Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Preview 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭beaker1

heres the main bits i got at the exeter preview night last night 21/2/2013

•Philip Hobbs: Cheltenian may go to Aintree instead of Cheltenham
    •My Tent or Yours to hammer the bookmakers in the Supreme Novices' Hurdle.
    •Nicholls needs to see Fago jump well at Sandown tomorrow before he makes a decision about the Festival
    •David Pipe and Phillip Hobbs agree that Overturn will win the Arkle. Paul Binfield reckons Arvika Ligeonniere will win.
    •Paul Nicholls says there's nothing between Hurricane Fly, Zarkandar, Rock on Ruby and Grandouet for the Champion Hurdle.
    •Paul Nicholls says there doesn't appear to be any pace in the Champion Hurdle and jocs will have to ride accordingly
    •Pont Alexandre is the Irish banker of the meeting and is reckoned to be a monster says Paddy Power's Paul Binfield
    •Feltham Chase winners get beaten in the RSA, says the panel - Hadrians Approach is a market mover
    •Paul Nicholls "Sprinter Sacre is unbeatable. We're just looking for crumbs."
    •With the Champion Chase likely to cut up, the Ryanair Chase will be the race of the season, says Paul Binfield.
    •Wonderful Charm is fav for Coral Cup. Paul Nicholls says he's only had one run and he's in the dark about him.
    •Menorah will run in the Ryanair. Hobbs is very happy with him. It will be his 4th Festival.
    •Oscar Whiskey gets the verdict in the Ladbrokes World Hurdle.
    •Paul Nicholls says Far West is by far the best juvenile he has in training and will go well in the Triumph.
    •Alan King says its a poor race! Nicholls is taking A King to task and says the Triumph is a decent race. Paul Binfield is relieved Nicholls agrees with him.
    •Woodford County has a squeak in the Albert Bartlett and he's for sale says Philip Hobbs. He runs at Exeter Tuesday week.
    •Paul Nicholls says Bobs Worth is the one to beat in the Gold Cup. Pipe agrees but says The Giant Bolster also has a chance too.
    •Paul Binfield says Captain Chris is in form of life and is a huge price at 20-1 for the Gold Cup
    •Paul Nicholl's Charity bet is £100 ew on Dodging Bullets in the Supreme'
    •Philip Hobbs goes with Overturn in the Arkle
    •David Pipe goes with Cue Card in Ryanair
    •Andrew King's charity bet is £200 on Colour Squadron for Centenary Novice
    •Tanya Stevenson's charity bet is Our Mick for the JLT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Anyone know when there's a preview on in the big shhhmoooooke :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,548 ✭✭✭droidman123

i think there is one on in the bayside inn, in baldoyle next friday.

Thanks but Baldoyle is suburb territory I'm talking city centre. I think there was one on in Cafe En Seine last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Sir des champs

ste2010 wrote: »
    Thanks but Baldoyle is suburb territory I'm talking city centre. I think there was one on in Cafe En Seine last year
    Cafe en seine thurs 7th march 7pm

Heres a few more ste2010
    Feb 27th carnegie court hotel swords
    mar 3 louis fitzgerald hotel newlands cross
    Mar 5 bakers corner pub, kill o the grange
    Mar 6 westmanstown sports centre,dub 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭dicky dunne

Dublin Racing club have their one this thursday in Peadar Kearneys on Dame st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,394 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

The UL Racing society have a preview night tomorrow 25th @ 7pm in the Castletroy park hotel. Patrick Mullins, Robbie McNamara, Shark Hanlon, Kate Harrington, Bryan Cooper & Kevin O'Ryan from ATR is MC.

Dublin Racing club have their one this thursday in Peadar Kearneys on Dame st
    Who are the guests at that one? I can imagine that one being a bit more focused given its a racing club

Cafe en seine would be way to upmarket for me :)

Its more like a United Nations congregation these days..I think a few of the lads on here went to it last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Hoofer

I think these two look like decent previews to attend and for good causes.

