Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do people have more fun quoting Father Ted than actually watching it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

"Should we all be racists now, father?
    What's the official line the church is taking on this?
    Only, the farm takes up most of the day, and at night i just like a cup of tea, so I might not be able to devote meself full-time to the old racism..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭strokeslover

OK, one last time.

These are small... but the ones out there are far away. Small... far away... ah forget it!

More Wah-ter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Fup off , you grasshole, its my fupping spot

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Fup off , you grasshole, its my fupping spot

Fup off, ya pedrophile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

SaulGoode9 wrote: »
    No.

That would be... YES!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Mrs Doyle: They were a bit obsessed with the old...S-E-X. God I'm glad I never think of that type of thing Father. That whole sexual world. God, when you think of it it's a dirty, filthy thing, isn't it Father? Can you imagine Father? Can you imagine Father, looking up at your husband, and him standing over you with his lad in his hand, wanting you to degrade yourself? God almighty can you imagine that Father? Can you picture it there Father? Oh get a good mental picture of it. Can you see him there? Ready to do the business?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Mrs Doyle: They were a bit obsessed with the old...S-E-X. God I'm glad I never think of that type of thing Father. That whole sexual world. God, when you think of it it's a dirty, filthy thing, isn't it Father? Can you imagine Father? Can you imagine Father, looking up at your husband, and him standing over you with his lad in his hand, wanting you to degrade yourself? God almighty can you imagine that Father? Can you picture it there Father? Oh get a good mental picture of it. Can you see him there? Ready to do the business?

And just as he was about to tuck into Denny's finest.

Careful now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,003 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,316 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

That's the best thing about Catholicism.

It's so vague. And nobody knows what it's all about!

I find myself quoting it at least once a day, maybe several times if I've a hangover, Father Ted Curly should be Canonised!

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭careful_now

"Would you believe me own dog did that to me Father, doesn't it look like a face! "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,781 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

elefant wrote: »
    Arse biscuits

Big Bras!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Ye're like a bunch of camels!!

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭LuvSpudz

Clit power? I know a Father Clint Power, maybe she's having a go at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

wish Irish people would just 'get over' Fr.Ted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭dttq

"Priests aren't fascists. Fascists dress up in black and go around telling people what to d.......anyway"

• Registered Users Posts: 635 ✭✭✭SEANoftheDEAD

Carson10 wrote: »

You need to ring this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

....and in at number 15 for the 16th week in a row, it's Fr Ted Crilly with Ive got the power and...
    In at number 45 it's Fr Jack Hackett with I'm a sleepy priest..
    HOW DID THAT GOBSH!TE GET ON THE TELEVISION!!!

He's lost the respect of his sheep..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Honestly how do you all think this is still funny? It was hilarious when I was 16 and it came out, maybe for a few years afterwards. Now it's just silly humour, really dated, and a very mediocre comedy which doesn't come near classic territory, in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭Lenn Brennan

Carson10 wrote: »

Why would we "get over" it? Dermot Morgan changed Irish television, especially with Father Ted, sure while were at it lets forget about Michael Collins, Katie Taylor or anyone who has left their mark

Yes Father Ted is right up there with Irish Independence :rolleyes:

Hello Len

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Yes Father Ted is right up there with Irish Independence :rolleyes:

It is for me!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Honestly how do you all think this is still funny? It was hilarious when I was 16 and it came out, maybe for a few years afterwards. Now it's just silly humour, really dated, and a very mediocre comedy which doesn't come near classic territory, in my opinion.

Precisely.
    So where's the problem if people other than yourself still find it hilarious and enjoy quoting it?

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭maddragon

That would be an ecumenical matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭rhonin

One of my favourite scenes

Did you know Father Coogan at all, Ted?
    Hmm... Oh, yes. Father Tom Coogan. Wasn't he in Africa?
    He was, with Father Shortall and that load.
    Then he was back in Wicklow.
    I think Windy Shepherd Henderson was his priest there.
    Windy Shepherd Henderson that was in Tralee?
    No, a different Windy Shepherd Henderson.
    - There's four of them. - At least.
    One of them was with Father Daley in Chicago.
    Wasn't he the first man on the scene when Malcom X was assassinated?
    No, that was Father Burke.
    Father Daley had the lump on his head in the shape of Connaught.
    Like Father Caroline - he lost the use of his ears in an accident.
    - He's deaf? - No, just lost the use of his ears.
    He used to be able to wiggle them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭whiterob81

I know what you mean by having more fun quoting the scenes. I remember talking about all the funny bits in Spinal Tap with a friend recently and went to watch it after. I got kind of bored after 25 mins and turned it off.

