Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Questions from First Time Android App Developer

Options
  • 16-12-2012 3:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭

Hey Folks,

I've been spending my spare time in the past couple of weeks building out my first Android app - non-commercial at this point. I'm a freelance web dev by trade with 14 years experience and have found getting what I need to done relatively painless but I've made a compromise and I'm wondering if it will come back to bite me in the arse if I don't address it now rather than later.

Compromise is that I decided to dev this for 4.0 devices. I did this mainly for the simplicity of customising the theme (Holo light in this case - really more a 3.0 compromise I suppose) and for easier implementation of tabs and side swipe navigation between them. I've seen Sherlock mentioned a couple of times so I'm wondering if I wanted to down the line, could I integrate Sherlock retrospectively without too much of a code rewrite should I want to support older devices or is it better to just bite the bullet now, learn how to work with it and take the hit on extra dev time?

Second question regards Google Maps integration. A section of this app relies on presenting a user with a map of their current location and adding a set of markers for locations of interest in their immediate vicinity.