Sunday 3rd March 2013Tote.com Cheltenham preview night.
    In aid of The National Rehabilitation Hospital in The Louis Fitzgerald Hotel Newlands Cross at 7.45 sharp. Doors open at 7pm. Admission only €15 which includes programme and finger food (served from 7pm to 7.30pm)
    Super Panel of Barry Geraghty, Davy Russell, Jessie Harrington, Tony Mullins, Robert Power, Niall Quinn and Matt Chapman as MC. Tickets available from Paul on 087 249 6074 or Louis Fitzgerald Hotel 01 403 3300

Wednesday 6th MarchWestmanstown sports centre, Dublin 15
    PANEL: Jonathan Mullin, Racing Post (MC), Davy Russell, Barry Geraghty, Ruby Walsh, Tom ‘Pricewise’ Segal, Paddy Power (Bookmaker), Henry De Bromhead and Conference Call with Willie Mullins and Paul Nicholls. Information: All proceeds in aid of ‘Paul Kennedy Appeal Fund’ and the ‘Sean Chew Trust’, Tickets €20 including €10 matched Bet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Hoofer wrote: »
    I think these two look like decent previews to attend and for good causes.

Sunday 3rd March 2013Tote.com Cheltenham preview night.
    In aid of The National Rehabilitation Hospital in The Louis Fitzgerald Hotel Newlands Cross at 7.45 sharp. Doors open at 7pm. Admission only €15 which includes programme and finger food (served from 7pm to 7.30pm)
    Super Panel of Barry Geraghty, Davy Russell, Jessie Harrington, Tony Mullins, Robert Power, Niall Quinn and Matt Chapman as MC. Tickets available from Paul on 087 249 6074 or Louis Fitzgerald Hotel 01 403 3300

Wednesday 6th MarchWestmanstown sports centre, Dublin 15
    PANEL: Jonathan Mullin, Racing Post (MC), Davy Russell, Barry Geraghty, Ruby Walsh, Tom ‘Pricewise’ Segal, Paddy Power (Bookmaker), Henry De Bromhead and Conference Call with Willie Mullins and Paul Nicholls. Information: All proceeds in aid of ‘Paul Kennedy Appeal Fund’ and the ‘Sean Chew Trust’, Tickets €20 including €10 matched Bet

Westmanstown is always a good night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Anyone know when there's a preview on in the big shhhmoooooke :-)

There's one on in Francis McKennas upstairs at Harolds Cross Bridge soon. Not 100% on details but it's generally €20 with finger food and a free bet and half of the proceeds go to the Hospice in Harolds Cross. Andrew Lynch will be there. I'll get more details if you want.
    Cafe en seine would be way to upmarket for me :)

Me and 3 of my mates went last year, 19/20 year olds born and bred inner city lads and then a culchie from Sligo aka RichieLawlessness.
    Cafe en seine thurs 7th march 7pm

Any more info apart from Geragthy being in attendance?
    Who are the guests at that one? I can imagine that one being a bit more focused given its a racing club

Guests are Danny Mullins, Shark Hanlon, Paudie Hassett & Johnny Ward.

Guest MC for the night is David Jennins.

€10 (including €5 bet courtesy of Boylesports)
    Prizes include €350 in free bets from Boylesports.

There's one on in Francis McKennas upstairs at Harolds Cross Bridge soon. Not 100% on details but it's generally €20 with finger food and a free bet and half of the proceeds go to the Hospice in Harolds Cross. Andrew Lynch will be there. I'll get more details if you want.

Me and 3 of my mates went last year, 19/20 year olds born and bred inner city lads and then a culchie from Sligo aka RichieLawlessness.

My mate was at a preview night last year and shark was at it,he told everyone to avoid h.f. like the plague,didn't give a reason,but he obviously knew something was amiss.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

My mate was at a preview night last year and shark was at it,he told everyone to avoid h.f. like the plague,didn't give a reason,but he obviously knew something was amiss.

I wouldnt listen to the shark 99% the time he opens his mouth but he is well connected to the Mullins yard and has previously worked for them used to put the money on for Willie so worth listening to him on the yard.

Noel meade, leon blanche, gary o brien,don mc clean ,dave kenna,bj geraghty and couple more at cafe en seine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Westmanstown is always a good night.

