Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stuff that you always thought was over-rated, but were scared to say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭TheStook

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Bob Dylan has an awful voice yet he treated like a genius
    I don't like him at all

The Big Lebowski, not funny at all

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Chocolate, cake, biscuits, ice cream, sweet, desserts.
    Never have understood the love for them.

Millicent wrote: »
    Zooey Deschanel. Yes, you're quirky, we get it. Stop now.

How does that make her overrated though? It's not her quirkiness I want to f... hmmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Zooey Deschanel. Yes, you're quirky, we get it. Stop now.

She is a babe.
    I denounce your post on behalf of every straight man out there :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

The avengers and in particular iron man. Mainly due to Robert Downey Jr. I dislike this man immensely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

How does that make her overrated though? It's not her quirkiness I want to f... hmmmm.
    She is a babe.
    I denounce your post on behalf of every straight man out there :pac:

So it's you gits that are ensuring she's crapping up my telly box. You can continue to get your rocks off over the Queen of the Hipsters as long as I don't have to listen to her. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

Using a 13amp fuse on a table lamp is over rated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

So it's you gits that are ensuring she's crapping up my telly box. You can continue to get your rocks off over the Queen of the Hipsters as long as I don't have to listen to her. :pac:

Plus for me, her sister could crap up my telly box as it were, lol, any time! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Barack Obama

Oh I don't want to listen to her, awful whiney voice she has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,445 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

For me, it has to be "The catcher in the rye".

It's not badly written, and it does have some of that simplicity of language, that tends to grab you, but , I wouldn't put it up there with "Breakfast at Tiffanys" or "The Old Man and the Sea", or any of Steinbeck's stuff.

So, what think ye AH? Are Tayto crisps over-rated? Or other things?

First person to bring up "Starry night" by Van Gogh or The Stone Roses, gets a puck in the jaw. If anything they're under-rated.:D

Anyway, Happy Christmas friends.

Choco
    ''Catcher In The Rye'' definitely.

Never read it and never will. Wasn't that book a factor in the murder
    of John Lennon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

3D films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

3D films.

I don't know why you'd be afraid to say that as most people seem to be in agreement with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Czarcasm wrote: »

Plus for me, her sister could crap up my telly box as it were, lol, any time! :D

:eek: I never knew there were sisters!
    Best looking family ever!

Facebook
    Twitter
    Christmas
    Mercs
    Reality TV
    X Factor for fux sake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I can't see the video, but I'm willing to bet all my panty presents its Katy Perry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

The Republic of Ireland and the Oirish diaspora in general....and christmas :P

Fairytale Of New York. Definitely over rated!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Angelina Jolie

There are girls down the local Tesco who I'd consider more attractive

Good Sir, I shall be requiring the address of this wonderful place you call "Local Tesco". Post haste, man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Off to the What really obvious thing have you only just realised? thread with you! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I can't see the video, but I'm willing to bet all my panty presents its Katy Perry...

No It's that girl off that show Bones
    Czarcasm wrote: »

I know. Morto :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

I don't know why you'd be afraid to say that as most people seem to be in agreement with you.

Probably right on that.

Mumford and Sons. A way overpraised samey band, their second album sounds exactly like the first one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

No It's that girl off that show Bones
    o

No way!! Never knew that either..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Old Man on the Sea, the legal and medical professions (rote learning), economics (like weather forecasters that are wrong every single time the weather changes) , astronomy and space exploration (popular because it's science that's impressive without needing to understand much).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭thier

Tea.

Wouldn't be scared to say it, mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I watched "Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy" last night. It got rave reviews when it was released.
    I've never seen such drawn out contrived, pretentious shíte.
    Awful film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

cronin_j wrote: »
    Father Ted

I actually think its underrated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Leonardo dicaprio, he's not that great an actor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The amateur boxing fad during the summer.

1. The irish boxers are not even amateurs. Some get paid 40k a year by the sports council.

2. Its boxing with helmets and its about how many shots you get on target. Imagine playing a football match with a bordered up goal and only counting the shots on target.

3. They are not even the elite people in their fields (possibly with the exception of Taylor) its level 2 boxing. Otherwise they would be pros.

4. If John Joe Nevan and Michael Conlon were having a chat on the road outside your gaff, most people in the country would think about calling the garda. I was amazed that Irelands hatred of travellers was suddenly suspended when Nevan won something.

5. Its a sport for poor people

1. The irish boxers are not even amateurs. Some get paid 40k a year by the sports council.

2. Its boxing with helmets and its about how many shots you get on target. Imagine playing a football match with a bordered up goal and only counting the shots on target.

