taking into consideration the reasons for the individual being in court.

It pays to be a wealthy man in court...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Sure it shouldn't pilgrim......but as been repeatedly said above the jailing is for disobeying a court order!.

When you get these builder fellows with limited social intelligence and nuts like elephants these things will happen.

Add in avaricious bankers with egos like Mt.Leinster and balls that could hang outside a Pawnbrokers shop you have a recipe for disaster.
    Further stir in a limp wristed regulator and you have a serious economic issue that will cripple the country for years to come.

But not the Bankers / Regulators /Politicians......only the ordinary taxpayer.

Mark my words.............:cool:

K_user wrote: »
    6 months, nine weeks, the Judge taking into consideration the reasons for the individual being in court.

It pays to be a wealthy man in court...

Sean Quinn is attempting to purge his contempt. This guy is not. If he got the windows taken out he'd likely be free in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

What about the retention process that was used by everyone and his wife to build massive carabuncles that litter Ireland today,sure any TD or counciller will tell ya to go ahead and apply for it,they havnt pulled one down yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Mess with the Law and it can and may possibly bite you if it suits them to do so.

FTFY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

So what exactly would the people up in arms about this suggest happen to people who repeatedly refuse to obey court orders? The case of this rapist or that rapist shouldn't come into it. Cases have to be judged on their own merits, not in relation to others. This guy repeatedly refused to obey a court directive. That's why he was imprisoned. And proper order. Unless people think that we should all be allowed to ignore court orders?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

"In 2006, we received a complaint from the public," he said.
    Whoever complained has far too much time on their hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Whoever complained has far too much time on their hands.
    Dormer windows are horrible and more so if they were overlooking on their property without planning permission. They would have every right to lodge a complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

ssaye wrote: »
    No Issue, surely the sentence should be reasonable. 6 months for contempt on this case is ok for you?

I think some important facts are missing from this thread.

He's been before the court many times and ignored the judge many times. This is not his first time spending time in jail over the windows, he has spent 5 days inside already and after that time he promised to sort out the windows. He was told that he would spend 6 months inside if he didn't comply with the judges orders.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I think some important facts are missing from this thread.

He's been before the court many times and ignored the judge many times. This is not his first time spending time in jail over the windows, he has spent 5 days inside already and after that time he promised to sort out the windows. He was told that he would spend 6 months inside if he didn't comply with the judges orders.

Just typical Alpha male behaviour ..thats all.

A spell in a sheltered prison area would be no problem to gimps like this.

Pop him over to "E Wing" or in with those nice Dundon lads down in the Midlands and see how quickly his cough will soften.

Hate to think how much gimps like him are costing the taxpayer.....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Just typical Alpha male behaviour ..thats all.

A spell in a sheltered prison area would be no problem to gimps like this.

Pop him over to "E Wing" or in with those nice Dundon lads down in the Midlands and see how quickly his cough will soften.

Hate to think how much gimps like him are costing the taxpayer.....:(
    I am more worried about what the gimps in the Dail cost us than some lad who put a few extra windows in his house which pi**ed off his neighbours.

Show Time wrote: »
    I am more worried about what the gimps in the Dail cost us than some lad who put a few extra windows in his house which pi**ed off his neighbours.

Indeed show..I feel your pain believe me.

But the point here ....as has been said at least four times already in this thread is that this Gimp flouted a court order.

Now show if every cunt could put whatever windows he/she liked in their gaff....it would not look great ..would it ?

'Cause coves like this ballsy Gimp tend to have a deficiency in ...uh...taste Show.

Now I fully agree with your well made if unoriginal point about the gimps in the Dail....but there has to be some rules around the planning area....don't you agree ?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

It's hard not to feel sorry for him but he has had every chance to fix the situation but refused. I think six months is harsh and hopefully it will be reduced.
    It's pointless for his family saying he will miss Christmas and the mothers anniversary etc they should have made him see sense in the first place.

