Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Playoffs 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,217 ✭✭✭Justin10

Seriously this isnt first injured player to play. Rivers literally played on one leg.

If he was pulled out of the game and lost Redskins fans and owner would of went crazy.
    They didnt give a shed load of picks for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

eagle eye wrote: »
    This is not soccer lads, its a hard game and the coach has to make whatever decision he thinks gives him the best chance to win. If he took RGIII before they went behind he would be castigated for it by the fans. He clearly thought that leaving him in gave them the best chance to win.
    It doesn't matter what game it is, if your star player is clearly suffering on 1 leg, and is totally ineffective throwing and running, you get him out of the game and bring in Cousins who has already won one game already himself.

Cousins at 100% IMO is more effective then RG3 on 1 leg.

On top of that he could have led to RG3 getting a very serious injury on top of his existing one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Hawks should have punched that one in. Cousins is no Joe Webb so Skins still have a chance

An back up running QB who was drafted into a playoff game at Lambeau having not thrown a pass all year should not become the QB of ridicule in the league.

Go back to Sanchez/Gabbert/Lindley please :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Cousins to come on and do a Kurt Warner on it.

So are people saying that RG3 isnt an effective QB when he cant run the ball?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

This is not soccer lads, its a hard game and the coach has to make whatever decision he thinks gives him the best chance to win. If he took RGIII before they went behind he would be castigated for it by the fans. He clearly thought that leaving him in gave them the best chance to win.

It was blatantly obvious leaving him in was doing them no good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Seriously this isnt first injured player to play. Rivers literally played on one leg.

If he was pulled out of the game and lost Redskins fans and owner would of went crazy.
    They didnt give a shed load of picks for nothing.

The shed loads of picks is worth **** all if he gets injured for a long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

is there any late night game on the TV tonight, SKY ect ect

Don't see anything in the listings, normally C4 have it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

No, when he can't stand on his legs properly, pretty obvious thats what is being said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    An back up running QB who was drafted into a playoff game at Lambeau having not thrown a pass all year should not become the QB of ridicule in the league.

Go back to Sanchez/Gabbert/Lindley please :pac:

Not ridiculing Webb. Just that it shouldn't be impossible to come back with Cousins, although Hawks D really balling now

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭J. Football

Are you saying an injured knee only affects his ability to run the ball and everything else remains unaffected?

No one said that, we all said he was in danger of being badly hurt!

Redskins aint guarnteed to get back to playoffs again, RG3 will be fine. :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Thing is, if RG3 was playing well on one leg, leave him in there hurt - but since he hurt his knee, he was completely ineffective, Redskins haven't scored since he went down

No. This is final playoff game of the weekend

No game, this is the last one of the weekend. C4 is done for the year, sky have eclusive rights to the playoffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,977 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

And right there you seen why he left in RGIII. Cousins can't run and because of that the Seahawks are going to come after him all day. They couldn't do that even with a hobbled Griffin.

That is poor by cousins or the centre, probably the centre not to pick up the blitz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Seahawks Defence have really shown why they're the best around in this second half. Matt Ryan and those recievers against this D is a mouth-watering prospect next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭JazzyJ

DDC1990 wrote: »
    It doesn't matter what game it is, if your star player is clearly suffering on 1 leg, and is totally ineffective throwing and running, you get him out of the game and bring in Cousins who has already won one game already himself.

Cousins at 100% IMO is more effective then RG3 on 1 leg.

On top of that he could have led to RG3 getting a very serious injury on top of his existing one.

This. Can't believe they left him in as long as they did.

But, RG3 has to shoulder some of the blame also. He's the one who knows what the injury feels like and if its as bad as it looks he should be saying he can't give 100%.

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Seahawks Defence have really shown why they're the best around in this second half. Matt Ryan and those recievers against this D is a mouth-watering prospect next week

Indoors. Oh boy that game will be a treat

JazzyJ wrote: »
    But, RG3 has to shoulder some of the blame also. He's the one who knows what the injury feels like and if its as bad as it looks he should be saying he can't give 100%.

You have got to be joking ??

• Site Banned Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Ares

Those criticising Mike Shanahan for leaving RG3 in the game would want a word with themselves.

He's turned around this franchise and he knew that having RG3 in there was their best hope of winning this game. Its the playoffs, if he gets hurt then tough shít, he has 8 months to recover. Seattle know that Cousins can't run so they're gonna blitz them till the cows come home.

He's not the first QB to play injured. Far from it.

35 minutes without a score was it? Yeah he was doing well playing injured.

Russell Wilson deserves alot of credit tonight. In the face of pressure ane being sacked 5 times he has gone 15 of 25 for 187 yards n a TD and another 67 yards rushing. Great stuff in your playoff debut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Why would that be a joke?! He knows his body, if he's hurting he should be informing the team, we learned today that when he got the initial injury he did his best to avoid a medical assessment and then just running back onto the field! Has to learn not to jeopardize himself!

Ares wrote: »
    Those criticising Mike Shanahan for leaving RG3 in the game would want a word with themselves.

He's turned around this franchise and he knew that having RG3 in there was their best hope of winning this game. Its the playoffs, if he gets hurt then tough shít, he has 8 months to recover. Seattle know that Cousins can't run so they're gonna blitz them till the cows come home.