Are you going this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 nevis7

message to catherine power and the waterford commmittee.

catherine, you mention that you have raised over 90,000 for local charities from past preview nights.

i was at bennettsbridge point to point yesterday and there were a few people selling tickets for a former tramore trainer pat flavin. the gist of the story i heard is that he met with a very bad accident, and he is virtually paralysed and he had little or no insurance cover. the folk selling the 10 euro tickets were genuine racing people trying to help a sad case.

i would recommend you alert your committee to the cause of pat flavin and consider donating a large proportion of any profits you realise to his cause, as after all, if a racing related event cannot generate a few needed bob for someone in trouble within racing then who will.

Slattsy wrote: »
    Are you going this year?

I am indeed, are you going?

hucklebuck wrote: »

I am indeed, are you going?

I might do. Where do you get the tickets?

Slattsy wrote: »
    I might do. Where do you get the tickets?

I think you can get them in Paddy Power shops but you can definitely get them from Westmanstown.

Can you get them on the night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

nevis7 wrote: »
    message to catherine power and the waterford commmittee.

catherine, you mention that you have raised over 90,000 for local charities from past preview nights.

i was at bennettsbridge point to point yesterday and there were a few people selling tickets for a former tramore trainer pat flavin. the gist of the story i heard is that he met with a very bad accident, and he is virtually paralysed and he had little or no insurance cover. the folk selling the 10 euro tickets were genuine racing people trying to help a sad case.

i would recommend you alert your committee to the cause of pat flavin and consider donating a large proportion of any profits you realise to his cause, as after all, if a racing related event cannot generate a few needed bob for someone in trouble within racing then who will.

Pat suffered a freak accident, a one in a million type accident and unfortunately his life has been turned upside down since it happened. I'm delighted there was an effort made yesterday - I was meant to go to that P2P, but I couldn't make it. I think there should be a collection on Thursday night in the Woodland's and Brian Gleason should be called on to give back the money he's taking for his appearance on Thursday night. It is for charity afterall.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Motivator wrote: »
    Pat suffered a freak accident, a one in a million type accident and unfortunately his life has been turned upside down since it happened. I'm delighted there was an effort made yesterday - I was meant to go to that P2P, but I couldn't make it. I think there should be a collection on Thursday night in the Woodland's and Brian Gleason should be called on to give back the money he's taking for his appearance on Thursday night. It is for charity afterall.

Is that Brian Gleeson who worked on rte racing and owns horses? If he's getting a fee for that preview night in aid of charity he ought to be ashamed of himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,394 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

The UL Racing society have a preview night tomorrow 25th @ 7pm in the Castletroy park hotel. Patrick Mullins, Robbie McNamara, Shark Hanlon, Kate Harrington, Bryan Cooper & Kevin O'Ryan from ATR is MC.

Did anyone make it to this one?
    I couldn't make it but would be interested in what happened.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭BlueBaron

Did anyone make it to this one?
    I couldn't make it but would be interested in what happened.:cool:

I was a this last night, have pages of notes but in college at the moment so wont have write up till later. Twas a very god night, lots of banter between Patick Mullin and Shark, only negative was because the weights weren't out ofr the handicaps not much info was given on them, overall tough an enjoyable night.

SRFC wrote: »

Is that Brian Gleeson who worked on rte racing and owns horses? If he's getting a fee for that preview night in aid of charity he ought to be ashamed of himself.

Yeah that's him. Ive heard off a few of the organisational panel that his fee last year was €3000. Disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Charlie George

preview night in Chawkes bar in Adare this fri. evening,Ted walsh,A McNamara and a few more guests,with finger food for e5 which goes to charity,a bit better value i think than the one in Dunraven Arms for e32 with meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Catherine Power

Nevis....thank you for that information. I wasn't aware of the situation regarding Pat and I will certainly bring it to the attention of the committee.

Motivator I really don't know where you're getting your information from. There's only three of us involved in organising the Waterford preview night. You certainly didn't speak to me and the other two members don't recall speaking to you either!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Nevis....thank you for that information. I wasn't aware of the situation regarding Pat and I will certainly bring it to the attention of the committee.

Motivator I really don't know where you're getting your information from. There's only three of us involved in organising the Waterford preview night. You certainly didn't speak to me and the other two members don't recall speaking to you either!!!!!!

