Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you had cattle break out ? tell the story !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭razor8

Remember another incident when I was very young. Two lads arrived at our house looking for a bull that had escaped when loading animals, he had been spotted on our land from a distance but when these guys had come there was no sign of him. Our land surrounds a 1000 acres lake that has two 15 acres islands that are planted
    After about a month of these guys calling, wasn’t the animal spotted at the shore of one the islands drinking. It takes about 15mins in a row boat to get to the island but the mad yoke took off swimming on his own accord
    There was an old ruin of a church on the island. A bait of meal and hay was set up and when he’d go to feed a gate was sopposed to fall down behind him. We went back a few days after with a gun as protection but he hadn’t entered the trap. After searching the island to find him he was finally sited but took off and eventually a big splash was heard. He took to the water again and landed at another farm which luckily had some cattle on it. He took up residence there for a few weeks and transferred to the hook. I remember it was a real adventure at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭The Real Elmer Fudd

Ballybay it was.

what gave it away the school?

The field i was referring to is the field that wylies hill housing estate is now built in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I margin a disused railway line. Cupla years ago it was being fenced and the lads in their wisdom decided that running a digger along the line of the old fence to clear the way for the new fence was the way to go. Unfortunately, I had about 10 cattle in a field and they discovered the missing fence before I did! They walked miles up the railway until getting into a field. Man who owned the field gathered them up and put them in a shed - of course he didn't have a clue who owned them.
    I was 3 days looking for them!

I have a cow who is able to jump a field gate without touching it when she is calling. If we don't spot her in time (she moos for a while first) she's gone for 2 days 'til her hormones settle. Every year I threaten to sell her, but then she goes in calf and I know won't put a foot wrong for the next 10/11 months. Her first calf was a charolais! Neighbour's bull was delighted to see her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

On another occasion my father had just bought a trailer and on the first use he decided to bring cattle to the mart. We put 4 in the trailer and he set off, intending to call in to the house before going on to the mart. Arrived at the house, but there was no animals in the trailer. The back door hadn't closed properly and they just stepped out as the tractor started to move. When we went back to look for them they were just eating at the side of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

i live along the main road with a byeroad facing us , often got blamed when the farmers cattle up the byeroad came down and over the main road and into some one s lawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

Ballybay it was.

what gave it away the school?

The field i was referring to is the field that wylies hill housing estate is now built in.

Yeah de four court straight across and then the school to the right. Might have heard someone say it before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

Bought a lovely aa/sh cross heifer for bulling from a neighbour. He was a peculiar gentleman to say the least and she was too..
    AI'd her and when her time was up but calved a dead one. Put her in with the other culls for fattening. About 5 weeks later she disappeared without trace and arrived back a few days later later herself. I had searched the country but no explanation as to where she went. When she was getting fat I arranged a load for the factory. Agents truck couldnt hold them all so I left her for the next time he was round. Agent got ill shortly after that (his last load as it happened) so I put her on hold. Of course she was found to be in-calf and next time calved twins herself! Kept her for over 10 years after that and got 2 more sets of twins from her. But the spookiest thing...the old man I'd bought her from died and when I'd returned from the funeral I'd found she keeled over. RIP to them both !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

a cousin of bought a few cattle in the mart one day and as he was loading one went flying-down the yard and out the gate.tough as you like he sat in his jeep and off home with him.-sure enough he got a phone call a week later from a fella who had the bullock in his yard a few miles away from the mart.over he goes,backs in his box and loads him up no messing:cool:-made a lot more sence than chasing around the country after him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

a year or so before i arrived at beef feedlot in the states they were loading finished cattle and 2 big lads cleared a top rail and away and out there (Mid west -Ohio) there are no neighbours or fences just vast open country, there had been a few sightings of the two cattle cant remember the breed of the second lad as i never saw him.

Boss said to me if i could track/capture them i could keep them/or the money they made so i was always on the look out, we knew the woods they were in.. word was out anyways that i was mad to get the cattle back (young student, mad for money) local hunting hero came to me and said one word .."SNOW" wait until the snow comes as its the only time you'll track them and know the tracks from regular deer tracks

snow came and sure enough we discovered the beast, an absolute monster must have been 4 year old a big silver charolais with a dark nose came out into the clearing and Bang, johnnie darted him, dragged him out and scooped him into the caterpillar 966C loader, poised for a few photos and away.

johnnie took it a little too far then as he wanted to get into the bucket of the machine as we were going through the village/small town but while he was in the bucket didnt the tranquiliser start to wear off and this monster was thrashing about trying to get up.... i didnt have him tied or anything.. all i could do is dip the shoe and tilt the bucket back as we were nearly at the yard:):)

cant remember exactly my share of what we got out of him but it was some crack, other fella probably died or was better at hiding:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

ourselves and the uncles place are next to each other but on different roads. anyway there are a number of side roads and cross's very close by so if (when) anything breaks out they could go in anyone of 8 directions with in half a mile. The uncle used to buy in cattle at the start of the year and finish them so every now and then a few daft lads would come in. You only need one or two and the rest will follow them.

