Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rugby fan stereotypes *** Mod Note in Post 7 ***

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Clareman wrote: »
    You'll have a number of those though, you'll probably only have the 1 before the game so you don't have to run to the jacks at some inopportune time.

Interesting...

When there's a gang of us who'd go to a match we'd tend to drink more at a rugby match (pre match pints, concealed cans, post match pints) than on a session.

Plus the only running to the jacks is at half time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

pithater1 wrote: »
    What about the pint consumed after the nervous big match that your team just about manages to win? ;)

Then that pint becomes the greatest pint ever. It surpasses the greatest pint ever you just had 2 hours previous

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Interesting...

When there's a gang of us who'd go to a match we'd tend to drink more at a rugby match (pre match pints, concealed cans, post match pints) than on a session.

Plus the only running to the jacks is at half time

Doesn't help that I'm usually the designated driver so 1 would be the most I'd be able to have.

Fair point.

Gives us another stereotype though:

Leinster fans are more likely to get wasted at matches due to Dublin's superior public transport system ;)

I'll get my coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Fair point.

Gives us another stereotype though:

Leinster fans are more likely to get wasted at matches due to Dublin's superior public transport system ;)

I'll get my coat

How about the Munster man living in Dublin and being resentful of having to live here? Gets out home every weekend, and God help the Dub he meets in a Dublin pub especially if he's wearing a Leinster jersey.

"Jaysus I ****in' hate Dublin boy. It's such a s*** hole. Where are you from yourself? Ah you're not are you!? ****in' hell but I can't get away from ye ****ers. Oh I see the ladyboy jersey there now. Bunch of D4 w**kers. You probably think you're great with your 3 stars too don't ya? But do you remember 2006? Sure what do you know about rugby at all?"

molloyjh wrote: »
    How about the Munster man living in Dublin and being resentful of having to live here? Gets out home every weekend, and God help the Dub he meets in a Dublin pub especially if he's wearing a Leinster jersey.

"Jaysus I ****in' hate Dublin boy. It's such a s*** hole. Where are you from yourself? Ah you're not are you!? ****in' hell but I can't get away from ye ****ers. Oh I see the ladyboy jersey there now. Bunch of D4 w**kers. You probably think you're great with your 3 stars too don't ya? But do you remember 2006? Sure what do you know about rugby at all?"

The gas thing is that you can actually picture that scenario happening in a pub

• Site Banned Posts: 240 ✭✭Nervous Nigel

But do you remember 2006?

Ah yes, 2006. Brings the words of Ronald Reagan to mind...it's always darkest before the dawn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

I think I know this guy. Throw in a bit more sneering aggression, and you're there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭ulster_Beef

Not a sterotype but a fact, any pint consumed while waiting nervously for a big match to start will be the nicest pint ever

And the worst pint being the one that makes you go for a piss just as the terrace is filling up at Ravenhill and due to crowd control you are forced to walk behind the terrace stand and are confronted by a man who says down theres full, as you try to plead with him that youve been standing there for an hour prior to this... then you remember you have left your 4 year old nephew down there on his own so he lets you by lol. Why do I do it to myself :(

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

I swear to god that was so perfectly written (the First 3 senteces and the last one in particular) that it genuinely sounds familar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

The social scene kids. They always annoyed me because I had to beg to get taken to matches, never had a jersey bought for me and parents didn't pay for Sky.

These were the kids (I mean between the ages of 8 and 15) playing mini-rugby matches in the walkways, the girls talking about their older sister who was in whatever nightclub with X-player, and how they knew such-and-such player on the senior team. Never watching the match, but always taken to them and talking about it in school on Monday, when it was a rare occasion for me to get to one.

Being in my late twenties now I've mostly gotten over it, but I still get a nervous twitch when I hear some 13 year old yelling, "GO ON ROG!" When he's not even playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭The Wild Bunch

That 'Leeeeeeeeinster' chant

Ahhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Shushing kicks......... in the poxy pub

Just read this for the first time tonight.

Best post I've read in ages.