Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loyalist flag protesters to target Oireachtas tricolour in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

bbam wrote: »
    The best thing would be ignore them. Nothing better for kids and their tantrums, let's just get on with things.
    Can you imagine, not one objector nor media person takes a second look at them. This all to create a reaction, by making a reaction we are giving them what they want.

This.

The best outcome would be if they were met by quiet streets and no additional guards on duty. Let them bang their drums for a few minutes to a response of total silence and people looking blankly at them, then let them shuffle off confused.

However what I think will happen is 'rent a Glasgow Celtic/Liverpool FC crowd' will end up in a bit of handbags with the Guards who are protecting Frazers mob and maybe someone will punch Charlie Bird again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭paddzdaman

ah Those protestants ... up to no good as usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

I'll admit to hating and moaning about scumbags but I have to say they have their uses. It'll be funny to see the unionists get their asses handed to them if they come down here again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,491 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Larbre34 wrote: »
    This.

The best outcome would be if they were met by quiet streets and no additional guards on duty. Let them bang their drums for a few minutes to a response of total silence and people looking blankly at them, then let them shuffle off confused.

However what I think will happen is 'rent a Glasgow Celtic/Liverpool FC crowd' will end up in a bit of handbags with the Guards who are protecting Frazers mob and maybe someone will punch Charlie Bird again.

What do Liverpool have to do with it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 122 ✭✭Grass between the tracks

It is a club supported by many in the republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

It is a club supported by many in the republic.
    And in Asia ..... Your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Willie Frazer should run for TD!

IMO hes bi-polar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

A very small minority of every clubs fans are scumbags.

Seeing Liverpool in there is a tentative step away from the Celtic fan stereotype which is utter bollox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

mikeym wrote: »
    Willie Frazer should run for TD!

IMO hes bi-polar.
    And he is a drunk.

He has problems anyway, if he wasn't such a wanker who goes around whipping sectarianism up at every turn, I'd feel bad for mocking him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭afro man

Actually a highly offensive term, it is as much slang as "taig" or "Ni&&er":mad:

in the words of another northern saying " wind your neck down" i highly offensive term is totally over the top :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

You mean Celtic, surely? Liverpool is traditionally the protestant team on Merseyside. It was founded by an Orangeman, John Houlding. The club's first manager was a man called John McKenna, another Orangeman, from Monaghan. It would be weird for Liverpool fans to be out protesting against loyalists. Anfield the area is probably the strongest loyalist area (and one of the very few) in England.

Anyway, on topic, I hope common sense prevails and this does not proceed. It seems to have died in the media, thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

Larbre34 wrote: »
    This.

no such team as Glasgow Celtic.. its Celtic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

curlzy wrote: »
    I'll admit to hating and moaning about scumbags but I have to say they have their uses. It'll be funny to see the unionists get their asses handed to them if they come down here again.

This is the kind of all-inclusive Ireland unionists keep hearing about, right enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

gallag wrote: »
    You seem to be enjoying it and disgusted by it. Strange.

I'm disgusted by it? I thinks its a timely reminder, dem wacky loyalistas might be living in the previous century but they havent gone away ye know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Bambi wrote: »
    I'm disgusted by it? I thinks its a timely reminder, dem wacky loyalistas might be living in the previous century but they havent gone away ye know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

COYW wrote: »
    You mean Celtic, surely? Liverpool is traditionally the protestant team on Merseyside. It was founded by an Orangeman, John Houlding. The club's first manager was a man called John McKenna, another Orangeman, from Monaghan. It would be weird for Liverpool fans to be out protesting against loyalists. Anfield the area is probably the strongest loyalist area (and one of the very few) in England.

Anyway, on topic, I hope common sense prevails and this does not proceed. It seems to have died in the media, thankfully.

and we all know what KOP stands for;)

Dirty little feckers:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

and we all know what KOP stands for;)

Dirty little feckers:pac:
    What does a South African Hill where the battle of Spion Kop took place have to do with anything? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

DDC1990 wrote: »
    What does a South African Hill where the battle of Spion Kop took place have to do with anything? ;)

If that's what you want to believe:p

• Site Banned Posts: 11 why o why?

