Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heart Rate Training Zones

Options
2»

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

godtabh wrote: »
    I'm far from an elite athlete but I am an engineer and I like to review data to assess progress.

For example last year I ran about 1500 km this year it's about 850km but I've added about 2500km on the bike.

The HR data is just another set of data. It doesn't dictate my training but it is a reference point.

I did the test this morning. 5 minute warm up. Then flatout* for 30 minutes with a 10 and 20 minute lap. The average heart rate for the 20 minute lap was 180.

*i picked a pace that I could maintain but I think I could do it again at a slightly higher pace. I'll use it as a starting point.

Not exactly flat out then was it? :p

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I would have bought one if I could afford one!

He's right though. Power meters are where it's at when it comes to data. I had a lend of one(and the bike attached) a while ago, it's a real eye opener.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Lusk Doyle wrote: »
    Not exactly flat out then was it? :p

Ah I was close enough.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Sorry to bring this up again. I'm looking to do a LTHR test. can anyone recommend a good TT course around DUBOIN 18/Wicklow to carry out the LTHR test?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MajesticDonkey