We will put the question to you now so. Did Brian charge that money for his appearance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Tell him if his fee is that much not to bother, that any punter would be more than happy in not having him there if that's what he's charging for a charity gig.

And please don't tell us Nesbitt is being paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭faoile@n

Motivator wrote: »
    Yeah that's him. Ive heard off a few of the organisational panel that his fee last year was €3000. Disgraceful.

You really think a preview like this could afford anything in the region of that fee for a guest?

What age are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 SudoSan

faoile@n wrote: »

You really think a preview like this could afford anything in the region of that fee for a guest?

What age are you?

Agreed. I think its terrible that these scurrilous rumours are being entertained.Its unfair to both Brian Gleeson and the event in question.

I think some people loose sight of the fact that this event has raised over 90k for charity and is being run by people who could be spending their free time doing something alot less constructive.

Goodluck Catherine, I hope your event raises loads of cash.

SudoSan wrote: »

Agreed. I think its terrible that these scurrilous rumours are being entertained.Its unfair to both Brian Gleeson and the event in question.

I think some people loose sight of the fact that this event has raised over 90k for charity and is being run by people who could be spending their free time doing something alot less constructive.

Goodluck Catherine, I hope your event raises loads of cash.
    Catherine has had opportunity to clarify the rumour. I'm sure she will clarify in the near future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

ft9 wrote: »
    Catherine has had opportunity to clarify the rumour. I'm sure she will clarify in the near future.

Tbh the rumour doesn't need to be entertained it is as such a rumour. Leave people believe what they want to. It is a great event they do a great job.

kiers47 wrote: »

Tbh the rumour doesn't need to be entertained it is as such a rumour. Leave people believe what they want to. It is a great event they do a great job.
    I know if I was an organiser I would extinguish the rumour straight away given the chance. But agreed its a great event and I hope they look into Pat Flavins situation. He's a gent.

You're absolutely correct that a preview like this couldn't afford anything remotely like the figure that has been mentioned but just to clarify Brian Gleeson doesn't get paid a cent for his appearance.

The Woodlands preview was his idea back in 2007 to raise money for the Pere Charles disaster.

and he has been wholeheartedly behind every preview night since and has not been paid anything for any of them.

I hope that clarifies the situation and I do not understand how people can pull crazy figures out of the air
    and post them as fact when they are so far wide of the mark it's not even funny.

Thanks SudoSan for your good wishes.

The tickets are selling very well and we expect another great night on Thursday.

Some people do talk serious bollocks on this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Rhinestone Cowboy

James Armstrong ‏@JRFArmstrong is tweeting live from Newcastle:
    Believe panel is
    SQ- Sean Quinn DC- Dougie Costello NH-Niall Hannitty JQ-John Quinn RJ-Rory Jiwani DO- Darren Owen compare

Supreme Nov
    SQ & DC fancies Jezki,
    NH MYTOY,
    JQ win Jezki & Dodging Bullets ew.
    Will MTOY & Jezki take each other on?
    RJ Melodic R

Arkle
    Simonsig- DC & SQ,
    Overturn- JQ & NH
    Oscars Well if runs RJ ew @ 66/1

Champion Hurdle
    RJ DC SQ & NH Rock on Ruby,
    JQ- if not Countrywide Flame then Rock On or Zarkandar (or the 3 in a tricast)!

Neptune
    NH- The New One,
    DC- Sizing Gold ew 33/1
    SQ & JQ- Pont Alexandre & Whisp gallery ew
    SQ Puffin Billy ew

RSA Chase
    RJ- Hadrians App ew,
    JQ- in bar for this one too open,
    NH- Unioniste?
    DC- join boss in bar..
    SQ-Dynaste

Champion Chase-
    Sprinter Sacre all round. Sit back & enjoy it...

Ryanair
    SQ- Cue Card,
    DC- Champion Court,
    NH- For Non Stop ew,
    JQ- Riverside Theatre ew & Cue Card.
    RJ- Sizing E

World Hurdle
    SQ-Monksland poss Solwhit ew,
    DC his ride Trustan Times ew @ 40/1 as does NH.
    NH also like Peddlers
    JQ Oscar Whisky & Celestrial halo ew with NH thinking similarly.
    RJ- also likes Monksland.

