Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anyone in manchester

• 02-01-2013 8:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭

Working in manchester as a qs, just wondering is anyone else working/living in manchester. Where do ye socialise?? Any Irish clubs etc about??

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,727 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I live and work in south Manchester. As far as socialising goes I don't as I know next to noone here. There's an Irish bar called O'Shea's in the city centre I might check out. There's a few suggestions in the "What do you miss about home?" thread in the London subforum if you're stuck.
    There's bound to be a few Irish clubs in Manchester. Never really got round to googling it.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭JoseJones

I'm in Chester, not too far away and I haven't come across many Irish people here at all. There is a big Irish community in Manchester tho, Fiddlers Green pub in Levenshulme is where I would go to watch a hurling match. There is football and hurling teams if you're into that. What is a qs btw?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,727 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I had to google it. It stands for Quantity Surveyor.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users Posts: 915 ✭✭✭whatnext

Working in manchester as a qs, just wondering is anyone else working/living in manchester. Where do ye socialise?? Any Irish clubs etc about??

Where in manchester are you living? There are plenty of GAA Clubs. Even if you don't play they are a good place to start meeting people.
    I lived there for nearly 10 years and still have a lot of ties there. I always thought O'Shea's in town was a bit of a kip, preferred Mulligans near Kendles off Deans Gate.
    There was always a bit of craic in the Irish club in Chorlton especially for the Gaa games. St Kentigans in fallowfield was a good buzz too.
    Depends on your age too I suppose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭gstack166

Hi, I've a lot of family in Manchester & I'm th
    Ere every second week myself as a season ticket holder for Manchester City. The Whalley Range pub in Whalley range in Manchester is an Irish pub, it's owned by my Gran Uncle Eddie Leavy. Shows all your GAA etc & has Irish Music live every weekend, good crowd of Irish always in there too, be glad to meet any of ye for drink in there sometime.

Very seldom you'll find any Irish in city centre pubs it seems. south Manchester has a big contingent of Irish especially in Wythenshawe but unless you have business there, you wouldn't fancy just going there to drink, it's a bit rough (I should know, I stay there at my Aunts every time I go)

Not dying about O'Sheas myself. Must give Mulligans a go.
    I work in Wythenshawe and it's definitely somewhere I'd recommend staying away from, especially at night.

Not dying about O'Sheas myself. Must give Mulligans a go.
    I work in Wythenshawe and it's definitely somewhere I'd recommend staying away from, especially at night.

Where in Wythenshawe do you work mate? & can you swing us a job lol get me out of this place! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

o neills in didsbury can be good but its a long spin from my place.
    I dont personaly like mulligans. Always too crowded on weekends

o neills in didsbury can be good but its a long spin from my place.
    I dont personaly like mulligans. Always too crowded on weekends

so which part of the City are you in?

whatnext wrote: »
    so which part of the City are you in?

Living in Salford, Higher Broughton

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 786 ✭✭✭fangee

gstack166 wrote: »
    Hi, I've a lot of family in Manchester & I'm th
    Ere every second week myself as a season ticket holder for Manchester City. The Whalley Range pub in Whalley range in Manchester is an Irish pub, it's owned by my Gran Uncle Eddie Leavy. Shows all your GAA etc & has Irish Music live every weekend, good crowd of Irish always in there too, be glad to meet any of ye for drink in there sometime.

Very seldom you'll find any Irish in city centre pubs it seems. south Manchester has a big contingent of Irish especially in Wythenshawe but unless you have business there, you wouldn't fancy just going there to drink, it's a bit rough (I should know, I stay there at my Aunts every time I go)

No harm dude but are ya trying to get her mugged ?

It's hardly the kind of place you'd send your mates never mind some single lass.

fangee wrote: »

It's hardly the kind of place you'd send your mates never mind some single lass.

FYI, im a guy

How committed to Salford are ya ?

Chorlton is one of the better places to live in Manchester.

FYI, im a guy

So why did I think you were a girl ?

Free rent, no bills, 5 mins from work... :)

I hear ya. Sounds like a sweet set up.

Well if you're after the Irish thing then Levenshulme and Chorlton have a few Irish bars/clubs.

