Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tipperary GAA (Club and intercounty) Discussion thread 2013

• Registered Users Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Go on I'll have a stab at it, but it is very hards to settle on a 15 -

Cummins

Saint Curran Cahill

O'Brien Mahoney Maher

McGrath Maher

Bonner Callinan JOB

Bubbles Kelly McGrath

That's close to what I expect to see, it's not the team I would pick myself but I'm sure Eamon knows best :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Comordha

Have a feeling Bergin will get the nod, O'Shea has bewen talking him up a bit recently and the tenacity with which he entered the league final was impressive.

Comordha wrote: »
    Have a feeling Bergin will get the nod, O'Shea has bewen talking him up a bit recently and the tenacity with which he entered the league final was impressive.

Id like to see him start but if he does I have a feeling our captain could be the one to make way because Conor O'Brien was our most consistent player in the league and has definitely earned a starting place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

Teams been named
    Cummins Stapleton Curran Cahill Bergin O'Mahony P Maher B Maher S McGrath Forde P Maher OBrien S Bourke Callanan N McGrath

Wasn't sure Curran would start and good to see Bergin start. What do people think?

Id like to see him start but if he does I have a feeling our captain could be the one to make way because Conor O'Brien was our most consistent player in the league and has definitely earned a starting place

I tell ya Foxy can consider himself very unlucky. The only thing that may have saved Rocky is the captaincy. He has been well below his own high standards. Hopefully a derby v Limerick might refocus him.

Bergin i wasnt surprised one bit surprised with. He has hurled excellent stuff in the challenges since the league final.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

Pretty good team.
    Definitely worried by Curran at full back.
    Will be interested to see how Bergin adopts to championship pace. If callaghan gets the right ball he could have a stormer.

Plenty of options on the bench as well so we should prove too strong for a fairly limited limerick side.
    I'd expect limerick to start with serious intensity, just stick with them the 20 minutes and we should b sound.
    I'd fancy us to win by 4-6 points .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

ormond lad wrote: »
    Teams been named
    Cummins Stapleton Curran Cahill Bergin O'Mahony P Maher B Maher S McGrath Forde P Maher OBrien S Bourke Callanan N McGrath

Wasn't sure Curran would start and good to see Bergin start. What do people think?

Fairly happy with the team, great to see bergin and forde starting, hopefully forde can carry on the form from the u21's ..... Hon tipp

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Youngladathome

ormond lad wrote: »
    Teams been named

I don't think O'Shea had much choice for full-back: Curran may be slowing down but he is still our best option, being our only specialist full-back. O'Mahony did well there in a couple of games and kept Eoin Larkin quiet in the league final. But placing him at full-back leaves a gaping hole at centre-back - Paudie is just too loose and doesn't hold the centre in the way a good c/b like Hogan or Brick Walsh would. Paul may have his hands full on Sunday though, with Declan Hannon named at full-forward.
    The lack of of pace at the centre of our defence is what concerns me and unfortunately no new talent has emerged for C/B and F/B. Placing O'Mahony at F/B is only a stop-gap solution. Young Hamill looks a prospect for C/B but is not physically strong enough yet to step in there for a championship campaign. He has the skills and the brain, but would need a lot more brawn to survive against someone like Michael Fennelly, for example. Two of Limerick's star forwards, Downes and Dowling are on the bench having suffered a loss of form, so I think the challenge for our backs in that department is containable. Niall Moran will line out in the H/F line, I think. He could pose problems but can hit some bad wides as well as scoring some brilliant points.
    Hopefully in Bonner Maher and Jonno we will have two ball-winners in the H/F line- for this game anyway. Can't see Jonno lasting the 70 minutes. We'll probably see Noel McGrath moving between the H/F line and M/F.
    Eoin Kelly probably to come on for the final 20 minutes. Hope young Forde lights the place up.
    I would be cautiously optimistic, but, this is championship hurling and anything can happen. However, I don't think Limerick will be able to sustain the manic intensity that they will probably start with and we will get on top in the last twenty.
    Hope I'm not giving hostages to fortune! Roll on Sunday, these are the hurling days that we live for when the championship gets under way and you're bombing off to see the Blue and Gold in action!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

I was watching highlights of this match: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MB3o_gWnmdw (Tipp/LMK AI SF 2009) and noticed an unfamiliar name, Pat Kerwick. Anyone care to shed some light on him? His Wikipedia page doesn't give away much only that he and Declan Ryan likely fell out/wasn't selected.

