Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Incessant whining

• 07-01-2013 1:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭

Our pup, he is almost 7 months, is a little drama queen. He gets put out the back garden some evenings when we are eating or if we just need 15 minutes to ourselves without him jumping up etc.

When he is out though, he just stands at the door and whines and howls. He lasted an entire episode of Homeland the other night ffs.

I know that he is just looking for attention but is there anyway at all of stopping this? He has toys out there and water and food. Its just very irritating and I am afraid that there will be a knock on the door from the neighbours saying to shut him TFU.

I should add that if he knows we are inside the nearest room he does this, pretty certain he is not as bad if we are not. Its our living room so not much we can do about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭Assassin saphir

My JRT puppy is doing the same. He hates going outside if he knows im in. Ive tried treats etc. I dont know how to stop it either.
    Mine is only 12 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭jsabina

Have you tried to give him toys with food inside, like the kong or a plastic bottle with kibbles inside?
    or have you tried crate training him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Does he have a kennel outside? If he does I would suggest making sure it's very cosy and comfy and when he's going outside give him a chewy treat or a stuffed kong that he can take to bed and relax with. He only gets this lovely kong when it's time to go out and hopefully he will start to associate being in his kennel with relaxing.

Now, for a lot of dogs being put outside is a punishment, so if for example he's begging at the table and you say "NO, OUT THE BACK" or if he jumps on a guest or something and his punishment is to be put out, it's not likely he will learn to associate being there with nice things. He will feel he is being punished and not know why.

It might help you to teach a solid "bed" command. Perhaps your dog would settle more if in the same room as you? Harley was a nightmare when he was younger, always looking for attention, climbing up and down, jumping up to lick your face etc. He genuinely didn't know how to relax. (He's still very highly strung)

We thought him that "bed" means he lies down on his blanket, quietly and he stays there unless he has a reason to get up like looking for a drink or the toilet. It doesn't mean lie on your blanket and get up every 2 mins to look for attention, it doesn't mean lie on your bed whining for attention and it definitely doesn't mean lie on your bed then start rolling across the floor until your under someone's feet then try rob their socks. :rolleyes:

We only use this command when he's been walked, fed, exercised, has been to the toilet and we know there is nothing he wants. He's much better at it now and will happily lie by the fire while we watch a film. We were shocked when Phoe came into the house and was happy to plonk on a bed and relax for the evening because with Harley we never had that. We had to teach it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

We do not have a kennel yet. We are getting one shortly. I have to clear some space for it. I think that might be the answer alright, a little corner of his own out there. He sometimes goes behind the shed for this but not too often.

gimmick wrote: »
    We do not have a kennel yet. We are getting one shortly. I have to clear some space for it. I think that might be the answer alright, a little corner of his own out there. He sometimes goes behind the shed for this but not too often.

Ah well in fairness I wouldn't want to be put outside with nowhere dry/warm/cosy to sit either :)

Honestly though, I think your best bet would be to teach him to stay on his bed when you want to relax. If you don't have a kong then definitely get one. You can start immediately and if you do it consistently, by the end of the week you could have a dog who is happy to just relax and give you a bit of peace.

He never took to his kong. Tried it a number of times but he has no interest in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Sigma Force

He's still a baby he should be fine as he gets older and feels more secure. Make the garden interesting, hide treats or his food around the garden, make it a fun place to be even if it is for 20 minutes. When you got him did you start him on crate training, when our youngest was little we'd pop him in there so we could eat in peace (well it was a playpen from maxi zoo) he still whined eventhough he was a few feet from us but he got used to it. It was only so we could eat dinner or clean the floor and let it dry ..so he wouldn't slip on it..but you'd swear we'd left him all alone for hours.

..he still will walk around the house whining until someone sits on the couch with him and that's with us in the same room :rolleyes: He's grand to be left alone though.

You will find it gets easier esp. if we get a bit of a summer by then he'll be older and will want to sit outside in the sunshine and chew on a treat or a bone.

For now maybe try using the crate and start on some basic training to stop any jumping up etc. don't feed from the table etc. there are loads of puppy and dog training classes (using humane methods) that can help with the training and also with socialising the pooch as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

gimmick...

Ok firstly you need to get him a kennel, it’s not really fair asking him to stay outside with no proper shelter etc… it’s just not inviting for a dog to be honest.
    Be sure to buy a kennel that is suitable for him when he’s an adult as dogs won’t use a kennel if they can’t turn around inside the back of the kennel when fully grown.
    Once you get the kennel, make sure it’s off the ground, so as to stop any cold / rain from making the bottom cold and damp…. Get him some vet bed it’s great for keeping him warm, it draws any wet away from him and plus its chew proof (for most dogs anyway):

http://www.zooplus.ie/shop/dogs/dog_beds_baskets/dog_blankets/vetbed/251997

Then put some nice treats down the back to entice him to go in, make it comfortable…. It will take time but after a awhile he will learn to like it.

With regard to his Kong… what are you putting inside it?
    IMO no dog can resist pate or Philadelphia low fat cheese spread…. You need to put something extra tasty in it to get him interested.

