Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When you die....

• 07-01-2013 7:06pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭

...would you like your body to be "laid out"... and a wake to take place in your memory in your house???

Like in good olde Irish fashion. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Couldn't care less. If I could choose (and I can't really) I'd be burned in a field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

ScumLord wrote: »
    Couldn't care less. If I could choose (and I can't really) I'd be burned in a field.

That could be arranged, Wicker Man season is coming up.

<_<

>_>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I would. Plenty of food and drink and chatting. No bolloxing with tears or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭james142

When I die.. ..i die. Do what you want with me im dead. **** me in a river for all I care :)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,602 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I want to be put on the dart and made look like Im just asleep. Try and charge me Ianroid Eireann!

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭RubyWoo83

I want everyone to have a big **** off party and then to be cremated & turned into a diamond.... I have given this a lot of thought already!

http://www.lifegem.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I want to be laid out on a mountainside and left to be eaten by the birds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭ZombieBride

I'm going to science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

What does it matter, sure you're gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Composted...

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭SmilingLurker

MidlandsM wrote: »
    ...would you like your body to be "laid out"... and a wake to take place in your memory in your house???

I thought my grandad's wake was great fun, he would have loved it.

I will be dead, but I would recommend they have a party if my wife/ child want it. Funerals are for the living, not the dead. My dead body need not be present for the party....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Nothing like a good wake to catch up with people you haven't seen in ages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

I wouldn't want an open coffin anyway, a lot of people that go to wakes/funeral homes to pay respects don't even no the person who's dead, they just go in for a nose around.

If i had my way i'd be dumped into the sea.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

No, I think its very creepy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Viking burial please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Senna wrote: »
    Nothing like a good wake to catch up with people you haven't seen in ages.

You won't be doing too much catching up if it's your own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

kfallon wrote: »
    You won't be doing too much catching up if it's your own

or maybe i will

**Plays Twilight Zone theme tune**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Depends on whether I died peacefully in my sleep or was decapitated for being atheist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

This. I don't want to burden my family with like a €5,000 funeral bill.

I'm dead, I don't care what happens with my body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,880 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Laid out for all to see.

Oul lads coming to the house who never knew me, and are there for a free sandwich and a drink.

People looking at me and saying "doesn't he look like himself"

Others saying "ah, sure you wouldn't know it was him"

Some random lad saying "he's like the father"

Gamey oul fellow eyeing up my wife.

People outside the house saying "i won't go in, give my regards to the family"

Suppressed laughter coming from the kitchen when someone who knew me well, tells a dirty joke or a story about badness i once got up to.

Alternatively just fcuk me over a hedge up a back road...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Burned on a funeral pyre on one of the moons of Endor; thats if my son doesn't kill me first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

I dont really mind what happens, although the thoughts of a religious ceremony annoy me. i hope that doesnt happen, i dont want any priests involved in any way.
    As for my body id like to think it went on to help something, whether it be another human or a plant. so if it cant be donated then maybe buried under a tree so it can feed off me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

I wouldn't mind getting turned into a 12" vinyl for the craic :

http://www.andvinyly.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I will burn, like the heathen kings of old!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

I'd like my carcass to either be thrown off the Golden Gate Bridge or skewered on top of the spire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I'd like to be propped up in a corner, all pasty skinned with a vacant look on my face and a drink in my hand. It'll be like every other family gathering I go to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Stick me in the brown bin with the other organic waste for all I care.
    If my kidneys are still working, stick them in the green bin for recycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Senna wrote: »
    or maybe i will

**Plays Twilight Zone theme tune**

No. You won't :p

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I don't really want to be brought back to my house in a box, I'd prefer to be kept at a funeral home or wherever until burial. A wake could still of course happen without the body, I'd like people to sample my Scotch collection and have a good time.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

I keep telling the Missus she should cremate me in the fireplace, but she won't hear of it.

Apparently I'm being donated to science in return for a pair of Jimmy Shoes...or sumthing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I'd say they'd cremate me, if only to kill the smell of me feet. I'm not entirely convinced it will work tho. nothing else does anyway..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I want to be laid out on a mountainside and left to be eaten by the birds.

I saw a documentary where a tribe in the Himalayas did this. They had no earth to bury their dead. So they had the witch doctor expose the corpse' inners. Then he said a few prayers before the birds landed.
    Grandad is now flying with the eagles ;)

Beats worms anyday if you ask me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I'd love to have a wake something along the lines of the song Finnegan's wake, some craic would be had if they went by that song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Just put me in the brown bin.

Nah. I'd rather the last memory people have of me is a good one, one of me laughing or happy, not cold and lifeless.

I want a party though. Love a good party!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

I want to be digitized and inserted in boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

I dont want my family to have a massive bill.

I want to donate my organs to science or for transplantation, then be cremated.

Then I want my family to have a huge session in memory of me!

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭BASHIR

Weekend at Bernie's for me please. One last huzzah!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Surprised no-one has said they want to be stuffed & left in random places. Would be even better if there was a small camera & speaker operated by one your family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I'm like denim, gonna be sticking around forever bud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Having been to enough funerals in my time, I'd sooner people just didn't waste time with the funeral and the wake, etc, chances are they'll be cracking the champagne open when I'm gone anyway! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Dont call me Shirley

I wanna be cyrogenically frozen.

Just wondering if all the atheists who 'don't care' what happens their bodies object to necrophilia?

Just wondering like.... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭gdavis

laid out on a pool table in my favourite pub for a weekend and a session of epic proportions a la the wire

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Yep. Traditional all the way for me.

One thing I would love though, is if they put in a hidden ram in the coffin, so that some of my loved ones could press a button, make me sit up, and frighten the bejaysus out of any unwelcome guests at the wake.

I wanna be cyrogenically frozen.

Just wondering if all the atheists who 'don't care' what happens their bodies object to necrophilia?

Just wondering like.... :o

if that's what rocks your boat....work away....

wexie wrote: »
    if that's what rocks your boat....work away....

When I'm dead like....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

newmug wrote: »
    Yep. Traditional all the way for me.

One thing I would love though, is if they put in a hidden ram in the coffin, so that some of my loved ones could press a button, make me sit up, and frighten the bejaysus out of any unwelcome guests at the wake.

When I read the bolded part first, I thought "Jesus, he's a bit of a Fun Time Frankie!!", I thought you meant one of these!

Then I realised you meant a HYDRAULIC ram! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I don't want any fuss when I die. I'm having no funeral, I'm being wrapped in a shroud or having a wicker coffin then I'm being buried in a woodland grave with a native tree planted on me as a marker, no headstone, no fuss, just back to the earth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭Manc-Red

Hahahahaha!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus