Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

400m Swim TT - shave off those seconds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

BTH wrote: »
    My pool clock is broken. I should have tested last week, and because the clock was broken I was supposed to test this AM. But still broken. Only for that I'd have a Jan time, but unlikely to be fixed for tomorrow.

There is a great invention called a stopwatch:) Pick up a cheap argos wristwatch that has a stopwatch funtion for around €10, no need to rely on dodgy pool clocks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

There is a great invention called a stopwatch:) Pick up a cheap argos wristwatch that has a stopwatch funtion for around €10, no need to rely on dodgy pool clocks.

But then I'd have no excuse for how crap I feel I'm swimming this last week. Always handy to be able to glance at the pool clock during a TT to gauge progress, and help me count lengths.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 verbatim92

Name|Pool Length|Dec|Jan|Feb|March|April|May|June
    Kurt Godel|25m|6:50|6:35|||||
    pgibbo|25m|6:38||||||
    BTH|25m|5:53||||||
    Promethius|25m|5:04||||||
    Jackyback|25m|7:28|7:13|||||
    Bambaata|25m|5:40||||||
    Griffin100|25m|7:20||||||
    Griffin100|50m|7:35||||||
    EC1000|25m|7:14||||||
    shotgunmcos|50m|5:42|5:41|||||
    Basster|25m||7:50||||||
    Solobally8|25m|9:38|9:03|||||
    Verbatim92|25m|7:05|6:53|||||
    MrCreosote|25m||7.06|||||
    MickMc|25m||7.28|||||
    Fazz|25m|5:50||||||
    Catweazle|18m||6.52|||||
    Tinder|25m||6.08|||||
    Valerie|50m||7.02|||||
    RQ|33m|-|7:40|||||
    Oryx|25m|-|8.20|||||
    dx22|20m|-|5:57|||||
    Tunney|25m|na|6:51|||||
    jester1980|20m|na|8.25|||||
    BennyMul|50m|na|8:08|||||
    Abhainn|25m|na|7:10|||||
    Okane1|25m|na|4.35.80|||||

Felt I was hurting much earlier than last month but that was because of my fairly shoddy technique.

Month started off very well before a bad two weeks inbetween where college exams and work got in the way of training.
    Happy to get below 7 mins though and I know there is a lot more time to come down if I get back to how I was swimming 3 weeks ago.

So, I took JBs advice and bought a watch in Argos, if anything just to prove how poorly I feel I'm swimming. 400 & 200TT. The 200 time was unchanged at 2:49. Have been feeling that top end speed has plateaued a little.

BTH|25m|5:53|5:47|||||
    MickMc|25m||7.28|||||
    Catweazle|18m||6.52|||||
    Tinder|25m||6.08|||||
    Valerie|50m||7.02|||||
    Oryx|25m|-|8.20|||||
    jester1980|20m|na|8.25|||||

• Registered Users Posts: 742 ✭✭✭jester1980

MickMc|25m||7.28|||||
    Catweazle|18m||6.52|||||
    Tinder|25m||6.08|||||
    Valerie|50m||7.02|||||
    Oryx|25m|-|8.20|||||
    jester1980|50m|na|8.10|||||

Just updating my time, i swam in a 20 m pool when doing this in 8.25 and two days later with my first session back with club we did a 400 m time trial in a 50 m pool, think we will be doing it once a month too so ill stick to that time. 8.10

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭dited

MickMc|25m||7.28|||||
    Catweazle|18m||6.52|||||
    Tinder|25m||6.08|||||
    Valerie|50m||7.02|||||
    Oryx|25m|-|8.20|||||
    Dited|25m|na|7:44|||||

Finally managed to force myself to complete the TT. Pretty disappointed with the time; I think I might have overdone the warm-up, especially seeing as endurance is my main limiter :rolleyes: Still, I guess it's a benchmark to work from. Sub 7 mins by March :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭promethius

Promethius|25m|5:04|5:06|||||
    MickMc|25m||7.28|||||
    Catweazle|18m||6.52|||||
    Tinder|25m||6.08|||||
    Valerie|50m||7.02|||||
    Oryx|25m|-|8.20|||||

• Registered Users Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭griffin100

Griffin100|50m|7:35|8.20|||||
    MickMc|25m||7.28|||||
    Catweazle|18m||6.52|||||
    Tinder|25m||6.08|||||
    Valerie|50m||7.02|||||
    Oryx|25m|-|8.20|||||

45 whole seconds slower than last time - that's over 5 secs per length :eek: Ok excuses time..........its only my second swim since the time I did the last TT.........I've been very ill...........my overall fitness has gone to pot...............I've stopped doing my coached sessions.........but it's still bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭just-joe

With the risk of sounding ridiculous when I manage to swim 400m I will time myself and become the slowest 400m swimmer in boards history.

Having said that I'm fairly excited just to get my name on that list.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

just-joe wrote: »
    With the risk of sounding ridiculous when I manage to swim 400m I will time myself and become the slowest 400m swimmer in boards history.

Having said that I'm fairly excited just to get my name on that list.

We all start somewhere. My first time completing 400m was in the summer of 2008. It took me 13 minutes.

Best of luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Fazz

We all start somewhere. My first time completing 400m was in the summer of 2008. It took me 13 minutes.

Best of luck!

We sure do.
    I remember struggling in early 2010 in my gym to a 21 odd 750m. Approx half had to be breast stroke as front crawl breathing was a thing of marvel back then.

Its taken near 3 years to half that on 3 swims a week.
    Its an honest sport that's for sure. You get out of it what you put into it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

MickMc|25m||7.28|||||
    Catweazle|18m||6.52|||||
    Tinder|25m||6.08|||||
    Valerie|50m||7.02|||||
    RQ|20m|-|-|7:19||||
    Oryx|25m|-|8.20|||||

First of last nights 5x400m in swim session, not technically a TT but a fair comparison as the front two were probably about half a length ahead of me for this and I was desperately trying to catch them. These were all faster than my 400m time last week, not sure how much difference the extra 8 pushes off the wall make especially when thats more painful for me than the actual swimming. Knee banjaxed. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 742 ✭✭✭jester1980

Best of luck!

thats some improvement over a few years, fair play. Hope for me yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭peter kern

Best of luck!

Thats the stuff I love to read about.
    Impressive.

Would love to see your progression over the last 4 years if you would not mind to share it .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

Kurt Godel|25m|6:50|6:35|6:26||||
    MickMc|25m||7.28|||||
    Catweazle|18m||6.52|||||
    Tinder|25m||6.08|||||
    Valerie|50m||7.02|||||
    Oryx|25m|-|8.20|||||

After a bunch of stroke drills tonight, I was at a loss of what to do, so I decided to give a 400m a lash, concentrating on maintaining a solid stroke throughout. So, it wasn't really a full TT, but more about pacing at effort. Although its a pb and takes 9 seconds off last months time, I'm more pleased to look at the length splits and see that the pacing was solid (a couple of anomalies at the start and finish, but mainly coming in 24.4- 24.9secs). So while it was a fairly tough effort, I'm beginning to trust the new stroke, and see it pay dividends. There's another chunk waiting to come off, by adding a bit more effort to this disciplined stroke.

Jackyback|25m|7:28|7:13|7:06||||
    MickMc|25m||7.28|||||
    Catweazle|18m||6.52|||||
    Tinder|25m||6.08|||||
    Valerie|50m||7.02|||||
    Oryx|25m|-|8.20|||||

Very weird, not even a tt effort but had an easy/steady 400 in the middle of the set and this was the result of it. I done a double take when i seen 7:06 on the watch. There will be a sub 7 very very soon, 4 swims the last 3 weeks seem to be helping with consistency in the water. I seem to go faster when slowing things down!!
    Splits - 1:43/1:52/1:48/1:43 - the two middle ones lost some time with a b/stroker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

Kurt Godel wrote: »
    So, it wasn't really a full TT

Very weird, not even a tt effort

I think we were doing TT's wrong (at least I was anyway). Steady, controlled stroke beats balls to the wall.

