Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fallout 4

• Registered Users Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Thargor wrote: »
    Grenades are good too this time round (if they hadnt decided to make them the same button as melee!)

Took me bloody ages before I figured out how to throw grenades! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I'm only level 8, but I'm finding the whole thing extreme difficult. Didn't use power armour, but got slaughtered repeatedly at the first Corvega (sp?) plant mission. I bumped into some raiders near a bunker by the diner and they owned me as well. Am I making a mistake trying to go too far before levelling up or am I just awful at this game? I don't remember previous Fallout games to be this hard!

Eh, to be honest that's kind of weird. Do you have it on Normal difficulty? Corvega is actually a lot harder than you'd expect, quite a few enemies all at once, but even the most basic weapons should be doing decent damage to basic raiders. Are you using VATS? Are you aiming for the head?

Bolt action .308 with a scope is great for the early game. One hit kill with a headshot on everything you'll meet for a while.
    OSI wrote: »
    I think in the mission you meet Nick he tells you to try and hack the terminal and then when you fail, he says he'll have a go himself. About as close as they get to explaining it to you.

I just assumed it was a scripted event of the sort you often see in games. Like Alex in Half Life 2 popping doors open.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,798 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Found in the Insane Asylum :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

I was walking near the satellite dish near my base and found a downed vertibird with power armor just sitting there.

I know it is part of the game, but I find it hard to believe that something like that would be sitting there for 200 years

Great game so far though, Love nothing more than smashing raiders heads in with a sledge.

Love some of the smaller details in this game

I picked up a unique wrench called "Big Jim" off a legendary

Sounds like a 70's pornstar :p

• Registered Users Posts: 29,843 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

x43r0 wrote: »
    Love some of the smaller details in this game

I picked up a unique wrench called "Big Jim" off a legendary

Sounds like a 70's pornstar :p

I found that on a table in a raiders camp. Was gonna pass it out as it was just a wrench but i noticed a star beside it. Class yoke but I'm not a melee build so gonna sell it.

allibastor wrote: »
    I know it is part of the game, but I find it hard to believe that something like that would be sitting there for 200 years.

I thought about this before and I settled it this way: obviously they are not going to represent a full real state in the game, so the map we get - which really is just a couple of miles wide - is a sort of abstract representation of the Commonwealth. You're supposed to imagine that there is a much larger distance between all of the named locations on the map, and that most of the ruins you come across are deep in the countryside where no one has been in decades, rather than literally being fifty meters from the main road as we see it in the game.

Everything makes a lot more sense if you visualise it like that.

Also bear in mind that most people in that world are just normal people with no desire for adventure or war; they'd no more leap at the chance to don some power armour than you or I would claim a rifle we found in a field. They've a normal life to live. I know they could sell it but you get the idea; some rustic farmer who came across a mouldering set of power armor in a quiet, overgrown field might not even know its relevance, or value, or might be too afraid of any guardians that might pop out of the woodwork? Maybe its bait put there by raiders. Keep your head down, like.

Zillah wrote: »
    I thought about this before and I settled it this way: obviously they are not going to represent a full real state in the game, so the map we get - which really is just a couple of miles wide - is a sort of abstract representation of the Commonwealth. You're supposed to imagine that there is a much larger distance between all of the named locations on the map, and that most of the ruins you come across are deep in the countryside where no one has been in decades, rather than literally being fifty meters from the main road as we see it in the game.

Everything makes a lot more sense if you visualise it like that.

Also bear in mind that most people in that world are just normal people with no desire for adventure or war; they'd no more leap at the chance to don some power armour than you or I would claim a rifle we found in a field. They've a normal life to live. I know they could sell it but you get the idea; some rustic farmer who came across a mouldering set of power armor in a quiet, overgrown field might not even know its relevance, or value, or might be too afraid of any guardians that might pop out of the woodwork? Maybe its bait put there by raiders. Keep your head down, like.

Very true !!

It was always one thing that kind of took from games such as this, as you say fining a cave or what ever that no-one has been in for years yet is only a stones throw from the main road.

Saying that, in Ireland didn't some road workers find an old cave a few weeks back, and it was under a road!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

allibastor wrote: »
    I was walking near the satellite dish near my base and found a downed vertibird with power armor just sitting there.

I know it is part of the game, but I find it hard to believe that something like that would be sitting there for 200 years

Great game so far though, Love nothing more than smashing raiders heads in with a sledge.

That's one thing that kind of annoys me. It makes sense gameplay wise, but not common sense way.
    So many laying around items and weapons from prewar.
    The biggest pet hate of mine is that it's over 200 years and everyone lives like animals. No new buildings or houses. Surely a few construction workers survived with knowledge of putting 2 bricks together. Paint is available everywhere, so it wouldn't be hard to fecking paint a wall or two. It's 200 years of time to clean up the place!
    A lot of equipment survived and there are some brilliant minds who invent stupidly good weapons and stuff, why not do something about normal day to day comfort things.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Fecking hell, walked by a factory on my way to somewhere else and got chased by 3 dudes with flamers and a guy with an enormous melee weapon..............then a pack of 5 mongrel dogs joined in.

