Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ante post Cheltenham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Last year Mullins said if Boston Bob got beat he would stop training horses.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Yes similar to how Aidan O Brien and the coolmore machine have a new 'best horse I've ever trained/sat on' every year

This post prove's to everyone how clueless you really are.

Why do you think coolmore and Aidan O Brien have to hype their horses have a guess why they spin out the cliche's after one.

Last year Mullins said if Boston Bob got beat he would stop training horses.

Could you link me to where he said this please find it hard to believe.

He also said in before Christmas last year that Champagne Fever would win the bumper :cool:

I heard him say it myself on the day of the race. I lost a right stack as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

SRFC wrote: »
    This post prove's to everyone how clueless you really are.

Why do you think coolmore and Aidan O Brien have to hype their horses have a guess why they spin out the cliche's after one.

Are you serious? You are following people around talking bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,222 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Where did I say he will train the gold cup winner please?

Are you doubting my information that pont alexandre is the best novice Willie has trained in years?

Yes i am doubting your information that you were told he is his best novice in years that would include being a better novice than Hurricane Fly. So that's a blatant lie.

Also its hardly evidence you have word in the yard because your raving about Pont Alexandre. He was hyped up and sent in against Don Cossack the most promising looking novice in Ireland this year and made him look average. Maybe if you told us before the race you might claim to have some knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,222 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

What are you talking about :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

I said this ive heard he's way ahead of the other novice hurdlers in the yard and you try to name sir de champs asking me is he better than him as if he was some sort of good novice hurdler :rolleyes:

then tried a last minute dig with is he better than hurricane fly? I cant honestly believe you'd think he's going to think more of him than the 13 time grade one winner

If you can read what you wrote you said he said it was his best novice in years that would include Hurricane Fly. Learn to read what you said you never said his best novice currently that's hardly proof of information after what he done to Don Cossack.

Are you serious? You are following people around talking bollocks.

The Coolmore horse's are hyped for stud reasons complete different story to national hunt geldings stupid comparison.

ok hang on, the coolmore horses are hyped for stud reasons????:eek: think very carefully about that statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Willie said this after his Navan win before Christmas
    "He wasn't exactly catching pigeons on the gallops but in the last month when the ground got heavy he started to show me a bit. He did one bit of work this week that showed me he might be good enough and I took a chance."

I normally wouldn't pay much heed to what Willie says but doesn't sound like a man that would have told anyone he was the best Novice that he had trained in a while at the start of the season!!

ok hang on, the coolmore horses are hyped for stud reasons????:eek: think very carefully about that statement.

They have to be hyped for breeding and future stud career reasons do you honestly think Aidan O Brien is stupid enough to think he has a new best horse ever every season.

@kiers do you believe everything a trainer says in the media?He only told a friend of my fathers who owns horses with him that he reckons its the best he's had in some time in a personal conversation not a media interview.I dont know why you're doubting me im hardly claiming the inside track on every horse in the yard and how its working im posting my opinions on a horse that im lumping on at chelthenham hence the thread name.

They have to be hyped for breeding and future stud career reasons do you honestly think Aidan O Brien is stupid enough to think he has a new best horse ever every season.

@kiers do you believe everything a trainer says in the media?He only told a friend of my fathers who owns horses with him that he reckons its the best he's had in some time in a personal conversation not a media interview.I dont know why you're doubting me im hardly claiming the inside track on every horse in the yard and how its working im posting my opinions on a horse that im lumping on at chelthenham hence the thread name.

Fair enough. I am not saying your lying but our opinions obviously differ. It is a game of opinions after all. I dont believe everything Willie says thats for sure but it certainly doesnt sound like a statement he would lie about.

The Neptune is looking like its gonna be one of the better Novice Hurdles at the festival this year.
    I still like Puffin Billy. But wish i had a saver on The New One when i pointed out a few pages back he would be my second choice price is well and truly gone now after his last win. But we shall see in March anyway.

kiers47 wrote: »
    Fair enough. I am not saying your lying but our opinions obviously differ. It is a game of opinions after all. I dont believe everything Willie says thats for sure but it certainly doesnt sound like a statement he would lie about.

