Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Canberra

Options
  • 20-12-2012 1:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭

After waiting over 3 years now for the 175 visa, Ive been told to go for state sponsorship, to ACT, Canberra. This is the only state where my occupation is on the list. Ive already applied which will take 6 months to process. A case of waiting forever for the 175 or going with this only other option. Ideally I would like to go to either Perth or Melbourne where I have friends and relatives respectively but well, what can I do.

Bit anxious about the move to Canberra as never there before or heard anyone moving there. Don't see many jobs listed on the usual sites nor hear of what life is like in that part of the country. From what the agent tells me, my 175 will be automatically activated once Ive spent 2 years in ACT as i will be onshore so I don't have to stay there forever which is some consolation. Needless to say, despite getting an actual visa in my hand to go, Im not so sure about the location. I wont know anyone, I'll have no job and place to stay. Granted I can sort out accommodation from here, but might be a lonely two years Im thinking as apparently nothing happens in Canberra as its more of a family orientated lifestyle. Im strongly debating maybe canceling the state visa at this point and letting the process of the 175 run its course. I'll be 35 in January, no kids, own house, job etc. Confused.com. Opinions appreciated

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭Empire o de Sun