Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Preview 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

I'm heading to the Westmanstown one, the panel is by far the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Is anyone going to Cafe en Seine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Arctic89

Yeah was thinking of going to this. It's free in isn't it? Any idea what time you'd need to get there to get seats?

Arctic89 wrote: »
    Yeah was thinking of going to this. It's free in isn't it? Any idea what time you'd need to get there to get seats?

Yeah, was standing last year and I was about 20 minutes early I think. It started about an hour late too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

when is it?

Next Thursday think it's at eight

Edit it's at seven

Café en Seine, Dawson Street, Dublin - 7pm – Admission Free – Barry Geraghty, Noel Meade, Gary O’Brien, Donn McClean, Leon Blanche, Dave Keena, Kevin O’Ryan. Denis Kirwan (MC). Sponsored by Boylesports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,394 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Johner wrote: »
    I'm heading to the Westmanstown one, the panel is by far the best.

I find you get a lot more genuine info when the panel is not made up of big name celebs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭tonic wine

Cheltenham preview on 5live tonight

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01r2rfj

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

There's a Twitter Cheltenham Preview ongoing on Twitter at the moment. If I get a chance I'll put up the panelists thoughts - (panel of mostly journalists - Cornelius Lysaght, Kevin Blake, Lee Mottershead, Chris Cook, Kim Bailey, George Primarolo, Ally Rowell and Scott Burton).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭decies

Cheltenham preview on BBC five live right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Hoofer

just switched it on..thanks decies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Don't want to sound like I'm complaining..but that BBC preview is sh*te. I listened 3 times and its all hot air..They brought donn McClean and didn't ask him about any of his fancies or angles..they talked about kauto star doing his new thing and interviewed his trainer (nothing to do with Cheltenham)..tuned out as I've heard enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

ste2010 wrote: »
    Don't want to sound like I'm complaining..but that BBC preview is sh*te. I listened 3 times and its all hot air..They brought donn McClean and didn't ask him about any of his fancies or angles..they talked about kauto star doing his new thing and interviewed his trainer (nothing to do with Cheltenham)..tuned out as I've heard enough.

It was a joke.

missed most the preview so cannot comment on whether good or not, there talking about safety and welfare of horses now..choc thornton is on it too discussing.

Hoofer wrote: »
    missed most the preview so cannot comment on whether good or not, there talking about safety and welfare of horses now..choc thornton is on it too discussing.
    Sounds like they're talking about everything but the actual races still..awfully boring if you want to hear about the races

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Some of the talk from the Twitter preview hosted by Francis Keogh (BBC). As mentioned above, most the names are journo's.

Tuesday -

Cornelius Lysaght: Been impressed by Melodic Rendezvous; would be shorter with Henderson/Nicholls but J Scott having great time. Struck by how strong Donald McCain was re Cinders & Ashes (a #CheltFest winner) when visiting, Tues. EW value

Kevin Blake: The best Supreme in years. You'd have to be v sure that MTOY will be as good up the stiff finish to back him at his price. I am very, very fond of Un Atout. I think he is the real deal. However, I worry about his relative lack of experience. I suspect. I like Jezki, but I worry does he jump well enough for the Supreme. He was also worryingly weak up the hill last year. I feel Champagne Fever is overpriced. Plenty will say he's not quick enough, but stamina often wins the day in the Supreme. The Fly is better at a flatter track, whilst many of his main rivals relish Cheltenham. If I had to pick one, it would be Zarkander. Not flashy, but very solid and we have yet to see the very best of him, IMO. I may be against him as well, but I'm surprised at how little support there is for The Fly on here. I'm not a fan of Arvika, but don't forget about Benefficient at a bigger price. Quevega is as close to a good thing as you can get at Cheltenham. She will canter home on the snaff.

Lee Mottershead: I could see Dodging Bullets still being on the bridle running away from second last but My Tent probably the same. My fear re Hurricane Fly is that, if he has lost any pace, it wouldnt show in these soft-ground Irish race he's been winning. Hurricane Fly didnt get a great ride last year but also could be argued we saw the start of his decline that day. Not original but Colour Squadron must be a big player in the novices' handicap chase. A tad wayward but talented.

Chris Cook: Dodging Bullets is still a bit big at 10-1 but My Tent has easily the best form claims. It's a no-bet race for me. I can't be backing a 7-4 shot in a G1 nov hdle to start the Festival, bearing these examples in mind. I love Zarkandar. Was only 3 weeks off antibiotics when a running-on 5th last year, his 1 defeat when completing over hurdles. Try not to back a horse in the 3m hcap chase that is in fact being aimed at the Grand National.

George Primarolo: If you do fancy Hurricane Fly - I'd wait until the morning of the race for a bet. Layers will want to get him. If she runs, Shop DJ can hit the frame in the OLBG Mares' Hurdle - thought she could have been closer last year.

Wednesday -

Kevin Blake: I'm not as keen on Sprinter S as most. Wanted to take him on, but all the connections of his rivals are likely to bottle it. So disappointing that Sprinter S, in his prime, will just have to canter around and beat trees at 1/5 at Cheltenham Festival. What Dynaste found off the bridle leaves me with doubts about him. Boston Bob isn't nearly as slow as he was made look last time. Much better than that and I'd be keen on him in the Jewson/RSA. None of the Irish horses have really floated my boat for the bumper. I was impressed with Empiracle and give him a chance. Liz Doyle has said that Le Vent D'Antan works as well as Cheltenian did when she had him. In the Neptune, the vibes are v strong about Pont Alexandre, but his form lacks substance,makes him unattractive at his price..

Lee Mottershead: Sprinter Sacre is the best horse running at the Festival and he ought to provide its defining moment. I hope so anyway. IMO, Dynaste is too quick for the RSA and Boston Bob too slow. Unioniste, on the other hand, is just right. Made for the race. Love the way he's cleared the last fence in each of his last two races like a puissance horse. Very much like Edeymi if he gets in the Coral Cup. If not, very much like Edeymi in the Martin Pipe. Very much like him. Saphir Du Rheu also looks a solid favourite in the Fred Winter. Another Sanctuaire?

Cornelius Lysaght: On Wed, with no Harry Topper loving the 20-1 I have re Godsmejudge (NH Chase). Sure/hope SS wins QM Ch Ch but if it dries up more, am intrigued by Finians R EW at 16-1.

Chris Cook: I've been trying to take on Dynaste but finally think I can't do it. He's already beat main danger (Unioniste). I see Taquin Du Seuil is still 8-1 for the Neptune with one firm. A fine price. Only ever beaten by My Tent

Scott Burton: In RSA - Big chance of France hitting the target here. Feel Unioniste might be value for revenge over Dynaste.

George Primarolo: Ediymi also very high on list for festival fancies. John Ferguson is going to win the Bumper at some point isn't he? That's all I've got sadly.

Kim Bailey: Dynaste won't stay at least Boston Bob will. 2nd to ill fated Brindisi Breeze. (Mottershead replied: Boston Bob will definitely stay but how quickly? I've just become underwhelmed by him).

Aly Rowell: EW Welsh chance in the bumper with @EWilliamsRacing Milo Man. No suprise to see a big odds winner.

Thursday -

Lee Mottershead: Am pretty sure everyone connected with Oscar Whisky was adamant at the time that he didn't stay World trip last season. But if they can change their mind, so can I. He's looked better than ever this season and Reve would be better in proper mud. Given his Festival record, I also wouldn't be at all surprised to see Get Me Out Of Here pounce after the final flight. Would love to see Cue Card win Ryanair and reckon he will.. Suspicion he needs to have things his own way but I'm not so sure.

Kim Bailey: A year on and stronger . Oscar Whisky will win this year.. Stayed in very heavy ground last time. Ryanair is one of the most difficult races. Menorah as an outsider

Chris Cook: World Hurdle is not that open. Oscar Whisky deserves wider love. Will make it 11/16 over hurdles. Edeymi, like Toner D'Oudairies, is of interest in any hcap at Chelt.

Scott Burton: Bad price but Wond' Charm (CC) 2nd to a (sadly departed) horse at Auteuil that would've lapped Triumph field.

Kevin Blake: Not keen on Monksland. Flattered by beating a non stayer at Leop. Could improve, but his trainer's Cheltenham record is awful. Don't rule out Fiveforthree. Has some very good form going back a few years. Long absence, but has been trained for this.50/1+. Solwhit is another one to consider in the World Hurdle.Excellent form prior to injury and beat subsequent winner So Young LTO. Ryanair, I reckon First Lieutenant will run and consider him a good thing. Settling better now and has the pace for this. Sponsor will want a big chance in the Ryanair and Davy won't want to have to choose between two in the GC, IMO.

George Primarolo: I think GMOOH would have a decent shout over this trip. V good Festival record too (albeit over much shorter). In Ryanair - you can't argue with Cue Card's form at Cheltenham - apart from when he tipped up in that novice chase. As for the rest of Thursday, Cantlow wherever he runs - hopefully it's the Kim Muir.

Ally Rowell: IF he gets in, @TVaughanRacing says Tartak his best chance of week in Kim Muir. Been slipping down the h'cap & Chelt form.

Friday -

Kevin Blake: I'd be all over Sir Des Champs for the GC. Brought to the boil for this, crying out for better ground. Long Run is in danger of being overlooked, but I couldn't bring myself to back him. Sam's confidence looked gone in the KG.

George Primarolo: Captain Chris looks overpriced for the Gold Cup. But a place is probably best he can hope for.

Lee Mottershead: If ground goes to good(ish) I think Sir Des Champs is the one to beat. Hugely impressive in Jewson and coming to boil nicely.

Chris Cook: Bobs Worth looks like winning, let's be honest. Who can match that Hennessy form? Captain Chris needs to jump a bit straighter than at the last Fest but 20-1 is all right ew. Also on Friday, I've been very impressed by the powerful look of At Fishers Cross, an Albert Bartlett runner

Scott Burton: Couple of Frenchies in the Spud Race, Utopie Des Bordes is in right race, wouldn't have toe for Quevega etc. Also strangely drawn to well-related Le Bec at 25-1+ in the Albert Bartlett - only entry though no idea if its the plan.