[/B]

I don't think O'Shea had much choice for full-back: Curran may be slowing down but he is still our best option, being our only specialist full-back. O'Mahony did well there in a couple of games and kept Eoin Larkin quiet in the league final. But placing him at full-back leaves a gaping hole at centre-back - Paudie is just too loose and doesn't hold the centre in the way a good c/b like Hogan or Brick Walsh would. Paul may have his hands full on Sunday though, with Declan Hannon named at full-forward.
    The lack of of pace at the centre of our defence is what concerns me and unfortunately no new talent has emerged for C/B and F/B. Placing O'Mahony at F/B is only a stop-gap solution. Young Hamill looks a prospect for C/B but is not physically strong enough yet to step in there for a championship campaign. He has the skills and the brain, but would need a lot more brawn to survive against someone like Michael Fennelly, for example. Two of Limerick's star forwards, Downes and Dowling are on the bench having suffered a loss of form, so I think the challenge for our backs in that department is containable. Niall Moran will line out in the H/F line, I think. He could pose problems but can hit some bad wides as well as scoring some brilliant points.
    Hopefully in Bonner Maher and Jonno we will have two ball-winners in the H/F line- for this game anyway. Can't see Jonno lasting the 70 minutes. We'll probably see Noel McGrath moving between the H/F line and M/F.
    Eoin Kelly probably to come on for the final 20 minutes. Hope young Forde lights the place up.
    I would be cautiously optimistic, but, this is championship hurling and anything can happen. However, I don't think Limerick will be able to sustain the manic intensity that they will probably start with and we will get on top in the last twenty.
    Hope I'm not giving hostages to fortune! Roll on Sunday, these are the hurling days that we live for when the championship gets under way and you're bombing off to see the Blue and Gold in action!

Apologies for the mistake in the above post: Niall Moran is not starting and will be on the bench along with Kevin Downes and Shane Dowling!

I was watching highlights of this match: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MB3o_gWnmdw (Tipp/LMK AI SF 2009) and noticed an unfamiliar name, Pat Kerwick. Anyone care to shed some light on him? His Wikipedia page doesn't give away much only that he and Declan Ryan likely fell out/wasn't selected.

The story I heard on Pat ( my wife is from Killenaule so I have some contacts there!) is that Declan Ryan culled him from the panel in 2012 and suggested he drop down to the intermediate panel with a view to working his way back onto the senior panel. Kerwick's reply was said to be unprintable!
    That is what Pat Kenny would call anecdotal evidence!
    Still doing a bit for the club, I think.
    Killenaule is a great old hurling club consistently producing county men with two on the current senior panel - Bubbles and Bergin - and another, Joe O'Dwyer, on the U21 team that beat Limerick.

Pat or Festy as he is more commonly known, was another one of those late blossoming Killenaule men (Fanning and Bergin being the other two ) but he was a superb fielder of a ball and became a lynchpin if you like in that Tipp wing-forward slot for both 08 and 09. Injury problems from 10 on, hampered his chances and he was arguably unfairly dropped last winter when you see the one or two who remained on the panel. Personally i thought he done reasonably well in the few challenges around that winter time and it was extremely harsh given his record.

He is 30/31 now so perhaps Eamon O'Shea decided it was better to look forward but i would have definately given him a run out if he made himself available that is.

Already with a league medal in his pocket that year, he made his Championship debut against Cork on the banks of the Lee in 2008 when he came on for Ryan O'Dwyer and gave the normally solid Cork half backline of the last decade, a torrid afternoon. He got 1 point from play but seemed to catch alot of ball that day as he did in the All Ireland final a year on.

His foible may have been his distribution and he was unfortunate with accuracy. He had a tendency to give away the ball the odd time but could field with the best of them and he won a few aerial balls against Kilkenny in 2009 where it was both beforehand and since then, an unthinkable concept.

The story I heard on Pat ( my wife is from Killenaule so I have some contacts there!) is that Declan Ryan culled him from the panel in 2012 and suggested he drop down to the intermediate panel with a view to working his way back onto the senior panel. Kerwick's reply was said to be unprintable!
    That is what Pat Kenny would call anecdotal evidence!
    Still doing a bit for the club, I think.
    Killenaule is a great old hurling club consistently producing county men with two on the current senior panel - Bubbles and Bergin - and another, Joe O'Dwyer, on the U21 team that beat Limerick.