The Neptune is looking like its gonna be one of the better Novice Hurdles at the festival this year.
    I still like Puffin Billy. But wish i had a saver on The New One when i pointed out a few pages back he would be my second choice price is well and truly gone now after his last win. But we shall see in March anyway.

What I like about the neptune and AB this year is there is no hot fav so either way it should be 4/1 the field or something like that theres enough odds on favs at the meeting without having the ab and neptune with hot favs like last year dominating the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

I personally know two people that have had and one currently has a horse with W.Mullins. Both of these have said plenty of times that WM nevers speaks to them about any horse bar their own. A few years ago one of the lads was at a race meeting and met WM (the lads horse wasn't running that day) and asked him will he have a winner today on the card? Mullins apparently turned round to him and said something along the lines of don't talk to me about any horse I have apart from your own. The other guy who has a horse in training with him now has said something similar that WM has never says a thing about any horse bar his own.
    By the looks of things PA is most likely the best novice hurdler in the yard but I have to doubt that WM was telling other owners who have no connection to the horse this kind of information.

Goldcupfav wrote: »
    I personally know two people that have had and one currently has a horse with W.Mullins. Both of these have said plenty of times that WM nevers speaks to them about any horse bar their own. A few years ago one of the lads was at a race meeting and met WM (the lads horse wasn't running that day) and asked him will he have a winner today on the card? Mullins apparently turned round to him and said something along the lines of don't talk to me about any horse I have apart from your own. The other guy who has a horse in training with him now has said something similar that WM has never says a thing about any horse bar his own.
    By the looks of things PA is most likely the best novice hurdler in the yard but I have to doubt that WM was telling other owners who have no connection to the horse this kind of information.

Biggest gambling stable in the country with major players funding the yard if you believe he doesnt set one up for the major backers behind the yard you dont go racing in ireland or just have'nt a clue a certain large man who is a owner with the stable is privy to the information on all the horses in the yard and punts them big along with a crew from cork who are well known to be backers of the yard especially when russell is on board one,this is fact the lad I know wasnt asking for tips he was having a conversation with willie about the seasons prospects and he reckoned PA was something very special I have no reason to doubt this mans word willie.

Goldcupfav wrote: »

While this might be the case something very similar happened on the US tv show Luck about the lads that won the Pick 6. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Un Atout goes at Naas tomorrow assuming the meeting goes ahead

Are you actually serious??? You think obrien has to hype his horses so their stud value will go up...is that what you are saying? You really think potential investors dont know about the horses breeding line and their form? Baffling!!! So o brien trains some donkey and hypes it up then gets some sucker to part with 200,000 a service?? :O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭cack_handed

Hyping their horses has been a Coolmore and Ballydoyle thing for years, whether its to increase stud value (certainly cant do any harm) or for other reasons, I don't know, but it's simply the way they operate. Remember John Oxx getting irked by it all -"coolmore spin" - when Sea the Stars was on the go, around the time he ran in the eclipse I think. I've lost count at this stage of all the "best we've ever had" horses O'Brien has trained, in double figures anyway, it's a little wearisome to be honest but not all that big a deal really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

This stuff comes out of the Mullins yard every year. At this stage I've lost count of how many times I've been told "best bumper horse he's ever had" or similar.

What was it last year, Boston Bob only had to turn up, So Young was a 'machine', etc etc. I'm not knocking the guy (or you) but all this stuff has to be taken with a massive pinch of salt.

That's nonsense. I've heard those things being said about Mullins horses too but never from the man himself. He is usually very cautious and reserved about his horses chances compared to many other big trainers out there who are full of their own bluster and hyperbole.