--

Banker and outsider:

Scott Burton: Un Atout (Supreme); Outsider - Goulanes (RSA I hope).
    Lee Mottershead: Banker first. Sam Winner. Must be significant too that Sam Winner's hurdles mark was protected after Sandown effort that delighted connections. E/W is bit out of ballpark but Third Intention in Jewson. Needs to be unleashed late - as we saw last time - but has a chance.
    Kevin Blake: Banker: Sir Des Champs. E/w: Champagne Fever.
    George Primarolo: Cue Card in the Ryanair and Get Me Out Of Here in the World Hurdle
    Kim Bailey: banker. sprinter Sare.. Boring yes. Each way Our Mick and The New One.
    Aly Rowell: My @PaddockPreview Chelters picks: Zarkandar, Dodging Bullets, The New One, At Fishers Cross & Sir Des Champs.
    Chris Cook: Captain Conan at 9-2 for Jewson is the banker. Tanerko Emery is the each-way bet once they've chosen a race.

Sounds like they're talking about everything but the actual races still..awfully boring if you want to hear about the races

interesting enough actually...always good to listen to anything horseracing related!

Yep but not when your geared up to hear about the races and you dont

Yes I know what you mean ste.... sure in a few hours we should be getting reports on how informative woodlands preview was and the word on the street from Jimmy Nesbitt & Co..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Hands up if you have been on youtube watching re runs of past festival races!

*raises hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭efc67

Yes I know what you mean ste.... sure in a few hours we should be getting reports on how informative woodlands preview was and the word on the street from Jimmy Nesbitt & Co..:rolleyes:

Been following it on Twitter for last few hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Was in watwrford. Brief will follow tomorrow..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

SRFC wrote: »
    Is that Brian Gleeson who worked on rte racing and owns horses? If he's getting a fee for that preview night in aid of charity he ought to be ashamed of himself.
    Do you think they do it for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,548 ✭✭✭droidman123

sting60 wrote: »
    Do you think they do it for nothing.
    if its for charity,i would like to think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

To right he should be doing it for nothing !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

I cannot say what individuals are doing it for nothing[no expenses].The question is ,are the bookmaking firms paying a term contract to certain individuals to appear where they want them to.Not so many Cheltenhams ago I was involved with organising preview nights[you would not believe what certain people wanted to turn up].It did not matter if it was for sick children,the old,immediate operation funding etc.One individuals comment to me "I have my own charity at home, if you want me its 3k and it will cost you extra for ???"To say certain people are doing it for charity well I know their not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,548 ✭✭✭droidman123

sting60 wrote: »
    I cannot say what individuals are doing it for nothing[no expenses].The question is ,are the bookmaking firms paying a term contract to certain individuals to appear where they want them to.Not so many Cheltenhams ago I was involved with organising preview nights[you would not believe what certain people wanted to turn up].It did not matter if it was for sick children,the old,immediate operation funding etc.One individuals comment to me "I have my own charity at home, if you want me its 3k and it will cost you extra for ???"To say certain people are doing it for charity well I know their not.
    unfortunatly there are some greedy bas*****s around.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭beaker1

CHELTENHAM FESTIVAL PREVIEW EVENING at BANGOR-ON-DEE RACEOURSE

Thursday, February 28th

leading trainer Donald McCain (DM), Cheltenham Festival Betting Guide author Paul Jones (PJ), Jumping Prospects author John Morris (JM) and broadcaster and commentator Stewart Machin. Darren Owen acted as the genial host. As we covered Stewart’s comments fromWarwicklast week and the same races were analysed and he did not deviate from his views, there is no real point to simply repeat his thoughts.

Supreme Novices’ Hurdle

DM:I’m a big fan of Melodic Rendezvous and would love to see Jeremy Scott have a Festival winner as he is a hell of a trainer. My Tent Or Yours only won a handicap last time and McCoy can make one look better than they are. I sometimes question what a strong-travelling Henderson horse will find off the bridle. He has so many high class horses with a high cruising speed but I just wonder if they battle? Am I being unfair? Melodic Rendezvous is not ground dependant and will do for me.

PJ: My Tent Or Yours is already rated 10lbs above the figure Cinders And Ashes recorded when winning the Supreme last year and I can see him winning easily. However, history tells us the Supreme hasn’t been a great race for supposed good things and I would rather look at Dodging Bullets each-way, who is only 5lbs behind the favourite and has impressed at the course twice this season for a yard with two recent wins in the race.

JM: My Tent Or Yours is too short. I didn’t think they went a great pace early on at Newbury so he was well positioned and I felt many of them gave up in the straight. I felt that Jezki was the real deal before My Tent Or Yours overtook him as favourite and see no reason to desert him now he is a bigger price as a result. I think a lot of Melodic Rendezvous bit will stick with Jezki who blew away a good field a Christmas.

Racing Post Arkle Trophy

DM:We decided before the start of the season that Overturn had to school exceptionally to go chasing and if he made one error at home he would go back to hurdling. He was very good on his chase debut at Sandown but running him over 2m4f atDoncastermeant we couldn’t see him at his best. It was only until Musselburgh that Jason could really put the gun to his head and we expected Tetlami to go with us for longer but he was out of his comfort zone at the pace Overturn was going early on. Overturn and Simonsig are like chalk and cheese. Simonsig does everything on the bridle and as far as I could see he has only had two schools in his races this season as Hinterland was not put in the Kempton race. He might be a superstar but he will never have been in a race like this before and it will be interesting to see what he finds when he has to come off the bridle, which he will do here.

PJ:As much as I love Overturn I think he is a horse vulnerable when taking on the very best and Simonsig could be exceptional. Much will depend on when Maguire decides to throw in a huge leap and kick immediately after it and take advantage of freewheeling downhill like in last year’s Champion Hurdle but I don’t think Simonsig will have any problems sitting within five lengths of Overturn and I’m not sure that will be enough. I can’t have Arvika Ligeonneire on my mind at all.

JM:Simonsig is 8/11 and Overturn is 11/4 so there can only be one bet. Overturn is a complete natural over a fence whereas I am not sure yet whether Simonsig is and we know he is more battle-hardened than the favourite and we don’t yet know what Simonsig finds when asked. As a punter, at those prices it can be only be Overturn.

Stan James Champion Hurdle

DM:Cinders And Ashes has not had the opportunity to show what he can do since he won the Supreme as the ground has been all against him. He worked very nicely here yesterday. I wouldn’t be as confident as I was when Peddlers Cross and Overturn finished second in the race but I do feel he represents good each-way value as you can put a line through Newcastle as the main aim was to get a run into him on virtually unraceable ground and the ground was then very testing at Kempton. We pinched a Grade 2 on heavy ground as a novice but Jason told me afterwards not to run him on it again. I was against Hurricane Fly the year he won and even more against him when I saw him in the paddock but I am now his biggest convert and I don’t think any of the British runners will beat him. I think both he and Peddlers Cross had an off year last season off the back of their battle in this race two years ago.

PJ:I was a big Grandouet fan until he missed the Kingwell but I like everything to go smoothly ahead of a championship race so one run in 15 months has to be considered far from ideal and I’d rather the yard were talking him up rather than Binocular. Hurricane Fly is just a little short for me and I’m worried whether Zarkandar will be as effective on the Old Course as he is the New Course where he won the Triumph and International by outstaying his rivals. I don’t think you can kick Rock On Ruby out of the three on his overall form, Cheltenham profile and being much better in bigger fields so 6/1 makes each-way appeal but I am thinking of making him my main bet of the race to place only at odds-against as I can’t see three horses finishing ahead of him.

JM:I’ve been so impressed with Hurricane Fly who looks back to his very best. I saw Cinders And Ashes gallop yesterday and that was the best he has looked when I have seen him this season. I have time for Zarkandar who is unbeaten this season and I think will improve again but Hurricane Fly is going to take all the beating.

Neptune Investment Management Novices’ Hurdle

DM:I’ve got to be honest I’ve not seen Pont Alexandre. I’ve been impressed with Taquin Du Seuil though who is improving with every run though he does have quite a high knee action. Whether he needs it deep, I don’t know.

PJ:No strong view except that I will be surprised if one of the front three in the market doesn’t win. Hard not to be impressed with Pont Alexandre but his two wins for Willie Mullins have been dominating tiny fields in heavy ground so this will be a different experience. Jonjo O’Neill is adamant that despite his high knee action that Taquin Du Seuil will improve for better ground but all 13 Challow runners to run here have been beaten. Oddly enough I was more impressed with The New One’s defeat at Cheltenham when outstayed by At Fishers Cross than his easyWarwickwin and he would have won at Cheltenham with a better timed ride. His turn of foot could be the telling factor if used at the right time.

JM:The Irish won’t hear of defeat for Pont Alexandre and he will be well backed and start favourite for a race in which favourites traditionally have a good record. Taquin Du Seuil is an improving sort and Jonjo’s best chance of the meeting but he will have to be very good indeed to beat Pont Alexandre.

RSA Chase

DM:We booked Derek O’Connor three weeks ago for Super Duty for the Kim Muir but there is a chance he could still run here if the field was to weaken like if Dynaste goes for the Jewson. Take out Dynaste who is the obvious one and after him it’s a very open race. If Super Duty was to run here, he is the type that usually runs well in the race and he deserves his place.

PJ: Dynaste would be bucking a couple of serious trends if successful, the main one being the last 49 winners ran in the same calendar year. He could outclass them but we’ve seen so many obvious form horses get turned over in the RSA so, as a punter, I have to look elsewhere. I have gradually been leaning towards Boston Bob despite just two runs over fences who I didn’t think was right in the Albert Bartlett last year and did well to win over an inadequate 2m5f last time for a stable that know how to win this race. Unioniste may only be five but he has been running in the same races the stable’s other two RSA winners contested and I respect his chance too.

JM: Dynaste won the Feltham easily but the record of winners in that race is not brilliant. Back In Focus would be interesting if he ran here. Boston Bob hasn’t looked a natural to me so it might be worth taking a chance of Chartreux each-way if he runs as he is the type to run into the frame.

Sportingbet.com Queen Mother Champion Chase

DM:Sprinter Sacre is some tool. I was devastated when he beat Peddlers Cross at Kempton last season but don’t feel so bad about it now. I’d love to see a horse get him off the bridle one day.

PJ:As they let Sprinter Sacre kick on when he jumps to the front I just wonder if he will already be clear heading downhill with connections’ sights firmly intent in recording a monster official figure hoping to surpass Master Minded. If Cue Card runs here, then I would fancy him to be second but even further behind than he was when second in last year’s Arkle.

JM:I have no intention of taking on Sprinter Sacre so this is a race to watch, admire and then applaud him all the way back to the winner’s enclosure. If I was given a free bet I’d back Cue Card each-way.

Ryanair Chase

DM:No real view to be honest. I was the under-bidder forChampion Courtso I have always liked him and followed him closely. He is a solid, tough, professional horse but I am not sure he is quite good enough to win.

PJ:We’re still in limbo as we are not sure yet which race the front three in the betting head for. The one thing I do know is that I don’t fancy any of those that are confirmed for the race at present like Champion Court, Menorah, Riverside Theatre and Albertas Run. If First Lieutenant runs here, which he should do as he doesn’t fully the stay the Gold Cup trip at top level, then he is my idea of the most likely winner as I think the race is made for him under a positive ride. If he heads for the Gold Cup and Sizing Europe runs here then I would fancy the former Champion Chaser. My gut feeling is Cue Card is marginally more likely to run in the Queen Mother.

JM:It’s very hard until we know where the main players are going to run. I can see Roi Du Mee running a big race as feel he is an under-rated horse and the owner sponsors the race.

Ladbrokes World Hurdle

DM: Peddlers Cross is grand form and he is as good a work horse now as he ever has been. At Musselburgh he travelled great and jumped brilliantly but idled in front but that is what he does. I was looking over him afterwards to see what might be wrong but Jason told me to stop worrying and that he gave him the feel he wanted. I am as much in the dark as anyone about three miles but the Cleeve isn’t great form so this is a winnable race for a horse with real class like Peddlers. I would say there are only two class horses in the race, the other being Oscar Whisky. The Champion Hurdle was never on the agenda. The ground will make a big difference to how this race will be run but it’s a very open contest.

PJ:I think Richard Johnson will wind it up from earlier than in the Cleeve on Reve De Sivola, especially if it is run on better ground, in a bid to expose the stamina chinks in the armour of Oscar Whisky and Peddlers Cross and I fancy him to outstay them. He is the strongest stayer in the race and just keeps on going. Get Me Out Of Here has stamina to prove but he is potential improver for a first try at 3m and has been second at the last three Festivals so lovesCheltenhamin the spring so he could be the fly in the ointment. I don’t think the Irish form is good enough.

JM:I have heard that Reve De Sivola is having training problems. It would be great if Peddlers Cross came back to his best. Bog Warrior is better over hurdles than fences so I respect him and especially if it comes up soft. Wonderful Charm wouldn’t be out of this if they ran here rather than the Coral Cup.

JCB Triumph Hurdle

DM:The ground matters more for this race at the Festival than any other. I’m aFar Westfan. Paul Nicholls was worried about his lack of tactical speed but he quickened well atAscotlast time. Hidden Justice’s form is working out well and I think he is the each-way value. I know Amanda Perrett’s yard always though he would make a super hurdler.

PJ:Our Conor should be clear favourite. I thought he was devastating when winning a Grade1 inIrelandlast time that supplied last year’s Triumph 1-2 and that even came off missing his Christmas engagement through coughing so you would think that there is more to come. I am not sure Rolling Star is the ‘now’ horse you look for in the Triumph being more of one for the future.

JM:There is only one winner – Our Conor. He destroyed a good field at Leopardstown with his jockey playing with them coming out of the back straight and, when asked, he just when whoosh! Back him.

Albert Bartlett Novices’ Hurdle

DM:Utopies Des Bordes beat She Ranks Me at Sandown last time and I’m not sure that form is good enough. I like three horses very much; Gevrey Chambertin, Coneygree and African Gold. They may not be brilliant horses but they are real solid who are tough and genuine which is what you need for a race like this. Coneygree was a bit disappointing last time but you should see a better horse moving back up to 3m.

PJ:Utopies Des Bordes is already rated high enough to go close and receives a handy 7lbs mares’ allowance so I respect her chance as I do the tough Our Vinnie and I would prefer to take that pair at double figures over the favourites on value grounds. I hear from a colleague who interviewed Mullins two days ago that Champagne Fever could switch from the Supreme to this race and join Ballycasey in the same ownership. Though if it’s very soft, the Supreme would probably go favourite again.

JM:Gevrey Chambertin’s jumping is a big plus and he will run a big race if Pipe chooses this route. Ballycasey looks the pick of the Irish. I like the way Utopie Des Bordes won at Sandown and she is dangerous getting the allowances.

Betfred Cheltenham Gold Cup

DM:Bobs Worth is as tough as nails and Silviniaco Conti has impressed in all three wins this season but I’m a Sir Des Champs fan. We’ve been waiting a while for a crop of young horses to arrive on the scene and three have arrived all at once.

PJ:I’m of the opinion The Giant Bolster will run another big race returning to the New Course at Cheltenham where he has looked so good twice before and I don’t think he was anyway near fit enough on both starts behind Silviniaco Conti this season and you can forget the King George blip. He still rates good each-way value. Gun to the head and it would be Sir Des Champs who is being brought along steadily and will appreciate a longer trip, better ground and a return toCheltenhamwhere he has twice stormed up the hill. If he is within a length at the final fence, I think he’ll win. I don’t like just one run this season for Bobs Worth and it still niggles me they wanted to bypass Cheltenhaml ast season with Silviniaco Conti who looks so good on flat tracks.

JM:Bobs Worth will have been off the track for 104 days but remains a worthy favourite who is made for Cheltenhamw here he is unbeaten in four runs. I don’t think Sir Des Champs was ridden to best advantage on his first two defeats this season but his jumping was better under different tactics last time. I have a slight doubt in my mind whether Silviniaco Conti will enjoy Cheltenham having avoided the place with him.

Shoulder Races

Donald McCain then ran through some of his other likely runners.

DM:Son of Flicka is only 2lbs higher than when he won the Coral Cup last year but we don’t know yet which race he goes for as is the case for the four horses we plan to run in the handicap hurdles as the ground will be a factor. Bourne and Hollow Tree will also run somewhere. Our Mick is an obvious one for the JLT having been third in the race last year as a novice. He would have be raised if finishing second at Cheltenham so maybe it was a blessing in disguise Jason fell off. I’ve successfully persuaded the owner not to run him again since to protect his mark. Kruzhlinin goes for the Pulteney and I think he is a big price and good each-way value.Cloudy Lane always needs two runs and the plan is to go to the Foxhunters but if we are slightly unhappy with him we will wait for Aintree. Hellorboston goes for the Weatherbys Champion Bumper but I don’t think he’s good enough. Diamond King is also in the race and he was more impressive than I expected when he won on debut. We like him but Cheltenham is not the be-all and end-all.

Naps

DM: Overturn (Arkle)

PJ: Our Conor (Triumph)

JM: Our Conor (Triumph)

SM: Cottage Oak (Foxhunters)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭tonic wine

Charity bets and picks out of handicaps from waterford preview night

Handicaps

Henry DeB - Alderwood
    Mick fitz- Saphirdeu - Fred Winter.
    Jessica Harrington - Tennis Cap - County Hurdle, Bostons Angel - Cross Country.
    Tom Segal - Super Duty - Kim Muir

Charity Bets

Henry De B- Sizing Europe
    Mick Fitz - Dynaste
    Hayley - Pont Alex
    Nick luck - Module - Jewson
    Davy Russell - best ride, First Lieutenant - Ryanair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Kav28

Cheltenham Preview night in Kavanaghs Portlaoise on Thursday 7th March. We've got Matt Chapman (At The Races) Jockeys Katie Walsh, Danny Mullins and Andrew Leigh, a rep from Paddy Powers and Niall Cronin (Evening Herald Racing).

Tickets are €15 and includes free €5 matched bet from Paddy Power, free pint of Guinness and €5 discount from the Kavanaghs Cheltenham Challenge. Doors open at 7.30pm with an 8pm start. Should be of great interest to any locals with an interest in Horse Racing.

http://www.kavanaghsportlaoise.com/dp.php?c=whats-on&id=282&t=cheltenham-preview-night-with-matt-chapman-at-the-races

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Gautama

if its for charity,i would like to think so.

Remember Live Aid, in 1985? All those artists "appeared for free". However, they did not pay for their flights, food, accommodation, etc. That came out of the donations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

The Waterford preview descended in to farce. Mainly because of Jimmy Nesbitt.

First of all almos the whole panel was clearly drunk. They spent 45 minutes letting Nesbitt talk about the Ryanair, so the had no time for the Albert Barlett and 5 minutes for the gold cup. Davy barely got a word in about SDC.

I'll give you an example of the Jimmy Nesbitt nonsense, the were discussing the Champion Bumper and someone mentioned big price winners like Cue Card and Nesbitt instantly asked what race cue card will run in and what his chances were in the Ryanair. He kept dragging the conversation back to it and wouldn't shut up the whole night.

People in my row were reading newspapers and some even left during his ramble about the Ryanair.

Honest to god it was deplorable.

Glad you enjoyed yourself Richie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Glad you enjoyed yourself Richie.

I've been at it every year Urban and I've said the panel is too big anyway. Francome is there for the fun and anectdotes and De Bromhead is there as local interest and basically a 'one horse guy'. There was no need and no place for JN, an took from the night overall

Cheltenham Preview night - Woodlands Waterford

Guests
    John Francome
    Noel O'Brien
    Tom Segal
    Davy Russell
    Jimmy Nesbitt
    Nick Luck
    Jessica Harrington
    Hayley O'Connor
    Mick Fitzgerald
    Henry De Bromhead
    Mike Catermol
    MC - Brian Gleeson

This is just a brief synopsis on the night and panel pics. It was a great night and i hope they raised a lot of money.

Supreme Novice
    TS: Interested in Un Atout was hounding davy for answers but got no definites. Thinks MTOY is to short.
    DR: Likes his. Seemed sweet enough on it without getting carried away. Said his fella could run a very good race and not win and that you need an awful lot of luck in running. Thinks Melodic Rendevous is a danger.
    JH: Gave nothing really. Said she knows nothing about riding arrangements. Likes hers though.
    HDB: Champagne Fever
    MF: Likes MTOY. Dodging Bullets e/w
    MC: Dodging Bullets
    NL: Sweet on MTOY
    JF: Melodic Rendevous
    NOB: Jezki is stand out. THey have MTOY 8lb clear. Also likes Dodging Bullets

Arkle
    Was more or less a discussion about how good Simonsig is.
    DR: Likes Simonsig. Reckons Arvika Legioneirre is a pure camel. Reckons the ambulance will be 3rd. Thinks it is a serious after thought for Overturn to be going chasing at 9.
    MC: Simonsig
    HDB: Simonsig
    TS: Overturn has no chance. Simonsig
    JH: Simonsig
    MF: Simonsig
    JF: Overturn
    NOB: Overturn
    JH on Oscars Well. Jewson is the prefered race but most likely will stay home

Champion Hurdle
    TS: Rock On Ruby
    NL: Hurricane Fly "Will Win"
    JH: 1:Hurricane Fly 2:ROR 3:Binocular
    MF: Likes Grandouet has him backed at big prices. Prefers ROR at prices now
    MC: ROR. HF "Wont Win"
    DR: HF, ROR is the danger
    HOC: Said by far their worst result would be Cinders and Ashes.

