Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chinese Android Phones

• Registered Users Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭eamonnq

onlysheep wrote: »
    Wait, you guys don't know that?

CPU: MTK6592

We do, but we know how to type too!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

onlysheep wrote: »
    Wait, you guys don't know that?

CPU: MTK6592
    Cores: Octa Core, 1.7GHz
    GPU: Mali-450MP
    Radio/Modem: MT6290
    RAM: 2GB
    ROM: 16GB
    Frequency: GSM 850/900/1800/1900MHz WCDMA 850/900/1900/2100MHz FDD-LTE 800/1800/2100/2600MHz

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭thehamo

RossieMan wrote: »
    Theres no way in hell that'll be here before new years.

Meh. I was aware it was a pre-sale. Wanted the phone so I ordered it regardless. IL make do with my ****ty s3 until then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

http://vifocal.com/zte-v5-max-smartphone-4g-lte-qualcomm-401-quad-core-5-5-inch-hd-screen.html

Cost $199

www.oppomart.com have it for $219 plus free DHL

From GIzchina

Am I right in thinking it will work on 4G over here.

Basic Information
    Model ZTE V5 max
    Band 2G: GSM 900/1800/1900MHz
    3G: WCDMA 900/2100MHz
    FDD 4G LTE:900/1800/1900MHz
    Sim Card Dual Sim
    Service Provide Unlocked
    Style Bar
    Color White/Black
    Shell Material plastic
    System
    OS NUBIA 2.5 os
    CPU Qualcomm 410 64 bits MSM8916 Quad Core processor
    ROM 16GB
    RAM 2GB
    Screen
    Display Size 5.5 Inch
    Type IPS, capacitive screen
    Resolution 1280 x 720 pixels HD screen
    Support Format
    Ringtones Type Polyphonic/MP3
    Audio File Format MP3/WAV/AMR/AWB
    Video File Format 3GP/MPEG4
    Image File Format JPEG/BMP/GIF/PNG/GIF
    E-book Format TXT/CHM/DOC/HTML
    FM Radio Yes
    Earphone Port 3.5mm
    Card Extend Yes, support TF card up to 32GB
    Data Transfer & Connectivity
    Data transfer USB/Bluetooth
    Mobile internet WAP/WiFi
    General
    Camera/Picture Resolution Dual Cameras, 5.0MP front camera; 13.0MP back camera with flashlight and auto focus, up to 3264 x 2448 pixels, support panorama, multi angle view, face beauty, smile shot, HDR
    Language English, Afrikaans, Bahasa Indonesia, Bahasa Melayu, Bosnian, Catala, Cestina, Dansk, Deutsch, Eesti, Espanol, Filipino, French, Hrvatski, IsiZulu, Italiano, Kiswahili, Latviesu, Lietuviu, Macedonian, Magyar, Nederlands, Norsk, Polish, Portuguese, Romana, Rumantsch, Slovencina, Slovenscina, Suomi, Svenska, Vietnamese, Turkish, Greek, Bulgarian, Russian, Serbian, Ukranian, Hebrew, Urdu, Arabic, Persian, Hindi, Thai, Bengali, Korean, Japanese, Simplified/Traditional Chinese
    Phonebook 500
    Message SMS/MMS
    Input Handwrite/Keypad
    TV No
    GPS Yes, built in, also support A-GPS
    With EPO assistance to speed up postioning
    JAVA No
    WIFI Yes, 802.11 b/g/n
    Bluetooth Yes
    Gravity Sensor Yes
    Multi-Touch Yes, 5 point touch
    Standby Time About 2~3 days
    Phone Size: 153.5*77.2*9.7mm
    Other Feature 3G, WIFI, GPS, FM, Bluetooth, Ebook, Email, Messaging, wallpapers,
    calendar, calculator, clock, camera, tethering & portable hotspot, etc
    Package
    Size 167 x 88 x 52mm/6.57 x 3.46 x 2.05inch
    Weight 411g
    Accessories
    1 x 3100mAh Battery
    1 x USB Cable
    1 x 3.5mm Earphone
    1 x Charger

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

http://vifocal.com/zte-v5-max-smartphone-4g-lte-qualcomm-401-quad-core-5-5-inch-hd-screen.html

