Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chinese Android Phones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

eamonnq wrote: »
    Anybody can set up a website and sell anything on it, the Chinese phone market is littered with these types of sites including a manufacturers name in the title etc. lends an 'air of officialdom' to them, but they are about as official as I am.

http://en.miui.com/thread-29483-1-1.html

That link is a guy promoting his own site.
    I read last night that gizchina bought from xoami Italian shop.
    Need to look for the link later

• Registered Users Posts: 15,897 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Anybody can set up a website and sell anything on it, the Chinese phone market is littered with these types of sites including a manufacturers name in the title etc. lends an 'air of officialdom' to them, but they are about as official as I am.

http://en.miui.com/thread-29483-1-1.html

Why would you go to the trouble & expense & then only sell one make of phone ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3 robomacd

they are cheap but as far as i heard quality is not the best :(

• Registered Users Posts: 17,935 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Discodog wrote: »
    Trouble and expense? You could knock a website like that up in an hour and register the domain for a tenner, then you'd be capturing a large amount of customers who are tricked into thinking its an official outlet of one of the biggest phone manufacturers in China. the people running these sites are probably running the fake Jiayushop ones and all the others aswell, not to be trusted when there are tried and tested shops and vendors on Alliexpress selling the same things without the deception.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Websites are cheap to make and host, sell one or two and you cover the costs fairly quickly, sell loads more because you look 'official'.

xiaomishop.ie ?

Would you buy from that if I set it up ??:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Thargor wrote: »
    Trouble and expense? You could knock a website like that up in an hour and register the domain for a tenner, then you'd be capturing a large amount of customers who are tricked into thinking its an official outlet of one of the biggest phone manufacturers in China. the people running these sites are probably running the fake Jiayushop ones and all the others as well, not to be trusted when there are tried and tested shops and vendors on Alliexpress selling the same things without the deception.

xiaomishop are an interesting example, though. They even go so far as to provide review units to the likes of gsmarena - http://www.gsmarena.com/xiaomi_mi_3-review-1115.php.

You'd be right to be skeptical, but I think it's possible that xiaomishop have some sort of understanding with, or maybe just tolerance from, xiaomi, or someone within xiaomi. Nothing like an actual license, though, or they'd be emphasizing it. They're fairly careful not to make that claim on the "About Us" section of their website, whereas some of the sketchy Jiayu sites plaster "official" all over themselves.

Someone farther up the thread had a good experience getting something from their EU warehouse, so I'm going to take a punt on a Mi3 from them as soon as funds clear into my paypal account. I'll let everyone know how I get on, if it goes pear-shaped ye can have a good chuckle at my expense!

That link is a guy promoting his own site.

??? I linked to that thread to show the various responses (examples below)

"Do not buy any Mi product from any website of 3rd party reseller, to avoid fake product, buy straight from mi.com you will be safer in any ways"

"Beware of them I had bad experience with them.

They imply that if you had to pay custom etc duties, just pay them and then send proof and they will pay it back to but it is not the case. I had to pay about $30 extra on top to get the phone cost me just over $300...

Also there was no EU/UK adaptor in the box as they show on their site. also missing was that football Keychain they are advertising...

The free items with phone are just low quality but I was lucky that the phone was original...

Just beware they never returned my emails or replied to online feedbacks..."

They could be OK resellers, but that is all they are, just another reseller, nothing 'official' about them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭spix

How do you know that ?
    Why would Xiaomi allow someone to use their trademark ?

Because Xiaomi are Asia only right now. They expand country by country very slowly and only ship to that particular one. Their Chinese website ships to China only, Singapore to Singapore and so on. Any shop that sends Xiaomi phoens to Europe, or from Europe is a reseller with no official ties to them.

Why don't they get them shut down? The only place to buy xiaomi phones is directly from them. If they shut it down, they would lose sales to a market they don't even sell to.

http://xiaomishop.it/ gets mentioned as a reseller on gizchina.com

http://www.gizchina.com/2014/07/06/xiaomi-mi-pad-available-eu-soon-resellers/

http://www.coolicool.com also ship from europe as do merimobiles.com though stock is limited

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

http://xiaomishop.it/ gets mentioned as a reseller on gizchina.com

http://www.gizchina.com/2014/07/06/xiaomi-mi-pad-available-eu-soon-resellers/

http://www.coolicool.com also ship from europe as do merimobiles.com though stock is limited

Coolicool sell that Elephone I linked yesterday from Europe, I'm tempted now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭Missymoohaa

Lads

I get confused with the mobile network bands, can you help. Looking for a cheap phone for the kids (8 and 10yrs) so not spending big money yet.