Neptune
    HDB: Likes his horse so for that reason cant see past Pont Alexandre
    JF: The New One
    TS: PA looks a great horse could be similar to Denman he said in that the best horse doesnt always win this race, his pick is Taquin De Seuill
    DR: Likes PA worried about pedigree though, He said where Rule the World is now is where First Lieutenant was when he won it but the race looks a good bit better
    MF: Likes PA, Taquin DS at the prices though

RSA
    I cant remember who made the point that if Grand Crus hadnt been around last year and turned over Dynaste would be closer to even money. Said their only similarities are they are both greys and both trained by David Pipe
    JF: Dynaste
    NOB: Dynaste
    TS: Dynaste should easily win also likes Unioniste
    DR: Thinks it is a poor reunion of the race said to back a high rated hurdler. Also reckons that Grand Crus wouldnt come off the bridle in this race.
    JH: Dynaste
    NL: Dynaste
    MF: Dynaste
    HDB: Dynaste
    MC: Dynaste

Queen Mother
    HDB: No decision made about SE yet
    MC: Reckons SE will go to Ryanair
    MF: Sprinter Sacre
    TS: SS best hes ever seen. Reckons Cue Card will run here and will be 2nd
    NL: SS, Wants SE to show up

SS for everyone

Bumper
    DR: Blackmail, Patrick Mullins told him Moyle park doesnt go they fancy Clondaw Court. Liz Doyles horse Le Vent D'Antan is the danger. Doesnt rate Golantilla as a bumper winner but likes the horse.
    NL: Union Dues. Le Vent D'Antan
    HDB: Le Vent D'Antan

All around they all seem to be throwing around good vibes about Liz Doyles horse

Ryanair
    JF: Grand Crus e/w _________(Glad im not the only 1 who gives him a chance)
    NOB: FL
    DR: Couldnt put anyone off a few euro e/w NRNB on FL. Reckons the Gold Cup trip will stretch him
    JH Albertas Run e/w
    NL: FL
    MF: FL
    HDB: Likes his horse and FL. The vibe i got off him was that this is the target for SE

World Hurdle: Get Me Out Of Here, Loves it, Doesnt like Monksland
    DR: Seems keen on Solwhit. Likes Bog Warrior to.
    JF: Reve De Sivola, Banker of festival
    JH: Monksland
    NL: Smad Place e/w
    MF: Smad Place e/w
    MC: Monksland

Albert Bartlett
    JF: At Fishers Cross
    TS: African Gold
    DR: Likes there's. Says that the Mullins yard cant get enough of Ballycasey
    JH: No Opinion
    MC: At Fishers Cross, Sizing Gold e/w
    HDB: Likes his. He will most likely go here

Triumph
    JF: Our Conor, Rolling Star of the english horses
    NOB: Our Conor
    MC: Far West works well with Zarkandar
    MF: Likes Rolling Star
    DR: Hates the race. Would rather ride Katy Barry(whoever she is)
    NL Hidden Justice e/w

Gold Cup
    JF: BW
    NOB: BW
    NL: Was questioning Long Runs rating with NOB
    DR: Keen best chance he's had to win a GC
    MF: BW
    MC: BW
    TS: SDC, thinks its a toss up
    JH: BW
    HDB: SDC

Also i have to disagree with Richie while Jimmy Nesbitt might have brought no beneficial knowledge to the table he was priceless very friendly when i went up for a chat with him on the break and at the end of the night. He was as drunk as i have ever seen anyone at about 10 and he was still in the bar when i left around half 2/3. He was great craic.
    It was a great laugh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 786 ✭✭✭fangee

kiers47 wrote: »

Guests
    John Francome
    Noel O'Brien
    Tom Segal
    Davy Russell
    Jimmy Nesbitt
    Nick Luck
    Jessica Harrington
    Hayley O'Connor
    Mick Fitzgerald
    Henry De Bromhead
    Mike Catermol
    MC - Brian Gleeson

This is just a brief synopsis on the night and panel pics. It was a great night and i hope they raised a lot of money.

Supreme Novice
    TS: Interested in Un Atout was hounding davy for answers but got no definites. Thinks MTOY is to short.
    DR: Likes his. Seemed sweet enough on it without getting carried away. Said his fella could run a very good race and not win and that you need an awful lot of luck in running. Thinks Melodic Rendevous is a danger.
    JH: Gave nothing really. Said she knows nothing about riding arrangements. Likes hers though.
    HDB: Champagne Fever
    MF: Likes MTOY. Dodging Bullets e/w
    MC: Dodging Bullets
    NL: Sweet on MTOY
    JF: Melodic Rendevous
    NOB: Jezki is stand out. THey have MTOY 8lb clear. Also likes Dodging Bullets

Arkle
    Was more or less a discussion about how good Simonsig is.
    DR: Likes Simonsig. Reckons Arvika Legioneirre is a pure camel. Reckons the ambulance will be 3rd. Thinks it is a serious after thought for Overturn to be going chasing at 9.
    MC: Simonsig
    HDB: Simonsig
    TS: Overturn has no chance. Simonsig
    JH: Simonsig
    MF: Simonsig
    JF: Overturn
    NOB: Overturn
    JH on Oscars Well. Jewson is the prefered race but most likely will stay home

Champion Hurdle
    TS: Rock On Ruby
    NL: Hurricane Fly "Will Win"
    JH: 1:Hurricane Fly 2:ROR 3:Binocular
    MF: Likes Grandouet has him backed at big prices. Prefers ROR at prices now
    MC: ROR. HF "Wont Win"
    DR: HF, ROR is the danger
    HOC: Said by far their worst result would be Cinders and Ashes.