Are you actually serious??? You think obrien has to hype his horses so their stud value will go up...is that what you are saying? You really think potential investors dont know about the horses breeding line and their form? Baffling!!! So o brien trains some donkey and hypes it up then gets some sucker to part with 200,000 a service?? :O

Do you not know how big the breeding industry is? if you listen to the young lad he had been thought how to talk about the animals do you think he says this is incredible the best I ever trained like he has many times so you think is probably the most hyped,Do you not notice when he comes out with comments that are pure crazy he be talking about a mile and a half horse who is destined to stud and say ''ah he always shows lots of speed'' this is too make people who use the sire to be and purchaser's of the foals and yearlings to think they have a quick as the greatest trainer around says so,and thats probably not a great example but the post race comments are hilarious and its all to hype the horse for a stud career.

exactly, you know its probably hype,i know its probably hype, but do you really think the people with the wedges of cash dont know its hype too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Arctic89

Do you not know how big the breeding industry is? if you listen to the young lad he had been thought how to talk about the animals do you think he says this is incredible the best I ever trained like he has many times so you think is probably the most hyped,Do you not notice when he comes out with comments that are pure crazy he be talking about a mile and a half horse who is destined to stud and say ''ah he always shows lots of speed'' this is too make people who use the sire to be and purchaser's of the foals and yearlings to think they have a quick as the greatest trainer around says so,and thats probably not a great example but the post race
    comments are hilarious and its all to hype the horse for a stud career.

Any chance you could repost this in readable English please?

exactly, you know its probably hype,i know its probably hype, but do you really think the people with the wedges of cash dont know its hype too?

Have you seen the prices these yearlings sell at some of which never amount to nothing? these bloodstock agents are gamblers,If theres plenty of chat/hype about the latest sires they will command higher covering fee's coolmore is all about hyping horses up love when he wheels out something like ''ah sure look he could run in a july cup'' when talking about a middle distance horse and how he has so much ''natural'' speed,the interviews with AOB are comedic genius anyways were going way off topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Ray Mond

Anybody know where bog warrior would be definitely going? I think I'd have a bet on him for the world hurdle each way , he easily beat solwit LTO and solwit won nicely today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Have you seen the prices these yearlings sell at some of which never amount to nothing? these bloodstock agents are gamblers,If theres plenty of chat/hype about the latest sires they will command higher covering fee's coolmore is all about hyping horses up love when he wheels out something like ''ah sure look he could run in a july cup'' when talking about a middle distance horse and how he has so much ''natural'' speed,the interviews with AOB are comedic genius anyways were going way off topic.

I admire Aidan O'Brien a lot but it always infuriates me when he comes out with lines like that. "Could win a July Cup" seems to be the favourite phrase. I don't think anybody takes much notice of what he says anymore when it comes to hyping up Coolmore horses for their future stud careers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Ray Mond wrote: »
    Anybody know where bog warrior would be definitely going? I think I'd have a bet on him for the world hurdle each way , he easily beat solwit LTO and solwit won nicely today?

Judging by what he did that day, I wouldn't be surprised if they stuck to hurdles with him. I don't think Solwhit was anywhere near his best that day though. He was having his first run for nearly 2 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

So far Mullins is going to win the Triumph Hurdle, the Gold Cup and whatever Pont Alexandre runs in. Super, many monies will be made

You forgot the bumper winner:D

hucklebuck wrote: »
    You forgot the bumper winner:D

And the Supreme Novices now aswell after today. Jesus is there anything left

Fallers insurance ;):D

So the followers of the yard don't believe the three favourites will get around safely? Some supporters:rolleyes: How about bull**** insurance?

There is an awful bang of just backing all of Mullins horses off you.

hucklebuck wrote: »
    So the followers of the yard don't believe the three favourites will get around safely? Some supporters:rolleyes: How about bull**** insurance?

There is an awful bang of just backing all of Mullins horses off you.

:):):):):) Holy mother of god I'm speechless.

When I visited the yard at the start of the season I got a run down from one of the stable jockeys and he gave me a list of whats working well and looking decent,He did not mention ballycasey as he wasnt in full training at the time i believe,the horse is a 3 mile chaser in the making an has won 2 mickey mouse races at odds on as he should be entitled to,I can guarantee you he would not beat PA and this is fact if you dont believe me then dont but im telling you what I was told and PA is the best in the yard i have no reason to say otherwise ive nothing to gain from making this statement.