I kind of have a feeling it'd be the same if i went to watch Napoleon Dynamite again

"This is the worst video ever"

"There's no way of knowing that"

Precisely.
    So where's the problem if people other than yourself still find it hilarious and enjoy quoting it?

No problem, I just think you're a bunch of retards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Fr. Hernandez: "I'm sorry, it is a very basic model. It only has a 3-week pre-record function"

"Your housekeeper, she is very beautiful women! Eh? Eh? My friend?"

*speeds off in porsche*

I loved Fr hernandez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

No problem, I just think you're a bunch of retards

I can't believe he was infracted for this. He should be pitied for the fact that he can't enjoy the antics of Craggy Island

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

dttq wrote: »
    Hello Len

Address him by his proper title ya little bollix!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Its an institution. It transcends any notion of being of its time, or out of date like other comedies. Its stitched into the national fabric now, like drinkin' n debt.
    Which is quite a feat considering its an English show. DID YIS KNOW THEY OFFERED IT TO RTE AND THEY TURNED IT OUT SO THEY DID! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

I just think people overrate Father Ted. Its so funny but I hate people who make out the humor in it is somehow unique to Ireland. Its your typical comedy, dumb and dumber, drake and josh, kenan kel

Like Father Jack is the most one dimensional character going, and so is Dougal. Mrs. Doyle as well.
    Dougal was a good but like yeaaaah the show is defo hyped up way too much. Like the whistle theft episode, the whole 'u fuppin grasshole' was not funny at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

"Well there he is, risen from the dead. Just like yer man......ET"

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭Lenn Brennan

dttq wrote: »
    Hello Len

Don't call me Lenn, ya little pr@% k, im a bishop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Agricola wrote: »
    Which is quite a feat considering its an English show. DID YIS KNOW THEY OFFERED IT TO RTE AND THEY TURNED IT OUT SO THEY DID! :D

I don't know if you're being facetious but Linehan and Matthews said they never offered it to RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭srm23

Dec 21st....we're all going to heaven lads wheeeeeeyyy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

It's my own stupid fault for messing with the bras!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

srm23 wrote: »
    Dec 21st....we're all going to heaven lads wheeeeeeyyy

Is there anything to be said for saying another Mass?

• Moderators Posts: 12,390 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Larry's tremendous fun
    :(

• Moderators Posts: 12,390 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Not sure which line I like best, so heres the whole scene.
    MRS. GLYNN: Oh we saw a great one a few weeks ago, The Crying Game.
    MRS. SHERIDAN: Oh it was brilliant!
    MRS. GLYNN: Oh but there's this great bit in it, you see there was this girl but then you find out it's not a girl but a man!
    MRS. SHERIDAN: And he got his lad out.
    TED: He got his what?
    MRS. GLYNN: He got his lad out although you only see it for a second but you get the message.
    MRS. SHERIDAN: I didn't know what it was at first it's been so long since I've seen one.
    MRS. GLYNN: I thought it looked rather like your Billy's.
    MRS. SHERIDAN: Not at all. Billy's is rounder at the top. Cheerio Fathers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

I'm not sure if it is Bob Geldof,sure he lost all his money in that Live Aid thing...

x43r0 wrote: »
    Fr. Hernandez: "I'm sorry, it is a very basic model. It only has a 3-week pre-record function"

"Your housekeeper, she is very beautiful women! Eh? Eh? My friend?"

*speeds off in porsche*

I loved Fr hernandez

Deadly episode. Love that part where the statue with the giant penis is on the mantelpiece when Bishop Brennan is there sitting on the sofa in the sitting room, then after 10 seconds notices it, priceless!

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭oxygen

I was in the pub the other day and my mate was arguing with a girl that she wasn't 29.

"If you're 29 then I'm Boy George"
    She produces her passport, then he starts singing the first line of karmachameleon.

Perfect Father Ted quotage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

I'm not sure if it is Bob Geldof,sure he lost all his money in that Live Aid thing...

"Hold on there, il ask him...excuse me are you...."
    "FECK OFF"
    "......tis him alright"
    *Lads lift their pints in salute.

Fantastic scene, should have done more with those 3 lads, irish middle ages pub flies, loads of material.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Of course, some of these girls are in their twenties by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Sure haven't they all lovely bottoms

"Of course, they all have lovely bottoms"

Hang your head in shame.