It's hard not to feel sorry for him but he has had every chance to fix the situation but refused. I think six months is harsh and hopefully it will be reduced.
    It's pointless for his family saying he will miss Christmas and the mothers anniversary etc they should have made him see sense in the first place.

All he has to do is have the windows removed and then he'll be able to go home.

MagicSean wrote: »
    All he has to do is have the windows removed and then he'll be able to go home.

Well in that case his family should remove them, I'm sure they can all chip in with the cost, those windows do look ridiculous on the front of that house.
    I guess he thought he could win and obviously did not listen to any advice he was given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Dormer windows are horrible and more so if they were overlooking on their property without planning permission. They would have every right to lodge a complaint.

The original windows seem to have the same view as the dormer windows so its not like their neighbours are losing any privacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Indeed show..I feel your pain believe me.

But the point here ....as has been said at least four times already in this thread is that this Gimp flouted a court order.

Now show if every cunt could put whatever windows he/she liked in their gaff....it would not look great ..would it ?

'Cause coves like this ballsy Gimp tend to have a deficiency in ...uh...taste Show.

Now I fully agree with your well made if unoriginal point about the gimps in the Dail....but there has to be some rules around the planning area....don't you agree ?:confused:
    It is more of a none story really to try and hide the shafting that went down in the budget.

The original windows seem to have the same view as the dormer windows so its not like their neighbours are losing any privacy.

They look out of place at the front of the house. It's not about privacy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Flier

It's not about privacy, or how they look, or the Dail or the budget. It's about the fact that he did not comply with his planning permission and then refused, several times to comply with a court order. He has shown blatant disregard for law and the justice system. He has brought this on himself, and he can very easily rectify the situation if he wishes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Having read this thread i'm failing to see what a guy ignoring planning laws and being sent to jail has to do with corruption in the Dail. This country....*shakes fist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭calnand

The windows look awful as well, there's a reason there are planing restrictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

calnand wrote: »
    The windows look awful as well, there's a reason there are planing restrictions.
    It's windows, don't feckin look up at them if they offend your sense of "style". I wouldn't take them out either, there's whole Hotels gone up without planning permission and none of those guys got a day in jail.

Go pick a fight with some big-shot and leave people and their windows alone is my view. Petty crap.

Free the "dormer one"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

I don't think anyone is saying the windows are fine, or that ignoring the planning laws or being in contempt of court is fine. But the key here is that the punishment does not match the crime.

Edit: And just as I post that the guy above me defends him!! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

The simple solution would be not to look up at the windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,415 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

frankosw wrote: »
    i'm not surprised people complained..
    they have to much time on their hands, they should have been told to put up and shut up and get over it
    frankosw wrote: »
    another arrogant twat of a builder who thought the planning laws dont apply to him.
    their windows, no problem there

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,415 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Einhard wrote: »
    So what exactly would the people up in arms about this suggest happen to people who repeatedly refuse to obey court orders?
    few euros fine, that will do.
    The case of this rapist or that rapist shouldn't come into it.
    yes it should when it is taken less seriously then a few windows or a bit of garlic.
    This guy repeatedly refused to obey a court directive.
    these things happen
    That's why he was imprisoned. And proper order.
    no it isn't proper order, its a massive cost over a couple of windows, waste of a jail sell and money
    Unless people think that we should all be allowed to ignore court orders?
    we have to cut costs in relation to the court and prison system, as a country which is almost bank rupt small things like this shouldn't be going near the court system, we have to prioratise what crimes we deal with these days, things like this are not important, when we get it right for serious criminals and were solvent again then we can deal with the likes of him but until then its priorities aka serious criminals.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

ssaye wrote: »
    Its going to cost apx 32k to keep him in jail for 6 months paid for by the tax payers. €179 per day

http://www.iprt.ie/prison-facts-2

Cheaper to put him in a 4+ star hotel. Joke of a country.

He will do fcukall time, a few weeks or so.

He isn't being jailed for putting in the windows. He's being jailed for sticking up his fingers at the courts for the past three years and not removing them like he was ordered to.