Kurt Godel wrote: »
    I think we were doing TT's wrong (at least I was anyway). Steady, controlled stroke beats balls to the wall.
    Seems to be the case alright, i start thrashing in the water and stroke goes to pot when i go balls out.

peter kern wrote: »
    Thats the stuff I love to read about.
    Impressive.

Would love to see your progression over the last 4 years if you would not mind to share it .

I just started splashing about in the 20m pool beside work to break up marathon training. My main goal was to crack 3:30 at DCM so the swimming was just to do something to cool down from treadmill sessions. I set myself a target of being able to do 20 laps non stop. I could only breath to the left every 4. Eventually hit a 400 in 13 minutes and was happy with that.

Next target was 1k. I started watching youtube clips of hackett, phelps, hall etc.. slowed down. I read a lot. There were a couple of swimmers in the only lane that I'd watch to figure out what they were doing. 2 things struck me initially. A high elbow recovery and fewer longer strokes. I began to play swim golf. It initially took me 24 strokes to cover the 20m, with a kick and glide off the wall (I can do it now in 10 )

By August I was up to 1k albeit in 25 minutes and a few short breathers. I planned to join a coached group session kicking off that winter and knew I'd have to be able to swim at least a km (or so I thought). I began hitting the pool 2-3 times a week on my lunch break to swim 1km. I had my own timed effort down to 21 minutes by November. The group sessions kicked off with a 1km TT and I shocked myself with a 19+

I was inspired to give a 1500 a go a few weeks later in UL and did it in 44 minutes, cramping viscously in my calves towards the end. I remember feeling chuffed to finish it though.

The group sessions on a Thursday night in a 25m pool consisted of lots of drills and single stroke work. I practised whatever I learned that night, the following day at lunchtime in the 20m pool.

I started doing 3 sessions a week. 5*200/the group session/drill practice. My strokes per length in the 20m came down to 15-16 and I also started breathing to my right. I swallowed lots and lots of water but stuck at it until I could breath every 4 to my right as relaxed as I could to my left. I then started bi lateral and never looked back. I had a "lifetime" goal in my head of swimming 3k in an hour!

I started swimming in UL 50m (which took some getting used to as times were suddently a few seconds slower per 100) in the mornings by myself in the public lane until one of the Thursday group spotted me and got me to join in the group sessions taking up the other 3 lanes. I had been very intimidated looking at them the last couple of swims on my own. They all had swim/tri hats and swim toys. I joined the back of the slow lane and just hung on for the bones of 2k per set. I was gearing up for my first tri in April and 2 of these sessions plus a Thursday night group session had me swimming 5km per week and getting fitter. By March I had dropped my 1500m time to 29 and was leading out the slow lane for sets.

I always worked on stroke length and Friday morning became the key swim of the week because I'd practice what I'd learn the previous night within a set of work. I really enjoyed the sessions as the set would be on the board before you got there. You just had to get in and swim. I moved to the middle lane before Joey Hannon and was swimming 100s off 2:00 and 200s off 4:10. I also hit 18 for a 1km TT.

For Joey I did 27+ for the swim and was chuffed. I also distinctly remember my heart beating through my chest running into T1 and I had to stop for a moment to catch my breath. I was shattered after the swim alone :eek:

The Thursday group sessions ended before Kilkee and I was now still doing 2 morning group session plus an OW swim. I loved the OW and would challenge myself to swim a little further each time. I was enjoying swimming a lot. I paid a lot of attention to the swimmers in the fast lane. They just seemed to glide through the water. I picked one girl as my nemesis as I aspired to have a stroke like hers some day. She sometimes dropped back to our middle lane to lead it out and I'd go off after her trying to hold her feet. I could initially do so for about 50m before she would drop us all. The longer the rep the more distance she would open up. She was 3 minutes faster than me at Kilkee that year.