I dare somebody to stand on the other side of the street, Garda line or whatever with a pole that has a Union Jack on it. Then very dramatically lower said flag and raise a tricolour or a piece of cloth with a red hand giving the finger!

This is comedy gold... Sadly I ain't around Dublin for it....

Death wish much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

COYW wrote: »

You mean Celtic, surely? Liverpool is traditionally the protestant team on Merseyside. It was founded by an Orangeman, John Houlding. The club's first manager was a man called John McKenna, another Orangeman, from Monaghan.

Everton was controlled by the same type of people. LFC was formed by people formerly running Everton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

I don't want to over simplify things but I'd imagine this will be the calibre of "protesters"

• Site Banned Posts: 11 why o why?

I don't want to over simplify things but I'd imagine this will be the calibre of "protesters"

I'd say he's a bit of craic... I hope he goes down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Thats an undercover leprechaun. Dont blow his cover or the loyalists will get all the gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Substitute the above for asian/black/arab/catholic etc.

Northern Protestants, though? Fair game indeed.

Demonising a set of people - no matter how odd they or their beliefs may seem - has always been a useful tactic of terror movements.

It seems things haven't changed in the minds of some in 'modern' Ireland.

Classy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Demonising a set of people - no matter how odd they or their beliefs may seem - has always been a useful tactic of terror movements.

Classy.

But.It's just a fleg.

Indeed. But the East Belfast mob fail to understand the fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Classy.

Since when did the loyalist rabble represent the majority of Protestants in NI?

Idiocy is idiocy and should be called out as such - regardless of ethnicity, creed or political affiliation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Yeah because these guys are really representative of your average decent northern Protestant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Yeah because these guys are really representative of your average decent northern Protestant.

Decent as long as they don't express an opinion - right? :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

There's opinions and incitement to hatred, bigotry and sectarianism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Which is exactly Mr_Spaceman's "Stay classy" Ireland argument - we're decent unless expressing an opinion about a radical group of loyalists.

Also they didn't just express an opinion, they took over Belfast for days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

Im really sick of all this NI bollocks, lets be honest here thats all it is,

I recall a day when the Queen visited the Garden of Remembrance, Dorset street was filled with yobs shouting "Up the Ra" and "**** The Queen"....while simultaneously hurling bricks, bottles and anything else they could get their hands on at Members of the Garda who are Irish Citizens and who work for the Irish Government to Protect Irish people.

The same can be said for up north, their counterparts are almost as stupid, rioting and injuring other Fellow Citizens who possibly have the same beliefs as them while trying to make a political statement. Long gone are the days when members of "Those Sort" of groups where Intellects who could have a decent debate

nah, nowadays their Celtic Supporting, Love/Hate watching, "Scratcher" Drawing, Aslan Worshiping, Low income Family........Willyheads

Almost agree with you, in that there's no monopoly on stupidity but surely their financial bearing and "social" status shouldn't come into it. I think we're above snobbery, yes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Looking for an argument I'm not making is it?
    Far be it for me to defend so-called loyalists (spit) but they do have a right to protest peacefully, regardless of how dumb the reasons, which the majority probably are doing.

As for the police getting heavy handed and shooting to kill and battering the life out of people, well, fucking facepalms all round to you who have learned absolutely sweet fuck all from the past.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=82184554&postcount=299

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

jonnny68 wrote: »
    With a name like old hippy shouldn't you be off taking mescaline and sitting naked in a field

Still waiting; don't you think we should be sticking to the topic in hand, jonny?

However much you don't like it, NI/the 6 counties is part of the UK, so that makes it redundant telling the loyalists to eff off to the UK.

Wouldn't you agree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Clarehobo

So does anyone actually know if this protest is happening and if it is when? I want to avoid Dublin city centre if it is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

anyone know any loyalists personally?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

anyone know any loyalists personally?

I have about 3 loyalist friends and a few "companions".My friends are all from the shankill road,sound as a pound too.I used to go to there's with no problems at all when i lived up there,i even drank in the rangers club one night (god help me),but still had no bother at all.This was 3 years ago or so,i don't think i'd be doing the same now.