With regard to the whinging….
    To be very straight with you I have a cocker he’s nearly 8 years old now and at times he still cries.
    Cockers are very social dogs and just LOVE being around you all the time…. He will get better over time, but may still whinge at times.

He currently sees going out the back as a punishment and therefore he cries… the garden at the moment is of no interest to him, he has no kennel, toys aren’t much fun unless someone is playing helping you play with them and finally its dark and cold out there. He will improve in the summer months, maybe by playing with him in the garden he will learn not to see it as a punishment.

Here are some toys to help him entertain himself while outside… he’s probably a bit bored.

http://www.zooplus.ie/feedback/shop/dogs/dog_toys_dog_training/intelligence_games/146815

http://www.zooplus.ie/shop/dogs/dog_toys_dog_training/intelligence_games

http://www.zooplus.ie/shop/dogs/dog_toys_dog_training/activity_dog_toys/snack_activity_balls/217160

The last toy is excellent if you add some tasty treats… it will keep him entertained and knacker him out.

cocker5 wrote: »
    gimmick...

Ok firstly you need to get him a kennel, it’s not really fair asking him to stay outside with no proper shelter etc… it’s just not inviting for a dog to be honest.

On the to do list.
    With regard to his Kong… what are you putting inside it?

A few treats and jam and freeze it. No interest after a few seconds tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

On the to do list.

Jam?:eek: Why on earth would you put jam in a kong for a dog? its full of sugar.

I'd go with a crate inside rather than a kennel outside, you can put him in there when you need some peace and quiet, with the right training, he will go in there and stay in there with the door open.

Homeland is on for longer than 15 minutes, so i think my dogs would also be crying if they were put outside with no shelter for an hour.

Start easier, a bit of chicken/ham etc loosely packed in so he can tip it out will teach him that it holds food. Then move onto more difficult things like his dinner packed in, or tuna packed in. Only start freezing it when he's a dab hand (paw?) at emptying it.

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭nemo32

My guy loves soft cheese in his aswell. I fill it with his kibble and then just at the top I add 3-4 spoons of soft cheese. It look us a while to find things he likes otherwise he had no interest.
    Have loads of just opened peanut butter etc but looks like he's a fussy eater.. haha.
    I would give it a try again, it's a godsend once you find something they like.

OP…

I really don’t mean to sound unfair but you really should get yourself a book about dogs and read it.
    Shelter when outside is a BASIC requirement when you have a dog, as is correct nutrition.

I am sorry if that’s sounds harsh I really do but JAM??
    Are you trying to kill your cocker or something or at the very least give him diabetes??
    A pate paste or some sardines or low fat spreadable cheese smudged all over the inside will keep him occupied for hours.

About the kennel thing… again apologies for sounding harsh but he’s 7 months that’s given you 5 months already to get him a kennel. There not that expensive.

It’s not rocket science really he’s crying / whinging as he’s bored and lonely (for the time he’s outside)…

what other toys does he have? I suggested some toys to help him entertain and you didn’t seem to be bothered with them so no wonder he’s whinging.

From your responses I reckon you’ve never owned a dog…. You really need to do some research on how to care for them correctly.

Homeland is like an hour long… I wouldn’t leave my guy outside for that long… he goes and in out as he pleases.. and he wouldn’t be pleased if I left him outside alone, in the dark and cold for an hour.. infact he’s freak out.

Im sorry if I sound harsh but lots of posters have given some advice (myself included) and you don’t seem to bothered, I just hope that’s not the case.

How have I seemed not bothered? I have more or less taken everything on board when it comes to crate training to kongs, to the toys we have gotten him to his exercise. He has not got a kennel as he spends very little time outside on his own, simple as that.

I used jam as a vet recommended jam to me. Its not like I put a whole jar into it, I would put a light smearing on the food to give it a bit of taste.

Leaving him outside for so long was probably a mistake but the reasoning behind that was simply not leaving him back in while he was still whining as has been said to me time and again.

How have I seemed not bothered? I have more or less taken everything on board when it comes to crate training to kongs, to the toys we have gotten him to his exercise. He has not got a kennel as he spends very little time outside on his own, simple as that.

I used jam as a vet recommended jam to me. Its not like I put a whole jar into it, I would put a light smearing on the food to give it a bit of taste.

Leaving him outside for so long was probably a mistake but the reasoning behind that was simply not leaving him back in while he was still whining as has been said to me time and again.

Honestly if your vet did infact recommend you to use jam then i would be changing to a different vet
    :o

I'd agree, if your vet recommended jam I'd really be worried.

Anyway, with the whining, you're right, you shouldn't let him in while he's doing it, but you should be interactively not allowing him in if you know what I mean. If it's a constant whine, you wait for any break at all. Like 3 seconds, then let him see you walk towards the door, if he whines while you're walking over you stop dead, turn around and walk away, out of sight, until you get a break again. The dog will soon learn that whining makes you walk away from the door. Ok, you'll be back and forth from the door like a yoyo for a while, but if you keep with it, it will work.

It's important that when he's quiet, you let him in immediately. You can extend this when he's more relaxed out there and has somewhere nice to wait to be let back in.

Seriously though, I'd highly recommend teaching him how to relax indoors.