Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BDO Lakeside World Championship 2013 Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭squadro

glad to hear they have the mic in the board turned down this year. it would give ya a headache.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

buster180 wrote: »
    Tony Green is painful to listen to.

I found an old used cotton ear bud earlier that sounded more excited than Tony Green! :D
    squadro wrote: »
    glad to hear they have the mic in the board turned down this year. it would give ya a headache.:D

Still that "thud" sound is giving me headache....why do they think they need it? Are they worried you might not be able to see the darts going in :confused: Makes no sense to me

the year john boy won the bdo he could have hit dbl 20 blindfold. looks like its back home to the lovely sally early this year:eek:

cambo2008 wrote: »
    What a checkout from Norris. Bull - 25 - Bull.

The bull 25 bull is a thing of beauty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

the year john boy won the bdo he could have hit dbl 20 blindfold. looks like its back home to the lovely sally early this year:eek:

John Boy might need to get that blindfold back out so!:eek:

whoa silverback a big stockport county fan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Completely off topic but for anyone interested (?) Phil Taylor is a guest on Jonathan Ross show on ITV right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

The bullseye on that Winmau board is absolutely massive. What's yhe story with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

The bullseye on that Winmau board is absolutely massive. What's yhe story with that

The trebles and doubles are smaller than the PDC board.

mdwexford wrote: »
    The trebles and doubles are smaller than the PDC board.

They are all bigger this year

Source?

Are they not using a standard blade 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

Day 1 over in Lakeside and the highlight of the day for me was Jason Cullen's great win over Martin Atkins and he did it with an impressive 88.74 average. The only downside was the game wasn't televised live,a disgrace and unfair to both players. Hopefully the game will be shown in full on the late night highlights show beginning on BBC 2 shortly.

Reigning champion Christian Kist never got going in his game against Robbie Green and Green was deserving winner in the end. A good win for Garry Thompson against Gary Robson but the scoring problem in the 2nd leg of the 3rd set was calamitous,every year there's always at least 1 game where there's a problem because of this computer scorer. Davy Prins threw away the game against Ritchie George,2 mediocre players at best.

Didn't see tonight's games but wins for Fitton,Norris and O'Shea while in the ladies number 1 seed Deta Hedman was beat 2-0 by Lisa Ashton. Hopefully these will be on the highlights show later.

More coverage tomorrow with BBC 2 showing 4 games from 12 55pm-5 00pm with Stephen Bunting's and Martin Adams's games been the main features. The evening session will be live on ESPN from 6 30pm-10 00pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Looks like it'll have to be darts extra for a look at Jason Cullen.

Get the kettle on love

That was a cracking game there between Fitton and Van De Pas. It had everything,180's and great finishes. Fitton was brilliant on that double top.

I thought there was a very nice tribute given by Tony Green to Sid Waddell today before the Kist v Green game,very moving IMO. Also good to see PDC players Dean Winstanley,Colin Lloyd and James Wade in the attendance today watching the games. Time for darts extra now and my bet Alan Norris's game,time to get more cans out of the fridge and settle down in front of the telly for the next 2 hours:D

god that young george fellow is a chip off the old block. same throwing style as the auld fella and same s***e when interviewed. didnt see the walk on. wonder if bobby handed down the curtain and candlelabra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Treble20 wrote: »
    Also good to see PDC players Dean Winstanley,Colin Lloyd and James Wade in the attendance today watching the games. Time for darts extra now and my bet Alan Norris's game,time to get more cans out of the fridge and settle down in front of the telly for the next 2 hours:D

Im pretty sure they said on the commentary that Richie George has been practicing with Wade and Lloyd.

robbie1977 wrote: »
    Im pretty sure they said on the commentary that Richie George has been practicing with Wade and Lloyd.
    Lloyd been from Essex is good buddies with Bobby so no doubt was helping out Ritchie and Wade wouldn't be far away from that neck of the woods so that would explain that. Watching the Norris v Warren game here on Darts Extra on BBC 2 and noticed that Warren's partner is none other than Irish International Nicola O'Donovan from Cork.

I've backed Alan Norris each way to reach the Lakeside final and while he won his performance wasn't the best,he knows he'll have to play better than that to reach the final.

7 matches played and only one player averaged over 90, very poor standard.

Hopefully Bunting and Waites will show their stuff and put in big performances.

7 matches played and only one player averaged over 90, very poor standard.

Hopefully Bunting and Waites will show their stuff and put in big performances.

Bunting won the world masters with an average of 94, he was fairly consistent actually, he never had an average obove 94.9 in the entire tournament. Solid stuff.

While obv not superstar averages it would be enough to beat most players either side of the divide though just not the real tip toppers

Bunting won the world masters with an average of 94, he was fairly consistent actually, he never had an average obove 94.9 in the entire tournament. Solid stuff.

