Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lostprophets singer arrested for child sex abuse

• 19-12-2012 10:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,943 ✭✭✭✭

Talk about a career ender!

The lead singer of Welsh rock band Lostprophets, Ian Watkins, has been charged with child sex offences, police have said.

The 35-year-old will appear before magistrates charged with conspiracy to engage in sexual activity with a female under 13 and possession/distribution of indecent images of children.

Officers said the rock star - whose hits include Last Train Home - had been arrested as part of a continuing investigation.

A spokesman said: "A Pontypridd man has been charged with sexual offences against children and is due to appear at Cardiff Magistrates' Court today.

"The 35-year-old has been charged with conspiracy to engage in sexual activity with a female under 13 and possession/distribution of indecent images of children.

"In order to assist their investigation, South Wales Police has named the man as Ian Watkins, a member of the rock group Lostprophets

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/lostprophets-ian-watkins-charged-with-child-1496662

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

OK that is pretty fckud up.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,090 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Bye Bye Lostprophets . Since most of their fans these days are a younger audience , cant see parents letting them to their gigs anymore (if they even go on)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Just Like Heaven

Idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

That's pretty shocking stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

I can't comment really as I don't know that many facts, obviously, but I am cautious as to say that some 13 year old girls don't look 13 and the fact he was a musician in the spotlight (i.e. success = money) might have led to provocation for this event.

But I don't know the facts so I can only speculate, still, he is an idiot for putting himself in this position and not using his better judgement given his position and spotlight etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,647 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

T**t.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

Awful, horrible story and creepy as hell!

Actually felt bit guilty while reading that, as having listened to them before...weird feeling! :s

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

OMG, is he really 35?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

I can't comment really as I don't know that many facts, obviously, but I am cautious as to say that some 13 year old girls don't look 13 and the fact he was a musician in the spotlight (i.e. success = money) might have led to provocation for this event.

But I don't know the facts so I can only speculate, still, he is an idiot for putting himself in this position and not using his better judgement given his position and spotlight etc

I also don't like to try and convict someone as a [ominous music]paedophile[/ominous music] so easily and can understand how some people can be misled (has happened one of my mates, scored a girl who turned out to be 15 one night), but the exchanging of images (whatever they may be) mentioned in the article does nobody any favours.

All the same, I'll treat any tabloid story with a pinch of salt until I read about it from another source.

*jumps off high horse

I also don't like to try and convict someone as a [ominous music]paedophile[/ominous music] so easily and can understand how some people can be misled (has happened one of my mates, scored a girl who turned out to be 15 one night), but the exchanging of images (whatever they may be) mentioned in the article does nobody any favours.

I thought that, but to be fair the "possession/distribution of indecent images of children" could be something as simple as a text with a single picture attached.

Still though, no excuse.

I thought that, but to be fair the "possession/distribution of indecent images of children" could be something as simple as a text with a single picture attached.

Still though, no excuse.

True, I remember years ago, a photo was been texted around of some really young girl in her school uniform on her back, legs spread. Made the news and all. some of my mates got it, and texted it. They're not perverts, just idiots. we'll wait and see what the exact details are I guess.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,225 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

some 13 year old girls don't look 13

Article says under 13. If it's true there's no defense imo.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭xtradel

Bbc are reporting it as well:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-20779665

Jaysus!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Not to mention the possession of 'extreme' animal pornography.

This individual is not an idiot or a twat or any of the other phrases thus far used.

He is, in fact, a depraved pervert* who is clearly a danger to animals and children.

*alleged, for now.

In cases such as this it generally is a given that there may be more to the story considering the defendents position but considering the charges and accusation that he conspired to tape a one year old child its hard to have much sympathy for him and I hope if the accusations are true he suffers a long and horrible prison stay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭taytothief

Meh. They were rubbish anyway.

taytothief wrote: »

Saw em supporting Metallica and they were awful

I wonder had the rest of the band any idea. They must have known something.

Why?

"I want to have sex with a 1 year old" is not something you're likely to say during sound check.

Why?

"I want to have sex with a 1 year old" is not something you're likely to say during sound check.

It's a lyric to any song..............................................

if your band's name is Cannibal Corpse?:D

Why?

Isn't it?

They've been bandmates for 10 years of something no? I'll hazard a guess they've spent a lot of time together, and I'll hazard a guess there were plenty of after-gig parties.

Isn't it?

They've been bandmates for 10 years of something no? I'll hazard a guess they've spent a lot of time together, and I'll hazard a guess there were plenty of after-gig parties.

Yeah but I doubt he'd have discussed that!!?? Unless he's totally stupid??

I never said they discussed it :p
    Since he's a paedo, I would expect he's been trying to pull under-age girls for a while. When you're on tour with a paedo, I would have thought you would notice something like that. Then again, maybe I'm mad.

Isn't it?

There isn't anybody in the world I wouldn't report on if they were involved in child porn/conspiracy to rape a child and I'm assume that's the same for the other lads in the band.

Even if they did know something was going on (and why on earth would you tell anybody you're upto this?) they would have done something to confront him/get him some help before police became involved, now their careers are ruined too and they'll always be associated with this, if this isn't the first they heard of it I'd be pretty shocked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭666irishguy

A one year old, unf**king believable. I'd bet the rest of them had an inkling this was coming. Their website has a message to fans apologising for cancelling a tour or a few gigs in Russia and Japan due to a serious illness in the lost prophet family.

A one year old, unf**king believable. I'd bet the rest of them had an inkling this was coming.

Based on what? This whole thing was probably done over a laptop in his private home, not at band practise.
    Their website has a message to fans apologising for cancelling a tour or a few gigs in Russia and Japan due to a serious illness in the lost prophet family.

Over 4 weeks ago?

• Site Banned Posts: 224 ✭✭SubBusted

They jumped on the nu-metal bandwagon a decade ago and then the emo one.

I never said they discussed it :p
    Since he's a paedo, I would expect he's been trying to pull under-age girls for a while. When you're on tour with a paedo, I would have thought you would notice something like that. Then again, maybe I'm mad.
    ffs, this thread was going along so well. No baseless accusations/convictions, adult comments then this shít. You win again internet!