Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Mansfield Town v Liverpool FC - the Romance of the Cup at 4 pm ESPN

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭ManOnFire

here we go again! dot think it was deliberate, commentators a disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Aww luis no need for that

Fair play, intelligent comment.

( and i`m being genuine...in case this sounds sarcastic!! )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Suarez was getting tired of people starting to like him.

Suarez seemed to have the heir of someone who says if the referee didn't see then it's his fault not mine.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,276 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

The love for suarez is great!

Ah here

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

The handball is all we need. Now he's a cheat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Sickened with Suarez. If we go on to win here, that really takes the gloss off of the victory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

''The work of a cheat'' - Lol, if it was some English player that did it there would be little to no outrage on display

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Suarez doing what any footballer would.

Not cheating imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,510 ✭✭✭✭noodler

SantryRed wrote: »
    What box? Love how you just jump down someones throat for nothing. He is a cheat.

You're a cheat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

LOL at the ensuing sh1tstorm

To be fair, he didn't celebrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

You'd swear he murdered a Bus of School Kids. They way ESPN are going on .

Or Van Persie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

John Delaney will be looking for a replay....or for Mansfield to be the 3rd team in the FA Cup final :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

The handball is all we need. Now he's a cheat

If only the commentators came down hard on EVERYONE and not just Suarez. It's pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

deccurley wrote: »
    Sickened with Suarez. If we go on to win here, that really takes the gloss off of the victory.

Fair play Sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,750 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

ManOnFire wrote: »
    here we go again! dot think it was deliberate, commentators a disgrace

lol what? Couldn't have been any more deliberate. Commentators just calling it as they see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

IcK0T.jpg

Blatter wrote: »
    ''The work of a cheat'' - Lol, if it was some English player that did it there would be little to no outrage on display

This is key.

It was cheating.

However, the reaction is completely different when he does it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭Gru

daRobot wrote: »
    LOL at the ensuing sh1tstorm

To be fair, he didn't celebrate.

yeah he did, he kissed his wrist immediately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,676 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If only he had waited a week and doen it against United.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,229 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Meh, it's Mansfield.

If he does it against us next week, then I'll be outraged.

Daily Mail-style outraged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

noodler wrote: »
    You're a cheat.

No I'm not. Luis Suarez is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

To Alcohol to bed !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

I was wondering why he didn't celebrate

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

What box? Love how you just jump down someones throat for nothing. He is a cheat.

He didn't move his hand towards the ball. Good to see he still gets a good reaction from other teams fans :)

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭ShaneScouse

It really looked like he kicked ball into net in a kinda well thats not given ill turn around run back down the pitch now. It was the kick people give when called offside, a frustrating kick away,you can see it in his body language.

Then it was given and he can hardly turn around and say oi oi you cant give that, no striker in the world would, not for moral reasons but because it wouldn't make any difference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Suarez was just avoiding injury...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,889 ✭✭✭✭klose

I cringed so hard at the espn commentators there, sire it was wrong and against the rules but footballers are chancers anyways.

Id say their heads exploded when they heard about lance armstrongs doping

He scores how he wants

Luis Suarez. He scores how he wants.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

What was he going to do, turn around after scoring and tell the ref he hand balled it????

It just bounced off his arm as well. Need to see a replay to see is he guided it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

He was just warming his hand up for next Sunday's handshake with Evra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Are ye mad? The speed the ball bounced back, for fcuk sake it's a natural reaction to sometimes put your body in a position to control a ball if it whizzes past you quickly, be it hand/elbow/head/arse.

Bollox talk from the commentator which rightly p1ssed me off. If that was Rooney or someone he wouldn't have dared to make that disgraceful comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭To Alcohol

Leiva wrote: »
    To Alcohol to bed !

Ah he's good craic to have a pop at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Hahaha, you can almost smell the impotent rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    The love for suarez is great!

he works hard to receive it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

The commentator actually said Suarez showed his arm to the crowd.
    I really hope he scores a screamer now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

To Alcohol wrote: »
    You cheating low life bastard Suarez.

this is the kind of moronic abuse suarez has to deal with

ball is hit at his hand - he proceeds to roll it in, if officials don't spot it then it is not suarez's fault - blame the officials is not the preferred option though for those who want to get the pitchforks out and follow the media agenda where the story is "Suarez is the devil", thankfully only the type of people who can't think for themselves pr hate lfc follow this agenda, unfortunately there are a lot of them

oh and that espn commentator is a disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

I cringed so hard at the espn commentators there, sire it was wrong and against the rules but footballers are chancers anyways.

Id say their heads exploded when they heard about lance armstrongs doping

They are brutal. 15 seconds in, we put two passes together....'Liverpool have started brightly':eek:

No I'm not. Luis Suarez is.

You're good.

I don't see what is so bad about it.

Many players use their hand instinctively when they there is a ricochet in the box and immediately curse themselves when they are pulled up for it.

The only difference here, that I can see, is that there was an open goal gaping and the officials didn't spot it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Looking at the replay, don't blame Suarez. It's up to the refs and linesmen to disallow the goal. 99.9% of strikers are going to take advantage and put it in the net in case it goes their way, and it did in that case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,555 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

ESPN have not made any attempt to analyse that goal.

Have they made any effort to analyse and see if Suarez delibrately handled it?

Labelled him a cheat within seconds but no other player would do any different.

Fizman wrote: »
    Are ye mad? The speed the ball bounced back, for fcuk sake it's a natural reaction to sometimes put your body in a position to control a ball if it whizzes past you quickly, be it hand/elbow/head/arse.

Bollox talk from the commentator which rightly p1ssed me off. If that was Rooney or someone he wouldn't have dared to make that disgraceful comment.

Don't defend it.
    He knew what he was doing
    It happens
    Move on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Anyway I'm more concerned for Suarez. That ball hitting his hand could have killed him.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Yes it was a handball and should not have been given but the SEPN commentators are just embarrassing themselves here. Oh the humanity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Its the ref fault. Not Suarez.

No Conspiracy either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

IcK0T.jpg

I don't get this bollox tbh.

Why try and get one on us cause of a talking point? It was a handball, of course your going to get people coming in talking about, be it in a stupid way or not.

Rather than discuss it yourself, you'd rather go and get a picture of ned stark.

Bit sad.

edit: Forgot to mention the ESPN lads as well. The way they went about it was pathetic as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

All football related internets will have to be avoided for a few days me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Was a handball but not intentional

Commentators sound like sulking kids.

Anyway I'm more concerned for Suarez. That ball hitting his hand could have killed him.

Classic!

"He could have been killed"

It does appear to me to have been 'hand to ball' though.