3. They are not even the elite people in their fields (possibly with the exception of Taylor) its level 2 boxing. Otherwise they would be pros.

4. If John Joe Nevan and Michael Conlon were having a chat on the road outside your gaff, most people in the country would think about calling the garda. I was amazed that Irelands hatred of travellers was suddenly suspended when Nevan won something.

Such a dumb post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Curry. A dish designed to be so spicy you can't tell that the meat is rotten!

I mean, I don't mind adding some heat to something with some chili, paprika etc. but your spices should never over-power the flavour of the food it's accompanying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

Yo're ma's box!

There I said it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

A Wonderful Life.
    Its got an 8.7 rating on imdb and i keep hearing people bang on about what a great movie it is or its their favourite christmas movie.
    Personally i thought it was boring, had bad acting, poor camera and editing work. I do realise the time period it was made in but their is better films from that era.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Pot Noodle. Smells disgusting and makes me want to vomit.

Yeah Football again.

90 Mins of repetitive passing and diving. I'm amazed at the excitement and intensity for it in my local on a sunday. All I can say is, thank fcuk I have drink there to keep me occupied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Sex.

can't beat a sensual belly rub

/maybe delusional with fever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,916 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Going out on the beer and getting mangled.

Guinness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Dean09 wrote: »
    I watched "Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy" last night. It got rave reviews when it was released.
    I've never seen such drawn out contrived, pretentious shíte.
    Awful film.

Seriously? I think you've missed a trick. John Le Carre (the author of the novel) worked for MI6 before his writing career. I loved it, I don't know how anyone could call it contrived or pretentious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Converse. They're fine if you don't mind them falling to bits after about a week.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Petca4 wrote: »
    James Joyce and Ulysses, guarantee you 99% of people who have said they read it actually haven't.
    My proof. The first 10 pages alone are a complete and utter dirge.
    Its one of these items in life that became trendy without anyone
    knowing how or why.
    Oh, and the Clash are in this bracket as well!

*Gives Petca a copy of Finnegan's Wake and retreats very quickly*

Red rags and bulls come to mind.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

Shryke wrote: »
    think you've missed a trick. John Le Carre (the author of the novel) worked for MI6 before his writing career.
    I thought it was boring also. But how does your point about the novels authors previous position help clear up the missed trick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Squ wrote: »
    I thought it was boring also. But how does your point about the novels authors previous position help clear up the missed trick?

The authors personal experience allows for a more realistic picture of cold war affairs to be painted, rather than something that's simply "contrived and sh!te".
    By missed trick I meant the potential authenticity of the events in the film for that time in history, it may have gone over the head.
    You can't stop people getting bored though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

probably been mentioned but Apple computers and related gagets. I'm sure their stuff is good, but its one of those Fry "shut up and take my money" companies I could never get into.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Shifty11

Breakfast rolls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭SueBoom

Shifty11 wrote: »
    Breakfast rolls.

Ah here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭CillianL

The Rolling Stones, I ****ing hate them.

I had to see Martin Scorsese's 'Shine a Light' few years ago. Utter ****e. Average musicianship, similar songs across the board, and Mick Jagger gets really irritating

Shryke wrote: »

Seriously? I think you've missed a trick. John Le Carre (the author of the novel) worked for MI6 before his writing career. I loved it, I don't know how anyone could call it contrived or pretentious.

No no, don't get me wrong, the story itself could have been a very good one. I'm sure the book is good. (The books usually are better than the movie versions). It's just that I thought the movie itself was useless.

None of the characters were developed whatsoever and I didn't care what happened to any of them. And even when the "who-dunnit" was revealed, I really didn't care who did it or why. And to be honest, the casting gave it away.

All the long close-ups of inanimate objects, bringing them in and out of focus. The pointless "artsy" shots throughout the film just annoyed me. Basically all the stuff that the movie snobs would wet themselves over.
    It came across as just up its own arse to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Converse. They're fine if you don't mind them falling to bits after about a week.:mad:
    They're ****ing rotten. I hate converse. I wouldn't wear them if you gave me them for nothing.

Its amazing the bandwagons some people will jump on these days.

I know little or nothing about the sport of boxing and would be reluctant to offer an opinion on the merits, or otherwise, of the sport.

However, when Olympic medals are handed out the "boxing mad" irish public will cheer anybody or anything that brings back a medal of any colour. Its what the glory hunting sports "fans" of this nation do best.

lufties wrote: »
    Leonardo dicaprio, he's not that great an actor.

Inception was, and still is one of the most horrid messes that has ever been committed to film.

Its an unintelligible clusterf*ck of gargantuan proportions.