About 20 years ago he called up to our place in a bit of a panic no sign of the cattle about 20 missing. he had checked that morning to feed them and they were fine and was passing the field that they were in on his way to town when noticed no cattle in the field. Searched the whole farm and nothing, found a gap into our place. Myself and my dad then went a checked along by our place and found a gap on the ditch where they had come through and out on onto the road (they had broken through 2 strands of electric wire). I'd say we covered nearly every road within a 5 mile radius of the farm that evening but no cattle to be found. About a week later the uncle got a call from a lad at the other side of the parish (about 5/6 miles away) there were a dozen cattle after wandering into his yard and he had them in a shed. Uncle called up straight away and they were his. The farm bounds a forestry and when we got up three the cattle were roaring in that direction checked the woods and found the other 8. We actually walked them back all the way to the uncles place, took about 8 of us and two cars.

About a week later the uncle got a phone call from another lad to know if he got his cattle? He said he did why? the caller had spotted the cattle on the road and had left a message at the uncles place (note on door as it was before voicemail) but it must have fallen off and got lost. Anyway where his lad found the cattle was about 4 miles away from where they were found. looks like the cattle went into a steam to get water, got spooked and when up the steam until they found some where they could get out which was into the woods. only came out when they got hungry i'd say. was chatting to collite lad that works up there after and he said it was fairly common for cattle to end up there, he once heard of a lad finding them in there after about a month, cattle had escaped from a farm about 10 miles away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

A neighbour has the odd beast breaking out into ours. fences are ok, and he is always down promptly with the jeep, trailer and two sons to collect. so if something breaks in now, he just works away, hes no hassle.

The thing is, the sons... all are big lads 6'2 plus and strong and wide as oxes, but would never say a word to ya!
    I saw them a few months ago, in comes the rig, thr father gets out first with the walking sticks, takes a look around then the two sons emerge.
    one brought a half bag of nuts, went out the field, and all the cattle came running. He dropped a few nuts (now he must have had 20kg of nuts on the shoulder) cattle came following along nicely. Then he got to a feeding trough, about 15 ft long, weanlings would stand either side of it type, about 50 yards from the gate, mucky spot as well. picks up the trough under one arm, nuts under the other, walks the rest of the way into the yard and the cattle follow.
    i can barley manage the trough with two free arms!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

A neighbour has the odd beast breaking out into ours. fences are ok, and he is always down promptly with the jeep, trailer and two sons to collect. so if something breaks in now, he just works away, hes no hassle.

The thing is, the sons... all are big lads 6'2 plus and strong and wide as oxes, but would never say a word to ya!
    I saw them a few months ago, in comes the rig, thr father gets out first with the walking sticks, takes a look around then the two sons emerge.
    one brought a half bag of nuts, went out the field, and all the cattle came running. He dropped a few nuts (now he must have had 20kg of nuts on the shoulder) cattle came following along nicely. Then he got to a feeding trough, about 15 ft long, weanlings would stand either side of it type, about 50 yards from the gate, mucky spot as well. picks up the trough under one arm, nuts under the other, walks the rest of the way into the yard and the cattle follow.
    i can barley manage the trough with two free arms!

You don't happen to live beside the O'Briens of Tullow, do you?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sean_O'Brien_(rugby_player)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Rovi wrote: »
    You don't happen to live beside the O'Briens of Tullow, do you?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sean_O'Brien_(rugby_player)

Afraid not, im in tipp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Afraid not, im in tipp.

is it them hayes lads, fair sized boyo's. handy lads to have around at dosign time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭red bull

I heard of three cows breaking out onto road near Loughrea in the last week they collided with a jeep two were killed outright and the other had to be put down. Bad start to new year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭royalmeath

I bought a cow 10 years ago of a fella who was retiring. She seemed fine whe i went up to see her at his yard but when he dellivered her in the cow box she was going mental kicking the s*** out of the trailer. Your man says she is grand just a bit nervous, fine says I. Anyway she is in the yard two days with no problems and quiet as a lamb at milking time. The third morning I cop she isnt in for milking, I walk the whole farm and cannot see a bit of her so I walk the neighbouring farms still no sign. I hadnt a clue where she had got to. 3 days later and still no sign, Im heading up the road in the tractor and about two miles from the yard i see her in a field with a high hedge tried to walk her into a pen in the field but she went running like desert orchid. Rang your man and told him he could deal with her, thankfully he did and he gave me a refund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Kilmac1

Worked on a big beef farm for 2 years so we had our share of break outs,

had a big Belgium blue break in to a field of charioles bulls and before we could get him out they had him killed.

also had a heifer and a couple of bulls leap out over the crush and over me

had neighbours cattle in ours and they never realised they were missing etcc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭vcshqkf9rpzgoe

They broke out today,spent 20mins getting them back in!:P