I'm looking at the following from meri mobiles european store

http://www.merimobiles.com/elephone-p6i-5-inch-smartphone_p/meri10368.htm

or this from Bangood:

http://www.banggood.com/DOOGEE-Voyager-2-DG310-5-inch-MTK6582-1_3GHz-Quad-core-Smartphone-p-935373.html?bid=6013

I'm happy that they'll both work on 2g just confused about the "WCDMA" on 3G but 2100 mhz sounds right. Please advise?

I think the peace of mind from meri mobiles with no customs might be worth it though.

Xioami have confirmed to me that Xiaomishop isn't owned by them.

I think that it is extremely unwise for Xiaomi to allow this because it damages the brand.

spix wrote: »
    That isn't an official xiaomi store

Did you think Spix was lying?? :eek:

Lads

I get confused with the mobile network bands, can you help. Looking for a cheap phone for the kids (8 and 10yrs) so not spending big money yet.

I'm looking at the following from meri mobiles european store

http://www.merimobiles.com/elephone-p6i-5-inch-smartphone_p/meri10368.htm

or this from Bangood:

http://www.banggood.com/DOOGEE-Voyager-2-DG310-5-inch-MTK6582-1_3GHz-Quad-core-Smartphone-p-935373.html?bid=6013

I'm happy that they'll both work on 2g just confused about the "WCDMA" on 3G but 2100 mhz sounds right. Please advise?

I think the peace of mind from meri mobiles with no customs might be worth it though.

Both of them will work in Ireland with 3G

• Registered Users Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

I think that it is extremely unwise for Xiaomi to allow this because it damages the brand.

What else did they have to say about them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Inbox

Guys do the octacore mediatek phones have unreliable GPS for navigation. I'm looking for a new phone and need the navigation to work. Any recommendations please. Thanks

Inbox wrote: »
    Guys do the octacore mediatek phones have unreliable GPS for navigation. I'm looking for a new phone and need the navigation to work. Any recommendations please. Thanks

Nope they are grand,

Side note my friend got his Oneplus One today.......50 euro customs :o

Anyone looking for the 1+1 should probably get it here

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Original-OnePlus-One-FDD-LTE-4G-Mobile-Phone-5-5-Qualcomm-MSM8974AC-Quad-Core-2-5GHz/1153179_1895375543.html

For $30 fedex shipping you can be guaranteed no custom costs as they import it themselves to the UK first, not sure how their prices compare though

http://www.antelife.com/ also have a european warehouse based in spain

Think its only for Spain and Portugal. I added an mi3 and there's no EU shipping option if you select country as Ireland. It shows up as $19.99 if you select Spain though.

Did you think Spix was lying?? :eek:

I asked for evidence, didn't get any & emailed Xiaomi.

corwill wrote: »
    What else did they have to say about them?

Nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

I placed an order with them over the weekend.

DeadSkin wrote: »
    I placed an order with them over the weekend.

It's still okay to buy from them, they just aren't an official store.

Ugh the Oneplus one has a small yellow tint problem, I'm gonna have to explain he aint getting as much money back if he's returning it :(

• Registered Users Posts: 17,935 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Do the sunlight trick on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Barr

Anymore else get their THL 5000? I would be interested to hear if they have arrived by now.

How are you finding the battery life Mezcita. Is it as good as THL say ?

Ugh the Oneplus one has a small yellow tint problem, I'm gonna have to explain he aint getting as much money back if he's returning it :(

Just at the bottom of the screen or all over?

spix wrote: »
    Just at the bottom of the screen or all over?

Bottom left.

I'm needing your help.
    I inadvertently ordered a Zopo ZP 998 from the Zopo EU Store. Is anyone planning on buying one who would take it off me if I cant cancel.
    It cost €260 including shipping.

Details are:
    ZOPO ZP998 Android4.4 Kitkat C2 II Octo Core MT6592 2GB RAM 16GB ROM 5.5inch IPS FHD 14 MP Camera OTG NFC Android Phone White - Color : White, Free Gift : Flip Leather Case + Car Charger+ Touch Pen + Screen protector,

I went into paypal and instead of it letting me review the order, it completed it :(