Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where to start?

Options
  • 07-01-2013 11:32pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭

Hi there,

I hope this is not a stupid question but i need to start somewhere...

I have an idea for a product that does not exist, I have a few designs in my head and drawn down for schematics... its by no means fully designed, purely because i am not an engineer or have no idea how to begin a patent... But i do know how the product will function and am 99% on what parts are needed to do it...

I work in the emergency services and have identified the need for a product, it is not a 'in service' product so would not need to meet the strict rules or ratings that emergency service equipment and tools need to pass. It is simply a personal product to provide a bit of extra safety to ES personel...

What i need to know is... Can you patent an idea? or do i need to patent a design or what? because i would like to involve an engineer to help with design and identifying what parts would be needed and how to best source them.. but i dont want someone to run away with my idea if its not protected... Also if i was to get it patented and designs are ready to rock, how do i go about involving a company to manufacture the product, i know the cheapest way is to get someone in China to look after this but how the hell do i go about that? i would prefer to produce this product locally because the raw materials are very small and relatively cheap from what i can see, I would need a company to also look after injecting moulding as the product will be contained in a housing...