Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fallout 4

• Registered Users Posts: 29,843 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

I'm on about 34 hours and still completely engrossed with it. Mostly doing Side Quests and exploring, have still only scratched the surface. The last 4 side quests I tried kicked my arse. I'm level 23 and usually wrecking house but regular Raider bases have become crazy with non stop grenades and flame throwers. My VATS seems useless as he keeps missing the target, much better success in free aim.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Cormac... wrote: »
    Whats the verdict so for all of you who are 40+ hours in? Still exciting etc and not just the same ole slog? Thinking of asking Santy for this! ;)

Finished it last night with 60h behind the belt. Working on some achievements now.

I have to admit I got a massive fatigue from it and then just pushed all main quests to just have it done with in the end.

Its still good, when you get over stupid engine and massive loading screens. Though it gets a bit annoying when you realise that a lot of quests are pretty much shovelware and send you to same locations which respawn.
    My other issue, that it had no OMFG quests at all. Fallout 3 had it, but Fallout 4 suffers from same skyrim issue: Quantity over quality.

If you love fallout setting, then **** yes, get it. Its still a decent game. Will give you a lot of hours of entertainment. 60h since launch including all my work, going out, misses etc. Its addictive. Not much sleep was done in last 2 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 743 ✭✭✭KeithTS

Finished it last night with 60h behind the belt. Working on some achievements now.

I have to admit I got a massive fatigue from it and then just pushed all main quests to just have it done with in the end.

Its still good, when you get over stupid engine and massive loading screens. Though it gets a bit annoying when you realise that a lot of quests are pretty much shovelware and send you to same locations which respawn.
    My other issue, that it had no OMFG quests at all. Fallout 3 had it, but Fallout 4 suffers from same skyrim issue: Quantity over quality.

If you love fallout setting, then **** yes, get it. Its still a decent game. Will give you a lot of hours of entertainment. 60h since launch including all my work, going out, misses etc. Its addictive. Not much sleep was done in last 2 weeks.

This is something I'm conscious off. I'm only about 20 hours in and have only done a few of the minutemen quests and although I'm really looking forward to playing it tonight I may try to ween myself off it a bit and put an hour in a day rather than 4, it'll last way longer that way and that fatigue won't be present.

I'd pretty much echo that. Feeling really burned out by it now and just want to get it done. It's a good game but lacks any huge moments, even a certain revelation lacks punch and leads you reacting like the game wants you to in many ways. I actually shot
    Father
    on sight without talking and was simply told to
    leave the institude
    before reloading and hearing them out. What followed just after that was stretching it to be honest, but I'll reserve judgement until I finish the game. I must actually do a search and see what if anything happens if you massacre everyone there at that point. I was going to try it and reload again but just wanted to get on with it :)

Having pushed the main quest aside for a long time when you actually set out and focus on it exclusively you realise how short it actually is , I'm not finished yet but the end is in sight. As I said earlier none of the factions are remotely deserving of my loyalty, and I actually stopped taking radials from them once I realised thats what they were and not furthering their story arcs.

I have all the bobbleheads and over 80 perk magazines so think I explored enough at this point.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Ya see the reason I asked is I was concerned about these type of statements after my experience of Far Cry 4 compared to Far Cry 3

Ay good bubblehead map, but phone friendly lads? There was one posted here, but on phone it was ass to navigate.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    My VATS seems useless as he keeps missing the target, much better success in free aim.

A big thing I've noticed in this compared to FO3 is that headshots in VATS are much lower percentage chance. I commonly have 95% torso and sub 50% head

Working my way to leveling up the sniper perk to see how much it improves things

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭DeclanRe

I'd pretty much echo that. Feeling really burned out by it now and just want to get it done. It's a good game but lacks any huge moments, even a certain revelation lacks punch and leads you reacting like the game wants you to in many ways. I actually shot
    Father
    on sight without talking and was simply told to
    leave the institude
    before reloading and hearing them out. What followed just after that was stretching it to be honest, but I'll reserve judgement until I finish the game. I must actually do a search and see what if anything happens if you massacre everyone there at that point. I was going to try it and reload again but just wanted to get on with it :)

Having pushed the main quest aside for a long time when you actually set out and focus on it exclusively you realise how short it actually is , I'm not finished yet but the end is in sight. As I said earlier none of the factions are remotely deserving of my loyalty, and I actually stopped taking radials from them once I realised thats what they were and not furthering their story arcs.

I have all the bobbleheads and over 80 perk magazines so think I explored enough at this point.

Hahahaha I did the exact same thing, Shot on sight straight away! :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,936 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

So I am 20 Hrs in have not got to Diamond City did a couple of minute men mission which were hard and long. I agree with the VATS if you can shoot with aim it is way better maybe turrets. So i just crossed the bridge to after the polymers place south of the police station did not go near
    Institue 1115 or whatever it is called went in one and got wiped out by the Super Mutants
    . So just crossed the bridge heard a fire fight and it was Super Mutants in a builder and traders. So helped with that had to be careful of the Mutant with the fire weapon. Found a raider camp and died then found to my horror I was back in Santuary where I had gone to sleep. I never saved after the Mutants I was so salty I had to turn it off

• Registered Users Posts: 17,942 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

For some reason I am stockpiling vast amounts of .38 ammo and nothing else. Anyway I previously built up a pipe pistol into a high powered automatic with armour piercing just to burn through it a bit but last night a legendary bandit dropped a pipe pistol that does 75% extra damage to supermutants, so of course I stripped all the mods of the original and stuck them all on this, it absolutely shreds supermutants now, Id been avoiding them but now Im actively hunting them for fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Can you take mods of found weapons?