Im a former pupil of Scoil Ruain in Killenaule and used have fair banter with them being from a rival nearby village but i can only tip my hat in admiration to them these days for the talented and fearless characters the club have churned out for us over the years. Not sure i have or ever will see a cowardly hurler from Killenaule. That time i was there there was a golden generation of hurlers from the parish who i feel, sadly never went on to show their true potential at club level.

Surely you remember Festy's rendition of Galtee Mountain Boy on the steps of the Hogan stand after the 2010 final??

Injuries, loss of form and indiscipline left Declan Ryan with little choice really but to drop him, he was similar to a Ryan O'Dwyer hurler, great to win ball and on a good day could score some nice scores but he's distribution and vision were very poor.

We played them last year in the County Championship and tbh you wouldn't have even known he was playing and we haad a 17 y/o marking him, and he cleaned him.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,071 ✭✭✭Xenophile

Maybe on the way to be a great football club as well. Paddy Codd current captain of the Tipp senior football team may encourage a few others to take up the big ball.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

Surely you remember Festy's rendition of Galtee Mountain Boy on the steps of the Hogan stand after the 2010 final??

Injuries, loss of form and indiscipline left Declan Ryan with little choice really but to drop him, he was similar to a Ryan O'Dwyer hurler, great to win ball and on a good day could score some nice scores but he's distribution and vision were very poor.

We played them last year in the County Championship and tbh you wouldn't have even known he was playing and we haad a 17 y/o marking him, and he cleaned him.

Ah he is better than Ryan O'Dwyer now in fairness

Forget about Galtee Mountain Boy, it is an incitement to violence. Tipp need only one anthem and this is it.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭buggy beag

Xenophile wrote: »
    Forget about Galtee Mountain Boy, it is an incitement to violence. Tipp need only one anthem and this is it.

i live at the foot of the galtees il always be a GALTEE MOUNTAIN BOY:P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭looder

Xenophile wrote: »
    Maybe on the way to be a great football club as well. Paddy Codd current captain of the Tipp senior football team may encourage a few others to take up the big ball.

Considering they are reigning South Senior Football Champions & County Finalists from last year they are most certainly a good football team. Kieran Bergin is probably their best footballer.

RE Killenaule's lack of silverware for the talent at their disposal? - Emigration has hit them more than any other team in the County. Bergin, Micky Farrell & Ceasar to name just 3 top hurlers left them when they were looking a super team as did 3 or 4 more (Matthew O' Donnell is in Oz at the moment too). Swan drew with them twice only to lose in extra time with them in 2005. Killenaule went on to reach the county semi where they should have beat Loughmore. That was their last major run at Dan Breen.

RE Festy. His ability to catch and turn in mid air and take off straight away once landed was a joy to watch for a neutral (not for someone playing Killenaule in senior championship mind you) in the mid to late noughties. Festy is/was way too fond of his social life by all accounts to make it as a long term inter county hurler.

He was absolutely superb in last years South Championship where he must have scored 10+ goals. I remember a hattrick against both Carrick teams and at least 2 vs Mullinahone. In saying that it was really just the league stage and he was non existent in the South Semi against Swan.

He hasn't hurled this year as he's been injured but will be a big addition to Killenaule once he's fit again as will the recently arrived home Joe Ceaser.

Festy's pass to Eoin Kelly in the 2009 AI Final was out of this World and Kelly slipped before he hit it. If it went in we would have went on to win in my opinion, but sure if my aunt had balls she'd be my uncle and all that.

His rendition of the Galtee Mountain Boy is a memory that will live with me forever though.

...in Cork with Sean Moylan, Tipperary with Dan Breen....

Yeeooo

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭Davin Stand

Talking about Killenaule footballers, don't forget Jimmy Feehan, full back on the Tipperary Minor Football team and outstanding in the Munster Semi Final against Cork. All that after picking up an arm injury 10 days or so before the Cork game.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Up in adare now having pints in chawkes and attitude has changed from earlier in the week, lads up here can only see a big win for tipp......