Triumph Hurdle
    DC- hedging with his two poss Kashmir & Hidden Justice undecided as to what he will ride @ mo
    SQ- Hidden Justice finish up hill (biased as runs syndicate) JQ- Our Conor to beat his (ground)
    JQ-Kasmir Peak maybe better suited to Aintree. Hidden Justice- grind it out
    NH-Hidden Justice & Rolling Star. RJ- Rolling Star to improve...

Albert Bartlett
    NH- Cloudy Copper 14/1,
    SQ- African Gold- v keen on him.
    RJ- African Gold & At Fishers Cross

Gold Cup
    RJ- The Giant Bolster ew @16/1 to win Sir Des.
    JQ- Sir Des & Cape Trib ew
    NH- Imperial Commander ew
    Gold Cup NH- Siviano main selection,
    SQ- Sir Des Champs
    DC- First Lieu or Imperial Commander.

Other races

DC- Bathwick Brave in Con Jocs race.
    SQ- Aye Up Charlie (nap) in Jewson,
    NH- Rival Destruval
    Rival Des in 4m.
    JQ- Get Me Out of Here in whichever handicap he runs in.
    RJ- Captain Conan in Jewson

Got this email. Supposed to be from someone who attended:

Glasgow Preview

Nick Luck
    AP McCoy
    Barry Geraghty
    Charlie Swan
    Nicky Henderson
    Lucinda Russell
    Arthur Moore

Supreme

Charlie Swan rates My Tent Or Yours as a cert and @AP_McCoy hopes he
    will ride Charlie and @BarryJGeraghty think Une Atout is the danger
    Nicky Henderson says that both River and MTOY both worked well today

Arkle
    Ian Ferguson who trained Simonsig as a PTP runner described him as a
    'wimp' as a youngster and Overturn frightens him

Champ Hurdle
    @BarryJGeraghty says 'The Fly' looks hard to beat Nicky says there is
    nothing between Fly and Binocular @AP_McCoy thinks Fly is the winner but
    think Zarkander is a danger.
    Nicky says a dead heat with his two.
    Lucinda thinks Cinders And Ashes is a forgotten horse on good ground.
    Swan is backing ROR again!

RSA
    @AP_McCoy 'if Dynaste was mine id run in the Jewson-best horse in the
    race!'
    Think BJG tipped Dynaste
    Nicky Henderson 'if Dynaste goes Jewson the Captain Conan may go Arkle'

Ryanair

Arthur Moore 'if Cue Card goes Champ Chase Sizing Europe will go Ryanair
    and win'
    Nicky Henderson think Riverside Theatre is back!!!! But thinks Cue Card
    is hard

Edit:it seems to be short....I'll see where the rest is.

Warwick

Warwick Preview

Supreme
    Andrew Tinkler ( AT): MTOY is right race in the Supreme rather than the
    Champion Hurdle River Maigue better than he showed at Ascot and an EW
    alternative Tom Symonds (TS) : Spinter Sacre, Binocular and Darlan all
    beaten for Henderson/McCoy so 6/4 about MTOY is short enough. Melodic
    Rendezvous is his pick at the prices.
    Stuart Machin: (SM): Agrees with TS that Melodic Rendezvous looks like
    value. Grade 1 winner etc.

Arkle
    AT: Thinks Simonsig is better than Sprinker Sacre J but not sure he
    would back at odds on against he race Overturn. Confirmed Captain Conan
    will run in the Jewson.
    TS: Race is between Simonsig and Overturn.
    SM: Fancies Simonsig and would take the 5/6.

Champion Hurdle
    AT: Grandouet is fine but Binocular is flying. Schooled really well
    during the week and forgotten horse in the race.
    TS: Tough call but Zarakandar would be his pick
    SM: Rock on Ruby has good course form and would be his pick.

NEPTUNE
    AT: The New One - a machine
    TS: Taquin Du Seuil ...Pont Alexandre not tested in the conditions. Wind
    in races where he had easy leads/small fields/ heavy ground
    SM: The New One ahead of Taquin Du Seuil. Pont Alexandre's price
    lessabout form and more that wille mullins saying that he is best novice
    he has trained apart from the Fly.
    The chair R hart ? said AP will ride Taquin Du Seuil abd word from yard
    was that he worked brilliantly and would improve for drying ground.