I have a good few found pistols which have good mods, but don't want to spend the resources to build the mods themselves.

Also, a side question. When I do mod a gun I get a mod in my inventory. Can I take this out without the gun losing the mods.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,843 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

allibastor wrote: »
    Can you take mods of found weapons?

I have a good few found pistols which have good mods, but don't want to spend the resources to build the mods themselves.

Also, a side question. When I do mod a gun I get a mod in my inventory. Can I take this out without the gun losing the mods.

Yupp, go to a weapon workstation, open the gun you've found and go to the part that has the mod you want. Select Default part in that section, will cost you some materials but the mod will then be placed into your Mod inventory to be used on other similar guns. Transfer mods in your inventory over to a weapon workstation to apply them to other weapons.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GodlessM

Found some X01 at the bottom of a lake the other night; that was interesting. Some of the helmet mods for power armour is fair handy actually.

Haven't even gotten to the Glowing Sea part of the main quest yet, but just going anywhere west, that place stands out a mile. Gonna be bad.

Nanick Banks is interesting; tests the philosophy of 'be prepared'. Simply put, you're not.

Well, only 6 achievements left. 5 alternative story ones and the last one is 100% happyness in settlement. Looksl ike its pretty easy game to get 100%

I think I might give it a go to get 100% or close to it and then I might trade it in while it still has some value. There is really nothing to do in it. Might pick it up when all DLCs out in some game of the year edition.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭IRL_Sinister

http://fallout.fm/

Haven't turned it off :<

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭Cjayses

Has anyone found any other vaults apart from 114? Can't seem to come across them.

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Tomagotchye

Cjayses wrote: »
    Has anyone found any other vaults apart from 114? Can't seem to come across them.

82. Foynd a guy who was chained and escorted by a group of raiders down some train tracks. Killed them and he revealed the location

• Registered Users Posts: 7,735 ✭✭✭ASOT

Just spent the guts of an hour trying to save Kent before I finally got it, managed to kill all the guards from the elevator without anyone going hostile... Fairly sure that's not suppose to happen but ah well :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GodlessM

Cjayses wrote: »

81 is hard to miss.

In other news, we are hot on the trail of Eddie Winter. Almost have the full story now. Its things like this that make these games great.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

GodlessM wrote: »
    81 is hard to miss.

In other news, we are hot on the trail of Eddie Winter. Almost have the full story now. Its things like this that make these games great.

Most of the Eddie Winter stuff made no sense to me?

I also have no idea how im supposed to follow the freedom trail?! Do I need to get out my old map of Boston or what?
    Its annoying as I am at the point in the main quest where I need to find this group related to the syndicate, and the clue to finding them is 'freedom trail'

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

J Mysterio wrote: »

I also have no idea how im supposed to follow the freedom trail?! Do I need to get out my old map of Boston or what?
    Its annoying as I am at the point in the main quest where I need to find this group related to the syndicate, and the clue to finding them is 'freedom trail'

The freedom trail is a red brick line that you follow. At various points rubble and debris will cover it so you need to look around for where it continues.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Assume you have been given a park to go to, go into the middle of the park and investigate.

Major spoiler below relating to the puzzle you have to solve, only read if your really stuck.
    Freedom trail is a real thing its a red brick path what winds tru Boston, follow it. Sorry about Swan above :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Having trouble with supply lines.

I have my 5 settlements in a connecting circle, kind of. Well each one connects to another one to form a continued line.

None of my work benches have access to anything in each.
    I have a bit of power armor parts but only can use in scantuary, not in red rocket.

No idea why.

Jesus I never noticed the actual brick trail! Is that actually in Boston I wonder? I was living there and never noticed!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,436 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Jesus I never noticed the actual brick trail! Is that actually in Boston I wonder? I was living there and never noticed!

well worth doing..you get a very nice silenced pistol...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

allibastor wrote: »
    Having trouble with supply lines.

I have my 5 settlements in a connecting circle, kind of. Well each one connects to another one to form a continued line.

None of my work benches have access to anything in each.
    I have a bit of power armor parts but only can use in scantuary, not in red rocket.

No idea why.

Your workbenches only show what is in that settlement, they won't show what is in other settlements even with supply lines. Supply lines only affect building mode.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,798 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

I love the railway rifle, that and my pain train perk. The train noises when I'm running are brilliant :D

That Freedom Trail was a cool mission. I also picked upba frickin amazing yoke on the way 'sprinter synth left leg'. Frickin awesome! Gamechanger

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭Cjayses

GodlessM wrote: »
    81 is hard to miss.

I'm 48 hours in and totally missed it!

Just finished the bos side too. They had one good twist, which did hit me q bit in feels... Still not spectacular. To make it worse you get pretty much same ending cinematic. What a lot of crap.

Ah well, 3 more achievements to go. Two of them are railroad side quests. Chop chop!

Well, done with third side too. Only one achievement left. The worst one Ffs.