Cost $199

From GIzchina

Basic Information
    Model ZTE V5 max
    Sim Card Dual Sim
    Service Provide Unlocked
    Style Bar
    Color White/Black
    Shell Material plastic
    System
    OS NUBIA 2.5 os
    ROM 16GB
    RAM 2GB
    Screen
    Display Size 5.5 Inch
    Support Format
    FM Radio Yes
    Earphone Port 3.5mm
    Mobile internet WAP/WiFi
    General
    Camera/Picture Resolution Dual Cameras, 5.0MP front camera; 13.0MP back camera with flashlight and auto focus, up to 3264 x 2448 pixels, support panorama, multi angle view, face beauty, smile shot, HDR
    Language English, Afrikaans, Bahasa Indonesia, Bahasa Melayu, Bosnian, Catala, Cestina, Dansk, Deutsch, Eesti, Espanol, Filipino, French, Hrvatski, IsiZulu, Italiano, Kiswahili, Latviesu, Lietuviu, Macedonian, Magyar, Nederlands, Norsk, Polish, Portuguese, Romana, Rumantsch, Slovencina, Slovenscina, Suomi, Svenska, Vietnamese, Turkish, Greek, Bulgarian, Russian, Serbian, Ukranian, Hebrew, Urdu, Arabic, Persian, Hindi, Thai, Bengali, Korean, Japanese, Simplified/Traditional Chinese
    Phonebook 500
    Message SMS/MMS
    Input Handwrite/Keypad
    TV No
    JAVA No
    WIFI Yes, 802.11 b/g/n
    Bluetooth Yes
    Gravity Sensor Yes
    Other Feature 3G, WIFI, GPS, FM, Bluetooth, Ebook, Email, Messaging, wallpapers,
    Package
    Weight 411g
    Accessories
    1 x 3100mAh Battery
    1 x USB Cable
    1 x 3.5mm Earphone
    1 x Charger

Depends on your network, but no 800 band

Ask Mick !! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

eamonnq wrote: »
    Ask Mick !! :D

It feckin wont!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭gerbo

Best place to order a THL5000 from?
    Fastest shipping, least chance of getting stung by customs?

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭webels

Cost $199

www.oppomart.com have it for $219 plus free DHL

From GIzchina

Basic Information
    Model ZTE V5 max
    Sim Card Dual Sim
    Service Provide Unlocked
    Style Bar
    Color White/Black
    Shell Material plastic
    System
    OS NUBIA 2.5 os
    ROM 16GB
    RAM 2GB
    Screen
    Display Size 5.5 Inch
    Support Format
    FM Radio Yes
    Earphone Port 3.5mm
    Mobile internet WAP/WiFi
    General
    Phonebook 500
    Message SMS/MMS
    Input Handwrite/Keypad
    TV No
    JAVA No
    WIFI Yes, 802.11 b/g/n
    Bluetooth Yes
    Gravity Sensor Yes
    Package
    Weight 411g
    Accessories
    1 x 3100mAh Battery
    1 x USB Cable
    1 x 3.5mm Earphone
    1 x Charger

Missing the 800MHZ band probably wont cause you problems in the cities but for those towns with 4g coverage on the 800MHZ (band 20) freq you wont be covered. The One plus is like this it is missing the 800 band.

This is an interesting ist post on the oneplus furum that outlines the lack of a oneplus 800MHZ band.

https://forums.oneplus.net/threads/clarification-of-oneplus-one-lte-bands.1065/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

webels wrote: »
    Missing the 800MHZ band probably wont cause you problems in the cities but for those towns with 4g coverage on the 800MHZ (band 20) freq you wont be covered. The One plus is like this it is missing the 800 band.

This is an interesting ist post on the oneplus furum that outlines the lack of a oneplus 800MHZ band.

https://forums.oneplus.net/threads/clarification-of-oneplus-one-lte-bands.1065/

Do Vodafone only use 800MHz for 4g, or in addition to 1800MHz?

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭webels

corwill wrote: »
    Do Vodafone only use 800MHz for 4g, or in addition to 1800MHz?

Looks like Vodafone only use 800MHZ, meteor use 1800 and 800, 3 use 1800 only.

This might be useful

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_LTE_networks

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭Crosswalk

A cautionary tale for people considering Mixeshop: as I mentioned in my previous post, I ordered a THL from them but got the wrong phone. It turns out that they mixed up my order with some guy from the Maldives (somehow). So after a bit of back and forth with customer service, they asked me to post the phone directly to this guy and he'd do the same for me. Questionable data protection security aside, I decided to do this as I really need that phone. So off I go to the post office and, not wanting to lie to the registered post people and get screwed later, I told them I was sending a phone. Only to be told that I can't send batteries in the post. So now I'm stuck with a phablet I don't want and my phone thousands of miles away with no means to send this guy's phone back. Considering a Paypal dispute at this point but we'll see after the next email from customer service.

The moral of the story is: use DHL with Mixeshop. On the off chance they feck up your order, they feck it up bad. My friend ordered hers with DHL from them and had no problems - not even customs duty!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,933 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Ummm, go to a different post office?