Oh my God you guys, I forgot to say that I had a pint with Willie last week, he said that Hurricane Fly is going to make a smashing national horse. He has decided that Pont Alexandre isn't a hurdler and he is going to supplement him for the bumper and all of his other horses are running in the Gold Cup. He said if backing them, back them with fallers insurance even Pont Alexandre as anything could happen in a bumper.

This stuff comes out of the Mullins yard every year. At this stage I've lost count of how many times I've been told "best bumper horse he's ever had" or similar.

What was it last year, Boston Bob only had to turn up, So Young was a 'machine', etc etc. I'm not knocking the guy (or you) but all this stuff has to be taken with a massive pinch of salt.

Massive talk around Midnight Game at the start of last season and the last few seasons there has been a machine pissing all over HF on the gallops.

:):):):):) Holy mother of god I'm speechless.

Good job your fingers can still type, otherwise there would be no valuable nuggets from you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

When are they going to cut to the chase and arrange a bumper over 2.5miles on the friday as the last race between all the winners of the festival. That will sort out the men from the boys and the women from the girls!

Mate you're having a meltdown shut the computer down and get some fresh air.

That's nonsense. I've heard those things being said about Mullins horses too but never from the man himself. He is usually very cautious and reserved about his horses chances compared to many other big trainers out there who are full of their own bluster and hyperbole.

In fairness to him he didn't say Willie said it. Willie is very tight lipped but there are always rumours flying around "from the yard"

And the Supreme Novices now aswell after today. Jesus is there anything left
    There is no way un atout will win the supreme..I'd be surprised if O'Leary even wants him to go over. He hasn't got the experience

ste2010 wrote: »
    When are they going to cut to the chase and arrange a bumper over 2.5miles on the friday as the last race between all the winners of the festival. That will sort out the men from the boys and the women from the girls!

A good auld fashioned barn bumper, yeeeeee haaaaaaaaaaaahhhhh :D

There is no way un atout will win the supreme..I'd be surprised if O'Leary even wants him to go over. He hasn't got the experience

If he goes over he will be bang there, he has serious cruising speed and if there is a kick at the end of it 8/1 looks huge.

He runs in the Deloitte next, if he wins there he will be turning up at Cheltenham.

He does looks very good from what we have seen.

But he's no Sweet Wake imo :-)

Bog warrior is entered in the ryanair, stayers,and the gold cup.ok i think we can rule out the g.c. stayers looks the most likely but hold those bets. I will know hopefully next week what race it will definitly will be the target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Bog warrior is entered in the ryanair, stayers,and the gold cup.ok i think we can rule out the g.c. stayers looks the most likely but hold those bets. I will know hopefully next week what race it will definitly will be the target.[/

He'll surely only go if it's soft though no?

He runs in the Deloitte next, if he wins there he will be turning up at Cheltenham.

There is big money for him down my way for the SN

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Bog warrior is entered in the ryanair, stayers,and the gold cup.ok i think we can rule out the g.c. stayers looks the most likely but hold those bets. I will know hopefully next week what race it will definitly will be the target.[/

He'll surely only go if it's soft though no?
    Yes I would imagine soft would be a must which is unlikely at the festival,mayby aj will take a chance on good/soft.we will have to wait and see. I,m guessing the world hurdle would be his choice.

Bog warrior is entered in the ryanair, stayers,and the gold cup.ok i think we can rule out the g.c. stayers looks the most likely but hold those bets. I will know hopefully next week what race it will definitly will be the target.
    This is pure tony Martin...the horse has gone and proved himself what looks to be a serious prospect over hurdles after ABSOLUTELY flopping over fences bar one race...and now he's sending him back over fences...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

He will definitely be turning up. He's 5 now and will probably have another run before Cheltenham. 3 runs would be normal for a Supreme runner. Was delighted with him yesterday. He's been my one to follow all year and is setting me up for my biggest ever AP win if he comes home. Can't wait to see him run again

Even if he wins the Deloitte id have my reservations. First season racing..i know trends are there to be broken but any idea of any supreme winners who won on their first season racing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

Even if he wins the Deloitte id have my reservations. First season racing..i know trends are there to be broken but any idea of any supreme winners who won on their first season racing?

He won a bumper last year?

You having a laugh or what he ran last year bolting up in a bumper?