I ended the year with Kenmare lost sheep and had a super swim in calm water.

I set myself a goal of swimming 25 minutes at the AG World Champs in Budapest that September. That meant 1:40 per 100m and it felt like a hugely ambitious target at the time.

I joined the winter group coached session again and posted a 6:52 400m TT before xmas. I had a couple of penny drop moments for technique.
    1) levering my body past my catch rather than dragging bubbles back towards me. Hence softer catch and more power in the last quarter
    2) people commented on my high elbow. I used to thing they were on about my recovery but they actually referred to my stroke. When that sank in I suddenly became aware of wasted energy of pulling your arm downwards and the youtube clips of the PROs suddenly made more sense.

By Feb I was down to 6:15 for 400m TT in the 25m pool and 17:09 for 1km TT. I was also leading out the middle lane in the morning group sessions more often when my nemesis wasn't there. I like to push myself and I aspired to some day get promoted to the fast lane. We were swimming 100s off 1:55 and 200s off 3:55 and doing up to 3km per session. I found that the same people put themselves in the same order in the lane each morning and no one ever wanted to lead out. Sure it was easier to "coast" in the group but I found my fitness increased quicker leading out. I was on a mission to A) hold onto my nemesis for a set of 200s and B) drop the group when she wasn't there.

By Joey Hannon I had the 1km TT in the 25m pool down to 16:08 and a solo 1500m TT down to 25. I was starting to drop the group in the middle lane and one morning got thrown into the fast lane with a mate (who did 9:36 at Kona last year). We were suddenly swimming 100s off 1:45 and 200s off 3:30. We simply hung onto the back of the group for dear life. It was very hard work. It brought me onto a new level and I ended up swimming sub 24 at Budapest after some nice long 3-4km OW summer swims.

I started doing a lunchtime masters swim at the 25m once a week and it was a fantastic 2km "all business" set. It was fast and furious and I grew in confidence when I regularly hit sub 1:30 for 100s.
    By December 2010 I had the 1km TT down to 15:42 :eek: The masters set was brilliant until the pool closed down in the next spring.

I was now a regular in the fast lane and had even moved up to the middle of the group. I often traded places with my nemesis. Huff n'Puff often lead out the lane and he was a good guy to give a tip here or there. I was now swimming with DaveR1, the Technician, Waterpolo Boy and my nemesis. All of whom were swimmers I admired a great deal 12 months earlier. They all had different styles to their strokes too but boy could they lay down a pace. I studied their strokes and listened to them when they talked about swimming. 2011 was all about the first IM and I began to do 3-4 swims a week.
    1. Coached swim session up to March dropping 400m TT to 5:52 S/C
    2. 1-2 morning masters/club sessions
    3. 3-4k solo longer reps or straight aerobic swims.

My "test" became a 3.8k TT in the pool which dropped from 66 minutes in January to 63 minutes in April. After that I hit the OW and did a regular long aerobic swim per week. I always kept at least one technical thing to mind every session. I'd usually notice my stroke shortening, getting deeper, less roll etc as I got tired and I'd focus on specific parts of the stroke to get the length back.

I hit 58:34 for my first IM swim and I was simply blown away by that. Progress has been much slower since the first early leaps but that "lifetime" goal of 3km in an hour is now a super easy swim :D

In 2012 I did mainly my own thing. I progressed to doing 100s off 1:40 L/C and could hold onto my nemesis for 800m straight. I also worked on other strokes. I missed the coached group sessions though and became lazy about drills and technique. OW swimming was again the highlight of the year. Particularly swimming in the med in the autumn. Having the confidence to swim out from the shore and do 30-50 minutes parallel to the beach watching the fish below made all the consistency in the pool worthwhile...