The other Irish "bars" in the likes of Didsbury and the city centre are not really Irish if ya see what I mean.

Do you ever got to the cheetham hill irish centre??

Maybe it's been a while since you were in there, but never any trouble when I'm in there EVER. Brilliant at weekends, & loads of Irish branches of Manchester United Supporters Club meet before during & after games there with brilliant banter. Your probably afraid of your own shadow that's your trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

the world irish heritage center is in cheetham hill manchester,amust place to go,goggle it

Never really spent much time up that way, had a few half decent nights in the Cheetham Hill IC - but a few not so good too, it can attract strange types at times.

The Pev - Pevril of the Peak had a decent crowd, late twenties / early thirties Irish. Toms Chop House on Cross St the same.

You could get the metro out to Chorlton - always thought the Horse and Jockey in Chorlton Green was amazing, especially on a Sunday afternoon in the summer.

St Anne's GAA club based in Stretford would be a good place to meet up with lads, there are plenty of them involved in the construction game, I think they train in Turn Moss Stretford (again not far on the tram if you go for pints.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭branners69

I lived in Salford Quays for 3 years and loved it! Not quite Salford but not too far away!

Never really spent much time up that way, had a few half decent nights in the Cheetham Hill IC - but a few not so good too, it can attract strange types at times.

The Pev - Pevril of the Peak had a decent crowd, late twenties / early thirties Irish. Toms Chop House on Cross St the same.

You could get the metro out to Chorlton - always thought the Horse and Jockey in Chorlton Green was amazing, especially on a Sunday afternoon in the summer.

St Anne's GAA club based in Stretford would be a good place to meet up with lads, there are plenty of them involved in the construction game, I think they train in Turn Moss Stretford (again not far on the tram if you go for pints.

Was actually in St annes on my first week over, Paddys day almost two years ago :p... Nice place, Fell asleep on the bar (3/4 solid nights out had me wrecked)

Do you ever got to the cheetham hill irish centre??

That's another place I forgot to mention. You'll get any foods ya miss in there or many other places really.

You'll find a surprising amount of Irish in Manchester.

Some actually did head up the road after they got off the ferry in Liverpool.

I never really did the Irish thing when I was there so I'm afraid I can't opine too much.

To be honest it wasn't Irish girls I was after.

That's another place I forgot to mention. You'll get any foods ya miss in there or many other places really.

You'll find a surprising amount of Irish in Manchester.

Some actually did head up the road after they got off the ferry in Liverpool.

I never really did the Irish thing when I was there so I'm afraid I can't opine too much.

To be honest it wasn't Irish girls I was after.

I think ive went trough enough of the salford/manchester ones at this stage :p

Maybe it's been a while since you were in there, but never any trouble when I'm in there EVER. Brilliant at weekends, & loads of Irish branches of Manchester United Supporters Club meet before during & after games there with brilliant banter. Your probably afraid of your own shadow that's your trouble.

Not at all dude but I've been mugged TWICE outside that bar and I still miss that Nokia 8910i. It cost me £200 if I remember correctly.

I agree it seems a lot nicer (the pub not the area) than it was about 10 years ago but you're mad in the head if you think that Whalley Range is a safe area.

Either that or you lived in Harlem in the late 70's early 80's and are well up for it.

I think if you're being shipped in on a bus to the pub and heading off on said bus then it's a perfectly pleasant experience within the pub itself.

I lived within a couple of hundred yards of it for 3 years, an drank there quite a bit. The thing is though if you are not known there, or you don't know what's going on there is an edge to it like many other places. I've brought friends in there and more often than not they couldn't wait to get out, me on the other hand never noticed much. Also seen plenty of trouble there, but mostly over as quick as it started.

is the whalley range also known as the wally??

sure is

sure is

Have a few friends who drink there a good bit, (older guys ive known from my times coming here as a youngster, basically family friends) There does be a ot of trouble there alright but that wouldnt really bother me... I tend not to get into rouble unless someone else causes it

Dulcimer and Pi in Chorlton are good bars. Depends what you're into.

Chorlton has an easy going vibe. Not much trouble about either.