RSA CHASE

TS: Dynaste not likely to be strongest stayer and would oppose. Keen on
    Hadrian's Approach.
    SM: Boston Bob is his pick . Dynaste is too short/flashy for RSA.
    AT: Dynaste to win but Hadrian's Approach is each-way value

CHAMPION CHASE

AT: Sprinter Sacre.
    TS: Sprinter Sacre. Cue Card second if he runs.
    SM: Sprinter Sacre . Cue Card's connections or Sommersby without the
    favourite.

RYANAIR CHASE

AT: Barrys ride on Riverside Theatre was ride of season last year and
    has had ulcer problem dealt with since King George. Champion Court main
    danger.
    TS: Sizing Europe if he goes here ..has the class. Champion Court seems
    to finds one too good Chair said Albertas Run will run here first time
    out.

WORLD HURDLE

AT: Not sure Oscar Whisky will fully stay 3m and BG will need to be at
    his best. Reve De Sivola will make it a test kicking earlier than the
    cleeve.
    TS: Oscar Whisky stays 3m but he is not as well as over shorter trips.
    Reve De Sivola has form in the book and is his pick. Monksland hardle
    good enough Peddlers X not same horse since 2011 Champion Hurdle.
    SM: Smad Place at 20/1 ? OW is about the same price this year as last
    and no Big Buck's so if you think he stays then he is probably worth a
    bet in a weaker race.
    The man with news from Johnjos said no on Get Me Out Of Here running
    yet. Reminded audience that GMOOH has been second at the last three
    Festivals.

TRIUMPH HURDLE

AT: Far West this year but Rolling Star will be better horse in long
    term
    TS: Our Conor appears to be the one to beat. Farwest best of British.
    SM: At the minute Far West but would like to see Adonis

ALBERT BARTLETT NOVICES' HURDLE

SM out up African Gold at 16/1 ew. AT likes Henderson mate Utopie des
    mordes

GOLD CUP

AT: Bobs Worth saves it all for the racecourse and will stay up the
    hill. Reported that Nico de Bonville had said Long Run took 2 wks more
    to recover from the King George than in previous years.
    TS: Sire Des Champs. Bobs Worth main opposition.
    SM: Likes Silviniaco Conti and is his bet of the meeting. The Giant
    Bolster ew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭El Ninotorres

Good work.. Keep them coming

You're absolutely correct that a preview like this couldn't afford anything remotely like the figure that has been mentioned but just to clarify Brian Gleeson doesn't get paid a cent for his appearance.

The Woodlands preview was his idea back in 2007 to raise money for the Pere Charles disaster.

and he has been wholeheartedly behind every preview night since and has not been paid anything for any of them.

I hope that clarifies the situation and I do not understand how people can pull crazy figures out of the air
    and post them as fact when they are so far wide of the mark it's not even funny.

Thanks SudoSan for your good wishes.

The tickets are selling very well and we expect another great night on Thursday.

Fair enough, I must have been given false information so. All I'll say is that the rumours were all the rage in the bar after last years event. But I hold my hands up, thanks for clearing it up.

Best of luck tomorrow night, unfortunately I can't make it due to work but I have bought 2 tickets for my parents who go every year. I hope it's a great success like previous years & lots of money is raised again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 nevis7

good luck with your night catherine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 roch1e

Regardless of where in the wide world you are, you can watch and participate in the Official Cheltenham Preview evening on Sunday 10th March. The whole thing is being streamed LIVE from Cheltenham on http://cheltenham.olbg.com/ from 7pm. You can also interact by tweeting a question to a panelist to have it answered during the evening. This is a Cheltenham Festival first! (but hopefully not last)

Thanks for all the good wishes

Really looking forward to tomorrow night

Will let you know how its goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

So call it, which of the previews is best to go to. Have never been to one before but I presume its best to go to one of the later ones as near to the festival as possible so that jockeys will have a notion which races the horses are going to go for. The pannel for the one in the westmanstown centre looks good!