I've finally bought some swim toys this year to bring a technical swim back into the week. Next big goals, 10km in 3 hours :) and a set of 20 100s off 1:30 :eek::eek::eek: Oh and beat my nemesis over 1500m (will require a 22+ to do so)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭peter kern

Outstanding report !!!! Thanks a lot !!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Solobally8

peter kern wrote: »
    Outstanding report !!!! Thanks a lot !!!!!

+1 Great read. Gives me hope that I wont always be a snail :)

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Shotgun, youre an inspiration. To me, that post is all about HTFU and just do it. :) I realise reading that that I'm not slow because I'm just slow, its cos I DONT BLOODY WORK HARD ENOUGH :)

• Registered Users Posts: 817 ✭✭✭2old4dacold

MickMc|25m||7.28|||||
    Catweazle|18m||6.52|||||
    Tinder|25m||6.08|||||
    Valerie|50m||7.02|||||
    Oryx|25m|-|8.20|||||
    2old4dacold|20m|-|-|6.30|||||

(slow) swimmer rather than triathlete, hope ye don't mind me joining in

.....There were a couple of swimmers in the only lane that I'd watch to figure out what they were doing.....

......I paid a lot of attention to the swimmers in the fast lane....

....I studied their strokes.....

Excellent post Shotgun. A great read and shows that you don't have to be swimming since a toddler to put in some cracking swim splits.

However, the extracts above scare me a little. I really hope there isn't anyone in lanes alongside mine watching my stroke and trying to emulate it. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭BennyMul

MickMc|25m||7.28|||||
    Catweazle|18m||6.52|||||
    Tinder|25m||6.08|||||
    Valerie|50m||7.02|||||
    Oryx|25m|-|8.20|||||
    BennyMul|50m|na|8:08|7:58||||
    2old4dacold|20m|-|-|6.30|||||

some improvement, and under the 8min (only just I know) I did run in to some very slow traffic and had to stop coming in to a wall as there were bodies all over and no one move to let me kick off :mad:.

and +1 on MCOS great read, it is nice to see someone getting the rewards for hard work,
    How much do you charge for lessons :o

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

BTH wrote: »
    Excellent post Shotgun. A great read and shows that you don't have to be swimming since a toddler to put in some cracking swim splits.

However, the extracts above scare me a little. I really hope there isn't anyone in lanes alongside mine watching my stroke and trying to emulate it. :eek:

I heard interested uses you as an example of what not to do.

@BTH - undoubtedly. Your own progress has been impressive
    @bennymul - Happy to help anyone out but I still have a long way to go

Would be good to read similar stories...

Genuine question
    Is it crazy to target a 20 minute 1500m as an adult learner? Would it take 10s of 1000s of kms base training and equal dedication to technique? Anyone done it? What is the 400TT mark at that level?

What would that swim level be in terms of running?

I remember Tunney stating that an adult learner wouldn't have a hope of sub 1:10. What are the thoughts on that?

The learning curve is steep to begin with but I find a just a few seconds off the 400TT will take a lot of consistent work and frequently venturing outside the comfort zone

What do you guys reckon to our swim coaches plan to get us swimming epic swim sets totalling 43k in five weeks? How doable is this for a back of pack numpty?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

Oryx wrote: »
    What do you guys reckon to our swim coaches pkan to get us swimming epic swim sets totalling 43k in five weeks? How doable is this for a back of pack numpty?

Id have to see the sets, but ...
    a) is it in addition to the hour coached session you do ?
    b) what sort of km's are you currently swimming per week ... 43/5 isn't really that much to be honest.
    c) unfortunately, as part of the union, your coach probably knows best ;)

'back of pack numpty' - very harsh from what DD says ;)

interested wrote: »

Id have to see the sets, but ...
    a) is it in addition to the hour coached session you do ?
    Yes.
    b) what sort of km's are you currently swimming per week ... 43/5 isn't really that much to be honest.
    Not for many here, no. Id currently do 25 - 30k per month.
    c) unfortunately, as part of the union, your coach probably knows best ;)
    I can see what he is trying to do alright.
    'back of pack numpty' - very harsh from what DD says ;)
    I know my place.