Sunny day - getting ready to head for Limerick, waiting for the lads to pick me up: wasn't the game in Semple last year played on a scorching hot day as well?
    There'll be dust in the square today, lads!

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭buggy beag

just back depressed is not the word fair play to limerick no complaints

buggy beag wrote: »
    just back depressed is not the word fair play to limerick no complaints

The truth,well said!

Firstly congrats to Limerick. Better team won no complaints

Where do we go from here though?...Jesus its just depressing stuff altogether. A continuous pattern of balls going in to the forwards and coming out just as quick :( Lads with All Ireland medals in their arse pocket and they getting outmuscled despite training since last November.

In my head this season just seems to be written off before its ever really begun. People will cite 2010 as a reason not to give up hope but i dunno...i just dont think we have the same about us as we had when we were chasing an All Ireland 3 years ago. In fact im not sure some of our forwards can offer Tipperary any more then they've offered and culls might have to be made to the panel. We need to produce forwards who are up for the battle instead of fancy Dan's who shirk from it.

Heads will have to roll after this.

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭Davin Stand

Terrible performance from Tipp. No excuse for that last quarter fade out. Team and Management need to take a hard look at their performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Too many lads beyond the half back line today were rubbish. Bubbles did well when he came on but faded with the team shortly after. Shane Bourke, Callanan, Bonnar, Noel McGrath and JOB were really poor. Pa Bourke was okay and Brendan had a good game.

I'd rather see Conor O'Brien restored to the team and we can try Bergin in midfield. Anything bar Shane McGrath really. There is no doubt that restoring Lar will help an awful lot but we really need to find a couple of forwards who are able to win the dirty ball.

I'd like to see Forde, Lar and Bonnar in the half forward line. I'd give Shane Bourke and Noel McGrath another stake for their place in this side and then play Bubbles alongside them. Hopefully Brendan Maher isn't out for too long but in the mean time we need to find him a partner quickly or else we won't have a hope of seeing Croke Park in August nevermind September.

Also I thought Limerick looked a bit fitter in the last 20 minutes and they out scored us 0-2:0-9 in that period. Lots of work needs to be done but we need to stop giving up a forward to compensate for Shane McGrath being so poor in the middle. We need to be more direct with the ball too. I think the qualifiers will definitely do this team good becuase we need to find a settled side.

I'm not sure how far we'll go this year but i can't see us being that poor again.

Terrible performance from Tipp. No excuse for that last quarter fade out. Team and Management need to take a hard look at their performance.

I just don't think Callanan, Pa Bourke, Noel McGrath and Shane McGrath are consistent or tough enough for the cut and thrust of Senior intercounty hurling any more in all honesty. When these lads have all the time in the world to take their score they look like world beaters but there is no fear whatsoever of them getting involved in rucks or chasing and harassing the opposition. A mere token gesture at best but not a hope of them turning over possession. Its very frustrating. They are hanging Eamon O'Shea out to dry and im starting to believe that they hung poor Decky out to dry also to a certain degree. Shane McGrath could consider himself lucky to keep his place on the panel after today let alone his captaincy

Bonnar hadnt his best game in a Tipp shirt by any means but when his man got away he pursued him as best as he could. The Tipp backs are also exemplary hard working men who deserve alot better then some of the lads they have to soldier on with.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

New management but same ol story for tipperary.
    Half forward line was non existent as usual. Shane mcgrath midfield was poor. Hard to blame the inside forward line as they were starved of decent ball although they did seem to be second to every ball.
    I actually thought pa bourke had a good game for once and was surprised to see him being taken off.
    Limerick simply wanted it more. They seemed fitter, tougher, hungrier and showed great desire throughout.

I wouldn't rule tipp out just yet, a few games in the qualifiers may actually benefit this team, but that ice has just got a lot thinner.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭looder

We're lacking leaders all over the field. Our decision making was very poor and it's a long road back but we'll get there. We'll be playing Kilkenny in an All Ireland Semi in August now.

Pa Bourke in fairness to him has been Tipp's best player for the past 18 months.

Shane McGrath has brought his recent league and challenge matches form into the Championship and it's nearly time to start looking at alternatives.

Personally I think Gleeson should start the next day. His puckouts are far superior to Brendan's at this stage.

I also think Noel McGrath needs to be dropped. We've too many nice hurlers. We need lads who'll go in and win the dirty ball and at the moment we've very few who'll do that.