Poor Dogmeat didn't stand a chance and they blitzed through a caravaner and his guards like they were nothing. I threw absolutely everything at the dudes with the flamers from all my Molotovs, grenades, mines, and guns until I had no ammo left. It was ridiculous, every 3rd shot would deplete an absolute tiny fraction of health on them.

Bastards chased me all over the map until I just barely beat them only to see their armor and goodies were pure muck. Tough as hell, even that Legendary SentryBot was easier to manage. :pac:

Coming across a lot of Power Armors handily enough, didn't realise they would be so easy to find.

A lot of equipment survived and there are some brilliant minds who invent stupidly good weapons and stuff, why not do something about normal day to day comfort things.

This is the part that just makes no sense whatsoever. You cannot have advanced developments like plasma weapons and teleporters or whatever in a ruined civilisation, no matter how far into the future you are. There's nothing magical about the future that makes advanced technology happen. Industry doesn't exist any more; where are your materials coming from? Where are you getting doctorates in advanced physics? How are you manufacturing ultra-precision-engineered devices?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

May have already been posted, but, well, too good...

http://i.imgur.com/6Z9PbRq.gif

I found the Alien Blaster last night. It comes with 480 ammo cells but I've haven't fired it yet. Will use it very sparingly until I know if there's more ammo to be found

Have stuck a long barrel on it though for a bit more range

You can convert it to plasma cells if I recall, for a tiny drop in damage. I didn't bother using it after I got it because the sights on it are virtually unusable.

Its true, it is a bit mad how they have advanced things yet backwards ways of thinking about building.

I know you can mod things on the PC, but I would much prefer the build function to allow to build massive structures in your base, castle style.

I have a question. I decided to do a second run-through with a different character on Very Hard instead of Normal. One thing I didn't bother with the first time was stealth, and I have to say I am finding it bloody impossible. Indoors it is not completely ridiculous - though it's bloody tough - but it is practically impossible outside. People see you, even at night, from massive distances away the second you pop out of cover.

Are your stealth chances affected by the difficulty level? I thought NPC damage was the only thing affected, but I noticed (I think) that hacking seems harder, so maybe stealth was affected too.

But it's actually just so hard as to be stupid and pointless, I haven't the patience for it. It literally takes ten times longer than just running in and shooting everyone.

You can convert it to plasma cells if I recall, for a tiny drop in damage. I didn't bother using it after I got it because the sights on it are virtually unusable.

Yeah I've looked it up and apparently the projectiles are fairly slow moving so it's hard to hit at range outside of VATS

• Registered Users Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Frankie5Angels

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Coming across a lot of Power Armors handily enough, didn't realise they would be so easy to find.

I've come across two so far, though I know where there's another two I just can't reach them yet. I must not be looking hard enough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Hugo Stiglitz

Found me a never ending Tommy gun last night. Added it to the workbench pile.

Went back to sanctuary to find one of the settlers strolling around in my power armor picking plants. Cheeky bastárd :D

I've come across two so far, though I know where there's another two I just can't reach them yet. I must not be looking hard enough!

If you know where certain parts are best avoid them early on, some of them are based on level so if you go there later it may have a better piece. I 'think' the odds of them being the best are when you are over level 29.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭PetKing

J. Marston wrote:
    Copper and aluminium are actually rarer than gold in this game.

Copper in telephones no?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭IRL_Sinister

PetKing wrote: »
    Copper in telephones no?

Yes telephones are the best source.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I've only two complete power armour at the moment, as I didn't realise i could just pick-up the parts from the first few raider ones I killed. Did find a really sweet torso piece yesterday though, which is now sitting on my main suit. I've still not used it though, as i prefer non-suit gameplay. Started going further towards the edge of the maps now, and am able to handle most things reasonably well. Legendary Deathclaw was a problem, till I ran inside a tower and he was too big to fit inside :P

As for whether or not it's GOTY, Witcher 3 still definitely beats it for me. I love the game, but give me a strong narrative with a good open world over a decent story with a great open world any day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Wing126

How do I get protectron's to not aggro on me? I set their personality as subway steward and present them with subway tokens but they still kill me.

Is there some reason I am missing that you'd ever need more than one set of power armour?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Wing126

Is there some reason I am missing that you'd ever need more than one set of power armour?

Customisation.

Well you can paint/upgarde different ones with different bonuses to suit your needs, charisma, strength etc..

• Registered Users Posts: 17,942 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

I was wondering that aswell, Ive attached a couple of legendary parts to my starting suit, why would I use any other suit after that? I wish the suit could hold weapons so I could leave the heavy stuff in it like the minigun and not have to be dicking around with inventory every time I want to use it, Id wear it a lot more if that was the case.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭IRL_Sinister

Thargor wrote: »
    I was wondering that aswell, Ive attached a couple of legendary parts to my starting suit, why would I use any other suit after that? I wish the suit could hold weapons so I could leave the heavy stuff in it like the minigun and not have to be dicking around with inventory every time I want to use it, Id wear it a lot more if that was the case.

They offer higher defense and radiation prevention levels. You can also customise them more and more. For example the T60e offers a much larger defense rating. They can be upgraded also to offer more carry weight. I imagine a t60 can be upgraded to offer more carry weight than a t45 and I imagine the e model can offer more than the a. I've only got 4 suits myself so can't confirm and they're pretty heavily modified for carry weight and damage output.