While obv not superstar averages it would be enough to beat most players either side of the divide though just not the real tip toppers

A hell of a lot of PDC players are capable of 94 averages.

Another thread about averages? Sky is taking over the world!

Could we have one thread about competitions? This one about the BDO world title. It is not decided by averages.

Another thread about averages? Sky is taking over the world!

Could we have one thread about competitions? This one about the BDO world title. It is not decided by averages.

Yes it is, the player with the highest average wins almost every match.
    It's all about averages and doubles percentages.

That's like saying football matches aren't decided by goals.

Yes it is

No it's not! Sheesh, its like a pantomime here.

Darts competitions are not decided by averages, that is a matter of fact.

Read what I just wrote you muppet.

You are like a two year old with his fingers in his ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,192 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Right good game here between Bunting and Wilson

lol D20 D10 to finish and Buntin in a bit of bother

PM me the personal abuse. It doesn't take that much courage. And it leaves the thread clean then for darts posts.

If you look at the averages for the recent World Championships, 3 of the 5 highest averages overall made the semi finals.The lowest average of a semi finalist was Wade at 90.62(hardly shabby).Taylor 97.46 MvG 98.83 Barney 99.29.The highest average for a first round loser was 83.65 (good by BDO standards).Do you think this is just a coincidence?Averages are not the only decider (evidenced by Taylor not being highest and winning) but if your average is below your opponents by 5 or more 99 times out of 100 you are going to get beaten.

Game of the tournament so far, no doubt.

repsol wrote: »
    If you look at the averages for the recent World Championships, 3 of the 5 highest averages overall made the semi finals.The lowest average of a semi finalist was Wade at 90.62(hardly shabby).Taylor 97.46 MvG 98.83 Barney 99.29.The highest average for a first round loser was 83.65 (good by BDO standards).Do you think this is just a coincidence?Averages are not the only decider (evidenced by Taylor not being highest and winning) but if your average is below your opponents by 5 or more 99 times out of 100 you are going to get beaten.
    Kingp35 wrote: »
    Lads this is the last time I am going to say it, this thread is not for discussing the merits of the BDO vs PDC. I will be forced to hand out bans if it continues.

Start a new thread if you want to discuss the two organisations.

I think at this stage I can only laugh...

Good game alright here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 RazorT

Great game alright. Bunting averaging, 96/97 and 50 percent on check outs.

I think at this stage I can only laugh...

Good game alright here.

You know what they say about people who laugh at nothing!

3 dart avg directly proportional to quality of babe picked out by cameras. bdo= munters, pdc =totty.:D:D

Fittons' bird looked decent to be fair.I think BDO are afraid to copy PDC and put those dancing slappers on stage in case Mr. "lets play darts" has a coronary on stage looking at them.:D

Bobby George just said he reckons Douglas would have spent "about 25 grand" getting to Lakeside! BG usually knows his stuff but if that is true you would need to get to semis to break even

flip lads i need 50 posts before i can post in other forum. :p. did bobby george ever win this yoke. think i remember him losing the final one year when he seemed to be playing in traction.

He was beaten finalist twice.Once with broken back!

Well he broke his back one year, think Part beat him.

But he always threw like a man who was pressing the "call nurse" button over his left shoulder!

Bunting played well, average dipped a bit near the end but definitely the most impressive so far.

Well he broke his back one year, think Part beat him.

But he always threw like a man who was pressing the "call nurse" button over his left shoulder!

know its off topic but speaking of part, can anyone tell me what upset him when giving interview during pdc tournament. was it cos his picture wasent on wall of past winners?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

Have only watched 3 or 4 games,it seems every second leg is 20+ darts, not great to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

know its off topic but speaking of part, can anyone tell me what upset him when giving interview during pdc tournament. was it cos his picture wasent on wall of past winners?:confused:

yeah,that was the reason alright,he was dead right to be annoyed in fairness

Yep. Didn't see it, not sure this is the one, think this is another interview where he brought up the issue again,..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fUCy8hOHfTc

This is one forgettable game, apart from the fact that Douglas seems to be able to have a smile about it all, which is nice to see. Particularly as he's had a heart operation!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Personal abuse is not allowed. You know that by now. Warned
    repsol wrote: »

This thread is about the BDO World Championships. I have posted twice is this thread now that it is not to be used to compare the two organisations. No more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

What kind of a walk on song is that for Jimi Hendrix!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,071 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Feck all the bitching

I enjoy both tournaments

A whole month of darts whats not to like :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

First set to Jimi against Adams. Hope he can go on and win it. I really dislike Adams for some reason.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

Adams loses first set to yet another Dutch young player, Hendriks...