Crosswalk wrote: »
    A cautionary tale for people considering Mixeshop: as I mentioned in my previous post, I ordered a THL from them but got the wrong phone. It turns out that they mixed up my order with some guy from the Maldives (somehow). So after a bit of back and forth with customer service, they asked me to post the phone directly to this guy and he'd do the same for me. Questionable data protection security aside, I decided to do this as I really need that phone. So off I go to the post office and, not wanting to lie to the registered post people and get screwed later, I told them I was sending a phone. Only to be told that I can't send batteries in the post. So now I'm stuck with a phablet I don't want and my phone thousands of miles away with no means to send this guy's phone back. Considering a Paypal dispute at this point but we'll see after the next email from customer service.

The moral of the story is: use DHL with Mixeshop. On the off chance they feck up your order, they feck it up bad. My friend ordered hers with DHL from them and had no problems - not even customs duty!

There is no way I would have agreed to this, the guy in the Maldives could send you an empty box, and you are left with nothing.

Thargor wrote: »
    Ummm, go to a different post office?

I'd say the rule applies everywhere. I don't want them to open the box to check, see a battery and then get on to me because I didn't declare it.
    There is no way I would have agreed to this, the guy in the Maldives could send you an empty box, and you are left with nothing.

I thought about this but they asked us to send it by registered post and I figured that if nothing showed, I could always ask for a refund.

Also their English isn't great so communicating about this has been awkward to say the least.

I thought about this but they asked us to send it by registered post and I figured that if nothing showed, I could always ask for a refund.

He could still send you a brick in a registered post parcel and once it gets delivered it will become a 'he said - you said' type of argument.

You should only be dealing with Mixeshop and let them sort it out.

gerbo wrote: »
    Best place to order a THL5000 from?
    Fastest shipping, least chance of getting stung by customs?

Apparently there is a guy in the Maldives has one !!! :D

He could still send you a brick in a registered post parcel and once it gets delivered it will become a 'he said - you said' type of argument.

You should only be dealing with Mixeshop and let them sort it out.

Yeah that's fair enough. I think in my hurry to sort it out I just went with what sounded like the quickest solution. Not sure what they're going to ask me to do now!

Tell them they have 2 weeks to DHL/UPS you what you ordered or you'll do a chargeback with your credit card company and sell off what they sent you as compensation, they can recover the other one from Morocco in their own time and you'll send the one you didnt want back when you're happy. Losing money is all they'll care about.

Thargor wrote: »
    they can recover the other one from Morocco in their own time

How did it get to Morocco ??!!:confused:

Maldives sorry...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

The only way I would deal with this is to tell them you want them to send you a new phone and not the one that ended up in the Maldives .

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭afro man

afro man wrote: »
    anybody any suggestions to get Goophone i6 Past customs in got letter today notice of detention that goods suspected of infringing an intellectual property right ?? and saying goods will be destroyed if I more or less don't provide information Documentation to prove that an intellectual property right has not been infringed ?

customs note : IPR infringing goods include counterfeit or pirated goods and goods which infringe registered designs or patents "

any help :confused:

gripcasey/ rossieman/ eamonnq

just to update ye all phone has been released by customs after I sent letter advising I purchased a goophone and not a iphone i6 and showed copy of paypal receipt and shipper com invoice and mentioned both your suggestions due to arrive in post this Frriday just have to pay 23% vat at 7 euro to an post .. looks like I got lucky with customs :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

Jaysus never did i think id see the day. Great result!

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭itsnotmyfault

Ok lads, i'm back with news of our friend the zopo. I found the 32GB version for just €241 on 1949deal but was a bit wary of using them so I sent coolicool and gearbest a price match request. Low and behold gearbest got back to me and they have price matched.

Bargain and a half

http://www.gearbest.com/zopo-zp999-_gear/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,283 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Asking here as well as the Mi3 thread. Would people say xiaomishop is the best option if I need an Mi3 delivered before December 16th?

fixxxer wrote: »
    Asking here as well as the Mi3 thread. Would people say xiaomishop is the best option if I need an Mi3 delivered before December 16th?

I got my note in 5 days

• Registered Users Posts: 6,283 ✭✭✭fixXxer

I got my note in 5 days

That's good to know. Might hang on until tomorrow in case there's any black Friday deals floating around.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Chivral

fixxxer wrote: »

Ordered a 1s from Xiaomishop on the 2014-10-31 got it on 2014-11-12. I picked Germany shipping though. so it took a little longer.

Dont suppose anyone has a 4G phone they would swap for my Xiaomi note (notso) 4G :D