I think those prioritising a team winning over the health and well-being of their players are the ones that need to have a word with themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭JazzyJ

No.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

Well I think it's safe to say Shanny was ****ed either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Any good websites that will explain the rules of the game for me? really want to get into this sport but don't have a clue what's going on LOL. Wikipedia just confused the hell out of me!

Redskins recievers as a whole have been really poor.

Pulling their arms away all over the shop.

• Site Banned Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Ares

I think those prioritising a team winning over the health and well-being of their players are the ones that need to have a word with themselves.

You do understand football right? Winning is what's important at this level. If RG3 is an offensive guard do you think there would be half the worry. Or are some people more equal than others?

Cousins has been gash since he came on. Shanahan was justified, not that he needed it, in his decision.

nocoverart wrote: »
    Any good websites that will explain the rules of the game for me? really want to get into this sport but don't have a clue what's going on LOL. Wikipedia just confused the hell out of me!
    http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/understanding-footballs-downs-yardage-and-stuff.html

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

One thing playing injured and being effective, completely different playing injured and not being effective. Skins didn't score in 35 mins of play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭jj1

Kinda fall in the middle of this. Anyway who's played team sports knows there are lads that will say they can't play due to a niggle & lads who will literally play on one leg with the other f**ked. Obviously you are better off if you are able to put a niggle to the back of your mind but also if you can draw a line & know when long term damage is possible.

RG3 is obviously a bit of a hero & fair play to him for that but seriously the Redskins staff should have taken him out. He was obviously hurt, knees can cause career long trouble if damaged badly & he wasn't effective for the team either. The doctor who was passing responsibility earlier must be blind if he didn't see RG3 struggling.

Think Seattle will have a better chance next week that Redskins would have. Think Atalanta would have went well against the Redskins defence.

nocoverart wrote: »

http://www.nfl.com/rulebook/beginnersguidetofootball

To be honest your best bet is to learn on the go. The more games you watch the easier it becomes. You have another big game tomorrow night in college football Alabama v Notre Dame

So you think Tom Brady should not have been playing when he had 3 broken ribs? Are you criticising Belichick for that?

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Redskins recievers as a whole have been really poor.

Pulling their arms away all over the shop.

Hankerson in particular coming over the middle a few times

You do understand football right? Winning is what's important at this level.
    eagle eye wrote:
    So you think Tom Brady should not have been playing when he had 3 broken ribs? Are you criticising Belichick for that?

Because RG3 was doing a good job of winning regardless of the injury, yes? Putting up Tom Brady numbers?

Before injury: 6-of-9, 68 yards, 2 TDs.
    After injury: 3-of-7, 8 yards, INT.
    Ares wrote:
    If RG3 is an offensive guard do you think there would be half the worry. Or are some people more equal than others?

What's that got to do with it? I wouldn't want to see any player continuing to play on a dangerous injury that is obviously painful and hindering their performance and the teams as a result. Star first round Quarterback or UDFA special teamer.

Three broken ribs will heal - you can cause long term damage to the knee by playing on when not right

You do understand football right? Winning is what's important at this level. If RG3 is an offensive guard do you think there would be half the worry. Or are some people more equal than others?

Cousins has been gash since he came on. Shanahan was justified, not that he needed it, in his decision.

And RG3 was super effective???

Its like in Horse Racing, Ruby Walsh pulled Kauto Star up long before the finish in last years Gold Cup. Kauto is a fantastic horse, had the potential to win, but he wasn't fit enough to be fully effective, Ruby knew this and pulled him up, so the horse wouldn't suffer.

The horse was treated better then RG3.

HigginsJ wrote: »
    http://www.nfl.com/rulebook/beginnersguidetofootball

To be honest your best bet is to learn on the go. The more games you watch the easier it becomes. You have another big game tomorrow night in college football Alabama v Notre Dame

What time is that on??

Three broken ribs will heal - you can cause long term damage to the knee by playing on when not right
    He played multiple games while they were broken.

What time is that on??

Not 100% coverage starts on ESPN at 10

What time is that on??

Not till 1am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Have to agree, broken ribs won't end a career, but if you get a serious lateral movement on an already damage knee. Then it could be time to collect your pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Anyone catch the clip there of Richard Sherman mouthing off again at the end? For a man that should have been serving a drug ban, he sure knows how to draw attention to himself.

He played multiple games while they were broken.

But they are bones, much easier to heal than any ligament damage you can sustain in the knee. Land on an already injured knee the wrong way, and it can be career ending. I can understand both arguments - but when your star player is out there, with a huge risk of doing something to his knee, after twisting it already in the game and being completely ineffective since then, the easy call is to leave him out there, the brave call imo is go to your reserve. RG3 had already gone down on it, soldiered on but was completely ineffective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

I somewhat recall when Jay Cutler went down with probably a similar injury in the NFCCG two seasons ago and was pulled/left the game on his own bat...what does everybody do only criticise it as a "soft" decision. Can understand the logic behind pulling him but at the same time Cousins was evidently unable for that defence and you don't just effectively wave the white flag in the team's biggest game in 13 years.

Basically, as one poster alluded to, in a similar way to when cutler got banged up in chicago two years ago, the minute those injuries occured, the coaches were ****ed either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Anyway guys after taking it all in id like to thank the skins for a great season no 1 running team in the league very exciting to watch we have some super players to build a team around trust me this is the best skins team in a long long time and we will only get better i think httr!!! Oh and good luck to seahawks hope you guys go on to win it out now