But anyway,they're all great to get along with,best friends you could hope for but they can be very highly strung when it comes to religion or the background they come from.It's like they always put it ahead of everything but they won't show it.For example,even though we were friends,i lived in a "catholic" part of west belfast and they would never ever dream of entering the area,not because they might be in danger,just because it was a "fenian ****hole".Basically they can be really nice and the best of friends,but there's always still that little bit of mistrust.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    I have about 3 loyalist friends and a few "companions".My friends are all from the shankill road,sound as a pound too.I used to go to there's with no problems at all when i lived up there,i even drank in the rangers club one night (god help me),but still had no bother at all.This was 3 years ago or so,i don't think i'd be doing the same now.

But anyway,they're all great to get along with,best friends you could hope for but they can be very highly strung when it comes to religion or the background they come from.It's like they always put it ahead of everything but they won't show it.For example,even though we were friends,i lived in a "catholic" part of west belfast and they would never ever dream of entering the area,not because they might be in danger,just because it was a "fenian ****hole".Basically they can be really nice and the best of friends,but there's always still that little bit of mistrust.

Likewise, I have several friends from over the border who are from a Unionist background. Two of which are married and living here. The reason I asked was because I have a hunch that some boards members are a bit in the dark as to what the consensus among the Unionist community is on this flag issue.

So what is the consensus ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

I should have thought that many members of the broader unionist community are offended by the new flag arrangements but are not going to take the streets over it.

betrayal, anger and disbelief.. at a regime they had been told if they had stayed loyal to, would reciprecate that loyalty. It also has to do with the battle of the Somme.

So the protestors are representing normal unionist opinion not just radical opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

betrayal, anger and disbelief.. at a regime they had been told if they had stayed loyal to, would reciprecate that loyalty.

Awesome, identity based on horse trading. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

old hippy wrote: »
    Still waiting; don't you think we should be sticking to the topic in hand, jonny?

However much you don't like it, NI/the 6 counties is part of the UK, so that makes it redundant telling the loyalists to eff off to the UK.

Wouldn't you agree?

NI/ 6 counties is a 'specially defined' part of the UK and that is what Unionists/Loyalists still won't accept. It is 'specially defined' by an international agreement which outlines rules and guidelines designed to keep the peace and more importantly include everybody in governance. That is what allows the IRA to stay on ceasefire. Contingent in the process is committment to making the environment normal (because it isn't)
    The fallback argument that it is a part of the UK and must be run like the rest of the UK is just that, a fallback, and is quite wrong. Governance is going to be different for a long time as the situation normalises. Unionists have to grasp just how 'abnormal' NI became under their dominance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

For me and every single unionist I have talked to, the consensus is it would be nice to get it back up democratically, it would also be nice if the idiots blocking our roads would **** off. There is a felling this was an attack on our community, the timing was poor and it is hard to call it democracy when the smallest party had the say in what happend, its not like the alliance party were voted in on the manifesto of removing the flag, and when the people call for an actual ballot box vote we are told its not important enough???

I get that many people will say "its just a flag" but there is a fear of sinn fein, it was not long ago that many in sinn fein were trying to kill us now the first time they get a hint of a majority they do this. Dontforget on the very same day sinn fein voted to keep a play park named after an ira terriost that killed iinnocent Protestant workers in kings mill bakery, they do not care about creating an environment where all feel comfortable at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

These loyalist arseholes are not pissed off that the flag was taken down. They're angry that it was voted down. They are soon to be a minority in the North and that is something they just can't stomach. They were happy to go along with majority consensus when the ball always bounced their way back in the 70's and 80's but when natural demographic (and consequently democratic) shifts started to go against them they're all up in arms about betrayal or some sh!t.
    Catholics and Nationalists didn't take to the streets hurling rocks at the RUC or the Gardai when the Republic gave up its territorial claim on the North to appease these petulant little dickheads but when they have to make a concession they sling their rattle out of the pram.

Fucking babies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Is it not the case that the new numbers of days on which the Butcher's Apron will fly over Belfast's City Hall is now in line with cities in Britain?