Neptune
    HDB: Likes his horse so for that reason cant see past Pont Alexandre
    JF: The New One
    TS: PA looks a great horse could be similar to Denman he said in that the best horse doesnt always win this race, his pick is Taquin De Seuill
    DR: Likes PA worried about pedigree though, He said where Rule the World is now is where First Lieutenant was when he won it but the race looks a good bit better
    MF: Likes PA, Taquin DS at the prices though

RSA
    I cant remember who made the point that if Grand Crus hadnt been around last year and turned over Dynaste would be closer to even money. Said their only similarities are they are both greys and both trained by David Pipe
    JF: Dynaste
    NOB: Dynaste
    TS: Dynaste should easily win also likes Unioniste
    DR: Thinks it is a poor reunion of the race said to back a high rated hurdler. Also reckons that Grand Crus wouldnt come off the bridle in this race.
    JH: Dynaste
    NL: Dynaste
    MF: Dynaste
    HDB: Dynaste
    MC: Dynaste

Queen Mother
    HDB: No decision made about SE yet
    MC: Reckons SE will go to Ryanair
    MF: Sprinter Sacre
    TS: SS best hes ever seen. Reckons Cue Card will run here and will be 2nd
    NL: SS, Wants SE to show up

SS for everyone

Bumper
    DR: Blackmail, Patrick Mullins told him Moyle park doesnt go they fancy Clondaw Court. Liz Doyles horse Le Vent D'Antan is the danger. Doesnt rate Golantilla as a bumper winner but likes the horse.
    NL: Union Dues. Le Vent D'Antan
    HDB: Le Vent D'Antan

All around they all seem to be throwing around good vibes about Liz Doyles horse

Ryanair
    JF: Grand Crus e/w _________(Glad im not the only 1 who gives him a chance)
    NOB: FL
    DR: Couldnt put anyone off a few euro e/w NRNB on FL. Reckons the Gold Cup trip will stretch him
    JH Albertas Run e/w
    NL: FL
    MF: FL
    HDB: Likes his horse and FL. The vibe i got off him was that this is the target for SE

World Hurdle: Get Me Out Of Here, Loves it, Doesnt like Monksland
    DR: Seems keen on Solwhit. Likes Bog Warrior to.
    JF: Reve De Sivola, Banker of festival
    JH: Monksland
    NL: Smad Place e/w
    MF: Smad Place e/w
    MC: Monksland

Albert Bartlett
    JF: At Fishers Cross
    TS: African Gold
    DR: Likes there's. Says that the Mullins yard cant get enough of Ballycasey
    JH: No Opinion
    MC: At Fishers Cross, Sizing Gold e/w
    HDB: Likes his. He will most likely go here

Triumph
    JF: Our Conor, Rolling Star of the english horses
    NOB: Our Conor
    MC: Far West works well with Zarkandar
    MF: Likes Rolling Star
    DR: Hates the race. Would rather ride Katy Barry(whoever she is)
    NL Hidden Justice e/w

Gold Cup
    DR: Keen best chance of a winner

Are you sure he didn't say Katy Perry ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Kathy barry im presuming he meant google her lads :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Gold Cup
    DR: Keen best chance of a winner

Did Russell not say at other previews that FL in the Ryanair would be his best chance? :confused:

Sorry i posted it incorrectly it is supposed to read that it is his best chance he's had to win a GC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Sorry i posted it incorrectly it is supposed to read that it is his best chance he's had to win a GC

Ah grand, thanks for the synopsis btw! :)

fangee wrote: »

Are you sure he didn't say Katy Perry ?
    Possibly I was after about 7pints at this stage. ;-)

BJ Geraghty on ATR now shortly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

BJ Geraghty on ATR now shortly

You hardly have a link to watch ATR on? One I was watching on is gone!

i don't sorry..just watching it on tv

Also From the waterford night: it's always the case really that we fancy our horses but Davy Russell said he thought the Irish novice hurdlers are a good bit better than the English 1's

well lads what did ye make of that?..top lad Barry..looks like Nicky has them all bulging and ready to rattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

well lads what did ye make of that?..top lad Barry..looks like Nicky has them all bulging and ready to rattle.

apart from his own rides he seems to really fancy Dynaste

ya he did have a good word for dynaste..interesting comment on Anquetta too..seemed quietly confident in seven barrows squad overall..11 days is a long time in racing though..so we will see how the vibe from seven barrows is then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,287 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Also i have to disagree with Richie while Jimmy Nesbitt might have brought no beneficial knowledge to the table he was priceless very friendly when i went up for a chat with him on the break and at the end of the night. He was as drunk as i have ever seen anyone at about 10 and he was still in the bar when i left around half 2/3. He was great craic.
    It was a great laugh.

So he brought no knowledge but got langered early and talked bull**** with people all night.

Sounds like he was fantastic.